You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-28 10:46:16

heliumhgy
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 10

Can't get ipv6 address assigned correctly.

I use NetworkManager and dhclient for auto-configuration but it has some weird problems.
When I boot up my laptop, I only have chance to get access to ipv6 network, when I fail, I tried to delete the connection in Network Management Settings, and then added a new profile, disable and then enable the network again. Sometimes it works well, but sometimes it failed to auto-config.
If I use the command:

$ ip -6 rout

then I'll get the following message:

unreachable fe80::/64 dev lo  proto kernel  metric 256  error -101
fe80::/64 dev wlan0  proto kernel  metric 256 
default via fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59 dev wlan0  proto static  metric 1 

every time the default gateway is configured well, sometimes the address the address is missed , and if I do the following:

$ ping6 -I wlan0 -c 4 fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59 

It responses normally.

PING fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59(fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59) from fe80::1034:56ff:fe78:9124 wlan0: 56 data bytes
64 bytes from fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59: icmp_seq=1 ttl=64 time=5.32 ms
64 bytes from fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59: icmp_seq=2 ttl=64 time=6.64 ms
64 bytes from fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59: icmp_seq=3 ttl=64 time=10.6 ms
64 bytes from fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59: icmp_seq=4 ttl=64 time=3.60 ms

--- fe80::2e0:2ff:fe54:59 ping statistics ---
4 packets transmitted, 4 received, 0% packet loss, time 3005ms
rtt min/avg/max/mdev = 3.603/6.546/10.617/2.587 ms

do the following:

$ ip -6 addr
1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qlen 1000
    inet6 2001:250:4400:d000::161/128 scope global 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
    inet6 fe80::1034:56ff:fe78:9124/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever

I found I just sometimes can get the ipv6 address start with 2001:
If the address is assigned, then:

$ ping6 ipv6.google.com
PING ipv6.google.com(ipv6.google.com) 56 data bytes
^C
--- ipv6.google.com ping statistics ---
11 packets transmitted, 0 received, 100% packet loss, time 10008ms

response nothing!

Then I switch into Windows 7, if something like above happened, then I managed to set the MAC address to a random value such as 12-34-56-78-91-23, soon, the problem will be corrected, I'll get a new ipv6 address assigned by DHCPv6 server. If I switch back to arch, set the MAC address in NetworkManager, it didn't have function at most time, and the ipv6 address even won't change!

Can anyone help me with this problem?
by the way, I never get ipv6 address when I use dhcpcd.

Offline

#2 2012-11-28 16:15:32

ackt1c
Member
From: Visalia, California
Registered: 2012-10-10
Posts: 215

Re: Can't get ipv6 address assigned correctly.

I use at&t u-verse, and my router has no firmware support for ipv6.  Make sure you have ipv6 capable router/provder or look into ipv4 to ipv6 tunnel brokers.

Offline

#3 2012-11-28 16:51:14

heliumhgy
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 10

Re: Can't get ipv6 address assigned correctly.

ackt1c wrote:

I use at&t u-verse, and my router has no firmware support for ipv6.  Make sure you have ipv6 capable router/provder or look into ipv4 to ipv6 tunnel brokers.

I don't need a tunnel to access to ipv6, my university use dual-stack to get both ipv4 and v6 work around all campus. And the v6 haven't been set an limitation on net speed. so it is quite important.

Offline

#4 2012-11-28 16:56:13

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,272

Re: Can't get ipv6 address assigned correctly.

Hello and welcome to the forums heliumhgy.

Just in case you are wondering where your post has been gone: The moderators board received this message from you:

I dont need tunnel to access to ipv6, My univ use dual-stack to get both ipv4 and v6 work around all campus.

This is because you inadvertently used the "Report" link. But don't worry this happens rather often.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#5 2012-11-29 03:15:47

heliumhgy
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 10

Re: Can't get ipv6 address assigned correctly.

bernarcher wrote:

Hello and welcome to the forums heliumhgy.

Just in case you are wondering where your post has been gone: The moderators board received this message from you:

I dont need tunnel to access to ipv6, My univ use dual-stack to get both ipv4 and v6 work around all campus.

This is because you inadvertently used the "Report" link. But don't worry this happens rather often.

Just cause I caught the glimpse of re-blabla, and mistaken it as reply

Last edited by heliumhgy (2012-11-29 03:16:11)

Offline

#6 2012-11-30 16:30:25

heliumhgy
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 10

Re: Can't get ipv6 address assigned correctly.

It seems it is the dhcp server config error, if I disconnect from WiFi of a moment, then it comes normal, I'll test for more several days.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB