You are not logged in.

#1 2012-11-30 23:51:11

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

[SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

Hello all,

got my system up and running, with the exception of automatically connecting to CIFS shares via fstab.

Here is my fstab:

# 
# /etc/fstab: static file system information
#
# <file system>	<dir>	<type>	<options>	<dump>	<pass>
tmpfs		/tmp	tmpfs	nodev,nosuid	0	0
# /dev/sda1
UUID=6ee7eda6-59f2-469b-b5c7-1648c8babbbd	/         	ext4      	rw,relatime,data=ordered	0 2

# /dev/sda2
UUID=78385fe7-0ab7-49e2-940b-1b9932176e25	/home     	ext4      	rw,relatime,data=ordered	0 2

# swapfile
#UUID=67152dce-1e26-4db0-b500-a8b91ffe55de
/swapfile	none	swap	defaults	0 0

# /dev/sda3
UUID=779f0bfe-c3b7-45df-b089-b7c5f0457390	/mnt/hold	ext4      	rw,relatime,data=ordered	0 2

# /dev/sdb1
UUID=da3031d4-55ab-45ad-8db7-b008ec432fb2	/mnt/data	ext4      	rw,relatime,data=ordered	0 2

//srvnas/dvd /mnt/dvd cifs uid=nixit,credentials=/mnt/data/docs/smb.creds	 0 0
//srvnas/bluray /mnt/bluray cifs uid=nixit,credentials=/mnt/data/docs/smb.creds	0 0
//srvnas/music /mnt/music cifs uid=nixit,credentials=/mnt/data/docs/smb.creds	0 0

After login in from a fresh boot, the mount points /mnt/dvd(bluray, music) are not mounted.  If I execute:

sudo mount -a

I can now access the nas mount points.

Not sure what to look for to see what's going on.

any ideas?

--nixIT

Last edited by nixIT (2012-12-13 21:22:32)


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#2 2012-12-01 01:08:15

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

You shouldn't realy have to specify this, but what happens if you add 'auto'?

Offline

#3 2012-12-02 01:39:00

Tarqi
Member
From: Ixtlan
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 106
Website

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

A possible problem would be if

/dev/sdb1

is not already mounted, cause there lives your credential file.

Last edited by Tarqi (2012-12-02 04:29:22)


Knowing others is wisdom, knowing yourself is enlightenment. ~Lao Tse

Offline

#4 2012-12-02 04:25:39

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

WonderWoofy wrote:

You shouldn't realy have to specify this, but what happens if you add 'auto'?

Unfortunately, this did not work.  sad


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#5 2012-12-02 04:29:43

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

Tarqi wrote:

A possible problem would be if

/dev/sdb1

is not already mounted, cause there lives your credits-file.

hmmm, this never seem to be an issue before,  only after the reinstall.

I moved sdb up in the mount chain to give it time to actually be mounted.  With systemd, does sdb get mounted in fstab?  I thought I remember reading that the drives are mounted someplace else.  Could be wrong though.

--nixIT


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#6 2012-12-02 04:36:03

Tarqi
Member
From: Ixtlan
Registered: 2012-11-27
Posts: 106
Website

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

nixIT wrote:

I moved sdb up in the mount chain to give it time to actually be mounted.  With systemd, does sdb get mounted in fstab?  I thought I remember reading that the drives are mounted someplace else.  Could be wrong though.
--nixIT

There is nothing like an automount in arch, except you implement it. Try x-systemd.automount as mountoption is fstab. See also the Wiki entry.

Last edited by Tarqi (2012-12-02 04:36:45)


Knowing others is wisdom, knowing yourself is enlightenment. ~Lao Tse

Offline

#7 2012-12-11 16:02:55

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

Tarqi wrote:
nixIT wrote:

I moved sdb up in the mount chain to give it time to actually be mounted.  With systemd, does sdb get mounted in fstab?  I thought I remember reading that the drives are mounted someplace else.  Could be wrong though.
--nixIT

There is nothing like an automount in arch, except you implement it. Try x-systemd.automount as mountoption is fstab. See also the Wiki entry.

This did not work for me either, not sure if I had the systemd.automount in the correct spot.  I can't access that system now, but when I get home I will post where I put them in the fstab file.

--nixIT


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

#8 2012-12-13 21:22:13

nixIT
Member
Registered: 2010-01-13
Posts: 394

Re: [SOLVED] cifs mount in fstab

Tarqi wrote:
nixIT wrote:

I moved sdb up in the mount chain to give it time to actually be mounted.  With systemd, does sdb get mounted in fstab?  I thought I remember reading that the drives are mounted someplace else.  Could be wrong though.
--nixIT

There is nothing like an automount in arch, except you implement it. Try x-systemd.automount as mountoption is fstab. See also the Wiki entry.

I added this:

//srvnas/dvd /mnt/dvd cifs uid=nixit,credentials=/mnt/data/docs/smb.creds,x-systemd.automount	 0 0
//srvnas/bluray /mnt/bluray cifs uid=nixit,credentials=/mnt/data/docs/smb.creds,x-systemd.automount	0 0
//srvnas/music /mnt/music cifs uid=nixit,credentials=/mnt/data/docs/smb.creds,x-systemd.automount	0 0

to my work system, and it worked like a charm, will have to give this a shot at home later, but I'm confident that it will work.

--nixIT


ASRock 970 Extreme4  | AMD FX 8350 | 32GB G.SKILL Ripjaw X  | 180GB Corsair Force Series GS SSD | MSI GeForce GTX 960 GTX Gaming 4G 4GB

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB