You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-21 13:27:52

Fuelen
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 8

wifi don`t work on BCM4312

Hi all. Sorry for my bad English smile I have laptop Lenovo G550 with BCM4312 wireless card.

~ # lspci -n | grep 14e4:43
04:00.0 0280: 14e4:4315 (rev 01)
  

When system is booting i  got this error

arch kernel: b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43/ucode15.fw" not found
січ 18 00:31:57
arch kernel: b43-phy0 ERROR: Firmware file "b43-open/ucode15.fw" not found
arch kernel: b43-phy0 ERROR: You must go to http://wireless.kernel.org/en/users/Drivers/b43#devicefirmware and download the correct firmware for this driver version. Please carefully read all instructions on this website.

After this i have installed b43 driver from AUR. dmesg show that the driver is loaded successfully.

[    8.179510] b43-phy0: Broadcom 4312 WLAN found (core revision 15)
[    8.237119] Broadcom 43xx driver loaded [ Features: PMNLS ]
[    8.427989] fbcon: inteldrmfb (fb0) is primary device
[    8.457332] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'minstrel_ht'
[    8.457628] Registered led device: b43-phy0::tx
[    8.457651] Registered led device: b43-phy0::rx
[    8.457679] Registered led device: b43-phy0::radio
# iwconfig
ppp0      no wireless extensions.

eth0      no wireless extensions.

lo        no wireless extensions.

wlan0     IEEE 802.11bg  ESSID:off/any  
          Mode:Managed  Access Point: Not-Associated   Tx-Power=0 dBm   
          Retry  long limit:7   RTS thr:off   Fragment thr:off
          Encryption key:off
          Power Management:on
# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: yes
	Hard blocked: no
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: yes
	Hard blocked: no
# rfkill unblock all
# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no

I try to up wlan0 interface

# ip link set up dev wlan0

but with no result sad after this command dmesg show

[  241.570240] b43-phy0: Loading firmware version 666.2 (2011-02-23 01:15:07)
[  241.830373] b43-phy0: Radio hardware status changed to DISABLED
[  241.831415] b43-phy0: Radio turned on by software
[  241.831419] b43-phy0: The hardware RF-kill button still turns the radio physically off. Press the button to turn it on.
[  241.831522] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready

What am I doing wrong? sad

Last edited by Fuelen (2013-01-21 14:19:47)

Offline

#2 2013-01-21 13:40:08

kaszak696
Member
Registered: 2009-05-26
Posts: 543

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

Does this laptop have a Wifi switch like this one?

Last edited by kaszak696 (2013-01-21 13:46:33)


'What can be asserted without evidence can also be dismissed without evidence.' - Christopher Hitchens
'There's no such thing as addiction, there's only things that you enjoy doing more than life.' - Doug Stanhope
GitHub Junkyard

Offline

#3 2013-01-21 13:44:13

bernarcher
Forum Fellow
From: Germany
Registered: 2009-02-17
Posts: 2,271

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

Moving to Networking, Server, and Protection.


To know or not to know ...
... the questions remain forever.

Offline

#4 2013-01-21 14:17:30

Fuelen
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

kaszak696 wrote:

Does this laptop have a Wifi switch like this one?

Yes.
Wifi is on

Offline

#5 2013-01-21 14:20:48

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,702
Website

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

There seem to be (at least) three kinds of wifi switches: software switches which can be switched with rfkill, firmware switches (what I call them) which are often a fn-Fx key combination, and hardware switches.  You've checked the first and third - but are there any of the second?


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#6 2013-01-21 14:43:40

Fuelen
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

When I turn Fn+F5 (wifi)

# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: yes
	Hard blocked: no
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: yes
	Hard blocked: no

when I turn it again

# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked:  no
	Hard blocked: no
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked:  no
	Hard blocked: no

After this command
# ip link set up dev wlan0

 # rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: yes
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no

but physically wifi is on.
Then I disable physical switch

# rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked:  no
	Hard blocked: yes
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked:  no
	Hard blocked: yes

and enable it again

 # rfkill list
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: yes
1: ideapad_wlan: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no

Offline

#7 2013-01-21 14:46:45

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,702
Website

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

Are there any bios toggles for wifi?

EDIT: also, is that syntax for ip link supposed to work? It sould be `ip link set wlan0 up`

Last edited by Trilby (2013-01-21 14:54:00)


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#8 2013-01-21 15:11:42

Fuelen
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

Trilby wrote:

Are there any bios toggles for wifi?

Yes and it is enabled.

Trilby wrote:

also, is that syntax for ip link supposed to work? It sould be `ip link set wlan0 up`

Your command gives the same result

Offline

#9 2013-01-24 00:07:45

Fuelen
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

On the same friend`s laptop wifi works.

Last edited by Fuelen (2013-10-12 12:33:36)

Offline

#10 2016-03-28 17:58:53

Fuelen
Member
From: Ukraine
Registered: 2013-01-21
Posts: 8

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

This issue is not active already, but...
Solution: insert HDD with Windows (or install it), enable wifi through lenovo blah-blah tool.

4 years without wifi on laptop... sad

Offline

#11 2016-04-04 20:08:48

ali_molaei
Member
From: Arak, Iran
Registered: 2015-12-24
Posts: 35

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

i have a lenovo with the same wifi big_smile
after a fresh install you just need to install

broadcom-wl-dkms

from AUR and make sure that linux-headers is installed
then

sudo modprobe wl

and if you have a network manager (NetworkManager or WICD or dhcpcd or ...) then you can enjoy your wifi!! (maybe a restart required)
you can also try scanning by wifi-menu

Last edited by ali_molaei (2016-04-04 20:17:43)

Offline

#12 2016-04-05 04:37:31

Pyntux
Member
From: Serbia
Registered: 2008-12-21
Posts: 274

Re: wifi don`t work on BCM4312

ali_molaei wrote:

i have a lenovo with the same wifi big_smile
after a fresh install you just need to install

broadcom-wl-dkms

from AUR and make sure that linux-headers is installed
then

sudo modprobe wl

and if you have a network manager (NetworkManager or WICD or dhcpcd or ...) then you can enjoy your wifi!! (maybe a restart required)
you can also try scanning by wifi-menu


Yes, this is solution, because that chipset do not use free firmware...Same chipset I have on Asus laptop...


I do not speak English, but I understand...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB