You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-20 09:30:57

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

CR48 - Wifi not working

I was able to install the most recent version of Arch on my CR48 using this guide: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=110208

Unfortunately, I cannot connect to wifi. Here is the output of some commands I tried running. I already have wireless_tools installed since it came bundled with base.


# lspci | grep -i net

01:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR928X Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

# iwconfig

lo      no wireless extensions

# ifconfig

-bash: ifconfig: command not found

# iwlist scan

lo     Interface doesn't support scanning

# lsmod

Module     Size     Used by

# uname -r
3.4.0


*Edit This post would probably be more fitting in the "Newbie corner" section. Apologies.

Last edited by jrom (2013-03-20 09:32:47)

Offline

#2 2013-03-21 01:01:09

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Ah one more thing I noticed. Inside the /lib/modules directory, there are 3 directories: 3.4.0/, 3.8.3-2-ARCH/, and extramodules-3.8-ARCH. So even though uname -r gives me 3.4.0 as the kernel version, do I need to change the kernel to the Arch kernel? Because currently, I'm using the kernel provided by Chrome OS (3.4.0).

Offline

#3 2013-03-21 02:10:41

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

jrom wrote:

...do I need to change the kernel to the Arch kernel? Because currently, I'm using the kernel provided by Chrome OS (3.4.0).

Short answer:Yes.
Long answer: Probably.  The 3.4 kernel is using the modules in the /lib/modules/3.4 directory.  Since that was built by Chrome OS, all bets are off.  The correct module might be in there, it might not.  It might be patched, it might not.

How did you install Arch, did you just install it in place over a Chrome Install?  Did you install a bootloader, or are you using the one from Chrome?  Is it running the correct init system?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#4 2013-03-21 03:31:24

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

ewaller wrote:
jrom wrote:

...do I need to change the kernel to the Arch kernel? Because currently, I'm using the kernel provided by Chrome OS (3.4.0).

Short answer:Yes.
Long answer: Probably.  The 3.4 kernel is using the modules in the /lib/modules/3.4 directory.  Since that was built by Chrome OS, all bets are off.  The correct module might be in there, it might not.  It might be patched, it might not.

How did you install Arch, did you just install it in place over a Chrome Install?  Did you install a bootloader, or are you using the one from Chrome?  Is it running the correct init system?


I primarily used these two guides to install Arch:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=110208
https://sites.google.com/a/chromium.org … on-a-cr-48


The way Chrome OS is set up is that it has 3 kernel/root pairs. Chrome OS uses 2 of these pairs to run/update itself. The 3rd pair is a spare. I installed Arch by first installing it in VirtualBox (on my Ubuntu machine), extracting the root parition, and writing it to the root partition on the 3rd pair (on the CR48). Then I copied over the kernel from the 2nd pair (a Chrome OS kernel). When I was installing Arch, I installed syslinux, along with base and base-devel. When I power on my machine, I see the messages printed out similar to the ones I saw on my VM, so I'm assuming it's running the correct init system.


Also, I modified the kernel command line

Old

quiet console=tty2 init=/sbin/init add_efi_memmap boot=local rootwait ro noresume noswap i915.modeset=1 loglevel=1 cros_secure kern_guid=%U tpm_tis.force=1 tpm_tis.interrupts=0 root=/dev/dm-0 dm_verity.error_behavior=3 dm_verity.max_bios=-1 dm_verity.dev_wait=1 dm="vroot none ro,0 1740800 verity /dev/sd%D%P /dev/sd%D%P 1740800 1 sha1 50adbfb72bb1efda0c1a86dcd1c1d6a0b46726d1" noinitrd

New

console=tty1 init=/sbin/init add_efi_memmap boot=local rootwait ro noresume noswap i915.modeset=1 loglevel=7 kern_guid=%U tpm_tis.force=1 tpm_tis.interrupts=0 root=/dev/sda7 noinitrd

Offline

#5 2013-03-21 03:51:33

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

I am not understanding from whence the /lib/modules/3.4 came.  Unless... is your /lib branch a separate volume?


Anyway, it seems that (since you are not using an initrd) that the 3.4 kernel has everything you need to boot.  We still don;t know if the 3.4 module directory has the correct module for your wireless. 

I would suggest updating that third slot to use the Arch kernel *AND* use the initrd image called initramfs-linux.img.  Without that, you will not have the driver you will need to boot.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#6 2013-03-21 04:32:15

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

I copied the /lib/modules/3.4 directory/modules from the Chrome OS partition over to the /lib/modules located on the root partition of the 3rd pair. Also, from what I can tell, the 3.4 module directory does in fact have the drivers necessary for wireless. It's the ath9k driver, if I'm not mistaken. Also, I feel like I'm missing an obvious step... Should I have set up the wireless when I installed Arch in VirtualBox?

Offline

#7 2013-03-21 22:19:58

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

One more thing I just tried. Since lsmod shows no modules are being loaded, I tried to do "modprobe ath9k" while logged in as root.  This is what I got:

Chromium oS LSM: init_module old-api-denied module=<unkown> pid=156 cmdline="modprobe ath9k"
modprobe: ERROR: could not insert 'ath9k': Operation not permitted

I also tried making a conf file in /etc/modules-load.d/ but I got the same error:

Failed to insert 'ath9k' : Operation not permitted

Offline

#8 2013-03-21 23:05:06

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Did you try the modprobe command as root? (Just checking)


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#9 2013-03-22 04:37:26

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

ewaller wrote:

Did you try the modprobe command as root? (Just checking)

Yep. I've been running all of the commands as root

Offline

#10 2013-03-22 04:53:02

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Here's the output I get from journalctl -b

Successfully initialized wpa_supplicant
Failed to initialize driver 'n180211'
Could not read interface wlan0 flags: No such device
Wext:Could not set interface 'wlan0' UP
Could not read interface wlan0 flags: No such device
WEXT: Could not set interface 'wlan0' UP
wlan0: Failed to initialize driver interface

I'm guessing the reason for this output is because it couldn't find the driver. However, since I'm using the 3.4 kernel (provided by Chrome OS), shouldn't everything already be present?

Offline

#11 2013-03-22 04:58:03

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Wait, let's do a sanity check.

What is the output of ip link


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#12 2013-03-22 05:02:42

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,IP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00

I'm guessing all those 0's should actually be a MAC address?

Offline

#13 2013-03-22 05:18:26

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Yes.  But lo is the localhost port.  That is why the MAC is 0

I am afraid I've no more ideas.  Sorry.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#14 2013-03-22 05:23:43

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

ewaller wrote:

Yes.  But lo is the localhost port.  That is why the MAC is 0

I am afraid I've no more ideas.  Sorry.

Ah I see. Thanks for your help. I really appreciate. I am really learning a lot about Arch throughout this process. Should this thread be moved to another section (Newbie's Corner?) and see maybe if somewhere there can help?

Offline

#15 2013-03-22 05:25:09

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Moved.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#16 2013-03-23 05:31:41

jrom
Member
Registered: 2013-02-24
Posts: 27

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

This is just one thing I noticed. When I was setting up Arch in VirtualBox, lsmod listed a bunch of modules that were loaded. However, lsmod on my CR48 doesn't show any modules being loaded. Is there a reason for this?

Offline

#17 2013-03-23 14:30:10

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,414

Re: CR48 - Wifi not working

Inside the VM, you are running on a different machine.  Inside the VM, if you use the tools to explore your hardware ( lspci, for example), you will have a collection of hardware based on the configuration of the VM;  you will not see the physical hardware running on the host.  A host may be using a wireless network.  Inside the VM, you might see a network connection for which there is no real hardware on the host; the VM just visualizes it.  For networks, it sets up NAT or TUN connections to the real hardware.  Audio is the same way.  Serial ports can be mapped to real serial ports, or to pipes which can be used by software running on the host.

That is also why it is impractical to configure a PCI wireless card inside a VM -- there is no wireless card as far as the VM is concerned.

As an exercise, compare the output of lspci when running in a VM, and when running on bare metal.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB