You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-07 19:25:36

distorx
Member
Registered: 2012-05-08
Posts: 25

My telnet doesn't telnet anymore!!!

Since a 2 few a I used to telnet my desktop with no problem since one of my updates the telnet doesn't work anymore and show this and then drop the connection.

Trying 172.16.0.2...
Connected to 172.16.0.2.
Escape character is '^]'.

Linux 3.5.4-1-ARCH (archbox.local) (pts/1)


Please help!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Offline

#2 2012-10-07 19:45:29

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,642

Re: My telnet doesn't telnet anymore!!!

Can you ping it?

Moving from Applications & Desktop Environments to Networking, Server, and Protection.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#3 2012-10-07 20:21:21

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,825

Re: My telnet doesn't telnet anymore!!!

Two things.  First, anything in the logs on the Arch box? 
Second, can I dissuade you from using telnet for that purpose?  It is far more secure to use ssh.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2012-10-07 23:50:28

distorx
Member
Registered: 2012-05-08
Posts: 25

Re: My telnet doesn't telnet anymore!!!

My log

Oct  7 19:46:08 archbox xinetd[2214]: Started working: 2 available services
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:46:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: ttloop: retrying
Oct  7 19:47:15 archbox telnetd[2216]: child process 2217 exited: 0

Offline

#5 2013-05-22 13:07:05

hogehoge
Member
Registered: 2013-05-22
Posts: 3

Re: My telnet doesn't telnet anymore!!!

Same problem as well

Name           : inetutils
Version        : 1.9.1-5

Not reported bugs yet?

Offline

#6 2013-05-22 13:21:33

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,825

Re: My telnet doesn't telnet anymore!!!

Hello, and welcome to Arch Linux.  This thread is coming up on 8 months old, and a great deal has changed in that time.  I am going to close this thread, and ask you to please start a new thread.  If you wish, please feel free to refer back to this thread from the new one.  We do this because, although the symptoms are the same, the cause may be different causing advice in the ancient thread to be moot.

When you post the new thread, please tell us a bit more about your system.  Describe your network, from where you are trying to Telenet, any router in the path, and firewalls that may be on the Arch systems or in the routers.   Thanks.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Fo … Bumping.22


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB