You are not logged in.

#1001 2012-09-16 23:20:42

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

BKLive wrote:

Okay now I have window decorations from the compiz update, but now no items in my panel. the black background is there, but I'm unsure how to change the theme from doing this.

I'm checking out extensions.gnome.org for the missing panel options. Back soon!

EDIT: can't use extensions.gnome.org for extensions in unity.

http://extensions.gnome.org is for GNOME Shell only.

BKLive wrote:

EDIT2: restarted compiz and removed the .cache directories (in the README) and got the panel items back, but still black bar

EDIT3: black bar is whatever. real problem: no system tray. not sure why not, but it just isn't doing it. offenders: exaile, xchat.

For the system tray issue, just add " 'all' " to com.canonical.unity.panel.systray-whitelist in dconf-editor. You need to do this as Unity only shows the indicators and not the systray by default.

Screenshot: http://ompldr.org/vZmlwOA/Screenshot%20 … :19:40.png


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1002 2012-09-16 23:26:44

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Okay I'm close to giving up and just install Ubuntu...

I built Unity for Arch on a Clean Arch-Linux x86_64 with the result of missing window borders and titles and a black Top Bar.... (compiz decorator segfaults)
I rebuilt it (in case i missed something): After login I cant see anything beside my Background...
After that i removed everything (i basically reset my Arch-Linux to factory defaults smile ) installed Gnome3, got gnome3 running without issues and built Unity for Arch again and I still dont see anything besides my background.

Am i doing something wrong or is this thing just broken?


I'm thankful for every help!

Last edited by franzor (2012-09-16 23:27:12)


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1003 2012-09-17 00:16:01

BKLive
Member
From: Georgia
Registered: 2008-01-28
Posts: 125

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

what icon theme are you using? my icons look terrible in the panel. Also, how do you get your clock to display more than just the time in 24hr format?


Main Arch Setup: HP Pavillion p7-1209, Quad-Core i3-2120 3.3Ghz, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, Intel Graphics
Laptop Arch Setup: Gateway lt3103u Netbook, AMD Athlon64 1.2Ghz, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI X1270 R600

Offline

#1004 2012-09-17 00:41:24

oddfox
Member
From: Spokane, WA
Registered: 2012-08-26
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

BKLive wrote:

what icon theme are you using? my icons look terrible in the panel. Also, how do you get your clock to display more than just the time in 24hr format?

I'm not sure about the icon theme but you can tweak that by clicking the clock and selecting Time & Date Settings.  On the second tab of that applet you will find the two options you're looking for in the upper left of the applet.  The icon theme is really familiar but I can't quite tell right now and I have to reinstall a bunch of themes.

EDIT:  I believe it's Faenza-Darkest.

Last edited by oddfox (2012-09-17 00:46:14)

Offline

#1005 2012-09-17 04:00:48

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:

Okay I'm close to giving up and just install Ubuntu...

I built Unity for Arch on a Clean Arch-Linux x86_64 with the result of missing window borders and titles and a black Top Bar.... (compiz decorator segfaults)
I rebuilt it (in case i missed something): After login I cant see anything beside my Background...
After that i removed everything (i basically reset my Arch-Linux to factory defaults smile ) installed Gnome3, got gnome3 running without issues and built Unity for Arch again and I still dont see anything besides my background.

Am i doing something wrong or is this thing just broken?


I'm thankful for every help!

Try running (in GNOME or some other session):

rm ~/.config/compiz-1/compizconfig/config

If that still does not work, try running:

compiz.reset

Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1006 2012-09-17 04:02:31

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

BKLive wrote:

what icon theme are you using? my icons look terrible in the panel. Also, how do you get your clock to display more than just the time in 24hr format?

I'm using the Faenza-Darkest icon theme and the Violet GTK theme (http://browse.deviantart.com/customizat … /#/d5cu4vp).

For the clock display settings, just open GNOME control center, choose Time & Date, and click the Clock tab smile

Oops: I didn't see oddfox's post smile

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-09-17 04:02:53)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1007 2012-09-17 04:10:07

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

BKLive wrote:

what icon theme are you using? my icons look terrible in the panel. Also, how do you get your clock to display more than just the time in 24hr format?

You can set it even more freely, like I did:
http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/399/15 … editor.png
Just set 'time-format' to 'custom' and change 'custom-time-format' to what you desire.
This value is passed to strftime, so see its documentation for more info on its syntax.

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-09-17 04:15:30)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1008 2012-09-17 10:46:44

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 681

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

just updated from the repo. gtk window decorator isn't working. Emerald still works though, so it's all good.

Offline

#1009 2012-09-17 10:49:13

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

b9anders wrote:

just updated from the repo. gtk window decorator isn't working. Emerald still works though, so it's all good.

Confirm this.
I've managed to work gtk window decorator on clean unity installation, but it's stuck with Adwaita window decorations, so totally useless for me.
It is known bug in upstream, so we need to wait fix.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1010 2012-09-17 16:02:01

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I just compiled and installed the whole thing from source again and now i get a build error when building unity.
Anyone else having this issue?

[ 87%] Building CXX object plugins/unityshell/CMakeFiles/unityshell.dir/__/__/generated/unityshell_options.cpp.o
Linking CXX shared library libunityshell.so
../../unity-shared/libunity-shared.a(ThumbnailGenerator.cpp.o): In function `unity::ThumbnailGeneratorImpl::GetThumbnail(std::string const&, int)::{lambda()#1}::operator()() const':
ThumbnailGenerator.cpp:(.text+0x4a5): undefined reference to `pthread_create'
../../unity-shared/libunity-shared.a(ThumbnailGenerator.cpp.o): In function `unity::ThumbnailGeneratorImpl::DoCleanup()':
ThumbnailGenerator.cpp:(.text+0x140c): undefined reference to `pthread_create'
../../unity-shared/libunity-shared.a(ThumbnailGenerator.cpp.o): In function `unity::ThumbnailGeneratorImpl::~ThumbnailGeneratorImpl()':
ThumbnailGenerator.cpp:(.text._ZN5unity22ThumbnailGeneratorImplD2Ev[_ZN5unity22ThumbnailGeneratorImplD5Ev]+0x1e): undefined reference to `pthread_join'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [plugins/unityshell/libunityshell.so] Error 1
make[1]: *** [plugins/unityshell/CMakeFiles/unityshell.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
makepkg -si 520.79s user 46.76s system 98% cpu 9:36.61 total

When building compiz-ubuntu i get these warnings!

(1/1) checking package integrity                               [##################################] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                                    [##################################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                              [##################################] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                            [##################################] 100%
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-animationaddon.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-bicubic.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-blur.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-colorfilter.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-cubeaddon.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-gears.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-group.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-loginout.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-reflex.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-thumbnail.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-wallpaper.schemas could not be found.
(1/1) upgrading compiz-ubuntu                                  [##################################] 100

Last edited by franzor (2012-09-17 16:03:38)


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1011 2012-09-17 16:07:56

\〠/
Member
Registered: 2011-02-26
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Does anyone know how to convert the README file from chenxiaolong's unity repo into a list of package name? My sed/grep-fu is weak ~_~

Offline

#1012 2012-09-17 16:17:13

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Someone already did!

rleyh wrote:

Just do a

makepkg -si

in every folder listed in README, from top to bottom.

Once every package has been built sucessfully, you should be able to select Unity in you login manager (gdm/kdm/lightdm/...).

You can even automate the compiling process by executing this in Unity-for-Arch directory:

cat README | grep "^[[:digit:]][[:digit:]]:" | sed -e 's/^..:\ \(.*[a-z0-9]\)\ .*->.*$/\1/g' > pkglist
for i in $(cat pkglist) ; do cd $i ; makepkg -si ; cd ../ ; done

Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1013 2012-09-17 16:23:06

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor, you can fix the unity-build by adding 'LDFLAGS="-lpthread"' before the cmake command.

You can ignore the warnings when installing compiz, they're not important

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-09-17 16:23:23)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1014 2012-09-17 16:28:52

\〠/
Member
Registered: 2011-02-26
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@franzor, thanks smile I didn't see that post.

Offline

#1015 2012-09-17 16:41:45

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

np

thanks oi_wtf i got it to build and could log in but it doesnt seem to be the "ubuntu theme" + the window decorator is missing (when is start compiz-decorator from terminal it segfaults!)
Are there any fixes for these problems too?!


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1016 2012-09-17 17:32:57

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:

I just compiled and installed the whole thing from source again and now i get a build error when building unity.
Anyone else having this issue?

[ 87%] Building CXX object plugins/unityshell/CMakeFiles/unityshell.dir/__/__/generated/unityshell_options.cpp.o
Linking CXX shared library libunityshell.so
../../unity-shared/libunity-shared.a(ThumbnailGenerator.cpp.o): In function `unity::ThumbnailGeneratorImpl::GetThumbnail(std::string const&, int)::{lambda()#1}::operator()() const':
ThumbnailGenerator.cpp:(.text+0x4a5): undefined reference to `pthread_create'
../../unity-shared/libunity-shared.a(ThumbnailGenerator.cpp.o): In function `unity::ThumbnailGeneratorImpl::DoCleanup()':
ThumbnailGenerator.cpp:(.text+0x140c): undefined reference to `pthread_create'
../../unity-shared/libunity-shared.a(ThumbnailGenerator.cpp.o): In function `unity::ThumbnailGeneratorImpl::~ThumbnailGeneratorImpl()':
ThumbnailGenerator.cpp:(.text._ZN5unity22ThumbnailGeneratorImplD2Ev[_ZN5unity22ThumbnailGeneratorImplD5Ev]+0x1e): undefined reference to `pthread_join'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [plugins/unityshell/libunityshell.so] Error 1
make[1]: *** [plugins/unityshell/CMakeFiles/unityshell.dir/all] Error 2
make: *** [all] Error 2
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
    Aborting...
makepkg -si 520.79s user 46.76s system 98% cpu 9:36.61 total

When building compiz-ubuntu i get these warnings!

(1/1) checking package integrity                               [##################################] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                                    [##################################] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                              [##################################] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space                            [##################################] 100%
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-animationaddon.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-bicubic.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-blur.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-colorfilter.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-cubeaddon.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-gears.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-group.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-loginout.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-reflex.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-thumbnail.schemas could not be found.
Warning: /usr/share/gconf/schemas/compiz-wallpaper.schemas could not be found.
(1/1) upgrading compiz-ubuntu                                  [##################################] 100

I've made a patch to fix this, but I can't "git push" at school sad

The gconf schemas errors are harmless. That just occurs because Ubuntu disabled some unported plugins and I need to make sure that their schemas get unregistered (ie. upgrade from 0.9.7.8 to 0.9.8.2).


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1017 2012-09-17 17:34:58

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

\〠/ wrote:

Does anyone know how to convert the README file from chenxiaolong's unity repo into a list of package name? My sed/grep-fu is weak ~_~

/stuff/chenxiaolong/git/Unity-for-Arch $ ./What_can_I_update\?.py --help
usage: What_can_I_update?.py [-h] [-c] [-f] [-s SHOW [SHOW ...] | -d | -l]
...
optional arguments:
...
  -l, --list            Print package list from README and quit
...

So,

./What_can_I_update\?.py -l

big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1018 2012-09-17 17:44:26

BKLive
Member
From: Georgia
Registered: 2008-01-28
Posts: 125

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I have some system hangs with unity lens. Specifically, I will minimize/unminimize a window to the tool bar (left) and a flickering right arrow will show, followed by sluggish behavior. This will cause unity to hang indefinitely, especially if I open the lense while that arrow flickers.

Also, in Ubuntu the desktop is the default 'window' that the unity shell decorates. So if there is no program open, the top bar will show desktop menus. This isn't happening after I open a window. The last window is the menu bar that will remain until I open another.


Main Arch Setup: HP Pavillion p7-1209, Quad-Core i3-2120 3.3Ghz, 8GB RAM, 1TB HDD, Intel Graphics
Laptop Arch Setup: Gateway lt3103u Netbook, AMD Athlon64 1.2Ghz, 2GB RAM, 250GB HDD, ATI X1270 R600

Offline

#1019 2012-09-17 22:30:14

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Mine, too.
But just clicking on an empty spot on my desktop brought the desktop menus back...

One thing that bugs me, though: http://imageshack.us/a/img37/1247/154auswahl.png

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-09-17 22:34:54)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1020 2012-09-17 22:43:23

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Mine, too.
But just clicking on an empty spot on my desktop brought the desktop menus back...

One thing that bugs me, though: http://imageshack.us/a/img37/1247/154auswahl.png

Which program is that?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1021 2012-09-17 22:52:42

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Since nautilus draws the desktop, I think that menu belongs to nautilus...
could be unity though, since changing "Ubuntu Desktop" to "Arch Linux Desktop" was there, i think

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-09-17 22:59:03)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1022 2012-09-17 23:57:28

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Since nautilus draws the desktop, I think that menu belongs to nautilus...
could be unity though, since changing "Ubuntu Desktop" to "Arch Linux Desktop" was there, i think

That's weird. I have the Ubuntu help patch disabled for nautilus-ubuntu. Is the same menu shown when a nautilus window is focused?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1023 2012-09-18 02:29:14

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Okay guys I feel kinda awesome right now!

I figured the problem with the missing window borders out (and did so all by my self smile )
(@Chenxiaolong: you might want to include this in your readme!)

So I took a look at the ccsm and checked which window decorator it was calling, and i changed that to compiz-decorator.
After that compiz-decorator still segfaults so I started ye good ol' bashdb and found out that it crashed while starting gtk-window decorator.
So I started gdb to take a look at gtk-window-decorator and it segfaults at meta_calc_button_size() (may not be accurate).
The mistake I made was thinking that the correct version of metacity for "Unity-for-Arch" was the metacity-ubuntu package from AUR.
Just uninstalled that and installed the one from the official repo and everything works well.


tl;dr: DO NOT INSTALL THE "metacity-ubuntu" package from AUR, install the "metacity" package from the official repo instead!


Hope I could help some people!


Btw Chenxiaolong if you want to put out precompiled packages I can give you some webspace! (just mail me!)

Last edited by franzor (2012-09-18 02:30:14)


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1024 2012-09-18 02:52:53

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:

Okay guys I feel kinda awesome right now!

I figured the problem with the missing window borders out (and did so all by my self smile )
(@Chenxiaolong: you might want to include this in your readme!)

So I took a look at the ccsm and checked which window decorator it was calling, and i changed that to compiz-decorator.
After that compiz-decorator still segfaults so I started ye good ol' bashdb and found out that it crashed while starting gtk-window decorator.
So I started gdb to take a look at gtk-window-decorator and it segfaults at meta_calc_button_size() (may not be accurate).
The mistake I made was thinking that the correct version of metacity for "Unity-for-Arch" was the metacity-ubuntu package from AUR.
Just uninstalled that and installed the one from the official repo and everything works well.


tl;dr: DO NOT INSTALL THE "metacity-ubuntu" package from AUR, install the "metacity" package from the official repo instead!


Hope I could help some people!

Thanks for the information! I'll add metacity-ubuntu to the compiz conflicts array in its PKGBUILD, so that they cannot be installed together smile If you'd like me to add this to the README as well, I can do that.

franzor wrote:

Btw Chenxiaolong if you want to put out precompiled packages I can give you some webspace! (just mail me!)

Thanks for the offer! pekmop1024 is already hosting a repo for Unity-for-Arch and he is usually very quick to update the packages (and sometimes updates them before I do big_smile).


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1025 2012-09-18 03:06:24

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Thanks for the information! I'll add metacity-ubuntu to the compiz conflicts array in its PKGBUILD, so that they cannot be installed together smile If you'd like me to add this to the README as well, I can do that.

franzor wrote:

Btw Chenxiaolong if you want to put out precompiled packages I can give you some webspace! (just mail me!)

Thanks for the offer! pekmop1024 is already hosting a repo for Unity-for-Arch and he is usually very quick to update the packages (and sometimes updates them before I do big_smile).


Oh and thank you so much for all the work you are putting into this, i love archlinux and the unity DE is my favourite, wasnt quite sure what to put on my new pc... (ubuntu/arch) you made the decision clear!

thanks a lot


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB