You are not logged in.

#1201 2012-10-23 18:26:41

xpt
Member
Registered: 2012-10-23
Posts: 53

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi!

I am using the humbug repository. how I can change the theme of the icons?

Offline

#1202 2012-10-23 20:32:59

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

xpt wrote:

Hi!

I am using the humbug repository. how I can change the theme of the icons?

Of which icons?


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1203 2012-10-23 20:38:55

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

b9anders wrote:

All is well again. Simply running

# gdk-pixbuf-query-loaders --update-cache

Solved all problems!

Nice! This would be a packaging error in the Arch packages. Each package that installs GDK pixbuf modules should automatically run that command.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1204 2012-10-23 20:39:44

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

Good news, gnome 3.6 has been moved from gnome-unstable to testing:) I think we will see it soon in extra.

That's great news!


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1205 2012-10-23 20:41:36

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

fredbezies wrote:

You're partly wrong. It is related to gtk-window-decorator which is not build using libwnck3, but libwnck. A simple pacman -S libwnck fixes this bug. A visual proof ? smile

http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8196/8108623149_fee43d9476.jpg
Unity, ok -> libwnck installed. par fredbezies, sur Flickr

Thanks! Fixed: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … c46b04ecbe


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1206 2012-10-23 20:43:59

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kirurgs wrote:

If you encounter any strange behavior, please check ~/.xsession-errors wink

Currently I have only couple of issues with Unity...
1. Instead of time I have text "Time" on clock applet
2. Cursors are crappy (in FF they are OK) (I think this is not due to unity, but I can be wrong)
3. missing cpufreq, multiload, pastie applets (maybe they exist, but I can't find them)

1. /etc/timezone is needed until GNOME 3.6 is released and systemd is required smile
2. EDIT: nevermind
3. multiload no longer works with the latest Unity. I'll package the other two when I have time smile

EDIT: indicator-sync is packaged smile
EDIT2: I can't find a 'pastie' indicator.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-10-23 22:07:29)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1207 2012-10-23 20:46:33

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:

Hi.
I updated my archlinux installation (-Syu) and all the packages in the git repo, and now I got no decoration.

/usr/bin/compiz (decor) - Warn: No default decoration found, placement will not be correct

I read the last replies and tried the solutions like reinstalling libwnck, changing the window theme using gnome-tweak-tool but nothing seems to work.

Am I missing anything?

EDIT: I just noticed that there's a running process of gtk-window-decorator that keeps using 100% of my cpu.

What theme are you using? If you're using Adwaita, try using another theme. I used to run into the issue, but not anymore. I'm not sure why it happens.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1208 2012-10-23 20:57:26

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 102

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

What theme are you using? If you're using Adwaita, try using another theme. I used to run into the issue, but not anymore. I'm not sure why it happens.

I tried lots of window themes like Adwaita, ReNIX, Holo, Ambiance, Evolve, Metabox... I change the theme using gnome-tweak-tool and then restart unity, but the result is always the same.
Could you indicate the working theme you're using?


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#1209 2012-10-23 20:57:40

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

roi.dm wrote:

I have the new Indicator-Sync menu working with this pkg,   maybe chenxialong wants to add it into unity-extra

https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … 07613dfcb0 big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1210 2012-10-23 21:06:37

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

What theme are you using? If you're using Adwaita, try using another theme. I used to run into the issue, but not anymore. I'm not sure why it happens.

I tried lots of window themes like Adwaita, ReNIX, Holo, Ambiance, Evolve, Metabox... I change the theme using gnome-tweak-tool and then restart unity, but the result is always the same.
Could you indicate the working theme you're using?

I'm currently using Ambiance. Could you try killing gtk-window-decorator

killall gtk-window-decorator

change the theme and then start it again?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1211 2012-10-23 21:20:12

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 102

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
sollidsnake wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

What theme are you using? If you're using Adwaita, try using another theme. I used to run into the issue, but not anymore. I'm not sure why it happens.

I tried lots of window themes like Adwaita, ReNIX, Holo, Ambiance, Evolve, Metabox... I change the theme using gnome-tweak-tool and then restart unity, but the result is always the same.
Could you indicate the working theme you're using?

I'm currently using Ambiance. Could you try killing gtk-window-decorator

killall gtk-window-decorator

change the theme and then start it again?

Thanks for the tip! I killed gtk-window-decorator, changed the theme and restarted unity, like you said. Now I have the window decoration, but it is not working yet.

There are still 4 issues:
1. I have the decoration but the new windows doesn't have the control buttons (maximize, minimize, close)
2. The chose theme is not applied.
3. gtk-window-decorator still uses 100% of the cpu
4. Can't drag or resize the windows

Here's the picture
http://postimage.org/image/gjx1molzf/

Last edited by sollidsnake (2012-10-23 21:39:58)


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#1212 2012-10-23 21:36:43

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
sollidsnake wrote:

I tried lots of window themes like Adwaita, ReNIX, Holo, Ambiance, Evolve, Metabox... I change the theme using gnome-tweak-tool and then restart unity, but the result is always the same.
Could you indicate the working theme you're using?

I'm currently using Ambiance. Could you try killing gtk-window-decorator

killall gtk-window-decorator

change the theme and then start it again?

Thanks for the tip! I killed gtk-window-decorator, changed the theme and restarted unity, like you said. Now I have the window decoration, but it is not working yet.

There are still 4 issues:
1. I have the decoration but the new windows doesn't have the control buttons (maximize, minimize, close)
2. The chose theme is not applied.
3. gtk-window-decorator still uses 100% of the cpu
4. Can't drag or resize the windows

Here's the picture
http://postimage.org/image/suft1k16v/

Hmm...I've never seen that before. I'd try resetting the Compiz settings. You can back up the settings first by running:

dconf dump /org/compiz/ > compiz_settings.txt

and reset them with:

dconf reset -f /org/compiz/

(and of course, log out and log back in). If the window decorations work after resetting, please post the compiz_settings.txt file smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1213 2012-10-23 21:53:56

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 102

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hmm...I've never seen that before. I'd try resetting the Compiz settings. You can back up the settings first by running:

dconf dump /org/compiz/ > compiz_settings.txt

and reset them with:

dconf reset -f /org/compiz/

(and of course, log out and log back in). If the window decorations work after resetting, please post the compiz_settings.txt file smile

Tried that. No results. I updated the picture in my previous with the cpu freq.
I tried compiling compiz again and notice something strange:

************************************************************
* Compiz Buildsystem                                       *
*                                                          *
* Package : Compiz                                         *
* Version : 0.9.8.4                                        *
************************************************************

Optional features:

   GLESv2                         : No
   gtk window decorator           : Yes
   metacity theme support         : Yes
   gconf schemas                  : No
   gnome                          : No
   kde4 window decorator          : No
   protocol buffers               : Yes
   file system change notifications : Yes
   Xig Tests                      : No
************************************************************


Plugin configure check results:

  copytex       : Yes
  titleinfo     : Yes
  imgsvg        : Yes
  scalefilter   : Yes
  gears         : Disabled
  crashhandler  : Yes
  clone         : Yes
  vpswitch      : Yes
  move          : Yes
  decor         : Yes
  group         : Disabled
  dbus          : Yes
  notification  : Yes
  cube          : Yes
  scaleaddon    : Yes
  blur          : Disabled
  text          : Yes
  showdesktop   : Yes
  water         : Yes
  rotate        : Yes
  thumbnail     : Disabled
  place         : Yes
  switcher      : Yes
  trip          : Disabled
  inotify       : Yes
  showmouse     : Yes
  session       : Yes
  reflex        : Disabled
  opengl        : Yes
  ccp           : Yes
  animation     : Yes
  maximumize    : Yes
  animationaddon: Disabled
  resizeinfo    : Yes
  resize        : Yes
  splash        : Yes
  staticswitcher: Yes
  ring          : Yes
  opacify       : Yes
  trailfocus    : Yes
  put           : Yes
  mousepoll     : Yes
  shelf         : Yes
  kdecompat     : Yes
  widget        : Yes
  shift         : Yes
  gnomecompat   : Yes
  wallpaper     : Disabled
  neg           : Yes
  colorfilter   : Disabled
  mblur         : Yes
  showrepaint   : Yes
  regex         : Yes
  scale         : Yes
  firepaint     : Yes
  addhelper     : Yes
  compiztoolbox : Yes
  commands      : Yes
  bicubic       : Disabled
  kde           : Disabled
  expo          : Yes
  imgjpeg       : Yes
  fadedesktop   : Yes
  imgpng        : Yes
  snap          : Yes
  wobbly        : Yes
  annotate      : Yes
  stackswitch   : Disabled
  extrawm       : Yes
  loginout      : Disabled
  td            : Yes
  fade          : Yes
  composite     : Yes
  workarounds   : Yes
  screenshot    : Yes
  winrules      : Yes
  bench         : Yes
  grid          : Yes
  mag           : Yes
  cubeaddon     : Disabled
  obs           : Yes
  ezoom         : Yes
  wall          : Yes
  workspacenames: Yes

There are a few 'no' and 'disabled'. Does that mean anything?


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#1214 2012-10-23 22:05:37

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:

Hmm...I've never seen that before. I'd try resetting the Compiz settings. You can back up the settings first by running:

dconf dump /org/compiz/ > compiz_settings.txt

and reset them with:

dconf reset -f /org/compiz/

(and of course, log out and log back in). If the window decorations work after resetting, please post the compiz_settings.txt file smile

Tried that. No results. I updated the picture in my previous with the cpu freq.
I tried compiling compiz again and notice something strange:

************************************************************
* Compiz Buildsystem                                       *
*                                                          *
* Package : Compiz                                         *
* Version : 0.9.8.4                                        *
************************************************************

Optional features:

   GLESv2                         : No
   gtk window decorator           : Yes
   metacity theme support         : Yes
   gconf schemas                  : No
   gnome                          : No
   kde4 window decorator          : No
   protocol buffers               : Yes
   file system change notifications : Yes
   Xig Tests                      : No
************************************************************


Plugin configure check results:

  copytex       : Yes
  titleinfo     : Yes
  imgsvg        : Yes
  scalefilter   : Yes
  gears         : Disabled
  crashhandler  : Yes
  clone         : Yes
  vpswitch      : Yes
  move          : Yes
  decor         : Yes
  group         : Disabled
  dbus          : Yes
  notification  : Yes
  cube          : Yes
  scaleaddon    : Yes
  blur          : Disabled
  text          : Yes
  showdesktop   : Yes
  water         : Yes
  rotate        : Yes
  thumbnail     : Disabled
  place         : Yes
  switcher      : Yes
  trip          : Disabled
  inotify       : Yes
  showmouse     : Yes
  session       : Yes
  reflex        : Disabled
  opengl        : Yes
  ccp           : Yes
  animation     : Yes
  maximumize    : Yes
  animationaddon: Disabled
  resizeinfo    : Yes
  resize        : Yes
  splash        : Yes
  staticswitcher: Yes
  ring          : Yes
  opacify       : Yes
  trailfocus    : Yes
  put           : Yes
  mousepoll     : Yes
  shelf         : Yes
  kdecompat     : Yes
  widget        : Yes
  shift         : Yes
  gnomecompat   : Yes
  wallpaper     : Disabled
  neg           : Yes
  colorfilter   : Disabled
  mblur         : Yes
  showrepaint   : Yes
  regex         : Yes
  scale         : Yes
  firepaint     : Yes
  addhelper     : Yes
  compiztoolbox : Yes
  commands      : Yes
  bicubic       : Disabled
  kde           : Disabled
  expo          : Yes
  imgjpeg       : Yes
  fadedesktop   : Yes
  imgpng        : Yes
  snap          : Yes
  wobbly        : Yes
  annotate      : Yes
  stackswitch   : Disabled
  extrawm       : Yes
  loginout      : Disabled
  td            : Yes
  fade          : Yes
  composite     : Yes
  workarounds   : Yes
  screenshot    : Yes
  winrules      : Yes
  bench         : Yes
  grid          : Yes
  mag           : Yes
  cubeaddon     : Disabled
  obs           : Yes
  ezoom         : Yes
  wall          : Yes
  workspacenames: Yes

There are a few 'no' and 'disabled'. Does that mean anything?

The 'no' and 'disabled' statuses are fine. Ubuntu disabled those plugins as they don't work with the latest version of Compiz.

I'm really not sure why gtk-window-decorator is not working properly sad

EDIT: What version of metacity are you using?

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-10-23 22:05:53)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1215 2012-10-23 22:14:09

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I have just created a GNOME3.6 branch in the Unity-for-Arch git repo. I will update to the 'testing' repos and start making things work with GNOME 3.6 smile

Note: Please do NOT use this branch unless you know how to fix a badly broken system big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1216 2012-10-23 23:05:17

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 102

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

The 'no' and 'disabled' statuses are fine. Ubuntu disabled those plugins as they don't work with the latest version of Compiz.

I'm really not sure why gtk-window-decorator is not working properly sad

EDIT: What version of metacity are you using?

Oh, no problem. I really appreciate your help anyway. My metacity version is 2.34.8-1.


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#1217 2012-10-24 03:06:16

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 102

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

The 'no' and 'disabled' statuses are fine. Ubuntu disabled those plugins as they don't work with the latest version of Compiz.

I'm really not sure why gtk-window-decorator is not working properly sad

EDIT: What version of metacity are you using?

Oh, no problem. I really appreciate your help anyway. My metacity version is 2.34.8-1.

Just to make a note, I managed to solve the problem. I downgraded all the unity packages and upgraded only the essential ones (unity, compiz-ubuntu, libunity, ...) and now it works. So I still don't know what exactly was the package that was causing the trouble. As soon as I found out I can post here if it helps you.

I also have another question. I used to edit the window button order in metacity using gconf (/apps/metacity/general/button_layout), but it seems the configuration source has changed. Is that right? If so, where can I do that now?


"For with the passing of this hour
Even gods will be devoured"

Offline

#1218 2012-10-24 03:11:12

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:
sollidsnake wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

The 'no' and 'disabled' statuses are fine. Ubuntu disabled those plugins as they don't work with the latest version of Compiz.

I'm really not sure why gtk-window-decorator is not working properly sad

EDIT: What version of metacity are you using?

Oh, no problem. I really appreciate your help anyway. My metacity version is 2.34.8-1.

Just to make a note, I managed to solve the problem. I downgraded all the unity packages and upgraded only the essential ones (unity, compiz-ubuntu, libunity, ...) and now it works. So I still don't know what exactly was the package that was causing the trouble. As soon as I found out I can post here if it helps you.

I also have another question. I used to edit the window button order in metacity using gconf (/apps/metacity/general/button_layout), but it seems the configuration source has changed. Is that right? If so, where can I do that now?

It's now under org.gnome.desktop.wm.preferences in dconf (dconf-editor).

By the way, I have finished updating the packages to the GNOME 3.6 versions. I don't know if the 100% cpu bug is fixed, but I know for sure that the ugly window decoration bug is smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1219 2012-10-24 03:22:11

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I have just created a GNOME3.6 branch in the Unity-for-Arch git repo. I will update to the 'testing' repos and start making things work with GNOME 3.6 smile

Note: Please do NOT use this branch unless you know how to fix a badly broken system big_smile

This is the real great news! Thanks a lot:)

Offline

#1220 2012-10-24 03:42:09

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

I have just created a GNOME3.6 branch in the Unity-for-Arch git repo. I will update to the 'testing' repos and start making things work with GNOME 3.6 smile

Note: Please do NOT use this branch unless you know how to fix a badly broken system big_smile

This is the real great news! Thanks a lot:)

You're welcome smile

All of the packages are now updated in the branch. It's ready for testing smile light-themes must be removed or GTK (I think it's GTK) will crash. This is probably because Arch hasn't recompiled some of light-themes's dependencies.

Other than that, Unity with GNOME 3.6 runs very smoothly big_smile

EDIT: indicator-datetime now reads the timezone from systemd's timedated. No more /etc/timezone smile With my patch, the new time takes effect as soon as the timezone is changed in GNOME Control Center.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-10-24 04:14:16)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1221 2012-10-24 08:51:30

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@chenxiaolong: I dont want to be a pest, but when do you think the next full build will be on (unity.xe-xer.org)?


Thanks for all the great work!


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1222 2012-10-24 09:06:39

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:

@chenxiaolong: I dont want to be a pest, but when do you think the next full build will be on (unity.xe-xer.org)?


Thanks for all the great work!

Since it's not maintained by chenxiaolong, I don't think he has any answer to this. You can try unity.humbug.in instead.

Last edited by qiuwei (2012-10-24 09:07:05)

Offline

#1223 2012-10-24 14:09:18

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Cannot compile gnome-settings-daemon-ubuntu which needs ibus-1.4.99 while ibus-ubuntu is 1.4.1.
It compiles with ibus from testing.

Offline

#1224 2012-10-24 18:46:56

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:

@chenxiaolong: I dont want to be a pest, but when do you think the next full build will be on (unity.xe-xer.org)?


Thanks for all the great work!

I'm not sure when the next build is going to be because I don't maintain the repo. Maybe pekmop1024 can chime in on this? smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1225 2012-10-24 18:47:33

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

Cannot compile gnome-settings-daemon-ubuntu which needs ibus-1.4.99 while ibus-ubuntu is 1.4.1.
It compiles with ibus from testing.

Thanks! I'll find out what Ubuntu is doing to work around this.

EDIT: Of course...I forgot that they're using version 3.4.2. I'll need to port Ubuntu's ibus patches to version 1.4.99.

EDIT2: I removed ibus-ubuntu for now. The interface was rewritten in vala and I don't know enough about programming in vala to port the patches over sad

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-10-24 20:05:28)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB