You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-05 21:35:39

murali
Member
Registered: 2011-02-24
Posts: 13

RAM upgrade question

I've an old Lenovo R61 thinkpad (8932 CTO) which supports upto 4G ram and want to max it out. Would i need to reinstall Arch with x86_64 version to see the 4G ram or will the installed x686 be able to see the ram increase as well?

Also is there any other catch in increasing memory - will i get any kernel panics or boot up issues? I've legacy grub as boot loader.

Appreciate any feedback.

Thanks.

Offline

#2 2012-10-05 21:40:37

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,079

Re: RAM upgrade question

i686 can see 3.2GB of usable ram. so you should be fine without a re-install


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#3 2012-10-05 22:44:29

teateawhy
Member
From: GER
Registered: 2012-03-05
Posts: 1,060
Website

Re: RAM upgrade question

If you add more ram by buying an additional memory module make sure it has the same clock and frequency as the first one. You should be able to work with the full amount of ram built in your computer then even if you have an x686 installation. This is achieved by physical adress extension.
Also see:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension
"The Linux kernel supports PAE as a build option and most major distributions provide a PAE kernel either as the default or as an option"

Offline

#4 2012-10-05 22:50:44

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,015

Re: RAM upgrade question

Depends on whether there is a limitation of the motherboard taking any more than 4G, which of course, then to use anymore of it, would have to be 64-bit.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#5 2012-10-05 22:52:13

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,138

Re: RAM upgrade question

teateawhy wrote:

You should be able to work with the full amount of ram built in your computer then even if you have an x686 installation. This is achieved by physical adress extension.
Also see:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Physical_Address_Extension
"The Linux kernel supports PAE as a build option and most major distributions provide a PAE kernel either as the default or as an option"

But not in the stock Arch kernel:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … _64-bit.3F

Online

#6 2012-10-05 23:06:39

murali
Member
Registered: 2011-02-24
Posts: 13

Re: RAM upgrade question

Thanks everyone for the quick responses. My motherboard cannot take more than 4 so that's what i'm going to stick with. I found one PAE kernel in AUR so maybe that's what i'm going to try after the upgrade.

Thanks all for your suggestions.

Offline

#7 2012-10-06 00:22:07

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: RAM upgrade question

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB