You are not logged in.

#1376 2012-11-13 19:37:27

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I have an off topic question about fonts under Arch: do you set your locale to Chinese? I've been running into this issue lately in both Arch and Fedora: https://ask.fedoraproject.org/question/ … ese-locale which makes it very hard to read the terminal output. Do you have this issue?

Thanks! smile

I'm not using Chinese locale, but are you using standard fontconfig? I have quite a lot of problems with it(Also with fontconfig-ubuntu since the latest update of fontconfig). So I turned to fontconfig-infinality, it provides very good font effect out of box.

Offline

#1377 2012-11-14 21:55:17

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

I have an off topic question about fonts under Arch: do you set your locale to Chinese? I've been running into this issue lately in both Arch and Fedora: https://ask.fedoraproject.org/question/ … ese-locale which makes it very hard to read the terminal output. Do you have this issue?

Thanks! smile

I'm not using Chinese locale, but are you using standard fontconfig? I have quite a lot of problems with it(Also with fontconfig-ubuntu since the latest update of fontconfig). So I turned to fontconfig-infinality, it provides very good font effect out of box.

Thanks a lot! My fonts are all fine now.

I still can't seem to find out what causes the (0,0) bug. You're packages work fine, but the chroot builds I do every day are still broken sad


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1378 2012-11-14 23:12:17

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I still can't seem to find out what causes the (0,0) bug. You're packages work fine, but the chroot builds I do every day are still broken sad

I've managed to track the bug down a little using qiuwei's compiz package.
The bug can be found in libcompiz_core.so.0.9.8.4, replace only this file with that found in qiuwei's compiz and window placement works correctly.

Offline

#1379 2012-11-15 00:21:31

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

I still can't seem to find out what causes the (0,0) bug. You're packages work fine, but the chroot builds I do every day are still broken sad

I've managed to track the bug down a little using qiuwei's compiz package.
The bug can be found in libcompiz_core.so.0.9.8.4, replace only this file with that found in qiuwei's compiz and window placement works correctly.

That's really helpful smile

ldd shows that the compiz_core library depends on the following libraries:

╔═(chenxiaolong@cxl-4270cto)═════════════════(Wed, 14 Nov 2012 18:38:29 -0500)═╗
╠════(/stuff/chenxiaolong/chroots/unity/root/.../compiz-ubuntu/pkg/usr/lib)════╣
╚═⇒  $ ldd /stuff/chenxiaolong/chroots/unity/root/home/builder/Unity-for-Arch/compiz-ubuntu/pkg/usr/lib/libcompiz_core.so.0.9.8.4 
	linux-vdso.so.1 (0x00007fffbedff000)
	libX11.so.6 => /usr/lib/libX11.so.6 (0x00007fa4b6a0e000)
	libXrandr.so.2 => /usr/lib/libXrandr.so.2 (0x00007fa4b6804000)
	libXinerama.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXinerama.so.1 (0x00007fa4b6600000)
	libXext.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXext.so.6 (0x00007fa4b63ed000)
	libICE.so.6 => /usr/lib/libICE.so.6 (0x00007fa4b61d1000)
	libSM.so.6 => /usr/lib/libSM.so.6 (0x00007fa4b5fc8000)
	libglibmm-2.4.so.1 => /usr/lib/libglibmm-2.4.so.1 (0x00007fa4b5d5b000)
	libsigc-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libsigc-2.0.so.0 (0x00007fa4b5b55000)
	libglib-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libglib-2.0.so.0 (0x00007fa4b585e000)
	libstartup-notification-1.so.0 => /usr/lib/libstartup-notification-1.so.0 (0x00007fa4b5655000)
	libm.so.6 => /usr/lib/libm.so.6 (0x00007fa4b535b000)
	libpthread.so.0 => /usr/lib/libpthread.so.0 (0x00007fa4b513e000)
	libdl.so.2 => /usr/lib/libdl.so.2 (0x00007fa4b4f3a000)
	libstdc++.so.6 => /usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6 (0x00007fa4b4c37000)
	libgcc_s.so.1 => /usr/lib/libgcc_s.so.1 (0x00007fa4b4a21000)
	libc.so.6 => /usr/lib/libc.so.6 (0x00007fa4b467a000)
	libxcb.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxcb.so.1 (0x00007fa4b445b000)
	libXrender.so.1 => /usr/lib/libXrender.so.1 (0x00007fa4b424f000)
	libuuid.so.1 => /usr/lib/libuuid.so.1 (0x00007fa4b404a000)
	libgobject-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgobject-2.0.so.0 (0x00007fa4b3dfc000)
	libgmodule-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgmodule-2.0.so.0 (0x00007fa4b3bf7000)
	librt.so.1 => /usr/lib/librt.so.1 (0x00007fa4b39ef000)
	libpcre.so.1 => /usr/lib/libpcre.so.1 (0x00007fa4b3791000)
	libxcb-util.so.1 => /usr/lib/libxcb-util.so.1 (0x00007fa4b358b000)
	libX11-xcb.so.1 => /usr/lib/libX11-xcb.so.1 (0x00007fa4b3389000)
	/usr/lib/ld-linux-x86-64.so.2 (0x00007fa4b7008000)
	libXau.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXau.so.6 (0x00007fa4b3184000)
	libXdmcp.so.6 => /usr/lib/libXdmcp.so.6 (0x00007fa4b2f7e000)
	libgthread-2.0.so.0 => /usr/lib/libgthread-2.0.so.0 (0x00007fa4b2d7c000)
	libffi.so.6 => /usr/lib/libffi.so.6 (0x00007fa4b2b74000)

EDIT: Based on oi_wtf's pacman.log, only three of libcompiz_core's dependencies were updated: glibmm, glib2, and glibc. It is extremely unlikely that glibc (mother of all libraries big_smile) is broken, so that leaves glibmm and glib2.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-11-15 00:26:54)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1380 2012-11-15 22:46:32

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

I still can't seem to find out what causes the (0,0) bug. You're packages work fine, but the chroot builds I do every day are still broken sad

I've managed to track the bug down a little using qiuwei's compiz package.
The bug can be found in libcompiz_core.so.0.9.8.4, replace only this file with that found in qiuwei's compiz and window placement works correctly.

That's really helpful smile

EDIT: Based on oi_wtf's pacman.log, only three of libcompiz_core's dependencies were updated: glibmm, glib2, and glibc. It is extremely unlikely that glibc (mother of all libraries big_smile) is broken, so that leaves glibmm and glib2.

Tried different glibmm versions with no effect, the bug is still present.
Glib2 I'm not convinced is the culprit as I've had this window placement bug through many versions of glib2 and is a package we maintain in our respective repositories.

Feeling that it is not any of the dynamic libraries shown with 'ldd' but something more internal to the creation of libcompiz_core.so
Boost is grabbing my attention at the moment, it's used everywhere in the library and more specifically on window creation and geometry.
But trying a downgrade of boost to 1.4* on Gentoo means a downgrade of glibc from 2.16 to 2.15 as boost-1.4 is known to not work with glibc-2.16.

I tried uninstalling boost and building compiz to try and get compiz to puke out a minimum boost version needed, but it doesn't seem to even check for boost's existence and just fails violently to build neutral

Offline

#1381 2012-11-15 22:59:21

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
shiznix wrote:

I've managed to track the bug down a little using qiuwei's compiz package.
The bug can be found in libcompiz_core.so.0.9.8.4, replace only this file with that found in qiuwei's compiz and window placement works correctly.

That's really helpful smile

EDIT: Based on oi_wtf's pacman.log, only three of libcompiz_core's dependencies were updated: glibmm, glib2, and glibc. It is extremely unlikely that glibc (mother of all libraries big_smile) is broken, so that leaves glibmm and glib2.

Tried different glibmm versions with no effect, the bug is still present.
Glib2 I'm not convinced is the culprit as I've had this window placement bug through many versions of glib2 and is a package we maintain in our respective repositories.

Feeling that it is not any of the dynamic libraries shown with 'ldd' but something more internal to the creation of libcompiz_core.so
Boost is grabbing my attention at the moment, it's used everywhere in the library and more specifically on window creation and geometry.
But trying a downgrade of boost to 1.4* on Gentoo means a downgrade of glibc from 2.16 to 2.15 as boost-1.4 is known to not work with glibc-2.16.

I tried uninstalling boost and building compiz to try and get compiz to puke out a minimum boost version needed, but it doesn't seem to even check for boost's existence and just fails violently to build neutral

I don't think it would be related to boost because it's a very general C++ library.

Offline

#1382 2012-11-16 00:31:15

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
shiznix wrote:

I've managed to track the bug down a little using qiuwei's compiz package.
The bug can be found in libcompiz_core.so.0.9.8.4, replace only this file with that found in qiuwei's compiz and window placement works correctly.

That's really helpful smile

EDIT: Based on oi_wtf's pacman.log, only three of libcompiz_core's dependencies were updated: glibmm, glib2, and glibc. It is extremely unlikely that glibc (mother of all libraries big_smile) is broken, so that leaves glibmm and glib2.

Tried different glibmm versions with no effect, the bug is still present.
Glib2 I'm not convinced is the culprit as I've had this window placement bug through many versions of glib2 and is a package we maintain in our respective repositories.

Feeling that it is not any of the dynamic libraries shown with 'ldd' but something more internal to the creation of libcompiz_core.so
Boost is grabbing my attention at the moment, it's used everywhere in the library and more specifically on window creation and geometry.
But trying a downgrade of boost to 1.4* on Gentoo means a downgrade of glibc from 2.16 to 2.15 as boost-1.4 is known to not work with glibc-2.16.

I tried uninstalling boost and building compiz to try and get compiz to puke out a minimum boost version needed, but it doesn't seem to even check for boost's existence and just fails violently to build neutral

I tried rebuilding compiz under Fedora and I've hit the window placement issue. Looking at the logs, boost was never updated between the two builds and the original build was compiled with boost 1.50. So, I'm not sure that boost is the cause of the issue.

I've noticed that cairo was updated between the old and new builds on my system in both Arch and Fedora. I'm going to try downgrading that.

EDIT: Nope, not cairo

EDIT2: Packages updated in both Arch and Fedora: cairo, cmake, coreutils, and util-linux. This is confusing as heck...

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-11-16 01:25:07)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1383 2012-11-16 18:15:45

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gnome-menus2 landed in community
https://www.archlinux.org/packages/comm … me-menus2/

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-16 18:17:42)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1384 2012-11-16 21:09:12

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Thanks! Deleted from repo.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1385 2012-11-17 00:08:43

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I tried rebuilding compiz under Fedora and I've hit the window placement issue. Looking at the logs, boost was never updated between the two builds and the original build was compiled with boost 1.50. So, I'm not sure that boost is the cause of the issue.

I've noticed that cairo was updated between the old and new builds on my system in both Arch and Fedora. I'm going to try downgrading that.

EDIT: Nope, not cairo

EDIT2: Packages updated in both Arch and Fedora: cairo, cmake, coreutils, and util-linux. This is confusing as heck...

OK, turns out it's nothing to do with dependencies but what we do with the binary once it's compiled.

FEATURES="nostrip" USE="debug" CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -ggdb" emerge compiz

This creates a perfectly working compiz!
Glitchy dash artifacts gone, desktop starts quicker and most importantly window placement is fixed.

Haven't been able to distill it down yet, but enabling '-ggdb' with '-O0' for CFLAGS and not stripping binaries looks to be the magic.
I'll test throughout today and try to come up with an equivalent for Arch but you may be able to do something quicker on your side being more familiar smile

Offline

#1386 2012-11-17 01:09:42

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

I tried rebuilding compiz under Fedora and I've hit the window placement issue. Looking at the logs, boost was never updated between the two builds and the original build was compiled with boost 1.50. So, I'm not sure that boost is the cause of the issue.

I've noticed that cairo was updated between the old and new builds on my system in both Arch and Fedora. I'm going to try downgrading that.

EDIT: Nope, not cairo

EDIT2: Packages updated in both Arch and Fedora: cairo, cmake, coreutils, and util-linux. This is confusing as heck...

OK, turns out it's nothing to do with dependencies but what we do with the binary once it's compiled.

FEATURES="nostrip" USE="debug" CFLAGS="${CFLAGS} -ggdb" emerge compiz

This creates a perfectly working compiz!
Glitchy dash artifacts gone, desktop starts quicker and most importantly window placement is fixed.

Haven't been able to distill it down yet, but enabling '-ggdb' with '-O0' for CFLAGS and not stripping binaries looks to be the magic.
I'll test throughout today and try to come up with an equivalent for Arch but you may be able to do something quicker on your side being more familiar smile

Wow, that's great! I'll try disabling optimization only and if that doesn't work, I'll add the other two options.

This is one of the things that only Gentoo users can solve tongue Thanks a lot for the solution!

EDIT: I'm trying to build with options=('!strip') and C{XX,}FLAGS="**cflags without -O2 and _FORTIFY_SOURCE** -ggdb"

This causes the compiler to segfault: http://paste.ubuntu.com/1364320/. I've never seen this before.

EDIT2: I tried compiling with CFLAGS set only to "-O0 -ggdb" instead of appending it to the defaults CFLAGS. Unfornately, the (0,0) bug is still not fixed sad

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2012-11-17 06:51:18)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1387 2012-11-17 08:03:22

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Wow, that's great! I'll try disabling optimization only and if that doesn't work, I'll add the other two options.

This is one of the things that only Gentoo users can solve tongue Thanks a lot for the solution!

EDIT: I'm trying to build with options=('!strip') and C{XX,}FLAGS="**cflags without -O2 and _FORTIFY_SOURCE** -ggdb"

This causes the compiler to segfault: http://paste.ubuntu.com/1364320/. I've never seen this before.

EDIT2: I tried compiling with CFLAGS set only to "-O0 -ggdb" instead of appending it to the defaults CFLAGS. Unfornately, the (0,0) bug is still not fixed sad

Turned out it was actually the USE="debug" part of the commandline that was crucial, not the CFLAGS or stripping.
Long story short, if compiz is built with the cmake flag "-DNDEBUG" it will cause the window placement bug.

Big thanks to all working on this, think we got it finally.
Hoping now that you can reproduce at your end chenxiaolong.
If it wasn't for you guys getting the same bug and being able to provide a working binary I would have floundered.

Always great to see fellow Linux people rise above their respective distros to reach common goals big_smile

Offline

#1388 2012-11-18 00:54:39

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

This causes the compiler to segfault: http://paste.ubuntu.com/1364320/. I've never seen this before.

O.O me neither...

shiznix wrote:

Long story short, if compiz is built with the cmake flag "-DNDEBUG" it will cause the window placement bug.

Just now started a build without that flag. Lets see if it works...

shiznix wrote:

Always great to see fellow Linux people rise above their respective distros to reach common goals big_smile

big +1 to that

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-18 01:27:46)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1389 2012-11-18 01:09:33

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Wow, that's great! I'll try disabling optimization only and if that doesn't work, I'll add the other two options.

This is one of the things that only Gentoo users can solve tongue Thanks a lot for the solution!

EDIT: I'm trying to build with options=('!strip') and C{XX,}FLAGS="**cflags without -O2 and _FORTIFY_SOURCE** -ggdb"

This causes the compiler to segfault: http://paste.ubuntu.com/1364320/. I've never seen this before.

EDIT2: I tried compiling with CFLAGS set only to "-O0 -ggdb" instead of appending it to the defaults CFLAGS. Unfornately, the (0,0) bug is still not fixed sad

Turned out it was actually the USE="debug" part of the commandline that was crucial, not the CFLAGS or stripping.
Long story short, if compiz is built with the cmake flag "-DNDEBUG" it will cause the window placement bug.

Robert Xu discovered that building with the CMake Debug target is enough to make Compiz work properly: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … t-10481151 smile I think we can officially call this fixed thanks to you!

shiznix wrote:

Big thanks to all working on this, think we got it finally.
Hoping now that you can reproduce at your end chenxiaolong.
If it wasn't for you guys getting the same bug and being able to provide a working binary I would have floundered.

Always great to see fellow Linux people rise above their respective distros to reach common goals big_smile

Couldn't have said that better big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1390 2012-11-18 01:27:53

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

THAT'S IT! Build worked and neither weird render bug nor (0,0) placing bug!
my PKGBUILD: https://dl.dropbox.com/u/76078202/PKGBUILD

I wouldn't use the Debug target since it'll turn off optimizations,
which is clearly not neccessary... it built fine for me with -O3...

Last edited by oi_wtf (2012-11-18 01:34:43)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1391 2012-11-18 01:36:01

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

The new libunity-webapps update should allow the HUD to work with the webapps.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1392 2012-11-19 00:15:05

quiro91
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

after xf86-video-intel and intel-dri updates, I can't start X again. Maybe a update to xorg-server is required?

Offline

#1393 2012-11-19 03:34:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

quiro91 wrote:

after xf86-video-intel and intel-dri updates, I can't start X again. Maybe a update to xorg-server is required?

I've updated the xorg-server-ubuntu with the latest Arch patches. Would you mind testing it? I'm not at my computer right now.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1394 2012-11-19 08:43:54

quiro91
Member
Registered: 2012-06-13
Posts: 29

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Everything works as expected, thanks! But... Now I have a new issue, when I open google-chrome:
http://i.imgur.com/liqot.png

chenxiaolong wrote:
quiro91 wrote:

after xf86-video-intel and intel-dri updates, I can't start X again. Maybe a update to xorg-server is required?

I've updated the xorg-server-ubuntu with the latest Arch patches. Would you mind testing it? I'm not at my computer right now.

Offline

#1395 2012-11-19 14:16:27

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi, just a quick question: what's the best way to install Unity on Arch?
I have currently an installation of Arch+Gnome (x86_64), should I add the repository and install everything from it or should I compile it using the instruction in the first post?

Offline

#1396 2012-11-19 17:02:49

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

edmael wrote:

Hi, just a quick question: what's the best way to install Unity on Arch?
I have currently an installation of Arch+Gnome (x86_64), should I add the repository and install everything from it or should I compile it using the instruction in the first post?

It should be equivalent. But the repo hasn't been updated for days so it still has the window placement bug, you will need to compile it if you want a working system immediately.

Offline

#1397 2012-11-19 17:36:55

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
edmael wrote:

Hi, just a quick question: what's the best way to install Unity on Arch?
I have currently an installation of Arch+Gnome (x86_64), should I add the repository and install everything from it or should I compile it using the instruction in the first post?

It should be equivalent. But the repo hasn't been updated for days so it still has the window placement bug, you will need to compile it if you want a working system immediately.

Thanks, I'll try!

Offline

#1398 2012-11-19 17:40:48

kladd
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 7

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

After the latest round of updates I clean compiled/installed from the git repo. I'm currently getting a seg fault from gtk-window-decorator. Anyone else experiencing this? Or have suggestions?

gdb output:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0000000000414f97 in meta_calc_button_size ()

Last edited by kladd (2012-11-19 18:36:20)

Offline

#1399 2012-11-19 19:29:01

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

kladd wrote:

After the latest round of updates I clean compiled/installed from the git repo. I'm currently getting a seg fault from gtk-window-decorator. Anyone else experiencing this? Or have suggestions?

gdb output:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0000000000414f97 in meta_calc_button_size ()

It's related to metacity. I've encountered this problem before. Normally a rebuild of metacity should fix the problem.
Are you using metacity-ubuntu from the git repo or standard metacity?

Offline

#1400 2012-11-19 20:23:54

kladd
Member
Registered: 2012-09-18
Posts: 7

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
kladd wrote:

After the latest round of updates I clean compiled/installed from the git repo. I'm currently getting a seg fault from gtk-window-decorator. Anyone else experiencing this? Or have suggestions?

gdb output:

Program received signal SIGSEGV, Segmentation fault.
0x0000000000414f97 in meta_calc_button_size ()

It's related to metacity. I've encountered this problem before. Normally a rebuild of metacity should fix the problem.
Are you using metacity-ubuntu from the git repo or standard metacity?

metacity-ubuntu from the repo at the moment. After a rebuild I'm still getting the seg fault.

EDIT:

Okay, problem solved. Compiled compiz-ubuntu and metacity-ubuntu since they're interdependent and installed both at the same time. Then I rebuilt compiz-ubuntu and installed it. Now gtk-window-decorator works fine. Thanks for the rebuilding tip.

Last edited by kladd (2012-11-19 22:56:57)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB