You are not logged in.

#1 2012-07-16 10:29:51

nwxxeh
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 30

/sbin/init does not exist...

I'm 100% sure it's kernel/initrd issue...

Once upon a time I was updating my ArchLinux box using wonderful command called 'pacman -Syu' and then wild kernel update appeared.

Then I've restarted my PC and suddenly:

Error: Root device mounted successfully, but /sbin/init does not exist.
Bailing out, you are on your own. Good Luck

[rootfs /]#

I've typed 'ls' at shell, it returned that /sbin is there (as symbolic link to /bin). So I did 'cd sbin' and I did 'ls' again. It shows me that 'init' file is here. I tried to run './init' -> 'init must be run with PID 1'.

BTW. I'm not newbie, I was using ArchLinux from May or even April this year.

Tried to fix that error from ArchIso-Live:

[root@archiso /]# pacman -S sysvinit -r /mnt/sda2/
error: 'sysvinit': could not find or read package

Nothing from ArchForums worked...

Last edited by nwxxeh (2012-07-16 12:12:33)

Offline

#2 2012-07-16 10:40:42

JackH79
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2009-06-18
Posts: 663
Website

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

Really? None of these help?

Offline

#3 2012-07-16 10:47:28

nwxxeh
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 30

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

Unfortunately, none.

I have this error from last update.

I think it's update fault.

Edit/GRUB menu.lst:

# Config file for GRUB - The GNU GRand Unified Bootloader
# /boot/grub/menu.lst

# DEVICE NAME CONVERSIONS 
#
#  Linux           Grub
# -------------------------
#  /dev/fd0        (fd0)
#  /dev/sda        (hd0)
#  /dev/sdb2       (hd1,1)
#  /dev/sda3       (hd0,2)
#

#  FRAMEBUFFER RESOLUTION SETTINGS
#     +-------------------------------------------------+
#          | 640x480    800x600    1024x768   1280x1024
#      ----+--------------------------------------------
#      256 | 0x301=769  0x303=771  0x305=773   0x307=775
#      32K | 0x310=784  0x313=787  0x316=790   0x319=793
#      64K | 0x311=785  0x314=788  0x317=791   0x31A=794
#      16M | 0x312=786  0x315=789  0x318=792   0x31B=795
#     +-------------------------------------------------+
#  for more details and different resolutions see
#  https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/GRUB#Framebuffer_resolution

# general configuration:
timeout   5
default   0
color light-blue/black light-cyan/blue

# boot sections follow
# each is implicitly numbered from 0 in the order of appearance below
#
# TIP: If you want a 1024x768 framebuffer, add "vga=773" to your kernel line.
#
#-*

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,1)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 ro
initrd /boot/initramfs-linux.img

# (1) Arch Linux
#title  Arch Linux Fallback
#root   (hd0,1)
#kernel /boot/vmlinuz-linux root=/dev/sda2 ro
#initrd /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img

# (2) Android
title Project Chandroid
uuid 3a8fe1cb-3b0f-457f-9ca3-2cbcc354af95
root (hd0,2)
kernel /android-4.0-RC1/kernel root=/dev/ram0 androidboot.hardware=asus_laptop acpi_sleep=s3_bios,s3_mode quiet SRC=/android-4.0-RC1 DATA= SDCARD=/data/sdcard.img
initrd /android-4.0-RC1/initrd.img

Last edited by nwxxeh (2012-07-16 10:49:48)

Offline

#4 2012-07-16 11:38:15

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,843
Website

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

Are your boot and root partitions the same?

Are you sure none of the above linked suggestions work?  I see evidence that you have not even tried them.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#5 2012-07-16 11:53:16

nwxxeh
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 30

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

root (/) is /dev/sda2
boot is /boot at /dev/sda2

I've also tried to chroot to my install:

chroot: failed to run command `/bin/bash': Exec format error

I've replaced /bin/bash with this from LiveCD:

chroot: failed to run command `/bin/bash': No such file or directory

Last edited by nwxxeh (2012-07-16 11:55:13)

Offline

#6 2012-07-16 11:56:41

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,843
Website

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

That error is presented verbatim and described in the change root wiki.

Please do go through some of the solutions presented in those other threads.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Offline

#7 2012-07-16 12:11:48

nwxxeh
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 30

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

I'm gonna reinstall it... nothing works.

Close this topic if you can.

Last edited by nwxxeh (2012-07-16 12:12:04)

Offline

#8 2012-07-16 14:54:39

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

nwxxeh wrote:

Nothing from ArchForums worked..

nwxxeh wrote:

.. nothing works.

This are the worst kind of comments that you have provided. They don't help anyone. Provide exact errors when you expect help from the forums !


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#9 2012-07-17 17:40:08

nwxxeh
Member
Registered: 2012-07-16
Posts: 30

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

I think it was /lib issue; cause I've deleted this symlink.

Reinstall fixed anything.

Offline

#10 2012-07-18 22:13:54

eirikst
Member
Registered: 2010-06-15
Posts: 3

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

I got the same error after an unsuccessful pacman -Syu.
Don't have the exact output but the during package checking pacman failed.
I think the last package which was checked where wine and got an error message containing glibc and "/lib/ already exists".
Tried to pacman -Sf glibc which seemed to break everything. A lot of binaries where gone(ls, dir, pacman, reboot, init ... )

Not much to work with but at least some more information.

Don't know any fix at the moment.



EDIT: Seems to be some posts about the problem in  "Pacman & Package Upgrade Issues" part of the forum.

Last edited by eirikst (2012-07-18 22:18:56)

Offline

#11 2012-07-18 22:38:34

Zancarius
Member
From: NM, USA
Registered: 2012-05-06
Posts: 207

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

eirikst wrote:

EDIT: Seems to be some posts about the problem in  "Pacman & Package Upgrade Issues" part of the forum.

Did you read the front page news? If not, it's a good habit to get into before you run an Syu.


He who has no .plan has small finger.
~Confucius on UNIX.

Offline

#12 2012-07-19 10:16:53

MisterAnderson
Member
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 284

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

eirikst wrote:

Tried to pacman -Sf glibc which seemed to break everything.

How many times must it be said? Never use -f with pacman unless you are told to do so, and even then be wary.


D:

Offline

#13 2012-07-23 13:00:40

tuxzz
Member
From: China
Registered: 2012-07-08
Posts: 14

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

Maybe your /usr/lib/initcpio/init is not found.
Reinstall your mkinitcpio.

Last edited by tuxzz (2012-07-23 13:00:49)


Sorry for my bad English...I'm Chinese.

Offline

#14 2013-03-28 15:59:57

munouzin
Member
From: Taiwan
Registered: 2011-09-04
Posts: 3

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

When installing from 2013.03 medium I got the same problem...

Error: Root device mounted successfully, but /sbin/init does not exist.
Bailing out, you are on your own. Good Luck
[rootfs /]#

Tthe problem is, in initramfs, the /new_root/sbin/init is a symbolic link to "../usr/lib/systemd/systemd" (or something like this).
it's not actually "NOT FOUND", it just means "failure when following the symbolic link."
so check out if the /usr partition is probably mounted is significant.

In my case, I'm using lvm and have added the lvm2 hook in mkinitcpio.conf,
but I missed the comments mentioned in mkinitcpio.conf (which is below the lvm2 section)
"NOTE: if you have /usr on a seperate partition, you MUST include the usr, fsck and shutdown hooks."
after doing following steps eveything works fine:

# boot from CD and chroot to the new system, in this case I mount the new system at /mnt
arch-chroot /mnt

# add the missing "usr" and "shutdown" to hooks
vi /etc/mkinitcpio.conf

# regenerate initramfs
mkinitcpio -p linux

Hope this can help. smile

Last edited by munouzin (2013-03-28 16:05:08)

Offline

#15 2013-03-28 17:03:11

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: /sbin/init does not exist...

please don't necrobump threads. Our policy :: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.22

closing...


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB