You are not logged in.

#1676 2013-03-06 16:53:13

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

That seems very un-Linux-like. Ubuntu/Canonical seems to be less open than ever. After developing parts of 13.04 in secret and now moving to support DRM. Seems like they're trying to become a competitor with MS and OSX. But to effectively do that they need to have equivelent support, which ends up being not-so-good for open and free.

EDIT: What if we forked unity..

Last edited by Kopkins (2013-03-06 16:53:55)

Offline

#1677 2013-03-06 19:28:46

didaho
Member
Registered: 2013-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

Same here, also tried disabling the globalmenu...
i'm using jdk7-openjdk 7.u13_2.3.7-2 , I wanted to try downgrading that package next to see,
if it's something related to java or if it's related to unity/compiz...

edit: downgraded down till 7.u9_2.3.3-1, no change... must be something related to some UFA-package,
but I've not installed all updates from 2013-03-04, I'll try that next...

Reg. this the bug is already posted, confirmed and a fix has been submitted, so it should be corrected on the next compiz release:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1138517

cheers,
r.

Offline

#1678 2013-03-06 19:32:11

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

nice, thanks for the link

EDIT: I can confirm it's fixed in 0.9.9~daily13.03.06-0ubuntu1

Last edited by oi_wtf (2013-03-06 20:25:01)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1679 2013-03-06 20:28:34

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@didaho, oi_wtf: Awesome! Update will be available shortly.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1680 2013-03-07 06:40:47

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I'm a little stumped by this sad Does anybody know what could be causing the build failure with the latest version of Unity?

http://cxl.epac.to:8091/job/UFA-2.0-Bui … 16/console

EDIT: Okay, it was broken by revision 3184 in lp:unity. Now to see what I can do to fix it...

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-03-07 07:53:52)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1681 2013-03-07 12:29:13

slovdahl
Member
Registered: 2012-09-10
Posts: 10

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I'm a little stumped by this sad Does anybody know what could be causing the build failure with the latest version of Unity?

http://cxl.epac.to:8091/job/UFA-2.0-Bui … 16/console

EDIT: Okay, it was broken by revision 3184 in lp:unity. Now to see what I can do to fix it...

Is it possible to revert to an older version as a temporary fix?

Offline

#1682 2013-03-07 19:27:12

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

slovdahl wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

I'm a little stumped by this sad Does anybody know what could be causing the build failure with the latest version of Unity?

http://cxl.epac.to:8091/job/UFA-2.0-Bui … 16/console

EDIT: Okay, it was broken by revision 3184 in lp:unity. Now to see what I can do to fix it...

Is it possible to revert to an older version as a temporary fix?

Yeah, I reverted back to 6.12.0daily13.03.01 for now.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1683 2013-03-07 23:10:56

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Sorry everyone, I won't be able to figure out the Unity issue today. I'm busy doing a git bisect trying to find out which kernel commit in 3.8.2 started causing UEFI systems to not boot.


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1684 2013-03-09 21:53:01

Pajn
Member
Registered: 2013-03-09
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi guys!

Sorry for not, reading through the thread but it's a bit to big.

My Ubuntu install struggels whit loads of GPU hungs so I'm preparing
for a reinstall. But just for fun I took a quick look to see if anyone have
ported Unity to Arch yet (my favorite distro) and found this.

The thing is, I would like a stable desktop. So even before trying I'm
asking:
Is this stable and ready for daily use?
Any direct drawbacks compared to Ubuntu?

Offline

#1685 2013-03-10 04:12:38

andjeng
Member
From: Indonesia
Registered: 2012-08-30
Posts: 146

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Pajn wrote:

Hi guys!

Sorry for not, reading through the thread but it's a bit to big.

My Ubuntu install struggels whit loads of GPU hungs so I'm preparing
for a reinstall. But just for fun I took a quick look to see if anyone have
ported Unity to Arch yet (my favorite distro) and found this.

The thing is, I would like a stable desktop. So even before trying I'm
asking:
Is this stable and ready for daily use?
Any direct drawbacks compared to Ubuntu?

some people experienced that unity on arch more stable than on ubuntu.
but.....


just looking around. wink

Offline

#1686 2013-03-10 12:48:46

didaho
Member
Registered: 2013-03-05
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi, I'm experiencing a very strange bug, X freezes completely under Unity when I minimize a window. I believe it's a compiz issue since this doesn't happen on Gnome, XFCE or any other WM/DE I have installed.

I have a laptop with a hybrid graphics card (Intel / AMD) with the discrete card turned off...

Anyone else having this issue?

rgds,
r.

Offline

#1687 2013-03-10 21:14:30

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@didaho, nope, everything works fine here...

@Pajn, it's pretty stable, I'd say...
and if you read posts here regularly, you'll know when something doesn't work, e.g. when you should wait with updating so it won't get "unstable" big_smile


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1688 2013-03-11 01:05:49

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Does installation work correctly? I can not install unity for arch linux on fresh arch linux installation. Installation from source fails at building pyside, installation from repos can't even start because of qt4 and qt-ubuntu conflict (i have neither of those installed).

Offline

#1689 2013-03-11 08:19:27

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gadelat wrote:

Does installation work correctly? I can not install unity for arch linux on fresh arch linux installation. Installation from source fails at building pyside, installation from repos can't even start because of qt4 and qt-ubuntu conflict (i have neither of those installed).

It's due to the recent migration to qt4 from qt.
pyside is not in Unity-for-Arch right? So it's not the key component of unity.

To install it from repo. either wait for the update or install from the testing repo provided by chenxiaolong.

Offline

#1690 2013-03-11 11:15:33

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@gadelat
qiuwei is right, the "stable" repo isn't up to date, so the migration of qt to qt4 isn't included, yet.
chenxiaolongs testing repo is up to date and should install fine,
also building and installing using the git repo should always work, there are very few exceptions.
If it fails, you're probably doing something wrong, check the README file and the error messages you get to find out, what's going wrong.
If that doesn't help, ask here. There are lots of people with enough experience in building unity and it's dependencies to help out.


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1691 2013-03-11 12:54:08

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Question, if one uses the Unity-for-Arch does one need to enable the arch testing repos?
#[testing]
#[community-testing]
#[multilib-testing]

Offline

#1692 2013-03-11 13:09:08

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Question, if one uses the Unity-for-Arch does one need to enable the arch testing repos?
#[testing]
#[community-testing]
#[multilib-testing]

Nope. In the previous replies, the testing repo means the Unity-for-Arch testing repo provided by chenxiaolong.

Offline

#1693 2013-03-11 13:49:42

tydell
Member
From: actually: Hannover, DE
Registered: 2009-07-26
Posts: 102
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Question, if one uses the Unity-for-Arch does one need to enable the arch testing repos?
#[testing]
#[community-testing]
#[multilib-testing]

[Unity-for-Arch]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/486665/Repos/Unity-for-Arch/$arch

Offline

#1694 2013-03-11 13:54:32

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@qiuwei, @oi_wtf
chenxiaolongs repo is located on dropbox which is not wise choice, they remove public high traffic links fast, for me it does not work already. Does it work for you?
@qiuwei pyside is not in Unity-for-Arch, but it is in Unity-for-Arch-Extra, right? Why is it there if it's not working? But still, i did not install Unity-for-Arch-Extra, but Unity-for-Arch. When i read your comment i found out that bash script from https://gist.github.com/3906721 mentioned in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Unity everytime forcefully clones and builds Unity-for-Arch-Extra. So i removed mentions of Extra in that build script and it compiled successfully.

Offline

#1695 2013-03-11 17:00:30

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gadelat wrote:

@qiuwei, @oi_wtf
chenxiaolongs repo is located on dropbox which is not wise choice, they remove public high traffic links fast, for me it does not work already. Does it work for you?

You are right, now Unity-for-Arch-Extra has already stopped working. But Unity-for-Arch is still working here.

@qiuwei pyside is not in Unity-for-Arch, but it is in Unity-for-Arch-Extra, right? Why is it there if it's not working? But still, i did not install Unity-for-Arch-Extra, but Unity-for-Arch. When i read your comment i found out that bash script from https://gist.github.com/3906721 mentioned in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Unity everytime forcefully clones and builds Unity-for-Arch-Extra. So i removed mentions of Extra in that build script and it compiled successfully.

Pyside used to work, and it's one dependency of everpad if I recall correctly.  The reason it stopped working is simply that it's in testing repo.

You can post the error message here to let chenxiaolong know or file an issue on github. If you have time, you can also try to figure the problem out by yourself.

Offline

#1696 2013-03-11 17:31:28

Pajn
Member
Registered: 2013-03-09
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I installed from the repo and it worked, however becaouse of the qt/qt4 I couldn't install 3 (or so) of the packages.
First I thoght this wasn't a problem but becouse it made it inpossible to install every qt4 app (clementine, vlc) I'm
now compiling from git.

Will see if I stick to Arch however. It vere a long time I last used it (as long as Unity have been released) and now
I have been used to stuff just working.

Someone should create an Archbuntu which is Unity and most needed programs (gedit, file-roller, firefox) just as
Ubuntu but based on Arch (rolling release, later versions of programs) smile

Offline

#1697 2013-03-11 18:17:57

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,474
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Pajn wrote:

Someone should create an Archbuntu which is Unity and most needed programs (gedit, file-roller, firefox) just as
Ubuntu but based on Arch (rolling release, later versions of programs) smile

Isn't that exactly what this project does? It's just a bit messed up now since the qt5 update; just give it some time to iron that out.


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Online

#1698 2013-03-11 18:42:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gadelat wrote:

@qiuwei, @oi_wtf
chenxiaolongs repo is located on dropbox which is not wise choice, they remove public high traffic links fast, for me it does not work already. Does it work for you?
@qiuwei pyside is not in Unity-for-Arch, but it is in Unity-for-Arch-Extra, right? Why is it there if it's not working? But still, i did not install Unity-for-Arch-Extra, but Unity-for-Arch. When i read your comment i found out that bash script from https://gist.github.com/3906721 mentioned in https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Unity everytime forcefully clones and builds Unity-for-Arch-Extra. So i removed mentions of Extra in that build script and it compiled successfully.

Crap, I need to find a new place to host the repo then sad


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1699 2013-03-11 19:08:20

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Pajn wrote:

I installed from the repo and it worked, however becaouse of the qt/qt4 I couldn't install 3 (or so) of the packages.
First I thoght this wasn't a problem but becouse it made it inpossible to install every qt4 app (clementine, vlc) I'm
now compiling from git.

You can use chenxiaolong's tesing repo temporarily. It already uses qt4.

Offline

#1700 2013-03-11 19:15:45

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Crap, I need to find a new place to host the repo then sad

What about google drive? I skimmed through their terms but didn't find anything related.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB