You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-05 16:43:22

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

[SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

My attempts to update glibc from 2.15 to 2.16 fail with "/lib64 exists in filesystem". Can anybody help me staighten this out? I hate forcing updates. Thanks.

Last edited by dhave (2012-07-05 17:45:28)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#2 2012-07-05 16:45:56

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

Seriously??

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=130138

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … stem.22.21

If you don't want to use force, you will have to resolve the file conflict manually.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#3 2012-07-05 16:52:38

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

Yes, seriously. I'm a social liberal but a pacman conservative.

I was especially concerned since this "file exists" message pointed to an entire directory.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#4 2012-07-05 17:15:29

djg1971
Member
Registered: 2008-09-11
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

allan m. is the maintainer for glibc.  he's a very reasonable guy...does he recommend forcing?

@inxsible:  really?  the o.p. seems pretty fair for someone who mostly uses an arch system rather than developing or tinkering.  i did not find your generic point to a wiki page all that helpful.

Offline

#5 2012-07-05 17:21:26

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

Well, under strong peer pressure, I swallowed my principles. I made a copy of my /lib64 directory and ran the update with -f. Failed again. Here's what I got this time:

error: extract: not overwriting dir with file lib64
error: problem occurred while upgrading glibc

It looks like overwriting that entire directory is a no-no. If other people are not getting this same error, though, I must have done something bizarre in the past. I have an evil alter-ego who sometimes gets on my machine late at night and tries to bork my system.

Last edited by dhave (2012-07-05 17:21:55)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#6 2012-07-05 17:23:41

djg1971
Member
Registered: 2008-09-11
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

and by the way i am having the same problem...

Offline

#7 2012-07-05 17:25:22

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

djg1971 wrote:

and by the way i am having the same problem...

I'm so glad to hear that. Umm ... I don't mean that the way it sounds.

Maybe Allan will weigh in soon. Meanwhile, I'm sitting tight.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#8 2012-07-05 17:30:06

djg1971
Member
Registered: 2008-09-11
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

i understand.  and i don't think it is anything odd that you did.  in fact i suspect a great number of people are having the exact same problem.  i'm sure it will right itself soon enough.

Offline

#9 2012-07-05 17:40:18

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

djg1971 wrote:

in fact i suspect a great number of people are having the exact same problem.  i'm sure it will right itself soon enough.

Yes, I imagine you're right. Arch's rolling release system is probably just passing through a brief zone of turbulence.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#10 2012-07-05 17:40:19

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,170

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

You probably have some files in /lib64 that don't belong to the glibc package. Get rid of them. "pacman -Ql | grep /lib64" should tell you which package is at fault.

Last edited by arojas (2012-07-05 17:42:26)

Offline

#11 2012-07-05 17:45:07

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

arojas wrote:

You probably have some files in /lib64 that don't belong to the glibc package. Get rid of them. "pacman -Ql | grep /lib64" should tell you which package is at fault.

Spot on. I had some old kde4 files in there. I dropped kde several months back. Zapping that /lib64/kde4 directory solved the problem.

Thanks very much. The clouds have dissipated, the sun is shining, and all's right with the world.

Thread marked [SOLVED].


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#12 2012-07-05 17:45:45

djg1971
Member
Registered: 2008-09-11
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

there is almost nothing in the /lib64/. directory on my system (only 3 files), but this sort of seems like a problem for which one should wait a little while rather than trying to guess a fix without better understanding what the maintainer had in mind. 

but if anyone has gotten around the problem and suffered no ill effects, please let us know what you did...

Offline

#13 2012-07-05 17:54:46

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

djg1971 wrote:

there is almost nothing in the /lib64/. directory on my system (only 3 files), but this sort of seems like a problem for which one should wait a little while rather than trying to guess a fix without better understanding what the maintainer had in mind. 

but if anyone has gotten around the problem and suffered no ill effects, please let us know what you did...

Like you, I had almost nothing in /lib64 prior to this update. After moving those files and successfully updating glibc, my entire /lib64 directory is now symlinked to /lib. That's a big change.

Maybe my setup is unique for some reason, or this may be a big-ticket update that is discussed on the mailing list. I'm not able to consult it right now (and, truth be known, don't usually do so, since I get most of my Arch info right here on the forum these days).

Apparently the update doesn't expect to find anything in /lib64 and fails if it does.

Last edited by dhave (2012-07-05 17:55:43)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#14 2012-07-05 18:01:59

djg1971
Member
Registered: 2008-09-11
Posts: 147

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

mine does the same thing after allowing the update to go forward.  nice when simple things are indeed as simple as people say they are; it doesn't always turn out that way.

Offline

#15 2012-07-06 07:36:27

sebcactus
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2005-01-27
Posts: 277

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

AFAIAC, removing /lib64/libc.so.6 (not belonging to any package) was enough to fix the pb. It was a symlink anyway.

Offline

#16 2012-07-06 07:47:17

D.
Member
Registered: 2012-05-15
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

libc.so.6 was the problem for me as well. Removing it cleared the way for pacman. Now I'm just wondering what libc.so.6 was doing there...

Offline

#17 2012-07-06 08:04:42

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,406
Website

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

djg1971 wrote:

allan m. is the maintainer for glibc.  he's a very reasonable guy...does he recommend forcing?

DO NOT FORCE!!!!

You have some file you put in /lib64 causing the issues.   "pacman -Qo /lib64/*" to find out what you need to remove.

Offline

#18 2012-07-06 09:15:25

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,170

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

D. wrote:

libc.so.6 was the problem for me as well. Removing it cleared the way for pacman. Now I'm just wondering what libc.so.6 was doing there...

Any chance that you had installed Matlab at some point? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ma … s.2Ferrors

Offline

#19 2012-07-06 09:29:47

D.
Member
Registered: 2012-05-15
Posts: 64

Re: [SOLVED] glibc update failure: /lib64 exists in filesystem

arojas wrote:
D. wrote:

libc.so.6 was the problem for me as well. Removing it cleared the way for pacman. Now I'm just wondering what libc.so.6 was doing there...

Any chance that you had installed Matlab at some point? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ma … s.2Ferrors

Good call. I have it installed at the moment, actually. Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB