You are not logged in.

#1 2012-08-19 17:29:43

AaronBP
Member
Registered: 2012-08-06
Posts: 140
Website

[solved] vim

So I already have gvim so vi seems a bit redundant. I'd rather build my own package and have vi be a symlink to vim. vi is a base package, though. Is there any reason not to do this?

Last edited by AaronBP (2012-08-19 21:10:44)

Offline

#2 2012-08-19 17:52:10

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,412

Re: [solved] vim

Can just use an alias in ~/.bashrc, e.g.:

alias vi=/usr/bin/vim
alias v=/usr/bin/vim
alias gvi=/usr/bin/gvim

Offline

#3 2012-08-19 19:06:18

Awebb
Member
Registered: 2010-05-06
Posts: 4,163

Re: [solved] vim

I have a symlink in /usr/local/bin/vi pointing to /usr/bin/vim. If you really need to make the package, make sure you solve the conflict with the vi package in the PKGBUILD.

Offline

#4 2012-08-19 21:10:30

AaronBP
Member
Registered: 2012-08-06
Posts: 140
Website

Re: [solved] vim

Awebb wrote:

I have a symlink in /usr/local/bin/vi pointing to /usr/bin/vim. If you really need to make the package, make sure you solve the conflict with the vi package in the PKGBUILD.

You know, that sounds like a much better idea than trying to maintain my own version of Arch's crazy vim package. Thanks!

Offline

#5 2012-08-19 23:23:47

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,133

Re: [solved] vim

You can remove core/vi if you want to. I assume it's in the "base" group so that you always have an editor after installing. It's not actually *required* by anything (at least, not in the official repos).

If you do that though, you might want to use abs to repackage (g)vim so it provides view and ex, (and vi too, if you want).


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB