You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-24 14:58:02

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 620
Website

$DISPLAY stopped working for one user

Have 3 secondary users that I use daily on this desktop, that runs Arch x86_64 up-to-date (systemd compatible). WM is i3-wm 4.3-2.
As of today, USER2 can launch GUI applications, USER3 sudently can't.
Can't see what configuration I could have edited (I barely touch those secondary users config files).

First tho secondary users are allowed to use X with 'xhost +SI:localuser:<USER{2,3}>' in a startup script, so that I can launch various GUI apps.
Both share the same groups (audio,video,...) beside their own peculiar group.
Oh and a last one that is used for skype only (as per the wiki). It is launched with an alias:

alias skype='xhost +local: && sudo -u skype /usr/bin/skype'

Runs fine.

Logged as USER3:
$ echo $DISPLAY

$ leafpad

leafpad: Impossible d'ouvrir l'affichage: 

translation: "Can't open display: "

Logged as primary User I typed successively:
$ xhost +SI:localuser:<USER>
$ xhost +localhost
$ xhost +local:
$ xhost + (access control disabled)

None worked.
As root:
# export XAUTHORITY=~<USER>/.Xauthority
Same thing than before :-o

Note : I happened to shift from Nvidia to nouveau while I had this issue; same issue

Only way I found atm is:
$ sudo -u <USER> -H PROGRAM
Which runs fine.

Please have you got a clue where this might come from?

Refs:
[Solved] Cannot open display :0.0  https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=132532 with the 2 links that eirika provided.
Running web browser as separate user?   https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 8#p1058358

Last edited by kozaki (2012-09-25 11:01:11)


PGP Key: 1C2A554EFF0157D9
Core i3 @3.30GHz | 4GB RAM | Arch linux-ck
Atom N450 | 2 gig RAM | Arch linux 4.6.0rc3 i686 / 4.07 x86_64 (5-6H battery life smile * ARM Tegra K1 | 4 gig RAM | Chrome OS
Atom Z520 | 2 gig RAM | OMV (Debian) kernel 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-586 on SDHC

Offline

#2 2012-10-04 10:15:10

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 620
Website

Re: $DISPLAY stopped working for one user

Follow-up

Same issue happened after last update on my netbook, for both secondary users.
/var/log/pacman.log

[2012-09-26 13:31] Running 'pacman -S -u'
[2012-09-26 13:31] starting full system upgrade
[2012-09-26 13:32] removed eject (2.1.5-7)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded coreutils (8.17-3 -> 8.19-1)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded gtk-update-icon-cache (2.24.12-1 -> 2.24.13-1)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded gtk2 (2.24.12-1 -> 2.24.13-1)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded hwids (20120906-1 -> 20120922-1)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded ladspa (1.13-3 -> 1.13-4)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded libarchive (3.0.4-1 -> 3.0.4-2)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded libsigc++ (2.2.10-2 -> 2.2.11-1)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded mlocate (0.25-2 -> 0.26-1)
[2012-09-26 13:32] upgraded procps-ng (3.3.3-3 -> 3.3.3-6)
[2012-09-26 13:33] upgraded qt (4.8.3-2 -> 4.8.3-3)
[2012-09-26 13:33] upgraded util-linux (2.21.2-5 -> 2.22-6)
[2012-09-26 13:33] upgraded sysvinit-tools (2.88-7 -> 2.88-8)

As far  I can remember I haven't edited any config file on that system for last month - other than power management related: cpupower, jupiter and kernel-netbook

Problem hasn't changed on the desktop PC: $DISPLAY works fine with one secondary user, and not at all with the other. Have no clue as where it may comes from, so any advice would be much appreciated.


PGP Key: 1C2A554EFF0157D9
Core i3 @3.30GHz | 4GB RAM | Arch linux-ck
Atom N450 | 2 gig RAM | Arch linux 4.6.0rc3 i686 / 4.07 x86_64 (5-6H battery life smile * ARM Tegra K1 | 4 gig RAM | Chrome OS
Atom Z520 | 2 gig RAM | OMV (Debian) kernel 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-586 on SDHC

Offline

#3 2012-10-04 11:36:57

David Batson
Member
Registered: 2011-10-13
Posts: 640

Re: $DISPLAY stopped working for one user

All I can say is good luck with that.  Could be the same issue as this TGN thread: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=149534

Offline

#4 2012-10-04 13:48:16

kozaki
Member
From: London >. < Paris
Registered: 2005-06-13
Posts: 620
Website

Re: $DISPLAY stopped working for one user

Thank you very much David
I just checked that the one of the users on that system that didn't have $DISPLAY,
now gets it back with a simple 'export DISPLAY=:0.0'

Now how comes is this for *one* user and not the others, I'd like any idea on where to start to dig that a bit.
Will follow miraclex post and bug report


PGP Key: 1C2A554EFF0157D9
Core i3 @3.30GHz | 4GB RAM | Arch linux-ck
Atom N450 | 2 gig RAM | Arch linux 4.6.0rc3 i686 / 4.07 x86_64 (5-6H battery life smile * ARM Tegra K1 | 4 gig RAM | Chrome OS
Atom Z520 | 2 gig RAM | OMV (Debian) kernel 3.16.0-0.bpo.4-586 on SDHC

Offline

#5 2012-10-04 13:52:55

David Batson
Member
Registered: 2011-10-13
Posts: 640

Re: $DISPLAY stopped working for one user

They both might be dead.  I know the bug report was closed, and the thread moved to topics going nowhere by an admin. hmm

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB