You are not logged in.

#1151 2012-10-08 09:18:38

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@chenxiaolong, can't compile webapps-applications, got this error

mv: cannot stat ‘/usr/share/locale/zn_CN/’: No such file or directory

Actually what is zn_CN for? I checked your PKGBUILD, it's written as {zn,zh}_cn.

Last edited by qiuwei (2012-10-08 19:04:08)

Offline

#1152 2012-10-08 10:23:26

b9anders
Member
Registered: 2007-11-07
Posts: 681

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

@chenxiaolong, can't compile webapps-applications, got this error

mv: cannot stat ‘/usr/share/locale/zn_CN/’: No such file or directory

Actually what is zn_CN for? I checked your , it's written as {zn,zh}_cn.

It's a Chinese locale. Don't know why it's there though. I tried uncommenting it and it compiled, but then I instead get

/tmp/alpm_aiV0lq/.INSTALL: line 4: syntax error near unexpected token `newline'
/tmp/alpm_aiV0lq/.INSTALL: line 4: `<!DOCTYPE html>

when trying to install it.

Same with the other webapps.

Offline

#1153 2012-10-08 11:12:38

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

It's a Chinese locale. Don't know why it's there though.

Shouldn't it be only zh_cn?

Offline

#1154 2012-10-08 16:47:39

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Normally the chinese locale is named zh_CN, upstream called it zn_CN, obviously by mistake,
so chen renamed it to the correct name in the PKGBUILD...
but there's the cause for your error... this line

mv $RPM_BUILD_ROOT/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

should be

mv ${pkgdir}/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

if you change that, it'll build just fine.

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-10-08 16:48:21)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1155 2012-10-08 17:48:19

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Normally the chinese locale is named zh_CN, upstream called it zn_CN, obviously by mistake,
so chen renamed it to the correct name in the PKGBUILD...
but there's the cause for your error... this line

mv $RPM_BUILD_ROOT/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

should be

mv ${pkgdir}/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

if you change that, it'll build just fine.

Thanks. It's already mentioned by you on previous page. Sorry that I didn't check it carefully.

Offline

#1156 2012-10-08 17:56:28

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Check if these three addons are enabled in firefox: http://imageshack.us/a/img528/5237/181auswahl.png
For example in GMail, there's a bar like this: http://imageshack.us/a/img811/9135/179auswahl.png (sry, it's not english)
In GMail you have to click the link in that bar, on omgubuntu.co.uk I got asked automatically,
in any case a... uh... popup like this http://imageshack.us/a/img528/1691/180auswahl.png pops up and asks if you want to integrate the webapp into your desktop...

@chen is it possible to change the ubuntu-icon in the third image?

Hi, I got all of these popups and successfully enable it for gmail. However, none of the exciting features such as message indicator integration and hud integration appears.
Should I run some extra service manually?
Many thanks!

Offline

#1157 2012-10-08 19:01:18

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
Reded wrote:

Quick question, how do I get the music lens working, and (if possible) the photo one? big_smile

And is there any way to add other lenses? I know there's many available for Ubuntu.

Rhythmbox is needed for the music lens and Shotwell is needed for the photos len smile I'm not sure if the music/picture directories need to be added to the respective programs though.

As for other lenses, we'll have them when they are packaged smile Do you have a list of ones you want? I can package them when I have time.

Rhythmbox is not necessary. I didn't install it but the music lens works. It may be due to that I installed banshee.

Offline

#1158 2012-10-10 06:14:00

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Can anybody help me get lightdm to load, I added lightdm to /etc/rc.conf but did not work, so   I installed GDM to get a desktop. Am I doing something wrong I dont have an entry for lightdm in /etc/inittab btw.

Offline

#1159 2012-10-10 06:28:05

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

cpatrick08 wrote:

Can anybody help me get lightdm to load, I added lightdm to /etc/rc.conf but did not work, so   I installed GDM to get a desktop. Am I doing something wrong I dont have an entry for lightdm in /etc/inittab btw.

Is your system newly installed? Did you follow the install instructions strictly?
Can you also try to run lightdm manually and check the log?

BTW, I don't have lightdm entry in /etc/inittab either.

Last edited by qiuwei (2012-10-10 06:34:18)

Offline

#1160 2012-10-10 07:26:02

pekmop1024
Member
From: Kiev/Feodosia
Registered: 2010-04-21
Posts: 125
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

cpatrick08 wrote:

Can anybody help me get lightdm to load, I added lightdm to /etc/rc.conf but did not work, so   I installed GDM to get a desktop. Am I doing something wrong I dont have an entry for lightdm in /etc/inittab btw.

You need lightdm from unity-extra repo and lightdm-unity-greeter from AUR.
Unfortunately, I still did not added package to repo because of lack of time.


ArchLinux x86_64 (desktop): i7 970@4.3GHz - 24GB - GTX680 DirectCU II TOP - Crucial M4 128GB - 3x2TB Seagate - Creative X-Fi Platinum - Zalman ZM1000HP
ArchLinux i686 PAE (passive cooled): i3 540 - 4GB - GT610 Silent - Crucial M4 64GB - Creative X-Fi XtremeMusic
ArchLinux i686 (HTPC): Core 2 Duo E6400 - 2GB - GT520 Silent - 80GB Seagate

Offline

#1161 2012-10-10 08:11:06

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
cpatrick08 wrote:

Can anybody help me get lightdm to load, I added lightdm to /etc/rc.conf but did not work, so   I installed GDM to get a desktop. Am I doing something wrong I dont have an entry for lightdm in /etc/inittab btw.

Is your system newly installed? Did you follow the install instructions strictly?
Can you also try to run lightdm manually and check the log?

BTW, I don't have lightdm entry in /etc/inittab either.

If there's no entry in inittab, (which is the default, btw) then you've simply got to create that entry
(it's really not that hard and explained in the wiki: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Lightdm )

You might have to change the var greeter-session in lightdm.conf to "greeter-session=unity-greeter",
if lightdm fails to load the unity greeter...
to see some error messages of lightdm if it fails to start, use the "lightdm -d" command in your tty...

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-10-10 08:19:20)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1162 2012-10-10 10:19:25

Kopfweh
Member
Registered: 2011-08-06
Posts: 72

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Keep in mind that it also depends on the init-system you're using. If you still use sysvinit then inittab is still important, if you switch or have already switched to systemd you need to enable the lightdm-service.

Last edited by Kopfweh (2012-10-10 10:19:34)

Offline

#1163 2012-10-10 23:02:25

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

pekmop1024 wrote:
cpatrick08 wrote:

Can anybody help me get lightdm to load, I added lightdm to /etc/rc.conf but did not work, so   I installed GDM to get a desktop. Am I doing something wrong I dont have an entry for lightdm in /etc/inittab btw.

You need lightdm from unity-extra repo and lightdm-unity-greeter from AUR.
Unfortunately, I still did not added package to repo because of lack of time.

thanks I did not have lightdm-unity-greeter from AUR

Last edited by cpatrick08 (2012-10-11 01:36:46)

Offline

#1164 2012-10-11 01:54:26

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

cpatrick08 wrote:
pekmop1024 wrote:
cpatrick08 wrote:

Can anybody help me get lightdm to load, I added lightdm to /etc/rc.conf but did not work, so   I installed GDM to get a desktop. Am I doing something wrong I dont have an entry for lightdm in /etc/inittab btw.

You need lightdm from unity-extra repo and lightdm-unity-greeter from AUR.
Unfortunately, I still did not added package to repo because of lack of time.

thanks I did not have lightdm-unity-greeter from AUR

It still does not work for me
/etc/lightdm/lightdm-gtk-greeter.conf
/etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf

Offline

#1165 2012-10-11 06:01:14

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Your lightdm.conf is wrong,
don't uncomment settings after

#
# Seat defaults
#

but after

[SeatDefaults]

the former are just explainations, not the real settings.
Also the default settings are pretty good, you shouldn't need to change them...
I didn't... see: http://sprunge.us/MhRc?cfg

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-10-11 06:46:14)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1166 2012-10-11 19:24:15

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Your lightdm.conf is wrong,
don't uncomment settings after

#
# Seat defaults
#

but after

[SeatDefaults]

the former are just explainations, not the real settings.
Also the default settings are pretty good, you shouldn't need to change them...
I didn't... see: http://sprunge.us/MhRc?cfg

I repleaced the continents of your link to my /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf and ran sudo systemctl enable  lightdm.service and it still does not run

Last edited by cpatrick08 (2012-10-11 19:25:04)

Offline

#1167 2012-10-11 23:11:12

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Then boot, go to your tty, type "lightdm -d" press return and tell us the output...
Does lightdm start that way? -> problem lies within init/systemd
Does not start? -> problem with lightdm


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1168 2012-10-12 02:15:18

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Then boot, go to your tty, type "lightdm -d" press return and tell us the output...
Does lightdm start that way? -> problem lies within init/systemd
Does not start? -> problem with lightdm

how do you take a picture in tty fn+PRTSC did not work

Offline

#1169 2012-10-12 02:39:40

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

You can't do it like that, simplest way would be to write the output to a textfile,
like "lightdm -d > logfile" or "lightdm -d | tee logfile"


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1170 2012-10-12 03:19:53

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

You can't do it like that, simplest way would be to write the output to a textfile,
like "lightdm -d > logfile" or "lightdm -d | tee logfile"

it showed that greeter-setup-script=/usr/bin/numlockx on did not work so I commented it out and it works now thanks everybody for your help

Offline

#1171 2012-10-12 17:43:01

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Normally the chinese locale is named zh_CN, upstream called it zn_CN, obviously by mistake,
so chen renamed it to the correct name in the PKGBUILD...
but there's the cause for your error... this line

mv $RPM_BUILD_ROOT/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

should be

mv ${pkgdir}/usr/share/locale/{zn,zh}_CN/

if you change that, it'll build just fine.

The estimated arrival date for my new SSD is Monday. I can finally install Arch again to test the commits, so I don't make stupid mistakes like this again smile

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-10-12 17:43:12)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1172 2012-10-12 18:19:57

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I will be so happy if this is true: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … px=MTIwNTI

If Canonical can develop it's own software and stop patching GNOME's, then there's hope that Unity could be accepted into other distro's official repositories smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1173 2012-10-12 23:53:52

cpatrick08
Member
Registered: 2011-12-14
Posts: 14

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I was wondering if it was safe to use arch's testing repo with unity git repo. I tried to do the upgrade and it wanted to replace some Ubuntu packages and I said no and # out the testing repo

Offline

#1174 2012-10-13 10:16:10

Berseker
Member
From: Near Lecco, Italy
Registered: 2008-04-24
Posts: 252

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

is a normal arch repo available to test these unity packages? or do I have to download everything from git "manually" and then package everything acc to the build order on the git repo website?

Offline

#1175 2012-10-13 10:25:35

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,510
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I will be so happy if this is true: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … px=MTIwNTI

If Canonical can develop it's own software and stop patching GNOME's, then there's hope that Unity could be accepted into other distro's official repositories smile

Not wanting to read through 1100+ posts, I would encourage you to edit and update the first post in this thread with yor latest and greatest info with links to install.  For example, project status, likes to PKGBUILD, etc.


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB