You are not logged in.

#1201 2012-08-06 14:23:03

nisok
Member
Registered: 2012-07-23
Posts: 9
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP pavillion dv6.

Everything works except resume from suspend.

Offline

#1202 2012-08-07 13:43:49

SanskritFritz
Member
From: Budapest, Hungary
Registered: 2009-01-08
Posts: 1,605
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Latitude D630
Everything works out of the box, haven't tried wifi yet.
Installed Chakra, does that count? smile


zʇıɹɟʇıɹʞsuɐs AUR || Cycling in Budapest with a helmet camera || Revised log levels proposal: "FYI" "WTF" and "OMG" (John Barnette)

Offline

#1203 2012-08-07 23:14:58

Annorax
Member
From: MA, USA
Registered: 2012-01-16
Posts: 49

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Laptop: Toshiba Satellite A105-S4064

Specs: Everything is standard except for the following upgrades:
- 2x2GB RAM (only about 3GB readable due to 32bit core solo)
- 320GB 7200RPM HD

Things that work:
- Wireless ultimately works but took about a day of effort as I could not get NetworkManager to work, instead I am using wicd.
- Trackpad works well after installing trackpad drivers
- Video and sound were no problems

Things that don't:
- Function and media keys (working on this)
- USB memory sticks and cameras don't auto mount but will mount manually (working on this)


Toshiba Satellite A105-S4064
Arch Linux with KDE

Offline

#1204 2012-08-08 22:13:48

AleArchi686
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2012-08-08
Posts: 6

Re: Laptops which run Arch

My Laptop is a Compaq 515
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm)X2 DualCore QL-66
GPU: ATI 4200 512Gb dedicated
RAM: 2Gb
HDD: 250GB 7200RPM

all fine (but not tested Burn a CD/DVD w/Lightscribe yet)

Offline

#1205 2012-08-11 21:49:55

BinaryMage
Member
Registered: 2012-08-11
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

AleArchi686 wrote:

My Laptop is a Compaq 515
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm)X2 DualCore QL-66
GPU: ATI 4200 512Gb dedicated
RAM: 2Gb
HDD: 250GB 7200RPM

all fine (but not tested Burn a CD/DVD w/Lightscribe yet)

512 Gb of video RAM? You must be playing some intense games...

I suspect you meant 512 MB. wink


BinaryMage ~ Ad astra. ~ GPG | Github | Website

Offline

#1206 2012-08-20 00:27:52

Ivyl
Member
From: Gdansk
Registered: 2012-08-19
Posts: 2
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

System: grub 2 + systemd + SLiM + xmonad

Thinkpad R61 with btrfs on SSD:
  Everything works OOB. I haven't tested fingerprint reader though.

Asus G53 S:
  - Screen brightness needs
      Option "RegistryDwords" "EnableBrightnessControl=1"
    in xorg's Device section.
  -  Keyboard lights is handled by DEs,
     without them you can do it manually via /sys/class/leds/asus::kbd_backlight/brightness
  - It won't hibernate due to bound ehci devices,
    http://sprunge.us/INWM in /etc/pm/sleep.d makes everything ok

Acer eMachines 10.1" notebook:
  Broadcom Wireless needs firmware, everything other works OOB.System: grub 2 + systemd + SLiM + xmonad


"Poets do not go mad; but chess-players do. Mathematicians go mad, and cashiers; but creative artists very seldom. [...] The madman is not the man who has lost his reason. He is the man who has lost everything except his reason."

Offline

#1207 2012-08-20 00:41:31

oldtimeyjunk
Member
From: /world/europe/uk/england
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 202
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

My old laptop - a Uniwill L51II3 - went kaput a few weeks ago, and PC World gave me a voucher for £349 (hooray). And so, I spent the money a brand new red HP laptop...

...a HP Pavilion g6-1325ea.

CPU: 1.8 GHz AMD Dual-Core E2-3000M
RAM: 4GB DDR3
HDD: 500GB
GFX: ATI Radeon HD 6380G
Display: 15.6" HD LED BrightView (1366 x 768)
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium + Arch Linux Windows 8 Pro + Arch Linux

Everything works perfectly. Even ATI was easy to set up. However, the audio card is a bit of a bitch to set up properly (it defaults to some weird IExxxx channel, which can only be turned on/off - it's all fixed with a few tweaks though); and it currently crashes E17 when I try to change it. The SD card reader works perfectly too! But, suspend/resume doesn't work >:(

Also, my Arch Linux desktop has been neglected since I got Windows 8. Currently, the audio in AL has completely broken... may have to re-install it one day... >:(

Last edited by oldtimeyjunk (2012-11-10 20:02:15)


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed." - Unix for Dummies, 2nd Edition

Offline

#1208 2012-08-20 00:44:47

oldtimeyjunk
Member
From: /world/europe/uk/england
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 202
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

BinaryMage wrote:
AleArchi686 wrote:

My Laptop is a Compaq 515
CPU: AMD Athlon(tm)X2 DualCore QL-66
GPU: ATI 4200 512Gb dedicated
RAM: 2Gb
HDD: 250GB 7200RPM

all fine (but not tested Burn a CD/DVD w/Lightscribe yet)

512 Gb of video RAM? You must be playing some intense games...

I suspect you meant 512 MB. wink

I think 512GB is recommended requirement for The Sims 3... wink
If you've ever played the PC version, you'll know exactly what I'm on about.


"... being a Linux user is sort of like living in a house inhabited by a large family of carpenters and architects. Every morning when you wake up, the house is a little different. Maybe there is a new turret, or some walls have moved. Or perhaps someone has temporarily removed the floor under your bed." - Unix for Dummies, 2nd Edition

Offline

#1209 2012-08-20 03:26:22

shinasha
Member
Registered: 2012-08-04
Posts: 19

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Starling Netbook from System76
1.5 GHz dual-core Atom
2G RAM
128 GB SSD (upgraded)

syslinux - slim - openbox - pure systemd

No problems and an extreme improvement in performance with the SSD and no desktop environment

Gazelle Professional from System76
2.3 GHz 3rd gen i7
8GB RAM
240 GB SSD

syslinux - gdm - gnome 3 - pure systemd

Had an issue with the FN8/9 keys for screen brightness but thanks to the tip from jakopbreutzfeldt, adding

acpi_os_name=Linux acpi_osi=

to the kernal APPEND line, it is working now.

Had to install a Realtek driver to get the memory card reader working, rts_bpp. It's not on the Realtek site, found it here: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/971876.

I don't know why people are complaining so much about Gnome 3, I'm really enjoying it. Many people don't like change but I like new things. I liked Gnome 2, Unity, and now Gnome 3. And, they are free.

Have contemplated going with a pure openbox setup on this laptop too. Maybe I'll try it...

Offline

#1210 2012-08-20 08:34:55

zen3gr
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2012-07-28
Posts: 12

Re: Laptops which run Arch

It's running smoothly on Lenovo Idepad Z570.

(You may find posts of me asking for help getting wifi usable but I had just to black acer_wmi module and set default settings on bios)

Offline

#1211 2012-08-21 01:23:24

c7r7a7z7y
Member
Registered: 2012-07-14
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

HP G72-250US
2.3GHz Dual-Core Pentium
4GB RAM
320GB HDD

syslinux - gnome3 - pure systemd

Everything works great, and I haven't ran into any problems yet.

Offline

#1212 2012-08-21 23:58:41

SnowyMan95
Member
Registered: 2012-08-16
Posts: 12

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Ideapad Y560

Arch x64 with grub2 and gnome

Needed to off switchable graphics in bios in order to use catalyst driver, except that everything works fine.

Offline

#1213 2012-08-24 08:50:03

yszheda
Member
Registered: 2012-08-20
Posts: 5

Re: Laptops which run Arch

laptop: Acer aspire V3-571G-53214G1TMakk
-CPU: i5-3210M
-GPU: NVIDIA GeForce GT 640M + Intel HD Graphics 4000
-RAM: 4GB
-HD: 1T, 5400RPM

Arch version: 2012.08.04 x86_64
kernel version: 3.4.9

Until now almost everything works well big_smile

*tested items*
-Graphics: use the intel GPU only, turnoff the NVIDIA card with the help of bumblebee.
-Audio: oss fails, use alsa instead.
-Ethernet: Broadcom BCM57785 works.
-Wi-Fi( Broadcom BCM43228 ): b43 driver fails, use broadcom-wl instead. Edit /etc/udev/rules.d/10-network.rules to bind the MAC addresses of Ethernet and Wi-Fi interfaces.
-Webcam: linux-uvc driver is part of the kernel and it works fine.
-Touchpad: use xf86-input-synaptics and follow the wiki to edit configuration file /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/10-synaptics.conf, now works fine.
-Function key: Currently I use KDE. After installing alsa, the Fn+volume keys are enabled. To enable the Fn+brightness keys, insert "acpi_backlight=vendor" into the GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX term in /etc/default/grub and then update grub.cfg.
-5-in-1 Card Reader: works fine without further configuration.

*untested items*
-Bluetooth
-USB 3.0
-VGA out

EDIT: I turn on the NVIDIA card since I need to run some CUDA programs. There is a guide of configuring CUDA on Ivy-Bridge(Intel i7-3610QM) and Kepler(NVIDIA GT650M): http://www.pavanky.com/archlinux-cuda-o … ge-kepler/. I have followed it and it seems to work fine, at less until now. wink

Last edited by yszheda (2012-09-27 08:34:19)

Offline

#1214 2012-08-26 06:49:57

drr
Member
Registered: 2011-01-08
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Compaq Presario CQ40

AMD Athlon X2 64, ATI Radeon HD 3200, Broadcom BCM4312 802.11b/g, Realtek RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet

Linux 3.4.9-1-ARCH i686, ati-dri 8.0.4-2, broadcom-wl 5.100.82.112-5 from AUR, netcfg 2.8.9-1

Offline

#1215 2012-08-30 14:20:35

xenji
Member
Registered: 2012-08-30
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Sony VAIO VPCS13V9B works without any problem

Offline

#1216 2012-08-30 23:38:12

dannickfox
Member
Registered: 2012-03-18
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus X44H

Intel Pentium B960 2.2Ghz
4GB RAM
500GB HDD
DVD Super Multi

Works pretty well, just have to get around the suspend and the hanging power off issues.

Offline

#1217 2012-09-01 21:21:25

Nesc
Member
Registered: 2012-08-09
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Medion Akoya E1212 (like a MSI Wind) works fine (testing repo)
Intel Atom N270
2GB Ram
160GB HDD

Offline

#1218 2012-09-02 12:52:05

ajfh
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

BurntSushi wrote:

Lenovo Thinkpad T430
TL;DR: Working beautifully.

I have ordered the same laptop. I am quite nervous about the UEFI. How did you deal with it?

ps: thanks for the detailed feedback, that's quite reassuring.

EDIT: BurntSushi answered me on his  blog. UEFI is not enabled by default on the T430. I'm looking forward to post my experience here smile

Last edited by ajfh (2012-09-04 17:15:54)

Offline

#1219 2012-09-12 16:09:08

zoqaeski
Member
From: /earth/australia/.
Registered: 2009-09-30
Posts: 124

Re: Laptops which run Arch

oldtimeyjunk wrote:

My old laptop - a Uniwill L51II3 - went kaput a few weeks ago, and PC World gave me a voucher for £349 (hooray). And so, I spent the money a brand new red HP laptop...

...a HP Pavilion g6-1325ea.

CPU: 1.8 GHz AMD Dual-Core E2-3000M
RAM: 4GB DDR3
HDD: 500GB
GFX: ATI Radeon HD 6380G
Display: 15.6" HD LED BrightView (1366 x 768)
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium + Arch Linux

Everything works as it should do - function keys, media buttons (although, the browser icon launches Caja), DVD drive, resume from suspend, WiFi, etc. etc. etc. Even getting ATI to function properly was a breeze, unlike other distros... *ahem*... Ubuntu. Although, there is a little issue with the sound card: not all inputs/outputs showing up, and pressing the volume up/down keys seems to change another channel and doesn't do anything; although, I suspect this is a problem with MATE. Also, I haven't fully tested the battery.

EDIT: Just realized there's an SD card reader. Since I can't get off my lazy bum and go find an SD card, I'll probably never test it.

Does this model have the GPU switching facility?

I'm going to try to dual-boot Arch + Windows 7 Home Premium on a g6-2103ax. The Arch installer USB was able to detect everything ok (apart from KMS), but I've got to figure out the best way to partition it so that Windows doesn't complain, as my first attempt went horribly wrong o_0

Offline

#1220 2012-09-13 10:18:05

dawid.loubser
Member
Registered: 2012-08-09
Posts: 18

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Precision M6600

I run GNOME 3 desktop, and it is dual-booted with Windows 7 for the odd game. Everything works absolutely great, from bluetooth to webcam to Microsoft Touch Mouse (no gestures though).

I am a super-happy camper :-)

Offline

#1221 2012-09-13 21:54:18

stefanwilkens
Member
From: Enschede, the Netherlands
Registered: 2008-12-10
Posts: 624

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Hey guys smile

Don't forget to update the wiki's HCL tables while you're at it smile

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/HCL/Laptops


Arch i686 on Phenom X4 | GTX760

Offline

#1222 2012-09-14 03:50:09

rvc
Member
From: India
Registered: 2012-09-09
Posts: 42
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Thinkpad T500. Almost everything works fine... the device lists shows the card reader and firewire port configured, though i am yet to check it practically... at multiple process running (video on vlc, parallel downloads and working in gimp kept the temperature below 50.....
so much for now.... as i am new to arch (installed on the 5th sept to be precise)  i am thoroughly enjoying it ! i am able to currently triple boot with syslinux on the mbr (windows, pcbsd and arch with arch set as default boot) setting up network printer connected to office windows computer is still an issue but well thats not this thread is looking for !


Associated with
VEDGOO.COM
For Wallpapers, Articles, Blogs, Media and much more...
To Browse Arch Specific Wallpapers, feel free to follow this LINK

Offline

#1223 2012-09-15 19:11:00

thediamondsaint
Member
Registered: 2012-09-09
Posts: 2

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I'm using an Acer Aspire 7551-7422

Offline

#1224 2012-09-17 06:55:26

amcollie
Member
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 9

Re: Laptops which run Arch

cian1500ww wrote:
amcollie wrote:

17 in. Dell Inspiron 9400
GPU: Radeon X1400
GPU RAM: 256 MB
CPU: 1.83GHz Intel Core DUO T5600 processor
RAM: 2GB
Disk: 115GB

Wireless : working
Bluetooth:  Working (intermittenly)
MODEM: unable to get worrking
5-in-1 Card Reader: Unable to fully load xD media the status of the rest are unknown as I do not any of the other media cards
Sound: working
Synaptic: working

Power Management: working for the most part only having problems getting it to suspend on lid close.

I am using the LXDE desktop environment.

I will install arch on my Acer Timeline 3810TZ.  Waiting on XFCE 4.10 to be released.

What graphics drivers are you using for the X1400?

Yes, I am using an ATI Mobility X1400

Offline

#1225 2012-09-17 08:05:15

plustwo
Member
From: South Africa, ZA
Registered: 2012-09-13
Posts: 32

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire One A0A 150-BGw OS:Arch(Fluxbox, Gnome3)
Dell Latitude E6220 OS:Arch(Gnome3, KDE, Mate, Fluxbox)

All running smoothly from date of installation.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB