You are not logged in.

#1 2012-12-01 16:10:38

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

Hi all,

I had the scanner functionality working, but the last time I tried to use it I have been unable to scan both as a regular user and root:


sudo scanimage -d net:192.168.5.1:hpoj:hpjd:192.168.5.11 --source Flatbed --batch-prompt --format=pnm > 1.pnm
scanimage: sane_start: Error during device I/O

I get the same error regardless of if I run it as root or a regular user.  I also should note that I was having problems getting an IP address with my HP scanner until I moved it to another port.  I will try USB and see if that resolves the issue, but I would like to use it any way I like either networked or USB.

Edit:
I tried USB and it also does not work.

I cannot seem to figure out what changed since the first and last time I had it working.  The setup was very easy.


Walter

Last edited by walterjwhite (2012-12-02 02:26:35)

Offline

#2 2012-12-01 22:57:00

mzneverdies
Member
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 147

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

I got mine working (hp officejet 4500) over lan, on a systemd enviroment, making sure that
extra/hplip & extra/foomatic* were installed
cups & avahi were running.

Then I added my printer via hp-setup, there was no option to configure the scanner (only the fax, which I skipped), but running xsane (or sime-scan) brings me the interface to scan over network.

I known I'm not giving any specific details, but hope it helps

Last edited by mzneverdies (2012-12-01 22:57:38)

Offline

#3 2012-12-01 23:30:30

ninian
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 695
Website

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

I have an HP Photosmart C4480 working with printing and scanning (using Xsane) for users over my network.
It's installed in CUPS on the host computer with the connection: hp:/usb/Photosmart_C4400_series?serial=xxxxx
Driver: HP Photosmart c4400 Series, hpcups 3.12.4

In addition to what mzneverdies suggested (note the cups.service and avahi-daemon.service should be running) , have you checked the following:
Firewall allowing ports: 6566:6567/tcp
On host:
/etc/sane.d/saned.conf: check data_portrange (see above) and permitted IPs in access list
/etc/xinetd.d/sane-port:

service sane-port
	{
	   port = 6566
	   socket_type = stream
	   wait = no
	   user = root		# nobody doesn't work
	   group = scanner	# nobody doesn't work (?)
	   server = /usr/sbin/saned
	   disable = no
	}

systemd xinetd.service enabled
On client:
/etc/sane.d/net.conf should contain the hostname to which the device is connected

I think that covers most of the things needed ... wink

Offline

#4 2012-12-02 02:26:24

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

Hi,

Thanks for your replies - ninian, my issue was my firewall on the router.  I forgot about the data port range.  Once I opened that up, I got my scans going through just fine.

By the way, I am using systemd, and it does work perfectly, but I do need to manually run ptal-init start.

Thanks,

Walter

Last edited by walterjwhite (2012-12-02 02:27:26)

Offline

#5 2012-12-02 11:23:58

ninian
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 695
Website

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

walterjwhite wrote:

Thanks for your replies - ninian, my issue was my firewall on the router.  I forgot about the data port range.  Once I opened that up, I got my scans going through just fine.

By the way, I am using systemd, and it does work perfectly, but I do need to manually run ptal-init start.

Ah, that's good - glad to help.
Is ptal-init supplied by the hpoj package? You didn't mention the Photosmart model, but can it not use hplip rather than hpoj which is well-outdated and I thought superseded? (Haven't used hpoj for years, myself - think it was for an HP PSC 500.)

In my books, problems with setting up printers and scanners only come second to problems with video drivers!

Offline

#6 2012-12-02 13:59:30

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

Hi ninian,

Yeah, I noticed it was dated, but I followed the documentation from here:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Sa … P_hardware


I'll give it a try without the hpoj and post back.  That will make administration easier, no more AUR package and running ptal-init start on server startup.

Thanks,

Walter

Offline

#7 2012-12-02 14:25:16

walterjwhite
Member
Registered: 2011-05-01
Posts: 207

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

Hi ninian,

It appears to work just fine with the hpaio library.

Thanks,

Walter

Offline

#8 2012-12-02 15:57:52

ninian
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 695
Website

Re: xsane with networked HP Photosmart all-in-one [solved]

walterjwhite wrote:

Hi ninian,

It appears to work just fine with the hpaio library.

Thanks,

Walter

Great - anything for a simpler life!
smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB