You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-11 03:21:43

capoeira
Member
From: Vila Velha - Brasil
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 446

audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

I don't know where the problem is. All audio plugins which have a  GUI are not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.
I tried Qtractor and Ardour.

I have no clue where to begin to search for the problem.

So before I post any output I would like to know if anybody with a updated Arch can confirm this or if this is a problem with my sistem.



Thanks

Offline

#2 2012-10-11 14:52:31

capoeira
Member
From: Vila Velha - Brasil
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 446

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

sorry, LV2 is working

linux-vst I have only one plugin suite, so it could be upstream problem. there are no GUIs
no error messages, the window of the plugin opens but only the frame


DSSI plugins with GUIs. No GUIs are opening
error messages in qtractor trying to open 3 dssi plugins and one vst plugin with dssi-vst:
1: Calf Filterclavier
2: hexter DX7
3: Less Trivial synth
4: TickyClav VST

terminate called after throwing an instance of 'osctl::osc_net_dns_exception'
  what():  OSC error in gethostbyname: Host desconhecido

hostname (none) port 12415

hexter_gtk starting (pid 15409)...

less_trivial_synth_qt_gui starting...

DSSIVSTPlugin::instantiate(TickyClav.dll)
DSSIVSTPluginInstance::DSSIVSTPluginInstance(TickyClav.dll)
Returning file identifiers: PTt9rA3TG72MzdY5DZzSi4ec
DSSI_PATH not set, defaulting to /home/studio/.dssi:/usr/local/lib/dssi:/usr/lib/dssi
RemoteVSTClient: executing /usr/lib/dssi/dssi-vst/dssi-vst-server TickyClav.dll,PTt9rA3TG72MzdY5DZzSi4ec
DSSI VST plugin server v0.986
Copyright (c) 2004-2010 Chris Cannam
Loading "TickyClav.dll"...
VST_PATH not set, defaulting to /home/studio/vst:/usr/local/lib/vst:/usr/lib/vst
dssi-vst-server[1]: found in /home/studio/vst/TickyClav.dll
done
Testing VST compatibility...
dssi-vst-server[1]: VST 2.4 entrypoint "VSTPluginMain" not found in DLL "TickyClav.dll", looking for "main"
dssi-vst-server[1]: VST entrypoint "main" found
dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin instantiated
dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin is a VST

dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin has a GUI
dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin supports processReplacing
dssi-vst-server[1]: opening plugin
dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin is VST 2.0 or newer
dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin is a synth
dssi-vst-server[1]: plugin name is "TickyKlav"
dssi-vst-server[1]: vendor string is "Big Tick"
Initialising Windows subsystem...
dssi-vst-server[1]: registered Windows application class "dssi_vst"
dssi-vst-server[1]: created main window
done
dssi-vst-server[1]: created audio thread
cannot create dummy timer window
DSSIVSTPluginInstance(0x31818d0): setting OK true
DSSIVSTPluginInstance::DSSIVSTPluginInstance(TickyClav.dll) construction complete
dssi-vst-server[1]: set sample rate to 44100
client sized shm to 256
dssi-vst-server[1]: set buffer size to 32
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (0,0.5): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (1,0.5): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (2,0): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (3,0.25): 0 events expected

RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (4,0.5): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (5,0.25): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (6,0.25): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (7,0.25): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (8,0.25): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (9,0.5): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (10,0): 0 events expected
sized shm to 256, 0 inputs and 2 outputs
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (11,0): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (12,0): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (13,0): 0 events expected
RemoteVSTServer::setParameter (14,0): 0 events expected
DSSI VST plugin GUI controller v0.986
Copyright (c) 2004-2010 Chris Cannam
created lo server (url is osc.udp://(none):16334/) - update path is /dssi/TickyClav.dll.2f39510/update

dssi-vst-server[1]: reset
DSSIVSTPlugin::cleanup
DSSIVSTPluginInstance::~DSSIVSTPluginInstance
DSSIVSTPluginInstance::~DSSIVSTPluginInstance: asking plugin to terminate
RemoteVSTServer::terminate: setting exiting flag
Remote VST plugin audio thread: returning
dssi-vst-server[1]: cleaning up
dssi-vst-server[1]: closed audio thread
dssi-vst-server[1]: freed dll
dssi-vst-server[1]: exiting

dssi-vst_gui: No contact from plugin -- timed out on startup

dssi-vst_gui[1]: exiting

Last edited by capoeira (2012-10-11 14:52:54)

Offline

#3 2013-02-09 04:21:43

funkmuscle
Member
Registered: 2006-02-09
Posts: 504

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

yo Cap, you found a fix yet Bro?

Offline

#4 2013-02-09 10:28:14

capoeira
Member
From: Vila Velha - Brasil
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 446

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

funkmuscle wrote:

yo Cap, you found a fix yet Bro?

try
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/dssi-vst-git/
and
https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/fsth … lang=pt_BR
(change PCKBULD of fsthost to get the latest version)

Offline

#5 2013-02-09 16:30:32

funkmuscle
Member
Registered: 2006-02-09
Posts: 504

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

thanx Cap but it's actually the dssi plugins that are saying no gui in Rosegarden or Qtractor.

Offline

#6 2013-02-18 11:28:41

capoeira
Member
From: Vila Velha - Brasil
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 446

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

funkmuscle wrote:

thanx Cap but it's actually the dssi plugins that are saying no gui in Rosegarden or Qtractor.

hum, latest version o fsthost shouuld have fixed this. haven't used vst in a while, but i will

Offline

#7 2014-03-27 08:34:25

Modeler
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 62

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

Hi,

Sorry to bump an old thread but I hit this same problem with DSSI plug-ins failing to launch their GUIs in Qtractor and other hosts. As there was no apparent fix I went on a mission to find one:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 6#p1397476

On my system(s) it was a name resolution issue. I just had to add one line in /etc/hosts for the current host name and IP address and every plug-in worked like a charm.


Wirth's law: "Software is getting slower more rapidly than hardware becomes faster"

Offline

#8 2014-04-07 21:22:11

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: audio plugins with GUI not working: LV2, DSSI, native vst, win VST.

Thanks Modeler for providing a potential solution. Closing old thread to avoid further necros.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB