You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-30 21:16:20

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

[SOLVED]broadcom-wl: no scan results

This has been a rocky road, sorry forums!
So today I was finally able to install my needed wireless drivers, thanks to falconindy.  wl is installed and initiated

[dan@archssd ~]$ lsmod | grep wl
wl                   2557927  0
cfg80211              173210  1 wl
lib80211                3949  2 wl,lib80211_crypt_tkip

And I have fixed the name swapping that happens with wl as per the wiki

[dan@archssd ~]$ iwconfig
wifi0     IEEE 802.11abg  ESSID:off/any 
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=200 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Power Management:off
         
eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

net0      no wireless extensions.

I have also blacklisted all modules the wiki has suggested blacklisting

[dan@archssd ~]$ cat /etc/modprobe.d/modprobe.conf
blacklist brcm80211
blacklist b43
blacklist ssb

Nor is anything blocked

[dan@archssd ~]$ rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
    Soft blocked: no
    Hard blocked: no

Yet still no wifi networks appear

[dan@archssd ~]$ iwlist wifi0 scan
wifi0     No scan results

Any one know what is going on?
Thanks in advanced for your help and time!

Last edited by Dans564 (2012-09-30 23:15:22)

Offline

#2 2012-09-30 21:27:08

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED]broadcom-wl: no scan results

Randomly a bunch of network just showed up.  Probably about 15 minutes after rebooting.  Still can't connect to any of them.

Offline

#3 2012-09-30 22:37:52

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,718

Re: [SOLVED]broadcom-wl: no scan results

Dans564 wrote:

Yet still no wifi networks appear

[dan@archssd ~]$ iwlist wifi0 scan
wifi0     No scan results

Any one know what is going on?

You must run that command with root permissions.  If not, the response you get will contain extant data.

If you would, please post the output of sudo iwlist scan


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2012-09-30 23:14:08

Dans564
Member
From: New Jersey, USA
Registered: 2011-02-04
Posts: 109

Re: [SOLVED]broadcom-wl: no scan results

hey ewaller,
Turns out I had this problem a while back and have just forgotten about it: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=123131 It seems the "fix" was just moving to 32bit.  It also turns out that since the last time I tried it, b43 has added better support for my card.  So now I'm up and running with b43.
Although, it does still seem that there is some sort of bug when broadcom-wl is used on my system under 64bit.  so although it isn't technically solved, I guess I'll mark this thread as 'Solved'

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB