You are not logged in.

#1301 2012-11-02 17:38:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

RockrKnight wrote:
\〠/ wrote:

Same issue here, downgrading to older cmake (2.8.9-1) fix it.

Yeah, that worked. But still... what happened?

chenxiaolong wrote:

I'll have to test this tomorrow. Does your system have a /usr/share/cmake*/Modules/FindGettext.cmake file?

It's weird that HAVE_GETTEXT is not being set, since the file above has a very simple if statement that guarantees it's either set to "TRUE" or "FALSE" (if msgmerge and msgfmt exist).

I had /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindGettext.cmake in my system, before and after downgrade.

---
Unity installed
---

I'll take a look at this after I get home.

EDIT: Could you upload your cmake (both old and new) packages? My pacman cache is cleared every time I reboot, so I don't have the packages anymore. They are in /var/cache/pacman/pkg.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-11-02 17:40:08)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1302 2012-11-02 17:51:26

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Omg, all of the themes including light-themes messed up after the upgrade. I thought it was related to unity. Then I spent  a lot of time trying to figure it out.
However it turns out to be related to Gnome 3.6.

I'm still confused because it seems Unity is using a slightly modified theme engine because it should support shadow and padding entry in the config file. But here it seems my unity is still using default gnome theme engine which always complains about the shadow and padding entry.

By the way the maximize function doesn't work properly, the title bar doesn't integrate into globalmenu.

Offline

#1303 2012-11-02 17:51:50

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1304 2012-11-02 18:03:11

RockrKnight
Member
Registered: 2011-06-03
Posts: 10

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
RockrKnight wrote:
\〠/ wrote:

Same issue here, downgrading to older cmake (2.8.9-1) fix it.

Yeah, that worked. But still... what happened?

chenxiaolong wrote:

I'll have to test this tomorrow. Does your system have a /usr/share/cmake*/Modules/FindGettext.cmake file?

It's weird that HAVE_GETTEXT is not being set, since the file above has a very simple if statement that guarantees it's either set to "TRUE" or "FALSE" (if msgmerge and msgfmt exist).

I had /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindGettext.cmake in my system, before and after downgrade.

---
Unity installed
---

I'll take a look at this after I get home.

EDIT: Could you upload your cmake (both old and new) packages? My pacman cache is cleared every time I reboot, so I don't have the packages anymore. They are in /var/cache/pacman/pkg.

Of course, here:

cmake-2.8.9-1 http://ompldr.org/vZzRjMQ
cmake-2.8.10-1 http://ompldr.org/vZzRjNA

Edit: BTW, windows don't loose the titlebar when maximized, is this a known issue?

Last edited by RockrKnight (2012-11-02 18:06:36)

Offline

#1305 2012-11-02 18:54:10

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Oh man, today is such a terrible day:

1. http://www.webupd8.org/2012/11/ubuntu-1 … nents.html For the next Ubuntu release, only glib, d-conf, gobject-introspection, and gvfs will be updated to the GNOME 3.8. I'll have to port the rest of Ubuntu's 10 billion patches.
<offtopic>
2. First time I got less than 100% on a Linear Algebra exam (probably even less than 80% sad ).
3. I can call my computer officially dead: Windows 8 BSODs about 10 seconds after booting. Fedora runs okay, but the fan stops spinning. Arch Linux kernel panics trying to load the ethernet driver (the e1000e kernel module). EDIT: I thought that maybe a BIOS update could fix it, but I can't update because the BIOS thinks the battery is 0% full.
4. I accidentally wiped my server trying up upgrade it to Fedora 17. I can't log in to any computer anymore, since I had a centralized login system.

EDIT2: Another one! I'm not going to touch my computer anymore today. I boot into Fedora, open up Google, and then I get thrown into a TTY. So, I log in and find out what's going on and I suddenly get switched back to X and I see this: http://i.imgur.com/qjSce.png THANKS LENOVO! Now my password is out in the wild.

</offtopic>

Sorry for the rant. I'll try to fix the cmake, titlebar, and theme issues as soon as I can.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-11-02 19:09:04)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1306 2012-11-02 19:25:00

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Oh man, today is such a terrible day:

1. http://www.webupd8.org/2012/11/ubuntu-1 … nents.html For the next Ubuntu release, only glib, d-conf, gobject-introspection, and gvfs will be updated to the GNOME 3.8. I'll have to port the rest of Ubuntu's 10 billion patches.
<offtopic>
2. First time I got less than 100% on a Linear Algebra exam (probably even less than 80% sad ).
3. I can call my computer officially dead: Windows 8 BSODs about 10 seconds after booting. Fedora runs okay, but the fan stops spinning. Arch Linux kernel panics trying to load the ethernet driver (the e1000e kernel module). EDIT: I thought that maybe a BIOS update could fix it, but I can't update because the BIOS thinks the battery is 0% full.
4. I accidentally wiped my server trying up upgrade it to Fedora 17. I can't log in to any computer anymore, since I had a centralized login system.

EDIT2: Another one! I'm not going to touch my computer anymore today. I boot into Fedora, open up Google, and then I get thrown into a TTY. So, I log in and find out what's going on and I suddenly get switched back to X and I see this: http://i.imgur.com/qjSce.png THANKS LENOVO! Now my password is out in the wild.

</offtopic>

Sorry for the rant. I'll try to fix the cmake, titlebar, and theme issues as soon as I can.

Sorry to hear that. Comfort!

Offline

#1307 2012-11-02 19:46:28

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

RockrKnight wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
RockrKnight wrote:

Yeah, that worked. But still... what happened?


I had /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindGettext.cmake in my system, before and after downgrade.

---
Unity installed
---

I'll take a look at this after I get home.

EDIT: Could you upload your cmake (both old and new) packages? My pacman cache is cleared every time I reboot, so I don't have the packages anymore. They are in /var/cache/pacman/pkg.

Of course, here:

cmake-2.8.9-1 http://ompldr.org/vZzRjMQ
cmake-2.8.10-1 http://ompldr.org/vZzRjNA

Edit: BTW, windows don't loose the titlebar when maximized, is this a known issue?

I think so. I have exactly the same problem. And if you are using chrome, it would lose the titlebar, but forever:)
Now I switched to gnome 3.6 temporarily. It looks nice but now I really miss those features in unity. It's going to be a dilemma for me...

Offline

#1308 2012-11-03 04:32:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

RockrKnight wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
RockrKnight wrote:

Yeah, that worked. But still... what happened?


I had /usr/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindGettext.cmake in my system, before and after downgrade.

---
Unity installed
---

I'll take a look at this after I get home.

EDIT: Could you upload your cmake (both old and new) packages? My pacman cache is cleared every time I reboot, so I don't have the packages anymore. They are in /var/cache/pacman/pkg.

Of course, here:

cmake-2.8.9-1 http://ompldr.org/vZzRjMQ
cmake-2.8.10-1 http://ompldr.org/vZzRjNA

Edit: BTW, windows don't loose the titlebar when maximized, is this a known issue?

Thanks! This seems to be an issue with cmake:

In the newer cmake:

$ grep Gettext_FOUND /tmp/cmake/usr.2.8.10/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindGettext.cmake 
set(GETTEXT_FOUND ${Gettext_FOUND})

The "Gettext_FOUND" variable is used but is never set to true or false. Compare with the older cmake, which actually checks for /usr/bin/msgfmt and /usr/bin/msgmerge:

$ grep -A5 GETTEXT_FOUND /tmp/cmake/usr.2.8.9/share/cmake-2.8/Modules/FindGettext.cmake 
#  GETTEXT_FOUND: True if gettext has been found.
#  GETTEXT_VERSION_STRING: the version of gettext found (since CMake 2.8.8)
#
# Additionally it provides the following macros:
# GETTEXT_CREATE_TRANSLATIONS ( outputFile [ALL] file1 ... fileN )
#    This will create a target "translations" which will convert the
--
   SET(GETTEXT_FOUND TRUE)
ELSE (GETTEXT_MSGMERGE_EXECUTABLE AND GETTEXT_MSGFMT_EXECUTABLE )
   SET(GETTEXT_FOUND FALSE)
   IF (GetText_REQUIRED)
      MESSAGE(FATAL_ERROR "GetText not found")
   ENDIF (GetText_REQUIRED)
ENDIF (GETTEXT_MSGMERGE_EXECUTABLE AND GETTEXT_MSGFMT_EXECUTABLE )

I'll patch the Unity build system to work around this.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1309 2012-11-03 06:19:04

\〠/
Member
Registered: 2011-02-26
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

I think so. I have exactly the same problem. And if you are using chrome, it would lose the titlebar, but forever:)

Works fine here,

minimize -> http://ompldr.org/vZzRrYQ/minimize.jpg
maximize -> http://ompldr.org/vZzRrYw/maximize.jpg

or am I missing something?

Offline

#1310 2012-11-03 09:52:17

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

1. http://www.webupd8.org/2012/11/ubuntu-1 … nents.html For the next Ubuntu release, only glib, d-conf, gobject-introspection, and gvfs will be updated to the GNOME 3.8. I'll have to port the rest of Ubuntu's 10 billion patches.
[...]

It says in the article:

The plan is to update glib, d-conf, gobject-introspection and gvfs and to offer a PPA for the latest GTK.

So you could use that ppa... since it should be working with unity...
and/or try the gnome3-ppa of Ubuntu GNOME Remix... https://launchpad.net/~gnome3-team/+archive/gnome3
since they'll probably provide gnome3.8

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-03 10:01:27)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1311 2012-11-03 11:38:15

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Works fine here,

minimize -> http://ompldr.org/vZzRrYQ/minimize.jpg
maximize -> http://ompldr.org/vZzRrYw/maximize.jpg

or am I missing something?


Did you rebuild all of the packages in a clean environment? I'm asking because I didn't have this problem when I rebuild the packages on my current system. It only occurred under a chroot environment.

Offline

#1312 2012-11-03 15:18:28

\〠/
Member
Registered: 2011-02-26
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

Did you rebuild all of the packages in a clean environment?

Nope, although I rebuilt it twice, the first build can't even enter unity.

Offline

#1313 2012-11-04 02:10:16

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:

Okay guys I feel kinda awesome right now!

I figured the problem with the missing window borders out (and did so all by my self smile )
(@Chenxiaolong: you might want to include this in your readme!)

So I took a look at the ccsm and checked which window decorator it was calling, and i changed that to compiz-decorator.
After that compiz-decorator still segfaults so I started ye good ol' bashdb and found out that it crashed while starting gtk-window decorator.
So I started gdb to take a look at gtk-window-decorator and it segfaults at meta_calc_button_size() (may not be accurate).
The mistake I made was thinking that the correct version of metacity for "Unity-for-Arch" was the metacity-ubuntu package from AUR.
Just uninstalled that and installed the one from the official repo and everything works well.


tl;dr: DO NOT INSTALL THE "metacity-ubuntu" package from AUR, install the "metacity" package from the official repo instead!


Hope I could help some people!


Btw Chenxiaolong if you want to put out precompiled packages I can give you some webspace! (just mail me!)

@chenxiaolong, I didn't manage to solve the window decoration theme problem. But now I think the problem is related to this workaround.
Apparently compiz-ubuntu still depends on patched metacity. That's why unpatched version always complains about ubuntu specific config "shadow" "padding" in metacity theme.
If I use metacity-ubuntu, the theme file can be read and applied successfully, but gtk-window-decorator crashes. So I believe the problem is from somewhere else.
I'm using metacity-ubuntu 2.34.8.0ubuntu4 which is used in ubuntu 12.10.
Here is the log for gtk-window-decorator crash http://pastebin.com/ZbFQQF6F

Edit: now I can claim that compiz-ubuntu really depends on metacity-ubuntu. Rebuilding compiz-ubuntu completely solved those annoying problems.
I'm now still with Gnome 3.4. I will try tomorrow with Gnome 3.6 to see whether the title bar bug is also caused by this.

Last edited by qiuwei (2012-11-04 02:47:24)

Offline

#1314 2012-11-04 14:18:54

\〠/
Member
Registered: 2011-02-26
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

Edit: now I can claim that compiz-ubuntu really depends on metacity-ubuntu. Rebuilding compiz-ubuntu completely solved those annoying problems.
I'm now still with Gnome 3.4. I will try tomorrow with Gnome 3.6 to see whether the title bar bug is also caused by this.

You are right, with metacity-ubuntu + rebuilt (without rebuilt the title bar bug happen) radiance and ambiance window decorator works, test it with gnome 3.6.

Offline

#1315 2012-11-04 15:22:49

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I tried Unity on a fresh install. It runs into the problem of needing gnome-session-ubuntu which needs ConsoleKit which is longer in Arch.

Offline

#1316 2012-11-04 18:08:38

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

woomia wrote:

I tried Unity on a fresh install. It runs into the problem of needing gnome-session-ubuntu which needs ConsoleKit which is longer in Arch.

I'm running it without ConsoleKit. have you switched to systemd?

btw, archers now you can do a full system update, Unity with gnome 3.6 works like a charm here. The default light-themes look a bit ugly though.(I guess ubuntu patched the theme engine again?). A lot of themes are broken due to Gnome 3.6 update. But those themes compatible with gnome 3.6 all work.

Offline

#1317 2012-11-04 20:21:29

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

1. http://www.webupd8.org/2012/11/ubuntu-1 … nents.html For the next Ubuntu release, only glib, d-conf, gobject-introspection, and gvfs will be updated to the GNOME 3.8. I'll have to port the rest of Ubuntu's 10 billion patches.
[...]

It says in the article:

The plan is to update glib, d-conf, gobject-introspection and gvfs and to offer a PPA for the latest GTK.

So you could use that ppa... since it should be working with unity...
and/or try the gnome3-ppa of Ubuntu GNOME Remix... https://launchpad.net/~gnome3-team/+archive/gnome3
since they'll probably provide gnome3.8

gtk is actually the least of my concerns. Ubuntu's global menubar patch is actually quite portable. What I'm worried about are the GNOME packages, like gnome-settings-daemon and gnome-control-center. Half of Ubuntu's patches don't work in GNOME 3.6 because of rewritten code.

Unfortunately, it seems that the GNOME3 PPA won't provide GNOME 3.8. A developer of the Ubuntu GNOME Remix wrote here: http://worldofgnome.org/gnome-and-distros-sequence/

Jeremy Bicha wrote:

Currently, the plan is for Ubuntu 13.04 to stick with GNOME 3.6.

alex285 wrote:

Hello Jeremy,

This includes also UGR?

Jeremy Bicha wrote:

At this point, yes as we don't have a way to ship a different GNOME than Ubuntu.

We're hoping the community steps up to package GNOME 3.8 in a PPA though.

We'll need to rely on unofficial patches if someone else creates a PPA.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1318 2012-11-04 20:27:08

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
franzor wrote:

Okay guys I feel kinda awesome right now!

I figured the problem with the missing window borders out (and did so all by my self smile )
(@Chenxiaolong: you might want to include this in your readme!)

So I took a look at the ccsm and checked which window decorator it was calling, and i changed that to compiz-decorator.
After that compiz-decorator still segfaults so I started ye good ol' bashdb and found out that it crashed while starting gtk-window decorator.
So I started gdb to take a look at gtk-window-decorator and it segfaults at meta_calc_button_size() (may not be accurate).
The mistake I made was thinking that the correct version of metacity for "Unity-for-Arch" was the metacity-ubuntu package from AUR.
Just uninstalled that and installed the one from the official repo and everything works well.


tl;dr: DO NOT INSTALL THE "metacity-ubuntu" package from AUR, install the "metacity" package from the official repo instead!


Hope I could help some people!


Btw Chenxiaolong if you want to put out precompiled packages I can give you some webspace! (just mail me!)

@chenxiaolong, I didn't manage to solve the window decoration theme problem. But now I think the problem is related to this workaround.
Apparently compiz-ubuntu still depends on patched metacity. That's why unpatched version always complains about ubuntu specific config "shadow" "padding" in metacity theme.
If I use metacity-ubuntu, the theme file can be read and applied successfully, but gtk-window-decorator crashes. So I believe the problem is from somewhere else.
I'm using metacity-ubuntu 2.34.8.0ubuntu4 which is used in ubuntu 12.10.
Here is the log for gtk-window-decorator crash http://pastebin.com/ZbFQQF6F

Edit: now I can claim that compiz-ubuntu really depends on metacity-ubuntu. Rebuilding compiz-ubuntu completely solved those annoying problems.
I'm now still with Gnome 3.4. I will try tomorrow with Gnome 3.6 to see whether the title bar bug is also caused by this.

Okay, you're right. I didn't notice the theme parsing issue since I don't use Ambiance or Radiance. I'll merge your pull request later smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1319 2012-11-04 20:27:16

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

That's bad indeed... lets hope they change their plans. big_smile

another idea: what about an unity-on-* irc-channel?

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-04 20:33:09)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1320 2012-11-04 21:48:16

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

another idea: what about an unity-on-* irc-channel?

I'm all for that!
That way this channel would be a lot more readable and people get help quicker!


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1321 2012-11-04 22:12:14

franzor
Member
Registered: 2012-01-23
Posts: 46

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
franzor wrote:

Okay guys I feel kinda awesome right now!

I figured the problem with the missing window borders out (and did so all by my self smile )
(@Chenxiaolong: you might want to include this in your readme!)

So I took a look at the ccsm and checked which window decorator it was calling, and i changed that to compiz-decorator.
After that compiz-decorator still segfaults so I started ye good ol' bashdb and found out that it crashed while starting gtk-window decorator.
So I started gdb to take a look at gtk-window-decorator and it segfaults at meta_calc_button_size() (may not be accurate).
The mistake I made was thinking that the correct version of metacity for "Unity-for-Arch" was the metacity-ubuntu package from AUR.
Just uninstalled that and installed the one from the official repo and everything works well.


tl;dr: DO NOT INSTALL THE "metacity-ubuntu" package from AUR, install the "metacity" package from the official repo instead!


Hope I could help some people!


Btw Chenxiaolong if you want to put out precompiled packages I can give you some webspace! (just mail me!)

@chenxiaolong, I didn't manage to solve the window decoration theme problem. But now I think the problem is related to this workaround.
Apparently compiz-ubuntu still depends on patched metacity. That's why unpatched version always complains about ubuntu specific config "shadow" "padding" in metacity theme.
If I use metacity-ubuntu, the theme file can be read and applied successfully, but gtk-window-decorator crashes. So I believe the problem is from somewhere else.
I'm using metacity-ubuntu 2.34.8.0ubuntu4 which is used in ubuntu 12.10.
Here is the log for gtk-window-decorator crash http://pastebin.com/ZbFQQF6F

Edit: now I can claim that compiz-ubuntu really depends on metacity-ubuntu. Rebuilding compiz-ubuntu completely solved those annoying problems.
I'm now still with Gnome 3.4. I will try tomorrow with Gnome 3.6 to see whether the title bar bug is also caused by this.

The metacity-ubuntu i was refering to was the one from AUR not the one in the Arch-for-Unity repository!


Desktop PC: AMD Phenom XII 965-Black 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GTX-560ti Corsair Force GT/Crucial M4 Arch-Linux/Windows 7
Gaming Laptop: Intel-I7 2630QM 8GB-Ram Ge-Force GT-540m Ubuntu 12.04
Work Laptop: Intel-I3 2350 8GB-Ram Intel HD-Graphics Arch-Linux

Offline

#1322 2012-11-04 23:14:56

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

franzor wrote:
oi_wtf wrote:

another idea: what about an unity-on-* irc-channel?

I'm all for that!
That way this channel would be a lot more readable and people get help quicker!

I'm also for it. Over 55 pages of posts are a little bit scary. And sometimes issues just get lost.
I already created a google group(mailing list) for it.
https://groups.google.com/forum/?fromgr … y-for-arch

I don't whether google group is appropriate for technical stuff. At least it makes search much easier:)

Offline

#1323 2012-11-05 01:07:10

woomia
Member
Registered: 2012-06-09
Posts: 106

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
woomia wrote:

I tried Unity on a fresh install. It runs into the problem of needing gnome-session-ubuntu which needs ConsoleKit which is longer in Arch.

I'm running it without ConsoleKit. have you switched to systemd?

Fresh installs only use systemd.

Unity needs gnome-session-ubuntu to install. This cannot be installed because it needs ConsoleKit.

Offline

#1324 2012-11-05 03:19:16

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Well, no idea about that google-groups thing, never used it... joined that group now anyway.
I've also joined #unity-for-arch on freenode for now, maybe I'll register it if I'm able find my IRC cheatsheet... big_smile


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1325 2012-11-05 09:01:14

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

woomia wrote:
qiuwei wrote:
woomia wrote:

I tried Unity on a fresh install. It runs into the problem of needing gnome-session-ubuntu which needs ConsoleKit which is longer in Arch.

I'm running it without ConsoleKit. have you switched to systemd?

Fresh installs only use systemd.

Unity needs gnome-session-ubuntu to install. This cannot be installed because it needs ConsoleKit.

Are you sure? I checked gnome-session-ubuntu's PKGBUILD again, it doesn't depend on ConsoleKit. We have moved to logind.
I'm pretty sure there is no ConsoleKit now in my system. But unity runs pretty well.

BTW: are you still using pekmop's repo? It's outdated currently.
Edit: If you don't want to compile all of the packages, you can temporarily use mine. It's only for X86_64 and it seems that you need to download them manually since I can't turn it into a repo on dropbox.
https://www.dropbox.com/sh/q2x9ewb679bfdaf/tmgUMeY_ue

Last edited by qiuwei (2012-11-05 09:08:48)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB