You are not logged in.

#1601 2013-02-16 12:39:30

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/02/unity-no … stray.html

Looks like were going to need patched packages for just about everything with a systray icon just so it can show up :(

Yes this has created a fair bit of controversy in the Ubuntu camp as well.

I'm currently using timekiller's systray reversion patch https://launchpadlibrarian.net/13117590 … elist.diff from https://bugs.launchpad.net/ayatana-design/+bug/974480

This is working great, systray is present and was going to enable it by default but it appears there is a bug where the icons are shown to be huge.
See here for example -> http://cs419228.userapi.com/v419228880/ … FVgpGA.jpg

Have you guys come across this, or know what package would be responsible for it (unity itself maybe) ?

Unfortunately I can't even file a bug for it on Ubuntu now, seeing as they're removing it entirely.

Offline

#1602 2013-02-17 06:09:04

serdotlinecho
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 100

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Is there unity-chromium-extensions package available for Arch Linux? How do i get unity webapps work with chromium browser?

Offline

#1603 2013-02-17 13:08:17

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Unity-for-Arch-Extra/README wrote:
Unity Webapps
19: python-polib                 -> Python library for messing with po files
20: webapps-applications         -> Unity WebApps integration scripts
21: webapps-greasemonkey         -> Firefox extension for user scripts
22: unity-firefox-extension      -> Firefox extension for Unity integration
23: webaccounts-browser-extension -> Web Accounts extension for FF and Chromium
24: unity-webapps                -> See PKGBUILD for list of WebApps

Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1604 2013-02-17 18:52:19

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopkins wrote:

What about writing a script? Something that could be a cron job. You could have it run once a day in the morning. All it would do is inventory the launchers. I'm not sure how Unity keeps track of what is in the launcher but I bet it wouldn't be very hard to have a script write that to a text file somewhere. The part that makes me uneasy is trying to get the icons back, and this has to be tied in when pacman is run. Perhaps create an alias for pacman in .bashrc.

 alias pacman="sudo pacman; checklauncher"

.

I feel like this could cause issues somehow, but it could work I think. The checklauncher script would simply scan the text file from the cron script that ran earlier, and check for discrepencies with the Unity launcher. If there are discrepencies then it adds back the launchers that it needs.

I'm not sure. What do you think?

Thanks for the idea!

I actually asked on the unity-dev mailing list about this. Marco Trevisan wrote a simple patch that adds a 1 second timeout before removing the launchers. 1 second should be enough for pacman to replace a few KB file in /usr/share/applications/ smile

I've filed a merge request and it was (actually, going to be) accepted, so there should be no more problems in future versions of Unity. In the meantime, I've included the patch in the PKGBUILD (0004_Add_Timeout.patch).

Bug report: https://bugs.launchpad.net/unity/+bug/1119801
Merge request: https://code.launchpad.net/~cxl/unity/a … rge/148756


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1605 2013-02-17 18:59:17

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Anyone else noticed
* that empathy on the launcher doesn't have a number of unread messages even though the indicator-messages works as expected?

Do you know if this works in Ubuntu?

divansantana wrote:

* The HUD often doesn't correctly search things. Like I can't set busy/away/available or anything else from the indicator-messages package? The bluetooth indicator often doesn't work with HUD either.

This I know doesn't work on Ubuntu: http://i.imgur.com/VXDC0QI.png

divansantana wrote:

* unity-webapps-gmail works (adds to launcher and display unread count of email), but doesn't ever pop up when someone instant messages you. I believe on Ubuntu 12.10 this works.

That, I believe, requires patching Firefox. I don't know if I'll create a firefox-ubuntu package though. It can easily take over 2 hours to build.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1606 2013-02-17 19:05:14

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/02/unity-no … stray.html

Looks like were going to need patched packages for just about everything with a systray icon just so it can show up sad

Yes this has created a fair bit of controversy in the Ubuntu camp as well.

I'm currently using timekiller's systray reversion patch https://launchpadlibrarian.net/13117590 … elist.diff from https://bugs.launchpad.net/ayatana-design/+bug/974480

This is working great, systray is present and was going to enable it by default but it appears there is a bug where the icons are shown to be huge.
See here for example -> http://cs419228.userapi.com/v419228880/ … FVgpGA.jpg

Have you guys come across this, or know what package would be responsible for it (unity itself maybe) ?

Unfortunately I can't even file a bug for it on Ubuntu now, seeing as they're removing it entirely.

The patch is included in the unity package as 0003_Revert_r3134_Remove_Systray_Whitelist.patch

The huge icon issue shouldn't happen though. All Ubuntu removed is the ability to configure the systray using dconf. The actual systray functionality was not removed.

Java and Wine applications are whitelisted in the source code though, so if you can reproduce the huge icon bug using a Java or Windows application, you can still file a bug report big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1607 2013-02-17 19:06:47

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

serdotlinecho wrote:

Is there unity-chromium-extensions package available for Arch Linux? How do i get unity webapps work with chromium browser?

It doesn't work properly on Ubuntu, so I don't think I'll package it now.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-02-17 19:06:56)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1608 2013-02-17 20:50:29

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

New testing repo!

Before I go any further, I recommend http://unity.xe-xe.org/ for normal use because pekmop1024 tests the packages he builds smile

Short description

I've built a new testing repo for i686 and x86_64. It's created by the Jenkins CI software (more on that later), which monitors my Unity-for-Arch git repo and automatically builds the packages every time I make a change. Only the changed packages are built, so you won't see all 52 packages in the updates every day smile If you look at the web interface linked below, most of the time, it takes less than 20 minutes from me typing "git push" to the package showing up in "pacman -Syu"

Just put this in /etc/pacman.conf

[Unity-for-Arch]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/486665/Repos/Unity-for-Arch/$arch

Unity-for-Arch-Extra is coming soon!

Web Interface

The Jenkins web interface is available here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/. From there, you can see:

* The build log in real time: http://i.imgur.com/GAUoDw7.png
* How long a package takes to build: http://i.imgur.com/zt8TzAU.png
* Whether a commit fails to build or not

And probably the most useful: the packages for the last 10 builds are kept: http://i.imgur.com/4c3C10m.png If something ever breaks, you can download an older version and if it works, click the "Changes" link (which shows the git commit corresponding to the build), and file a bug report smile

I will try my best to keep the web interface up 24/7, but combine my crappy internet (http://www.speedtest.net/result/2515420420.png) with my crappy router (http://i.imgur.com/Bxb9Mt4.png) and it may not be possible.

Btw, if your ISP is ipv6 enabled, the web interface is available at http://[2001:470:8:c14:216:3eff:fe54:ee1e]:8090/

Long description

Hardware
Everything in done inside of a Arch Linux Xen VM on a Fedora 18 host. Why Fedora 18? Because Xen + libvirt is such a pain to install and keep working in Arch. The specs of the computer is:

Computer: Custom built one that a neighbor didn't want
Motherboard: Foxconn MCP61M05/M61PMV
CPU: AMD Athlon Dual Core 5050e
RAM: 4 GB
GPU: NVIDIA (integrated) GeForce 6150SE
HDD: Seagate ST3160815AS 7200RPM 160GB

VM Specs:

Type: Xen Paravirtualized Guest
CPU: 2 logical CPUs
RAM: 1024 MB
Disk: 30 GB on LVM

The VM
The VM has nothing installed except for sudo, devtools, dropbox, and jenkins. Nothing is built directly on the VM. The build process is done in a chroot.

How Jenkins is set up
There's a master job called UFA-1.0-Get-Git-Sources. It continuously monitors the Unity-for-Arch git repo and runs a script (http://paste.ubuntu.com/1673107/) whenever a new git commit is made. The script will store the current commit in "new-commit" and check if the "old-commit" file is available. If not, it will do a complete rebuild of all the packages. If the file exists, it will run git and find out which packages changed between the two commits.

The script is designed to be efficient. A package will never be built twice for one commit. An example is if I update compiz-ubuntu and unity at the same time. Normally, UFA-1.0-Get-Git-Sources would put compiz-ubuntu and unity on the build queue. But since unity depends on compiz-ubuntu, compiz-ubuntu will also put unity on the queue when it's finished building. So this ends up happening:

UFA-1.0-Get-Git-Sources
-> UFA-2.0-Build-compiz-ubuntu
     -> UFA-2.0-Build-unity
-> UFA-2.0-Build-unity

How to avoid this? The script will look at the dependencies for every package and if a single dependency is going to be built then the script will not build that package. Following the previous example, the script will look at unity's dependencies, find out that compiz-ubuntu is there, and skip unity because compiz-ubuntu will call it. So we end up with this:

UFA-1.0-Get-Git-Sources
-> UFA-2.0-Build-compiz-ubuntu
     -> UFA-2.0-Build-unity

which is exactly what we want.

The actual build jobs are very simple. All I have to do is set up the dependencies: http://i.imgur.com/35SYJWp.png and then tell it to run build-in-chroot.sh (which is in the git repo).

After a package (UFA-2.0-Build-*) is built, it will call UFA-3.0-Publish-Repo, which uploads the packages to my Dropbox account where the repo is stored.

The build process
All of the builds are done inside chroots. However, I don't do it the way most Arch packagers do it. I do it like Debian/Ubuntu's pbuilder, Fedora's mock, and openSUSE's OBS.

Most Arch packagers create a single chroot and build it inside of a chroot. While it's still technically a "clean" build, it's very easy to miss dependencies. For example, if I forgot to add compiz-ubuntu to unity's dependencies and built the entire Unity-for-Arch project in a single chroot, by the time I get to compiling unity, compiz-ubuntu would already be installed. I would never know that it's required.

Other distros (and I) create a new chroot for every single build. This way, I can find out what all the dependencies are. The builds would fail if any dependency was missing. So, a full rebuild of Unity-for-Arch creates 104 chroots (52 for i686, 52 for x86_64) big_smile

Of course, this completely kills the disk performance. It's bad to the point where "echo hi" takes 5 seconds to run because it takes 5 seconds to load /usr/bin/echo smile

All of the packages are built using "make -j1" right now. I allow 2 packages to be built at the same time, so I'm not sure if "make -j2" would be any faster.

Btw, the total time it takes to build the entire Unity-for-Arch project for both i686 and x86_64 is 8 hours, 13 minutes, and 49 seconds tongue

Questions, bugs?

Please let me know if you have any problems or if there are any bugs. I've tested this for four days so hopefully there aren't any smile

Also, if someone wants to set up Jenkins, whether it's for Unity-for-Arch or another project, I'd be glad to help out.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-02-17 20:51:58)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1609 2013-02-19 01:24:20

relaytheurgency
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 5

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hello all,

Is anyone else having an absence of the network-indicator? I've got connectivity through wifi-menu (netcfg), but using the gnome tools for network management shows nothing. I cannot even create a new connection at the moment. Is this a consequence of having the wifi connected via netcfg? If so, does anyone know how to remove this conflict and begin using the gnome network-manager via the app indicator?

tl;dr: my network-indicator is absent and I can only configure the network through netcfg. any help?

Offline

#1610 2013-02-19 01:28:46

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

relaytheurgency wrote:

Hello all,

Is anyone else having an absence of the network-indicator? I've got connectivity through wifi-menu (netcfg), but using the gnome tools for network management shows nothing. I cannot even create a new connection at the moment. Is this a consequence of having the wifi connected via netcfg? If so, does anyone know how to remove this conflict and begin using the gnome network-manager via the app indicator?

tl;dr: my network-indicator is absent and I can only configure the network through netcfg. any help?

Did you start networkmanager by running:

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1611 2013-02-19 01:53:13

relaytheurgency
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 5

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:

Hello all,

Is anyone else having an absence of the network-indicator? I've got connectivity through wifi-menu (netcfg), but using the gnome tools for network management shows nothing. I cannot even create a new connection at the moment. Is this a consequence of having the wifi connected via netcfg? If so, does anyone know how to remove this conflict and begin using the gnome network-manager via the app indicator?

tl;dr: my network-indicator is absent and I can only configure the network through netcfg. any help?

Did you start networkmanager by running:

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

?

When I do this I am able to see wireless networks through the app indicator, I am able to select them and enter passwords. However it then just asks me continually to input the password and never connects. It's closer, I guess. Thanks!

Offline

#1612 2013-02-19 01:56:59

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

relaytheurgency wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:

Hello all,

Is anyone else having an absence of the network-indicator? I've got connectivity through wifi-menu (netcfg), but using the gnome tools for network management shows nothing. I cannot even create a new connection at the moment. Is this a consequence of having the wifi connected via netcfg? If so, does anyone know how to remove this conflict and begin using the gnome network-manager via the app indicator?

tl;dr: my network-indicator is absent and I can only configure the network through netcfg. any help?

Did you start networkmanager by running:

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

?

When I do this I am able to see wireless networks through the app indicator, I am able to select them and enter passwords. However it then just asks me continually to input the password and never connects. It's closer, I guess. Thanks!

See if you can connect using command line.

sudo wifi-menu

Kopkins

Offline

#1613 2013-02-19 01:59:06

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

relaytheurgency wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:

Hello all,

Is anyone else having an absence of the network-indicator? I've got connectivity through wifi-menu (netcfg), but using the gnome tools for network management shows nothing. I cannot even create a new connection at the moment. Is this a consequence of having the wifi connected via netcfg? If so, does anyone know how to remove this conflict and begin using the gnome network-manager via the app indicator?

tl;dr: my network-indicator is absent and I can only configure the network through netcfg. any help?

Did you start networkmanager by running:

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

?

When I do this I am able to see wireless networks through the app indicator, I am able to select them and enter passwords. However it then just asks me continually to input the password and never connects. It's closer, I guess. Thanks!

Getting better smile

Did you disconnect with netcfg/wifi-menu first? NetworkManager doesn't cooperate well with other wireless managers.

Would you mind posting the output of

sudo journalctl -u NetworkManager.service | cat

after trying to connect? That should show what's going wrong.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-02-19 02:00:49)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1614 2013-02-19 01:59:10

relaytheurgency
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 5

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopkins wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Did you start networkmanager by running:

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

?

When I do this I am able to see wireless networks through the app indicator, I am able to select them and enter passwords. However it then just asks me continually to input the password and never connects. It's closer, I guess. Thanks!

See if you can connect using command line.

sudo wifi-menu

Kopkins


I had already been able to do that, the command line works fine. I've got it worked out now, I had forgotten to stop net-auto-wireless. Thanks for the help!

Offline

#1615 2013-02-19 02:01:11

relaytheurgency
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 5

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Did you start networkmanager by running:

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

?

When I do this I am able to see wireless networks through the app indicator, I am able to select them and enter passwords. However it then just asks me continually to input the password and never connects. It's closer, I guess. Thanks!

Getting better smile

Did you disconnect with netcfg/wifi-menu first? NetworkManager doesn't cooperate well with other wireless managers.

Would you mind posting the output of

sudo journalctl -u NetworkManager.service

after trying to connect? That should show what's going wrong.

Beat me to it! It hadn't occurred to me as I was just gung-ho to start NetworkManager. After my previous post, I disabled the other manager and it all worked out.

Offline

#1616 2013-02-19 02:01:38

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

relaytheurgency wrote:
Kopkins wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:

When I do this I am able to see wireless networks through the app indicator, I am able to select them and enter passwords. However it then just asks me continually to input the password and never connects. It's closer, I guess. Thanks!

See if you can connect using command line.

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

Kopkins


I had already been able to do that, the command line works fine. I've got it worked out now, I had forgotten to stop net-auto-wireless. Thanks for the help!

Glad you got it working smile

sudo wifi-menu

Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1617 2013-02-19 04:12:37

relaytheurgency
Member
Registered: 2013-02-19
Posts: 5

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
relaytheurgency wrote:
Kopkins wrote:

See if you can connect using command line.

sudo systemctl enable NetworkManager.service

Kopkins


I had already been able to do that, the command line works fine. I've got it worked out now, I had forgotten to stop net-auto-wireless. Thanks for the help!

Glad you got it working smile

Me too! Unity really has grown on me over the last couple years and I'm glad to have an option outside of Ubuntu to try it out! Thanks a lot for all the work you've put in!

Offline

#1618 2013-02-19 16:29:16

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi everyone, I just installed Unity using xe-xe repo.
Everything works fine except a couple of issues:
1. I don't have any window button. Nothing. And in Gnome Tweak Tool there's no sign of options about this.
2. Some application in the dash have no icons. Google Chrome, for example, but also many more.

Can someone help me?
Thank you wink

Offline

#1619 2013-02-19 19:41:02

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

edmael wrote:

Hi everyone, I just installed Unity using xe-xe repo.
Everything works fine except a couple of issues:
1. I don't have any window button. Nothing. And in Gnome Tweak Tool there's no sign of options about this.
2. Some application in the dash have no icons. Google Chrome, for example, but also many more.

Can someone help me?
Thank you wink

Welcome! smile
"Window button"? Not sure what you mean by that.
I've got now of the above two problems you do, I installed from repo.

Have you made sure you up to date and installed as per wiki?

Offline

#1620 2013-02-20 06:47:04

Berseker
Member
From: Near Lecco, Italy
Registered: 2008-04-24
Posts: 256

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I think he mean the "close \ minimize \ maximize" buttons

Offline

#1621 2013-02-22 01:37:06

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Is anyone else having trouble with Firefox-19.0-1 integrating into Unity?

I upgraded a few packages today and Firefox was one of them and it said that the add-on/extension was incompatible. Then it didn't integrate into the menubar.

I downgraded to Firefox-18.0.2-1 and it works fine now. The odd thing is that in Ubuntu, Firefox 19 works fine with Unity.

Kopkins

Offline

#1622 2013-02-22 01:52:20

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

that's just the globalmenu-extension package that didn't get updated to a version which supports ff-19, yet.

If you can't wait, change the bzr revision to a more recent one in globalmenu-extension's PKGBUILD, build and install it.

Last edited by oi_wtf (2013-02-22 01:53:56)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1623 2013-02-22 02:39:15

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Thanks. It's not a big deal. I reinstalled FF19. But now I'm having issues starting it. I can click the firefox icon twice and nothing will happen. (over the course of several minutes.) the third time it says firefox is running close process or reboot to open window. Then pkill firefox and the next time I open it, it works.

Also my networking is still not right. If I try sudo wifi-menu I get an error, try again and the same error. Then if I try the applet it works. But not any other way.
Here is the output of my networkmanager journal from 4 minutes after boot. http://pastebin.com/xUQV21Ww

and sometimes my left click gets stuck and I have to switch to a virtual terminal with ALT+CTRL+F6 and then switch back to X. then my mouse and left click will work again.

Kopkins

Last edited by Kopkins (2013-02-22 03:07:47)

Offline

#1624 2013-02-22 07:35:40

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
shiznix wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2013/02/unity-no … stray.html

Looks like were going to need patched packages for just about everything with a systray icon just so it can show up sad

Yes this has created a fair bit of controversy in the Ubuntu camp as well.

I'm currently using timekiller's systray reversion patch https://launchpadlibrarian.net/13117590 … elist.diff from https://bugs.launchpad.net/ayatana-design/+bug/974480

This is working great, systray is present and was going to enable it by default but it appears there is a bug where the icons are shown to be huge.
See here for example -> http://cs419228.userapi.com/v419228880/ … FVgpGA.jpg

Have you guys come across this, or know what package would be responsible for it (unity itself maybe) ?

Unfortunately I can't even file a bug for it on Ubuntu now, seeing as they're removing it entirely.

The patch is included in the unity package as 0003_Revert_r3134_Remove_Systray_Whitelist.patch

The huge icon issue shouldn't happen though. All Ubuntu removed is the ability to configure the systray using dconf. The actual systray functionality was not removed.

Java and Wine applications are whitelisted in the source code though, so if you can reproduce the huge icon bug using a Java or Windows application, you can still file a bug report big_smile

OK finally got it sorted, was failing to apply libunity-misc's tarball patchset that fixes https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/856125
Thanks for the response smile

Offline

#1625 2013-02-22 08:34:00

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Anyone know how to get Plugin to display unread message count for Pidgin on Unity Launcher as per http://www.omgubuntu.co.uk/2011/04/how- … y-launcher example.
I have unity-extra/pidgin-libnotify-ubuntu installed.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB