You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-29 17:08:39

mrzeznicki
Member
From: Cracow, Poland
Registered: 2012-06-02
Posts: 31

Eclipse woes

Hello all,
This issue seriously put me out. After recent eclipse upgrade from 4.2.0 to 4.2.1, all of my plugins are gone, even those installed from AUR (m2e, subclipse etc.) cannot be loaded. Any thoughts?

Last edited by mrzeznicki (2012-09-29 17:09:15)

Offline

#2 2012-09-29 18:49:05

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,131

Re: Eclipse woes

Sorry, cannot replicate.  Did you somehow lose your ~/.eclipse directory?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2012-09-29 19:32:18

Gachapen
Member
From: Gjøvik, Norway
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3

Re: Eclipse woes

I have the exact same problem. All plugins gone. My ~/.eclipse directory is still there.

Offline

#4 2012-09-29 19:38:04

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,131

Re: Eclipse woes

Okay, what happens if you pick one from the AUR and reinstall it.  If you run Eclipse, does it see that one plug in, or are there still none?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2012-09-29 19:50:27

Gachapen
Member
From: Gjøvik, Norway
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3

Re: Eclipse woes

Still the same.
I see all plugins except cdt (from community) listed as "installed software" in eclipse, though none of them works.

Offline

#6 2012-09-29 20:07:07

mrzeznicki
Member
From: Cracow, Poland
Registered: 2012-06-02
Posts: 31

Re: Eclipse woes

My ~/.eclipse is in place, just as Gachapen's

cd ~/.eclipse/
   /home/rzeznik/.eclipse
rzeznik $: ll
total 0
drwxr-xr-x 1 rzeznik users 28 May 18 18:13 org.eclipse.equinox.security
drwxr-xr-x 1 rzeznik users 56 Jul  6 11:51 org.eclipse.platform_3.7.0_1287824591
drwxr-xr-x 1 rzeznik users 86 May 18 11:17 org.eclipse.platform_3.7.0_1543616141
drwxr-xr-x 1 rzeznik users 86 Sep 29 18:42 org.eclipse.platform_4.2.0_1543616141

I am able to see presumably all of the plugins I have installed under Help -> About Eclipse SDK -> Installation details, say, I have an entry there for m2e plugin. But when I try to open a maven's pom file I get:

No editor descriptor for id org.eclipse.m2e.editor.MavenPomEditor

Same goes for subclipse. I have it listed on plugins page but Eclipse perspective it installs is gone and it logs:

!ENTRY org.eclipse.team.core 4 0 2012-09-29 22:03:57.139
!MESSAGE Could not instantiate provider org.eclipse.team.svn.core.svnnature for project mock_operator.
!STACK 1
org.eclipse.team.core.TeamException: Could not instantiate provider org.eclipse.team.svn.core.svnnature for project mock_operator.
	at org.eclipse.team.core.RepositoryProvider.mapNewProvider(RepositoryProvider.java:165)
	at org.eclipse.team.core.RepositoryProvider.mapExistingProvider(RepositoryProvider.java:235)
	at org.eclipse.team.core.RepositoryProvider.getProvider(RepositoryProvider.java:507)
	at org.eclipse.team.internal.ccvs.ui.CVSLightweightDecorator.isMappedToCVS(CVSLightweightDecorator.java:192)
	at org.eclipse.team.internal.ccvs.ui.CVSLightweightDecorator.decorate(CVSLightweightDecorator.java:147)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.decorators.LightweightDecoratorDefinition.decorate(LightweightDecoratorDefinition.java:263)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.decorators.LightweightDecoratorManager$LightweightRunnable.run(LightweightDecoratorManager.java:81)
	at org.eclipse.core.runtime.SafeRunner.run(SafeRunner.java:42)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.decorators.LightweightDecoratorManager.decorate(LightweightDecoratorManager.java:365)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.decorators.LightweightDecoratorManager.getDecorations(LightweightDecoratorManager.java:347)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.decorators.DecorationScheduler$1.ensureResultCached(DecorationScheduler.java:371)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.decorators.DecorationScheduler$1.run(DecorationScheduler.java:331)
	at org.eclipse.core.internal.jobs.Worker.run(Worker.java:53)
!SUBENTRY 1 org.eclipse.team.core 4 0 2012-09-29 22:03:57.139
!MESSAGE Could not instantiate provider org.eclipse.team.svn.core.svnnature for project mock_operator.

Last edited by mrzeznicki (2012-09-29 20:09:12)

Offline

#7 2012-09-29 20:52:20

gururise
Member
Registered: 2011-11-03
Posts: 18

Re: Eclipse woes

Same exact problem here with the recent upgrade 4.2.0 -> 4.2.1

All my plugins are gone.  I've tried deleting the .eclipse folder, tried erasing /usr/share/eclipse, tried uninstalling & re-installing everything to no avail.  All plugins from AUR are not visible in Eclipse 4.2.1, can anyone help??

Offline

#8 2012-09-29 22:26:53

mrzeznicki
Member
From: Cracow, Poland
Registered: 2012-06-02
Posts: 31

Re: Eclipse woes

I have created this bug report for the issue. Let's see what comes out of it.

Offline

#9 2012-09-29 22:33:16

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: Eclipse woes

Just for information: I have the same problem here, my ADT-plugin has gone, even removing .eclipse and reinstalling eclipse including plugins didn't work.

Offline

#10 2012-09-30 00:15:05

SuperBo
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 45

Re: Eclipse woes

I also have a same error. I think it's a bug and we have to wait for a fix in next upgrade

Offline

#11 2012-09-30 19:41:18

lafferjm
Member
Registered: 2012-07-12
Posts: 6

Re: Eclipse woes

I had this issue as well.  So I shutdown my computer, and stepped away to think of a way to solve it.  Then I remembered I can revert packages, but I forgot that I had recently cleared my package cache.  I then decided to fire up eclipse and my plugins where back, so you may just want to try again.

Offline

#12 2012-09-30 19:57:32

mrzeznicki
Member
From: Cracow, Poland
Registered: 2012-06-02
Posts: 31

Re: Eclipse woes

lafferjm wrote:

so you may just want to try again.

No luck this time, but what's funny, every time I try to load a plugin I get different errors. This time it was:

org.eclipse.core.runtime.CoreException: Cannot create extension
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPlugin.createExtension(WorkbenchPlugin.java:287)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.registry.EditorDescriptor.createEditor(EditorDescriptor.java:235)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.EditorReference.createPart(EditorReference.java:283)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.e4.compatibility.CompatibilityPart.createPart(CompatibilityPart.java:249)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.e4.compatibility.CompatibilityEditor.createPart(CompatibilityEditor.java:60)
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.e4.compatibility.CompatibilityPart.create(CompatibilityPart.java:286)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke0(Native Method)
	at sun.reflect.NativeMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(NativeMethodAccessorImpl.java:57)
	at sun.reflect.DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.invoke(DelegatingMethodAccessorImpl.java:43)
	at java.lang.reflect.Method.invoke(Method.java:616)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.internal.di.MethodRequestor.execute(MethodRequestor.java:56)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.internal.di.InjectorImpl.processAnnotated(InjectorImpl.java:859)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.internal.di.InjectorImpl.processAnnotated(InjectorImpl.java:839)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.internal.di.InjectorImpl.inject(InjectorImpl.java:111)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.internal.di.InjectorImpl.internalMake(InjectorImpl.java:319)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.internal.di.InjectorImpl.make(InjectorImpl.java:240)
	at org.eclipse.e4.core.contexts.ContextInjectionFactory.make(ContextInjectionFactory.java:161)
	at org.eclipse.e4.ui.internal.workbench.ReflectionContributionFactory.createFromBundle(ReflectionContributionFactory.java:102)
	at org.eclipse.e4.ui.internal.workbench.ReflectionContributionFactory.doCreate(ReflectionContributionFactory.java:71)
	at org.eclipse.e4.ui.internal.workbench.ReflectionContributionFactory.create(ReflectionContributionFactory.java:53)
	at org.eclipse.e4.ui.workbench.renderers.swt.ContributedPartRenderer.createWidget(ContributedPartRenderer.java:141)

(sic!)2000 lines of stack trace, it's no strange why Eclipse slugishness is abysmall

Caused by: java.lang.NullPointerException
	at org.eclipse.ui.internal.WorkbenchPlugin.createExtension(WorkbenchPlugin.java:263)
	... 123 more

Last edited by mrzeznicki (2012-09-30 19:58:24)

Offline

#13 2012-09-30 22:55:57

herr_tenma
Member
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 1

Re: Eclipse woes

Updated today and all my eclipse plugins vanished. Just reverted to 4.2 and its all working again.

Offline

#14 2012-10-01 09:41:05

mrzeznicki
Member
From: Cracow, Poland
Registered: 2012-06-02
Posts: 31

Re: Eclipse woes

I've just installed two upgrades to my plugins from AUR (ajdt and egit) and they don't show up in menus (eg. there is still no Team->Git menu item)  sad

Offline

#15 2012-10-01 17:59:09

lordmaop
Member
Registered: 2012-10-01
Posts: 1

Re: Eclipse woes

Same thing happened to me, I solved it by doing Help -> Check for Updates, in eclipse. Then restart eclipse and everything was back to normal.

Offline

#16 2012-10-01 19:27:07

mrzeznicki
Member
From: Cracow, Poland
Registered: 2012-06-02
Posts: 31

Re: Eclipse woes

lordmaop wrote:

Same thing happened to me, I solved it by doing Help -> Check for Updates, in eclipse. Then restart eclipse and everything was back to normal.

Hey, did you actually update anything or just checked? What update sites did you enable? What user account did you run it from (root or regular one)?

Offline

#17 2012-10-01 21:25:20

Gachapen
Member
From: Gjøvik, Norway
Registered: 2012-09-29
Posts: 3

Re: Eclipse woes

I checked for updates like lordmaop said and then installed them as normal user. While it may not be a good solution (?), eclipse now at least works like it should for me.

Offline

#18 2012-10-02 00:04:05

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,593
Website

Re: Eclipse woes

I only install eclipse from repos. I install all plugins from Eclipse update site (or other sites). After update to 4.2.1 -- all gone. Eclipse then wanted to do an "update". Let it download and update and all plugins are back.


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#19 2012-10-02 01:54:36

ioos
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 122

Re: Eclipse woes

I'm having trouble getting the Android plugins to work. If I installed them through Eclipse, where are they installed? /usr/share/eclipse gets removed when I uninstall Eclipse. But when I reinstall (using eclipse-jee from the AUR) the plugins and their associated urls are already there. That's after removing ~/.eclipse and ~/.config/eclipse too.

Offline

#20 2012-10-02 04:54:03

darose
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 118

Re: Eclipse woes

The following workaround restores my plugins:

* downgrade eclipse (to 4.2-1)
* downgrade eclipse-cdt (to 8.1.0-2)
* rm -r ~/.eclipse

HTH

Offline

#21 2012-10-02 17:11:05

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: Eclipse woes

lordmaop wrote:

Same thing happened to me, I solved it by doing Help -> Check for Updates, in eclipse. Then restart eclipse and everything was back to normal.

Same here (only using adt-plugin for android-development)

Offline

#22 2012-10-03 09:56:11

rocktale
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2009-03-18
Posts: 24

Re: Eclipse woes

Since I have one system working and one not (both x86_64) I was looking through the differences. Apparently I had more plugins installed on the system that wasn't working so I removed them one by one.

After all removing eclipse-emf (from AUR, in my case it was a depency of eclipse-wtp) did the trick and all other plugins (including eclipse-cdt) started working again.
However, reinstalling eclipse-emf from AUR still breaks it.

Offline

#23 2013-04-23 19:25:04

dioltas
Member
Registered: 2009-06-03
Posts: 44

Re: Eclipse woes

I tried most of the things suggested in this thread and in the bug report comments.

Force removing eclipse-emf and eclipse-wtp and re-installing didn't help for me. Neither did updating plugins from eclipse as root, updating eclipse-emf, removing ~/.eclipse.

In the end when I totally removed eclipse-android, eclipse-emf and eclipse-wtp and re-installed, everything was ok.

Offline

#24 2013-04-23 19:46:33

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,073

Re: Eclipse woes

dioltas, please do not necrobump threads.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB