You are not logged in.

#1 2012-10-31 17:37:22

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

NetworkManager fails to add new networks

After upgrade, NetworkManager still runs but fails in adding new networks, it complains: "Failed to add/activate" connection (32) Insufficient privileges.
Also, I cannot enable/disable wireless (or network) from nm-applet

I read the latest news and I believe my system is boot using systemd.

I don't have networkmanager in rc.conf (although I do have some DAEMONS remain in rc.conf, like dbus) I start it by 

sudo systemctl start networkmanager.service

after login. Do I need to remove all the DAEMONS from rc.d, in order to make things work? Any anyone experiencing the same problem?

Offline

#2 2012-10-31 18:27:55

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

I've just removed all DAEMONS from rc.conf. And issues

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

and the output of

systemctl status NetworkManager.service

after reboot is

NetworkManager.service - Network Manager
	  Loaded: loaded (/usr/lib/systemd/system/NetworkManager.service; enabled)
	  Active: active (running) since Wed, 2012-10-31 11:08:54 PDT; 16min ago
	Main PID: 315 (NetworkManager)
	  CGroup: name=systemd:/system/NetworkManager.service
		  ├ 315 /usr/sbin/NetworkManager --no-daemon
		  └ 351 /usr/sbin/dhclient -d -4 -sf /usr/lib/networkmanager/nm-dhcp-client.action -pf /var/run/dhclient-wlan0.pid -lf /var/lib/dhclient/dhclient-e7...

However, still cannot join to any new networks. Please help.

Offline

#3 2012-10-31 18:28:56

johni
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 102

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Have you done a full 'pacman -Syu' since change from ConsoleKit to systemd-logind?   It sounds like maybe you have the logind change, but an older NetworkManager without systemd-logind support, or vice versa.

If you haven't already, try the 'pacman -Syu', followed by a reboot to see if it fixes the problem.

Offline

#4 2012-10-31 18:43:07

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Thanks for the reply. I have done, unfortunately nothing changed.
In fact, I reinstalled NetworkManger but also nothing changed.

Currently I don't have ConsoleKit installed and I have init=/usr/lib/systemd/systemd on my kernel line in grub.cfg
so I guess I'm booting using systemd

Offline

#5 2012-10-31 18:58:12

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

I guess it's related to permission issue, after the upgrade.

Offline

#6 2012-10-31 19:22:12

johni
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 102

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Are you starting your desktop environment from a login manager gdm/kdm/etc, or are you running startx?

If running startx, check in /etc/X11/xinit/xserverrc.  If you had edited it in the past, then the upgrade probably created an xserverrc.pacnew.  If that is the case, you need to copy the xserverrc.pacnew over the xserverrc, and remake any custom changes you may have made to the old one.    It is important that X be started with the vt$XDG_VTNR parameter for your logind session to be correct.

That might cause NetworkManager applet to deny access.

Offline

#7 2012-10-31 23:16:12

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

I either use openbox or xmonad and I start them by xinit after I login a console (no login manager).

xservercc was not touch. There is not xserverrc.pacnew in my system.

I removed gnome recently (since I don't use it anymore) prehaps that a keyring issue? or it's completely off the mark?

I can use wicd as a replacement, just that for some unknown reasons it refuses to connect to the wired network of my workplace (networkmanager was fine with that).

I'm really running out of ideas.... I looking at a similar post https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=143640 and follows the hack there but it does not fix the problem.

Last edited by pingpong (2012-10-31 23:16:51)

Offline

#8 2012-11-01 01:23:23

johni
Member
Registered: 2012-02-03
Posts: 102

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Does it show any sessions if you run

loginctl list-sessions

If it does list a session, for example session 1, do:

loginctl session-status 1

Offline

#9 2012-11-03 02:02:05

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Thanks for your reply. I was just busy the last two days.
Yes, I do have a login session and here is the out of the command you suggested. Do you see anything fishy from the output?

1 - pong (1000)
           Since: Fri, 2012-11-02 18:55:54 PDT; 3min 25s ago
          Leader: 830 (login)
            Seat: seat0; vc1
             TTY: tty1
         Service: login; type tty; class user
           State: online
          CGroup: name=systemd:/user/pong/1
                  ├  830 login -- pong
                  ├  932 -fish
                  ├  934 /usr/local/bin/fishd
                  ├  992 xinit ob
                  ├  993 X :0
                  ├  999 ck-launch-session dbus-launch openbox-session
                  ├ 1006 /usr/bin/dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session...
                  ├ 1007 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --fork --print-pid 5 --print-ad...
                  ├ 1015 syndaemon -t -k -i 2 -d
                  ├ 1022 /usr/bin/openbox --startup /usr/lib/openbox/openbox-...
                  ├ 1026 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --fork --print-pid 5 --print-ad...
                  ├ 1034 tint2
                  ├ 1035 volumeicon -b
                  ├ 1038 xcompmgr -CfF
                  ├ 1040 conky -q
                  ├ 1048 nm-applet
                  ├ 1050 /usr/lib/polkit-gnome/polkit-gnome-authentication-ag...
                  ├ 1052 /usr/lib/at-spi2-core/at-spi-bus-launcher
                  ├ 1056 /usr/bin/dbus-daemon --config-file=/etc/at-spi2/acce...
                  ├ 1059 /usr/lib/at-spi2-core/at-spi2-registryd --use-gnome-...
                  ├ 1064 /usr/lib/gvfs/gvfsd
                  ├ 1068 /usr/lib/gvfs//gvfsd-fuse -f /run/user/1000/gvfs
                  ├ 1084 lxterminal
                  ├ 1085 gnome-pty-helper
                  ├ 1087 /usr/local/bin/fish
                  ├ 2085 sudo su
                  ├ 2086 su
                  ├ 2087 bash
                  ├ 2221 NetworkManager
                  ├ 2224 /usr/sbin/dhclient -d -4 -sf /usr/lib/networkmanager...
                  ├ 2296 firefox
                  ├ 2512 /usr/lib/firefox/plugin-container /usr/lib/mozilla/p...
                  ├ 2585 /usr/local/bin/fish
                  ├ 2861 loginctl session-status 1
                  └ 2862 less

Offline

#10 2012-11-03 02:13:06

Silex89
Member
From: Osorno, Los Lagos - Chile
Registered: 2011-10-16
Posts: 178
Website

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Hi there smile

I faced the very same problem you have when I implemented an OpenBox session in my desktop using nm-applet. All I did was launch the Gnome Keyring process which Network Manager requires to function properly (of course, I looked in the "Use Without GNOME title")

Best of Luck

Last edited by Silex89 (2012-11-03 02:13:59)


"The way your heart sounds makes all the difference" John Myung

I love Dream Theater! ImL
Best Guitar Solo Ever

Offline

#11 2012-11-03 03:05:04

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Thanks for the tips. I did what you suggested (start gnome-keyring-daemon from .xinitrc) Unfortunately, the grey-out still persists.
I kill nm-applet then restart it as root. When I tried to connect to another network, I got

Failed to add/activate connection
(1) Creating object for path '/org/freedesktop/NetworkManager/ActiveConnection/1' failed in libnm-glib.

It complains Method "Get" with signature "ss" on interface "org.freedesktop.Dbus.Properties" doesn't exist.

I mentioned that I recently removed gnome, so perhaps I screwed up things along the way...

probably I should just reinstall the whole gnome-desktop and work it from there.

For now I gave up and switch to wicd

Offline

#12 2012-11-04 20:46:43

zdevex
Member
Registered: 2012-08-17
Posts: 24

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

I seem to be having a similar issue.  After a recent upgrade, I can connect to networks that I have joined previously, but I am unable to connect to new networks and I am unable to enable/disable wifi from NetworkManager.

Any ideas?

Thanks,
David

Offline

#13 2012-11-05 01:38:55

pingpong
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 103

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Hum... do you have the gnome DE? I'm cursious if it works again when nm is called from gnome. I reinstalled gnome-keyring but stopped short from going all the way to reinstall gnome. My hope is that if you run if from gnome, it will prompt you for password to access the keyring and things will work again.

Offline

#14 2012-11-08 16:20:29

rado3105
Member
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 94

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

Silex89 wrote:

Hi there smile

I faced the very same problem you have when I implemented an OpenBox session in my desktop using nm-applet. All I did was launch the Gnome Keyring process which Network Manager requires to function properly (of course, I looked in the "Use Without GNOME title")

Best of Luck

I followed this manual, but I cant change and reate connections.

THis is my xinitrc:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=151848 # test for an existing bus da$
if test -z "$DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS" ; then
    # if not found, launch a new one
    eval `dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session`
    echo "D-Bus per-session daemon address is: $DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS"
fi

fbsetbg /home/r-c/archlin.png
exec dbus-launch startfluxbox

# Start a D-Bus session
source /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.d/30-dbus
# Start GNOME Keyring
eval $(/usr/bin/gnome-keyring-daemon --start --components=gpg,pkcs11,secrets,ss$
# You probably need to do this too:
export SSH_AUTH_SOCK
export GPG_AGENT_INFO
export GNOME_KEYRING_CONTROL
export GNOME_KEYRING_PID

I use fluxbox + slim.

Last edited by rado3105 (2012-11-08 16:20:48)

Offline

#15 2013-10-25 08:08:26

messo8080
Member
Registered: 2013-10-25
Posts: 4

Re: NetworkManager fails to add new networks

I hope I solved this problem....
Try you get command "nm-applet" to "Cinnamon Startup Aplications" and applet will correctly start after startup, NM-applet promted password correctly same as gnome-shell, with WIFI or VPN.
Working properly for me.

INFO:
network-manager-applet 0.9.8.4-2
gnome-shell 3.10.1-1
cinnamon 2.0.2-2
cinnamon-session 2.0.1-1

Last edited by messo8080 (2013-10-25 08:22:30)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB