You are not logged in.

#776 2013-01-25 07:19:37

Shark
Member
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2011-02-28
Posts: 663

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

cfr wrote:

How do you get the global menu bar support to work? I don't remember ever seeing an option for it. Have I missed something or is there another package for this?

You have to install:

kdeplasma-applets-menubar
appmenu-gtk2 
appmenu-gtk3 
appmenu-qt

... but you will have some problems with package kdeplasma-applets-menubar because it requires KDE 4.10. But in AUR in commentaries you will find another PKGBUILD which is targeted for 4.9 version. 

Also install:

libreoffice-extension-menubar
globalmenu-extension

... for Libreoffice and Firefox/Thunderbird support.

You enable menubar as any other widget on panel.

Enjoy!


If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.
Henry David Thoreau

Registered Linux User: #559057

Offline

#777 2013-01-25 16:21:38

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 365

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

My KDE desktop doesn't look very different from last time, except I've got extremely fed up with the shortcomings of the Kickoff applications menu. (E.g., you add an application to the system that is in the category "network", but it never shows up in the menu. Maybe because the Network directory does not exist in the menu hierarchy yet? So you have to create that yourself? Meh. Shouldn't this happen automatically?)

So I've switched to a desktop folder view with lots of soft links for frequently-used applications. Not very imaginative, but in the end this turned out to work better for me than all the cool docks, menus, type-it-in application launchers, plasmoids, etc. that I've looked at.

Initally I had a hard time admitting to myself that this Windows-y solution works so well. But once you get over the initial shock (or should I say gag reflex) of "OMG, this looks just like Windows 7!", it's actually not so bad. smile

thumb-screenie2.png

Offline

#778 2013-01-25 16:27:26

skrite
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 160

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Hey, this is linux! whatever works best for you, man. productive > cool looking

Offline

#779 2013-01-25 17:39:43

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 365

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

skrite wrote:

Hey, this is linux! whatever works best for you, man. productive > cool looking

Then again, smartphones and the latest OS X have grid-based application launchers too, so I guess Microsoft was just ahead of its time. Maybe they should claim prior art and invalidate Apple's iOS user interface patents. smile

Offline

#780 2013-01-25 21:35:18

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

I seem to remember something rather similar in traditional Mac OS, though, so maybe Apple should counter-claim...


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#781 2013-01-25 21:36:16

cfr
Member
From: Cymru
Registered: 2011-11-27
Posts: 5,675

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Shark wrote:
cfr wrote:

How do you get the global menu bar support to work? I don't remember ever seeing an option for it. Have I missed something or is there another package for this?

You have to install:

kdeplasma-applets-menubar
appmenu-gtk2 
appmenu-gtk3 
appmenu-qt

... but you will have some problems with package kdeplasma-applets-menubar because it requires KDE 4.10. But in AUR in commentaries you will find another PKGBUILD which is targeted for 4.9 version. 

Also install:

libreoffice-extension-menubar
globalmenu-extension

... for Libreoffice and Firefox/Thunderbird support.

You enable menubar as any other widget on panel.

Enjoy!

Thanks! I might just wait for 4.10 to try this, though. We'll see...


How To Ask Questions The Smart Way | Help Vampires

Arch Linux | x86_64 | GPT | EFI boot | grub2 | systemd | LVM2 on LUKS
Lenovo x121e | Intel(R) Core(TM) i3-2367M CPU @ 1.40GHz GenuineIntel | Intel Centrino Wireless-N 1000 | US keyboard with Euro | 320G 7200 RPM Seagate HDD

Offline

#782 2013-01-25 22:23:53

Shark
Member
From: /dev/zero
Registered: 2011-02-28
Posts: 663

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

cfr wrote:
Shark wrote:
cfr wrote:

How do you get the global menu bar support to work? I don't remember ever seeing an option for it. Have I missed something or is there another package for this?

You have to install:

kdeplasma-applets-menubar
appmenu-gtk2 
appmenu-gtk3 
appmenu-qt

... but you will have some problems with package kdeplasma-applets-menubar because it requires KDE 4.10. But in AUR in commentaries you will find another PKGBUILD which is targeted for 4.9 version. 

Also install:

libreoffice-extension-menubar
globalmenu-extension

... for Libreoffice and Firefox/Thunderbird support.

You enable menubar as any other widget on panel.

Enjoy!

Thanks! I might just wait for 4.10 to try this, though. We'll see...

Hi!

No, you don't have to wait. Just use the PKGBUILD of the user beta990. Or if i ease your way ... here is the PKBUILD of the  beta990:

# Contributor: Andrea Scarpino <andrea@archlinux.org>
# Contributor: György Balló <ballogy@freestart.hu>

pkgname=kdeplasma-applets-menubar
pkgver=0.1.18
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="A Plasma widget to display menubar of application windows"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url='https://launchpad.net/plasma-widget-menubar'
license=('GPL')
depends=('kdelibs>=4.9' 'qjson')
makedepends=('cmake' 'automoc4')
conflicts=('plasma-widget-menubar')
replaces=('plasma-widget-menubar')
optdepends=('appmenu-gtk2: support for GTK+ 2 apps'
            'appmenu-gtk3: support for GTK+ 3 apps'
            'appmenu-qt: support for Qt apps'
            'libreoffice-extension-menubar: support for LibreOffice')
source=("https://launchpad.net/plasma-widget-menubar/trunk/$pkgver/+download/plasma-widget-menubar-$pkgver.tar.bz2"{,.asc})
md5sums=('37055ea768d561e8ba7acc1e2ce3502e'
	 '877e54b39f140a5d05071c8e49b62fda')

build() {
  mkdir build
  cd build
  cmake ../plasma-widget-menubar-${pkgver} \
    -DCMAKE_BUILD_TYPE=Release \
    -DCMAKE_INSTALL_PREFIX=$(kde4-config --prefix)
  make
}

package() {
  cd build
  make DESTDIR="${pkgdir}" install
}

Last edited by Shark (2013-01-25 22:24:56)


If you have built castles in the air, your work need not be lost; that is where they should be. Now put foundations under them.
Henry David Thoreau

Registered Linux User: #559057

Offline

#783 2013-01-25 22:35:52

Morn
Member
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 365

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

cfr wrote:

I seem to remember something rather similar in traditional Mac OS, though, so maybe Apple should counter-claim...

True, but on the Mac—just as on the Amiga or Xerox Star before—the desktop also contained documents the user was editing and icons for devices such as floppy disks. Application shortcuts also existed on the desktop, but they were usually in the minority.

The idea that the desktop should be mainly an application launcher seems to have originated with Windows 95 when MS introduced "My Documents"  and combined device icons under "My Computer". So I really think we have to give Microsoft some credit here, although this was not a technical innovation but a usage convention—which they are now breaking with the new interface in Windows 8.

Offline

#784 2013-02-06 18:20:29

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Switched to KDE today from Gnome. Spent the whole day tweaking my themes.


YeheYOrs.jpg

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-02-06 20:51:10)

Offline

#785 2013-02-06 18:42:01

skrite
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 160

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

wow, dig the icons, where are they from !, great setup

Offline

#786 2013-02-06 18:50:14

blackout23
Member
Registered: 2011-11-16
Posts: 780

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

skrite wrote:

wow, dig the icons, where are they from !, great setup

pacaur -S hycons-icon-theme

I tried a few themes but this one is the best for me by far. On Gnome Faenza and Faience (especially with Faience Gnome-Shell Theme) look awesome. Don't like KFaenza on KDE though.

.conkyrc  (needs Ubuntu Fonts from AUR)

use_xft yes
xftfont 123:size=8
xftalpha 0.1
update_interval 1
total_run_times 0
own_window yes
own_window_type normal
own_window_transparent yes
own_window_argb_visual yes
own_window_class conky-semi
own_window_hints undecorated,below,sticky,skip_taskbar,skip_pager
double_buffer yes
minimum_size 250 5
maximum_width 5000
draw_shades no
draw_outline no
draw_borders no
draw_graph_borders no
default_color white
default_shade_color red
default_outline_color green
alignment top_left
gap_x 60
gap_y 300
no_buffers yes
uppercase no
cpu_avg_samples 2
net_avg_samples 1
override_utf8_locale yes
use_spacer yes


TEXT
${voffset 10}${color EAEAEA}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=120}${time %H:%M}${font}${voffset -84}${offset 10}${color FFA300}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=42}${time %d} ${voffset -15}${color EAEAEA}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=22}${time  %B} ${time %Y}${font}${voffset 24}${font GE Inspira:pixelsize=58}${offset -148}${time %A}${font}
${voffset 1}${offset 12}${font Ubuntu:pixelsize=10}${color FFA300}HD ${offset 9}$color${fs_free /} / ${fs_size /}${offset 30}${color FFA300}RAM ${offset 9}$color$mem / $memmax${offset 30}${color FFA300}CPU ${offset 9}$color${cpu cpu0}%

Plasma Theme is Air. Tried a few popular like Helium, Glassified etc. but they look wierd in some way.

Wallpaper is SOLSTICE by iHackr  on DeviantArt.

I'd like to have a nice fitting monochrome Arch Linux icon for pacman update notifications in  the tray. Have to see if some sort of Plasmaoid exists.

Last edited by blackout23 (2013-02-06 18:54:26)

Offline

#787 2013-02-06 18:56:18

skrite
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 160

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

cool, thanks

Offline

#788 2013-02-07 23:30:04

Riley88
Member
From: Canton Georgia USA
Registered: 2013-01-24
Posts: 60

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Heres mine

http://imgur.com/91lDsJG

Theme is a custom plumbum tones and wallpaper is blackarch i grabbed from kde wallpapers.


HARDWARE ASUS K55A-RBR6 LAPTOP
Arch Linux 64bit Awesome WM
My setup http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8il5sR9fxBM

Offline

#789 2013-02-10 22:36:23

masteryod
Member
Registered: 2010-05-19
Posts: 433

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Morn wrote:

[...] I've got extremely fed up with the shortcomings of the Kickoff applications menu.

There's nothing wrong with your desktop but there is like dozen other launchers and menus for KDE4. Maybe something will suit you more than Kickoff, just look it up. Personally I go with classic menu mode, kickoff doesn't work for me either. And of course there is krunner which I use more often then menu.

Offline

#790 2013-02-10 23:26:32

skrite
Member
Registered: 2009-09-07
Posts: 160

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

i use dmenu a lot to launch apps. i found it while playing with i3 at work, and just like it with KDE also

Offline

#791 2013-02-14 18:29:38

LuisHolmes
Member
From: México
Registered: 2012-09-10
Posts: 23

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots


Sorry for my poor english.

Registered Linux User #559855

Offline

#792 2013-02-14 20:32:49

mrunion
Member
From: Jonesborough, TN
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 1,660
Website

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Hey @LuisHolmes, glad to see someone using that wallpaper! n1x4 made it blue from the original orange "sliced Arch"!

It was awesome to see that in use!


Matt

"It is very difficult to educate the educated."

Offline

#793 2013-02-15 00:34:01

LuisHolmes
Member
From: México
Registered: 2012-09-10
Posts: 23

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Oh, it's a pleasure @mrunion, it's just awesome!


Sorry for my poor english.

Registered Linux User #559855

Offline

#794 2013-02-18 23:59:18

3])
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2009-10-12
Posts: 215

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

I'm using an external screen so screenshots don't work 100% , get a weird 'black area', but still that 'black area doesn't show up normally though ;-).

schermafdruk1.png

Desktop theme = Ghost in the Shell.

Last edited by 3]) (2013-02-19 00:00:26)


“There are two ways of constructing a software design. One way is to make it so simple that there are obviously no deficiencies. And the other way is to make it so complicated that there are no obvious deficiencies.”-- C.A.R. Hoare

Offline

#795 2013-02-26 20:37:43

splashy
Member
Registered: 2010-08-21
Posts: 128

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

My desktop:
1361910030.png

Doing something productive:
1361910036.png

KDE= customization

Offline

#796 2013-02-27 13:27:09

Archeryus
Member
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 7

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Offline

#797 2013-02-27 14:44:00

mzneverdies
Member
Registered: 2012-02-04
Posts: 147

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

Hope anyone likes it
The main idea is having 2 folderviews per directory, one showing only the folders, the other one the files. Keeps everything organized in a great way.

QdJZjH1.png

Offline

#798 2013-02-28 09:58:45

tumas
Member
Registered: 2012-02-08
Posts: 89

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

"Clean"
gRdIPQBs.jpg?1

"Busy"
xt1lfMys.png

Last edited by tumas (2013-02-28 09:59:25)

Offline

#799 2013-03-07 14:06:18

hueck
Member
Registered: 2011-09-15
Posts: 12

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

What icon Theme?

Offline

#800 2013-03-09 23:38:49

surfino
Member
Registered: 2013-03-09
Posts: 3

Re: KDE/Plasma Screenshots

I totally love your whole theme, i am new to KDE , could you tell me which icon theme / workspace appearance and everything else i need to put to mimic it ?

mzneverdies wrote:

Hope anyone likes it
The main idea is having 2 folderviews per directory, one showing only the folders, the other one the files. Keeps everything organized in a great way.

http://i.imgur.com/QdJZjH1.png

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB