You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-18 17:58:12

Haikarainen
Member
Registered: 2012-09-04
Posts: 93

Wireless unstable, drops connection after a long while.

Card: Intel Corporation Centrino Wireless-N 2230 (rev c4)
Networkmanager: Wicd
Driver: iwlwifi
Modules loaded:

[fredrik@fredrik-arch Documents]$ lsmod | grep iwlwifi
iwlwifi               304490  0 
mac80211              416391  1 iwlwifi
cfg80211              173210  2 iwlwifi,mac80211

Reason I'm using wicd is because NetworkManager does not work at all (it gives the same errors wicd does when it stops working). Loading it with systemd, but regular initscripts does not do anything differently. What basically happens is; after a long while of being connected (everything from hours to 2-3 days tops) I start getting REALLY bad connection. Takes forever to load webpages, any kind of request really. Troubleshooting this I have pinged my router, without the issues I get anywhere from 0.9ms to 100ms. When I have the issues though its anywhere from 700ms to 3000ms, going up and up until it just replies "network unreachable" and the connection is dropped without any error. Reconnecting does nothing, and after a while I wont even get an IP address from my router, being unable to connect. Although I can still connect if I put static IP there, but the problem remains.

Only thing that fixes this is a reboot of my laptop (tried restarting wicd etc). I have also noticed netcfgs wifi-menu is often acting up with errors around WPA_SUPPLICANT.

Someone please help this is getting ridicilous.

Offline

#2 2012-09-19 14:14:40

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 419

Re: Wireless unstable, drops connection after a long while.

looks like a link problem to me - it could be a badly working router, your wireless card (or its driver) or some kind of interference...

could you post the output of the "iwconfig" command?


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

#3 2012-09-19 14:42:33

Haikarainen
Member
Registered: 2012-09-04
Posts: 93

Re: Wireless unstable, drops connection after a long while.

I highly doubt that its anything else than software/drivers, it works perfectly in Windows 7 on the same laptop, as well as any other wireless and wired devices thats connected to the same router.

iwconfig:

[fredrik@fredrik-arch Downloads]$ iwconfig
eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bgn  ESSID:"xMEATx"  
          Mode:Managed  Frequency:2.437 GHz  Access Point: 74:44:01:36:C8:AE   
          Bit Rate=78 Mb/s   Tx-Power=16 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
          Link Quality=43/70  Signal level=-67 dBm  
          Rx invalid nwid:0  Rx invalid crypt:0  Rx invalid frag:0
          Tx excessive retries:3365  Invalid misc:995   Missed beacon:0

The router is also the best router I've ever owned, never had a problem with it before. It is a NETGEAR WNR3500Lv2 if it says anything.

Offline

#4 2012-09-19 15:01:27

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: Wireless unstable, drops connection after a long while.

Just a total stab in the dark, but are you sure that the correct driver is iwlwifi and not iwlagn or something else?  I use iwlwifi with my 6235 and it is fabulous...


Edit: Pretty off-topic, but I noticed you're using the Netgear WNDR3500.  I use a Netgear WNDR3700 and it is pretty awesome.  I am giving serious thought to flashing open firmware... you using stock?

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2012-09-19 15:03:26)

Offline

#5 2012-09-19 21:03:20

Haikarainen
Member
Registered: 2012-09-04
Posts: 93

Re: Wireless unstable, drops connection after a long while.

WonderWoofy wrote:

Just a total stab in the dark, but are you sure that the correct driver is iwlwifi and not iwlagn or something else?  I use iwlwifi with my 6235 and it is fabulous...


Edit: Pretty off-topic, but I noticed you're using the Netgear WNDR3500.  I use a Netgear WNDR3700 and it is pretty awesome.  I am giving serious thought to flashing open firmware... you using stock?

Yes I am sure, and yes I'm using the stock firmware on my router. It works great for me, and you know what they say: Don't fix it if it works!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB