You are not logged in.

#26 2012-11-23 20:44:57

teekay
Member
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 271

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Digikam/Kipi-Plugins 2.9.0 seems to be incompatible with libkdcraw-4.9.80+. Rebuild fails with

[ 44%] Building CXX object extra/libkvkontakte/libkvkontakte/CMakeFiles/kvkontakte.dir/grouplistjob.cpp.o                                                      
Linking CXX static library ../../../lib/liblibmd5.a
/home/tom/abs/extra/digikam/src/digikam-2.9.0/extra/kipi-plugins/common/libkipiplugins/tools/kprawthumbthread.cpp: In Elementfunktion »virtual void KIPIPlugins::KPRawThumbThread::run()«:
/home/tom/abs/extra/digikam/src/digikam-2.9.0/extra/kipi-plugins/common/libkipiplugins/tools/kprawthumbthread.cpp:112:24: Fehler: »loadDcrawPreview« ist kein Element von »KDcrawIface::KDcraw«

3.0.0-beta3 compiles and seems to work fine so far. Maybe it would be worth adding it to the repo..

Last edited by teekay (2012-11-23 20:51:21)

Offline

#27 2012-11-23 21:42:40

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Cdh wrote:

the "desktop widgets" locker isn't really thought through

the desktop widgets locker was already there in 4.9 and worked the same way, the only difference is that this one uses QML (I think?). That said, I agree it is not an optimal implementation of a screen locker.

Offline

#28 2012-11-25 18:29:09

adee
Member
From: The Moon
Registered: 2009-11-10
Posts: 110

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

If i'm right the appmenu support is now part of KDE, but I can't find where to enable the window decoration menu button. Do anyone know where it can be enabled? Do I still need to patch kdebase-workspace for that?

Edit:
I found it: System settings->Appl. appearance->Style->Fine tuning->Menubar style.
They put it the place where it is likely not to be found.

Last edited by adee (2012-11-25 18:39:54)

Offline

#29 2012-11-26 03:34:19

erville
Member
From: Philippines
Registered: 2011-04-12
Posts: 15

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

I found an issue. There's a duplicate battery monitor in the system tray with no icon. Furthermore it crashes the plasma desktop if you click the "show hidden icons" arrow on the system tray. I managed to temporarily get around the issue by configuring the duplicate battery monitor entry on the system tray to be always hidden. System Tray Settings > Entries (tab) > Battery monitor, set visibility to Hidden. With the buggy battery monitor hidden from the system tray, clicking the show hidden icons arrow doesn't crash the plasma desktop anymore.

I haven't come across anyone with a similar issue, though, so maybe it's just on my machine.

Last edited by erville (2012-11-26 03:42:40)

Offline

#30 2012-11-26 09:57:29

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

adee wrote:

I found it: System settings->Appl. appearance->Style->Fine tuning->Menubar style.
They put it the place where it is likely not to be found.

I'm a bit puzzled about the possible options: what is "top screen menubar" supposed to do? Add a plasmoid menubar in your top panel? What if you don't have a top panel?

i tried the option but it seems that nothing happens, i see something moving in the systray but then nothing really happens.

Any idea what that intended behaviour of the option is?

Offline

#31 2012-11-26 10:39:23

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Top screen menubar puts the menubar where krunner is by default - it's denoted by glow and shows on mouseover.

Offline

#32 2012-11-26 13:53:32

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

I can see now that it works with a fresh .kde4 folder, probably something is messed up in my config.

Offline

#33 2012-11-26 20:15:26

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Using Ctrl+Alt+L to invoke the screen locker doesnt work here. Can anyone else reproduce?
Using the menus works.

Last edited by dolby (2012-11-26 20:15:59)


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#34 2012-11-26 22:16:44

Cdh
Member
Registered: 2009-02-03
Posts: 1,098

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Well, I have set it to meta + l like on windows smile. After the update to 4.10 beta it was reset to ctrl + alt + l. After I set it back to meta + l it worked just fine. Maybe try to set it again.


฿ 18PRsqbZCrwPUrVnJe1BZvza7bwSDbpxZz

Offline

#35 2012-11-27 14:04:23

ontobelli
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 127

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Removable devices don't automount anymore.

Any idea what should do?

Offline

#36 2012-11-27 14:52:00

dolby
Member
From: 1992
Registered: 2006-08-08
Posts: 1,581

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

ontobelli wrote:

Removable devices don't automount anymore.

Any idea what should do?

KDE now uses udisks2 instead of udisks


There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

Offline

#37 2012-11-27 15:09:47

ontobelli
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 127

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

dolby wrote:

KDE now uses udisks2 instead of udisks

Thank you dolby.

I have read that up, but for common people what that means?

Do I need to configure something?

I don't found an entry in the Wiki about udisks2.

Offline

#38 2012-11-28 09:42:23

Akuma
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 32

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

ontobelli wrote:

Removable devices don't automount anymore.

Any idea what should do?

Same issue here, and I already have udisks2 installed.

Other issues I have :
- Dolphin takes ages to start, about 10 seconds on a SSD (Was instant before). With or without Nepomuk enabled. Debug logs don't tell where it's hanging neither. Once started it behaves normally.
- KWin compositing performance is awful when using OpenGL (before it was usable), but susprisingly blazing fast when using XRender, even more than KDE 4.9 OpenGL. I'm happily surprised the compositor is always rendering steady 60 FPS no matter how many windows are there and 3D/OpenGL applications don't suffer any slowdown at all. This on an NVIDIA GTX550Ti using the latest binary blob.

Besides these issues, everything else is working nicely so far, so big kudos to the maintainers smile !

Last edited by Akuma (2012-11-28 09:42:51)

Offline

#39 2012-11-28 10:12:48

Box0
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2011-09-21
Posts: 218

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Akuma wrote:

- Dolphin takes ages to start, about 10 seconds on a SSD (Was instant before). With or without Nepomuk enabled. Debug logs don't tell where it's hanging neither. Once started it behaves normally.

hi, do you also notice a delay for the right-click menu to appear? It takes from 2 to 5 seconds here (intel card), while in kde 9 it was instant.

Offline

#40 2012-11-28 10:39:44

Anarconda
Member
Registered: 2002-12-23
Posts: 77

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Box0 wrote:
Akuma wrote:

- Dolphin takes ages to start, about 10 seconds on a SSD (Was instant before). With or without Nepomuk enabled. Debug logs don't tell where it's hanging neither. Once started it behaves normally.

hi, do you also notice a delay for the right-click menu to appear? It takes from 2 to 5 seconds here (intel card), while in kde 9 it was instant.

+1


Scientia et sapientia patrimonium humanitatis sunt.

Offline

#41 2012-11-28 16:07:31

Akuma
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 32

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Box0 wrote:
Akuma wrote:

- Dolphin takes ages to start, about 10 seconds on a SSD (Was instant before). With or without Nepomuk enabled. Debug logs don't tell where it's hanging neither. Once started it behaves normally.

hi, do you also notice a delay for the right-click menu to appear? It takes from 2 to 5 seconds here (intel card), while in kde 9 it was instant.

Yes, forgot to mention it. It also happens when spliting the view.

Offline

#42 2012-11-28 23:32:37

SS4
Member
From: !Rochford, Essex
Registered: 2010-12-05
Posts: 699

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Box0 wrote:
Akuma wrote:

- Dolphin takes ages to start, about 10 seconds on a SSD (Was instant before). With or without Nepomuk enabled. Debug logs don't tell where it's hanging neither. Once started it behaves normally.

hi, do you also notice a delay for the right-click menu to appear? It takes from 2 to 5 seconds here (intel card), while in kde 9 it was instant.

Yeah, I've noticed that too, using F3 to split and the right click menu takes longer.


Rauchen verboten

Offline

#43 2012-11-29 14:55:24

arojas
Developer
From: Spain
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 1,249

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Dolphin delays should be fixed in beta 2

http://quickgit.kde.org/?p=kdelibs.git& … b425386f4a

Offline

#44 2012-11-30 11:03:53

R3DKn16h7
Member
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 13

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

I've upgrade to 4.10 smile

As alway nice done KDE team and Arch.

Problems I found:
0) KDE is completely awesome!
1) Plasmoid for functions drawings suck all my CPU load, can someone confirm?
2) My FAN is as usual crazy but I don't think is a KDE problem
3) Screen edges some times scew up and stop working
4) KRunner is as always crashy

Offline

#45 2012-11-30 13:04:08

semog
Member
Registered: 2010-08-08
Posts: 26

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

#R3DKn16h7 I agree with you on 0 3 and 4 that happends here.
For some reason that i dont find yet Plasma is crashing alot without i understand why, but if i do what someone tell (cant find who) and click show hidden widgets on panel plasma crash.

Offline

#46 2012-11-30 14:14:07

masteryod
Member
Registered: 2010-05-19
Posts: 433

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

R3DKn16h7 wrote:

4) KRunner is as always crashy

Nope, never happened here (I didn't have a chance to test 4.10 yet but up to 4.9 krunner was ok). Do you use any kind of krunner plugins?

Offline

#47 2012-11-30 15:31:44

R3DKn16h7
Member
Registered: 2010-12-30
Posts: 13

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

masteryod wrote:
R3DKn16h7 wrote:

4) KRunner is as always crashy

Nope, never happened here (I didn't have a chance to test 4.10 yet but up to 4.9 krunner was ok). Do you use any kind of krunner plugins?

Default plugins set, then I remove some plugin that I don't use and usually Krunner works fine. But I'm speaking of betas and RCs and not stable releases, where usually it works fine.

For some reason that i dont find yet Plasma is crashing alot without i understand why, but if i do what someone tell (cant find who) and click show hidden widgets on panel plasma crash.

Try to mess up with effects configurations. e.g. switch from Native to Raster or change some OpenGL configuration in the  "Desktop effects" kcm. Actually before I removed my ".kde4" I've got some Kwin unstability to.

Offline

#48 2012-12-05 00:38:43

ipha
Member
Registered: 2010-04-06
Posts: 12

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Dolphin is still slow in beta 2 sad

EDIT: Just built the latest version of kdelibs from git and it's fixed, guess the fix just missed the release.

Last edited by ipha (2012-12-05 01:25:52)

Offline

#49 2012-12-05 05:59:23

ontobelli
Member
From: Mexico City
Registered: 2011-02-06
Posts: 127

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Fixed automount of removable devices in beta 2.

Thanks!

Beautiful and stable.

KDE everyday better!

Offline

#50 2012-12-05 06:01:42

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 314

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE SC 4.10

Device manager in dolphin has been disappeared

EDIT: ktorrent need rebuild (warning device not mount)

EDIT2: now device manager appears with install linux 3.6.9?¿

Last edited by sl1pkn07 (2012-12-05 11:45:29)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB