You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-10 07:49:32

utopyand
Member
Registered: 2012-09-05
Posts: 33

NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

Hello everyone, when i make a hotspot with NetworkManager using "Create new wifi network..." i get only Wep key or passphrase as cryptographic choices, but when i try to do the same on Ubuntu live (taken from Unetbootin, daily_live) i also get the WPA/WPA2 option.

Offline

#2 2013-03-12 02:35:00

utopyand
Member
Registered: 2012-09-05
Posts: 33

Re: NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

No one has this issue?

Offline

#3 2013-03-12 02:50:31

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,718

Re: NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

Have you installed wpa_supplicant ?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2013-03-12 06:51:38

adam777
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 158

Re: NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

Well, you're not missing much - In here, when I try to select WPA, I end up with "WPA Ad-Hoc disabled due to kernel bugs".
So basically just WEP.

Offline

#5 2013-03-16 18:30:08

utopyand
Member
Registered: 2012-09-05
Posts: 33

Re: NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

wpa_supplicant is installed, but the hotspot is made with adhoc or infrastructure mode?

Offline

#6 2013-03-16 21:10:01

Strike0
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2011-09-05
Posts: 1,277

Re: NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

The AP mode was added to hotspot feature in the last releases [1], but there seem to be some issues still [2] [3] plus not all devices support it obviously.

[1] http://fedoraproject.org/wiki/Features/RealHotspot
[2] https://mail.gnome.org/archives/commits … 09710.html
[3] https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=686732

Offline

#7 2013-03-16 22:02:04

utopyand
Member
Registered: 2012-09-05
Posts: 33

Re: NetworkManager hotspot with no Wpa

I should test if the Ubuntu made hotspot (liveusb made with unetbootin in the same pc, run in the same pc) is in ap or adhoc mode.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB