You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-19 17:29:43

AaronBP
Member
Registered: 2012-08-06
Posts: 149
Website

[solved] vim

So I already have gvim so vi seems a bit redundant. I'd rather build my own package and have vi be a symlink to vim. vi is a base package, though. Is there any reason not to do this?

Last edited by AaronBP (2012-08-19 21:10:44)

Offline

#2 2012-08-19 17:52:10

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,645

Re: [solved] vim

Can just use an alias in ~/.bashrc, e.g.:

alias vi=/usr/bin/vim
alias v=/usr/bin/vim
alias gvi=/usr/bin/gvim

Offline

#3 2012-08-19 19:06:18

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,970

Re: [solved] vim

I have a symlink in /usr/local/bin/vi pointing to /usr/bin/vim. If you really need to make the package, make sure you solve the conflict with the vi package in the PKGBUILD.

Offline

#4 2012-08-19 21:10:30

AaronBP
Member
Registered: 2012-08-06
Posts: 149
Website

Re: [solved] vim

Awebb wrote:

I have a symlink in /usr/local/bin/vi pointing to /usr/bin/vim. If you really need to make the package, make sure you solve the conflict with the vi package in the PKGBUILD.

You know, that sounds like a much better idea than trying to maintain my own version of Arch's crazy vim package. Thanks!

Offline

#5 2012-08-19 23:23:47

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 7,717
Website

Re: [solved] vim

You can remove core/vi if you want to. I assume it's in the "base" group so that you always have an editor after installing. It's not actually *required* by anything (at least, not in the official repos).

If you do that though, you might want to use abs to repackage (g)vim so it provides view and ex, (and vi too, if you want).


Sakura:-
Mobo: MSI X299 TOMAHAWK ARCTIC // Processor: Intel Core i7-7820X 3.6GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR4 (@ 3000MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB HDD, 5x 1TB HDD, 2x 120GB SSD, 1x 275GB M2 SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB