You are not logged in.

#1 2013-01-30 10:27:43

dunric29a
Member
Registered: 2005-12-16
Posts: 23

How to change MAC address of a Broadcom card ?

Hi,

I'm trying to change MAC (hardware address) of my wireless Broadcom card. I did installed macchanger utility and tried to change it with

# macchanger -a wlan0
# macchanger -A wlan0
# macchanger -m e0:ca:66:77:7e:cf

but none of the above methods did worked - the MAC address did not changed.
I even tried to bring the interface down with

ifconfig wlan0 down

then  apply the macchanger but after bringing the interface back up with

ifconfig wlan0 up

the machine completely locks up and stops responding.

Any idea what am I doing wrong ?

Last edited by dunric29a (2013-01-30 10:46:04)

Offline

#2 2013-01-30 10:58:07

jv2112
Member
Registered: 2011-07-23
Posts: 154

Re: How to change MAC address of a Broadcom card ?

Bring it down ,change then back up.....

ifconfig <interface> hw ether 00:11:22:33:44:55

Should work. wink


Life is pleasant. Death is peaceful. It's the transition that's troublesome. Isaac Asimov - / -  My Pastebin

Offline

#3 2013-01-30 11:12:32

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,644
Website

Re: How to change MAC address of a Broadcom card ?

You could try the following, which solved a possibly similar problem with a JME card:

ip link set dev wlan0 down
ip link set dev wlan0 promisc on
macchanger -a wlan0
ip link set dev wlan0 up

Then reconnect with wpa_supplicant or whatever you use.

Offline

#4 2013-01-31 11:28:25

dunric29a
Member
Registered: 2005-12-16
Posts: 23

Re: How to change MAC address of a Broadcom card ?

Xyne wrote:

You could try the following, which solved a possibly similar problem with a JME card:

ip link set dev wlan0 down
ip link set dev wlan0 promisc on
macchanger -a wlan0
ip link set dev wlan0 up

Then reconnect with wpa_supplicant or whatever you use.

Simply great. I could not google this answer for a long time. The cards need to be set into promiscuous mode.

Offline

#5 2013-01-31 13:52:48

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,644
Website

Re: How to change MAC address of a Broadcom card ?

If the problem is solved, please add "[SOLVED]" to the beginning of the thread's subject line.

Offline

#6 2013-01-31 14:58:36

TuxLyn
Member
From: United States
Registered: 2011-10-26
Posts: 283

Re: How to change MAC address of a Broadcom card ?

@ dunric29a, I've coded a bash script called "SMAC" you can find it on git here > https://github.com/GoTux/Bash/blob/master/smac.sh


::: Using Arch Linux Since October 25, 2011 :::
::: Tutorials: http://distrogeeks.com/ :::

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB