You are not logged in.

#701 2012-10-09 14:41:26

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I need foldingathome-gpu.service for systemd.

Does anyone had written it ?

Offline

#702 2012-10-09 14:42:44

zacariaz
Member
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 475
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

trapanator wrote:

I need foldingathome-gpu.service for systemd.

Does anyone had written it ?

Think it's only out for windows actually. Might be wrong though.

Offline

#703 2012-10-10 09:28:46

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

zacariaz wrote:
trapanator wrote:

I need foldingathome-gpu.service for systemd.

Does anyone had written it ?

Think it's only out for windows actually. Might be wrong though.

? I have installed this package:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=23981

but it have a rc.d launch script, I need a systemd one.

Offline

#704 2012-10-10 11:41:33

zacariaz
Member
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 475
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

trapanator wrote:
zacariaz wrote:
trapanator wrote:

I need foldingathome-gpu.service for systemd.

Does anyone had written it ?

Think it's only out for windows actually. Might be wrong though.

? I have installed this package:

https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=23981

but it have a rc.d launch script, I need a systemd one.

Maybe it was another version or something, but I thought I read somewhere that it was a windows nly thing. Haven't been able to confirm it though...

Offline

#705 2012-10-10 18:12:35

imatechguy
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 66

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Pudge wrote:

  Thanks guys.  <snip>

I echo your sentiment on the importance of doing whatever you can regardless of PPD because you never know when a WU you fold helps unlock something important or groundbreaking.  While this project has been, is and probably will at some point be involved with diseases that have touched my life in one way or another the reason I do it is because I know 100% of what I donate in time, parts and increased electric bills to fold a WU go to the people that can make the best use of it.  I never have to worry about how much of every $1 I donate actually goes to "Admin" purposes; as happens with almost all "charitable" organizations regardless of how much good they actually do.

One day soon we may even hit that  <100 team ranking you posted as a personal goal so long ago. 



trapanator wrote:

I need foldingathome-gpu.service for systemd.

Does anyone had written it ?

Yep it's written, and up on the Wiki, I got it from there a few days ago.

Offline

#706 2012-10-11 07:36:19

trapanator
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-08-10
Posts: 137

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

imatechguy wrote:
trapanator wrote:

I need foldingathome-gpu.service for systemd.

Does anyone had written it ?

Yep it's written, and up on the Wiki, I got it from there a few days ago.

I'm speaking for foldingathome-gpu, not -smp.

Offline

#707 2012-10-14 03:50:13

imatechguy
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 66

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

trapanator wrote:

I'm speaking for foldingathome-gpu, not -smp.


Sorry absolutely missed that distinction.  You could wait for a service file or use a cronjob to start it.  Use the @reboot option so it starts when the machine boots up and have it start a script file.  It may not be as convient as a systemd unit-file for starting and stoping if that's what you're looking for but if the main goal is just to get it to start automatically at boot the cronjob option works well.

Offline

#708 2012-12-01 13:03:26

jac
Member
From: /home/jac
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 431
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Speaking of foldingathome-gpu, anybody have resources for how to work around
    CoreStatus = 63 (99)

I found a wiki with the status codes listing it as a permission error, but cannot figure out how to fix it. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated!


As an aside, holy crap this processor is ridiculous. Got 27k yesterday, which is what I remember my GPU doing. Do they scale GPU points so that the increased speed doesn't completely flood out CPU users?

Offline

#709 2013-01-01 23:36:30

Thom
Member
Registered: 2012-05-22
Posts: 72
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Is-it possible to run F@h with boinc ?
Thanks.

Offline

#710 2013-01-04 00:10:29

zacariaz
Member
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 475
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hurray, just realized I'm in top 100 on the archlinux team.

Not gonna hold my breath untill top 500 though. wink

Offline

#711 2013-01-05 20:17:16

ARandomOWL
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I have recently returned my first work units on my 4.8GHz 2600K. I was looking to get my GTX 560 folding too, however the old GPU console client now leads to a 503 forbidden on Stanford's site sad

Offline

#712 2013-01-07 18:46:06

imatechguy
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
Registered: 2010-03-22
Posts: 66

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

ARandomOWL wrote:

I have recently returned my first work units on my 4.8GHz 2600K. I was looking to get my GTX 560 folding too, however the old GPU console client now leads to a 503 forbidden on Stanford's site sad

It looks like they've closed that link down to push everyone to the new V7 client that supports both CPU & GPU folding. 

http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=61&t=23346

and

http://foldingforum.org/viewtopic.php?f=76&t=22286


Unfortunately as stated in the links the unified client only supports GPU folding under MS Windows.  GPU folding was never really officially supported under Linux even though WINE made it possible and there is no word on when it might be supported.  You might try to coax the V7 client into GPU folding under WINE but that seems to have seen mixed results.  A pity too because that 560 would really boost your points so it might be worth it to tinker with.  You might also see if you can download the file elsewhere, like SourceForge or something. As a point of reference I have a cheap 460 that does nothing but fold 24x7 and I get between 16,000-19,000 points/day just out of it.

Offline

#713 2013-01-08 00:27:38

ARandomOWL
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I've had the GPU client running in WINE before. I thought I had kept the download somewhere but it appears not sad

Thanks for the links.

Offline

#714 2013-01-11 16:41:09

jac
Member
From: /home/jac
Registered: 2009-05-19
Posts: 431
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Does anybody know the redistribution rules for that file? I mean the client still works, since I'm getting points. I assume they'd rather have points from an old less efficient client than no points at all right?

Is it legal to host it publicly?


Edit: And unfortunately I solved my previous permission problem by finding my old installation... so if anybody encounters and fixes it I'd love to hear about it.

Last edited by jac (2013-01-11 16:42:18)

Offline

#715 2013-01-12 15:16:47

ARandomOWL
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2012-08-15
Posts: 8

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I found a source for the old client and now have the GPU folding too smile Points incoming! http://folding.extremeoverclocking.com/ … =&u=629305

Offline

#716 2013-01-28 23:26:20

cip91
Member
Registered: 2011-09-27
Posts: 6

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Hi all, I recently upgraded my vga, and I was trying to use it for F@H. It's a Nvidia GT640 (GK107).
I tried with the aur package that involves the 6.41 version, but after a couple of days I didn't get any WU. So, reading that WUs for the old version are becoming rare, I tried installing v7, and found that it supports gpu folding on linux but there aren't WUs yet because is untested or something like that. Then I found this guide on the F@H forum. It's a bit old, bit I think that it has potential. After following the guide I immediately get a WU for my GPU, however whenever FahCore_15 starts I get this error:

FahCore returned: UNKNOWN_ENUM (53 = 0x35)

Is there any way to make the v7 gpu client working? If that matters, I have installed both the lib32-nvcuda (aur) and cuda (community).

Here is a log: http://pastebin.com/W7e26qED

FIXED IN NEXT POST

Last edited by cip91 (2013-02-08 21:47:42)

Offline

#717 2013-02-08 21:44:55

cip91
Member
Registered: 2011-09-27
Posts: 6

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I succesfully managed to fold units with the GPU! After following the guide on my previous post, I copied all the *dll and *dll.so files from /opt/fah-gpu (they come with the foldingathome-gpu-nvidia package from aur) to

/opt/fah

and

/opt/fah/cores/www.stanford.edu/~pande/Win32/AMD64/NVIDIA/Fermi/Core_15.fah

I don't think that they need to be in both of these folders, but I'm too lazy now to find which is necessary. If you're having problems getting WUs for the GPU, I highly recommend the switch to v7.

Offline

#718 2013-03-06 20:01:40

xedi
Member
Registered: 2013-03-06
Posts: 5

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Everytime I'm trying to run folding@home (running FAHClient) I get this error: 19:58:49:ERROR:Exception: locale::facet::_S_create_c_locale name not valid

Anybody else having the problem? I use the package from AUR (7.3.6)

Offline

#719 2013-03-06 20:27:02

zacariaz
Member
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 475
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

xedi wrote:

Everytime I'm trying to run folding@home (running FAHClient) I get this error: 19:58:49:ERROR:Exception: locale::facet::_S_create_c_locale name not valid

Anybody else having the problem? I use the package from AUR (7.3.6)

nope. what locale are you using?

Offline

#720 2013-03-06 20:31:06

xedi
Member
Registered: 2013-03-06
Posts: 5

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

zacariaz wrote:

what locale are you using?

The default en_US.UTF-8

Offline

#721 2013-03-06 21:07:19

zacariaz
Member
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 475
Website

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

xedi wrote:
zacariaz wrote:

what locale are you using?

The default en_US.UTF-8

Well, I'm out of ideas wink

Offline

#722 2013-03-06 21:20:16

cip91
Member
Registered: 2011-09-27
Posts: 6

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

I don't know if it can help, but I had an error with F@H 7.3.6 that I didn't have in 7.2.9 ... If you want to downgrade and see if you still encounter this error you can use this PKGBUILD

Offline

#723 2013-03-07 19:51:59

xedi
Member
Registered: 2013-03-06
Posts: 5

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Same problem with 2.9 sad

Offline

#724 2013-03-07 20:40:01

cip91
Member
Registered: 2011-09-27
Posts: 6

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

Can you post a more complete log? Maybe the problem is elsewhere (I'm out of ideas too tongue)

Offline

#725 2013-03-07 20:45:21

xedi
Member
Registered: 2013-03-06
Posts: 5

Re: F@H Arch Linux Team - Recruitment & Stats thread - HELP US !.

What log do you specifically mean?

I just installed FAH through wine right now btw and it seems to work well.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB