You are not logged in.

#1 2005-10-21 14:58:31

Alexo
Member
From: near a cup of coffee
Registered: 2005-06-27
Posts: 90

"out of the bue" network problem

Until yesterday everything was fine: kernel 2.6, DHCP server connection through cable modem, etc...
I installed iptables and quicktables following every step of this: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … s+firewall
Maybe a coincidence but network won't start and in errors.log I get

timed out waiting for a valid DHCP server response

since then.
Nothing changes when I stop iptables daemon and try to start the network daemon manually.
Is it possible that when I put

/usr/local/sbin/rc.firewall

in /etc/rc.local and rebooted it changed something in my network daemon script?
I tried rebooting w/o that line and the problem remains.
:shock:

My /etc/conf.d/dhcpcd:

DHCPCD_ARGS="-R -t 10 -h $HOSTNAME"

Does someone ever came across something like this?

Offline

#2 2005-10-21 17:14:53

Alexo
Member
From: near a cup of coffee
Registered: 2005-06-27
Posts: 90

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

I forgot to say that before the problem I did as sugested by Penguin in the above link, regarding iptables and quicktables.
His tip made a lot of sense to me...
I'm not saying that it caused the problem. I'm just adding more details.

I was using the usbnet modules from the beginning. After cups I added the usblp module but I guess It woudn't mess with the usb devices.
lshwd lists them all.

If it helps, I can post my network daemon script...

Offline

#3 2005-10-21 23:52:41

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

There's no way that script altered your network script. You could always reinstall initsripts to get back to "stock".
Are you saying after stopping iptables and/or removing the line from rc.local (only one or the other should be going at once) you still get no network after a /etc/rc.d/network restart ?.

Offline

#4 2005-10-22 10:41:59

Alexo
Member
From: near a cup of coffee
Registered: 2005-06-27
Posts: 90

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

Penguin wrote:

Are you saying after stopping iptables and/or removing the line from rc.local... you still get no network after a /etc/rc.d/network restart ?.

I'm afraid so, Penguin.
I checked my rc.conf, everything's on place. I can ping myself, hwd detects my cable modem, lsmod lists usbnet module.
I've seen some similar problems around this forum but they seem to be caused by some kernel upgrade or something, and this is not the case. All I did that evening was installing cups, autofs,clamav, alsa and iptables/quicktables. All following the howto's, w/ no fuss.
Can you suggest some tests to see if we can trace this problem?

Cheers.

Offline

#5 2005-10-24 23:18:42

Alexo
Member
From: near a cup of coffee
Registered: 2005-06-27
Posts: 90

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

I'm starting to pluck my hair off  :shock:
I dunno if it helps, but here it goes:

$ dmesg | grep eth0                                     
eth0: VIA Rhine III at 0xc000, 00:40:d0:64:4f:bd, IRQ 3.                   
eth0: MII PHY found at address 1, status 0x7849 advertising 05e1 Link 0000.
eth0: link down
# netstat -a
Active Internet connections (servers and established)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address           Foreign Address         State      
tcp        0      0 *:6000                  *:*                     LISTEN      
tcp        0      0 *:631                   *:*                     LISTEN      
tcp        0      0 *:6000                  *:*                     LISTEN      
udp        0      0 *:631                   *:*                                 
Active UNIX domain sockets (servers and established)
Proto RefCnt Flags       Type       State         I-Node Path
unix  2      [ ACC ]     STREAM     LISTENING     4411   /dev/log
unix  2      [ ACC ]     STREAM     LISTENING     5383   /var/lib/clamav/clamd.sock
unix  2      [ ]         DGRAM                    1044   @udevd
unix  2      [ ACC ]     STREAM     LISTENING     5836   /tmp/.X11-unix/X0
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5958   /tmp/.X11-unix/X0
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5957   
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5949   /tmp/.X11-unix/X0
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5948   
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5946   /tmp/.X11-unix/X0
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5945   
unix  4      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5938   /tmp/.X11-unix/X0
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5838   
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5473   /dev/log
unix  3      [ ]         STREAM     CONNECTED     5472   

:?

Offline

#6 2005-10-24 23:38:07

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

do you have the latest initscripts? There were quite a few changes to the network deamon. Boot up into your live cd, mount your arch partition to /mnt/ and do pacman -Sy initscripts --root /mnt/

Offline

#7 2005-10-25 13:21:21

Alexo
Member
From: near a cup of coffee
Registered: 2005-06-27
Posts: 90

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

It was a hardware problem!  yikes
There was a problem in my usb hub. I didn't realize it promptly though because I could still use it w/ xp. I just switched to eth connection and all is ok now.

Pardon me if I was sounding agravated but I couln't believe it was any script fault.
I could feel in my bones that Archie was innocent. I just couln't prove it  wink

Thanks for the support, Penguin.

"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair."
-Douglas Adams-"Mostly harmless"

Offline

#8 2005-10-25 14:59:48

T-Dawg
Forum Fellow
From: Wilmington, NC
Registered: 2005-01-29
Posts: 2,734

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

cool, glad you figured it out. Does the firewall work ok?

Offline

#9 2005-10-25 15:13:12

Alexo
Member
From: near a cup of coffee
Registered: 2005-06-27
Posts: 90

Re: "out of the bue" network problem

Yes.
Arch is running like a champ now.
Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB