You are not logged in.

#1776 2013-03-24 11:25:59

dongongo
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 6

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hello everyone!
Hi chenxiaolong! Congratulations for your work!
I've a question. Can I use compiz-ubuntu for a compizstandalone's session? And if so, how? What else should I install?

I'm sorry for my english.... sad

Offline

#1777 2013-03-24 14:43:18

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

dongongo wrote:

Hello everyone!
Hi chenxiaolong! Congratulations for your work!
I've a question. Can I use compiz-ubuntu for a compizstandalone's session? And if so, how? What else should I install?

I'm sorry for my english.... sad

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/02/how-to-c … ssion.html

Try following the tutorial here for doing it on ubuntu. You'll have to be more clever than simply following the instructions, because it is for ubuntu and not arch linux and you'll have to be able to figure out what you need.

I would pick a dock on your own because the commands there wont work on arch. apt-get is for debian bases distros. So skip all of that, maybe just use the docks they recommend to start but you'll have to figure out how on your own.

Then I would go to the first step where they tell you to add something to /usr/share/xsessions.

Offline

#1778 2013-03-24 14:51:36

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi,

I found that the system title bar of chrome/ium doesn't work after unmaximized.
By not working, I mean the title bar is not clickable afterwards.(The maximize/minimize/close buttons are all not functional. And I can not drag the window by pressing the title bar.)

The new started chrome/ium normally works, but once it's maximized the title bar will lose its function.

Can anyone confirm this? I'm not sure whether it's introduced by chrome/ium or Unity, so if anyone is using other DE, could you also try it out?

Offline

#1779 2013-03-24 15:18:09

dongongo
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 6

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopkins wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/02/how-to-c … ssion.html

Try following the tutorial here for doing it on ubuntu. You'll have to be more clever than simply following the instructions, because it is for ubuntu and not arch linux and you'll have to be able to figure out what you need.

I would pick a dock on your own because the commands there wont work on arch. apt-get is for debian bases distros. So skip all of that, maybe just use the docks they recommend to start but you'll have to figure out how on your own.

Then I would go to the first step where they tell you to add something to /usr/share/xsessions.

Thanks! smile
I've already a standalone compiz session, but compiz-fusion in Arch repo is not good for me, because it lacks same important feautures such as displaying minimized windows in scaling windows... I wanted to use compiz-ubuntu present in Unity-for-Arch repo....

Sorry again. I'm a disaster with english!

Offline

#1780 2013-03-24 16:25:40

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

Hi,

I found that the system title bar of chrome/ium doesn't work after unmaximized.
By not working, I mean the title bar is not clickable afterwards.(The maximize/minimize/close buttons are all not functional. And I can not drag the window by pressing the title bar.)

The new started chrome/ium normally works, but once it's maximized the title bar will lose its function.

Can anyone confirm this? I'm not sure whether it's introduced by chrome/ium or Unity, so if anyone is using other DE, could you also try it out?

Could it be a chrome-specific problem? Chromium 25.0.1364.172-1 with the default settings is fine here (I tried the window buttons when maximized and also dragging the window from the panel).

EDIT: It doesn't make a difference if I change the "Use system title bar and borders" option.

EDIT2: But unmaximized windows have exactly the same problem as you describe (after using chromium for a little while).

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-03-24 16:39:22)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1781 2013-03-24 16:26:39

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

dongongo wrote:
Kopkins wrote:

http://www.webupd8.org/2012/02/how-to-c … ssion.html

Try following the tutorial here for doing it on ubuntu. You'll have to be more clever than simply following the instructions, because it is for ubuntu and not arch linux and you'll have to be able to figure out what you need.

I would pick a dock on your own because the commands there wont work on arch. apt-get is for debian bases distros. So skip all of that, maybe just use the docks they recommend to start but you'll have to figure out how on your own.

Then I would go to the first step where they tell you to add something to /usr/share/xsessions.

Thanks! smile
I've already a standalone compiz session, but compiz-fusion in Arch repo is not good for me, because it lacks same important feautures such as displaying minimized windows in scaling windows... I wanted to use compiz-ubuntu present in Unity-for-Arch repo....

Sorry again. I'm a disaster with english!

You're english is pretty good, don't worry. You could certainly try the compiz package from Unity-for-Arch. Chenxiaolong might know better how it would work.

You could install it from the repo and it should install all the dependencies for you, but if you install from source, you'll have to look at the PKGBUILDS to figure out which other packages you will need to build.

Offline

#1782 2013-03-24 16:49:05

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Could it be a chrome-specific problem? Chromium 25.0.1364.172-1 with the default settings is fine here (I tried the window buttons when maximized and also dragging the window from the panel).

EDIT: It doesn't make a difference if I change the "Use system title bar and borders" option.

EDIT2: But unmaximized windows have exactly the same problem as you describe (after using chromium for a little while).

I experienced the same problem with a lot of other gtk applications inlcluding pidgin, nautilus and so on.

So it must be unity related. It seems the applications fail to get their title bars back after unmaximized though the title bars are still drawed . When I click on the title bar, sometimes I click on the objects underneath.

EDIT: qt-based applications are also affected.
The only application which works on my system is terminator.

EDIT2: gnome-terminal also works properly.

Last edited by qiuwei (2013-03-24 16:56:05)

Offline

#1783 2013-03-24 17:01:28

sespiros
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 22

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi,
Some of my issues:
- Unity seems to ignore the changes i made to unity-tweak-tool for the desktop switcher, i managed to get it to work by changing the number of desktops in compizconfig.
- Global appmenu doesn't work for me for any application
- The in-app hud (when i press alt in chromium for example or any other app) is constantly loading, is it a known issue?
- gnome-tweak-tool doesn't list shell extensions and under Theme->shell theme i get a warning "couldn't list shell extensions"
- i can't get to work any of the webapps

Are these actual problems? or is it because the porting is under development?

Offline

#1784 2013-03-24 17:10:21

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sespiros wrote:

Hi,
Some of my issues:
- Global appmenu doesn't work for me for any application

It works here.

- The in-app hud (when i press alt in chromium for example or any other app) is constantly loading, is it a known issue?

It works properly here.

- gnome-tweak-tool doesn't list shell extensions and under Theme->shell theme i get a warning "couldn't list shell extensions"

Is this option only for gnome-shell? I'm not sure.

- i can't get to work any of the webapps

It also works properly here.

I think you need to describe more about how you installed Unity-for-arch and how other users can reproduce the problems.

Last edited by qiuwei (2013-03-24 17:10:52)

Offline

#1785 2013-03-24 17:27:27

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Could it be a chrome-specific problem? Chromium 25.0.1364.172-1 with the default settings is fine here (I tried the window buttons when maximized and also dragging the window from the panel).

EDIT: It doesn't make a difference if I change the "Use system title bar and borders" option.

EDIT2: But unmaximized windows have exactly the same problem as you describe (after using chromium for a little while).

I experienced the same problem with a lot of other gtk applications inlcluding pidgin, nautilus and so on.

So it must be unity related. It seems the applications fail to get their title bars back after unmaximized though the title bars are still drawed . When I click on the title bar, sometimes I click on the objects underneath.

EDIT: qt-based applications are also affected.
The only application which works on my system is terminator.

EDIT2: gnome-terminal also works properly.

When did this start happening? The last time I updated something related to unity was compiz-ubuntu (on Mar. 20). After that, I only updated a few icons (unity-asset-pool), added some build fixes (gnome-session-ubuntu, indicator-session), and updated nautilus-ubuntu and gnome-control-center-ubuntu. I don't think those should affect Unity.

EDIT: Actually, I just remembered that a crashing indicator can mess up Unity. Does the problem still exist if you remove indicator-session and relogin? You can logout with "gnome-session-quit --logout"

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-03-24 17:28:33)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1786 2013-03-24 17:28:12

sespiros
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 22

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I compiled and installed Unity-for-Arch from source using the provided script, at the end unity could not built, missing dependency bamf, so i did makepkg -sci in unity folder and it worked, i dont think i missed anything..
i run it with startx(exec gnome-session --session=ubuntu in xinitrc).(had kde before)
I didn't do anything other than that, maybe a clean installation will fix my problems. I had a gnome installation a year ago, should i delete any files that might causing issues or anything else i should notice?

Offline

#1787 2013-03-24 17:36:48

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

When did this start happening? The last time I updated something related to unity was compiz-ubuntu (on Mar. 20). After that, I only updated a few icons (unity-asset-pool), added some build fixes (gnome-session-ubuntu, indicator-session), and updated nautilus-ubuntu and gnome-control-center-ubuntu. I don't think those should affect Unity.

EDIT: Actually, I just remembered that a crashing indicator can mess up Unity. Does the problem still exist if you remove indicator-session and relogin? You can logout with "gnome-session-quit --logout"

After rolling back to compiz-ubuntu 0.9.9.daily13.03.08-100.0ubuntu1,. everything works.

OK, I will do more testing.

EDIT: updating to  compiz-ubuntu 0.9.9.daily20.03.08-100.0ubuntu1 brings back the problem.
I guess it's introduced upstream.

BTW: Is it possible to have a stable branch in your git repo? Like you, I'm also a person who likes bleeding edge features. I don't mind doing some testing or hacking. But I guess for daily users, it would be better to have a branch which is already tested out.

Last edited by qiuwei (2013-03-24 17:45:18)

Offline

#1788 2013-03-24 17:42:27

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

When did this start happening? The last time I updated something related to unity was compiz-ubuntu (on Mar. 20). After that, I only updated a few icons (unity-asset-pool), added some build fixes (gnome-session-ubuntu, indicator-session), and updated nautilus-ubuntu and gnome-control-center-ubuntu. I don't think those should affect Unity.

EDIT: Actually, I just remembered that a crashing indicator can mess up Unity. Does the problem still exist if you remove indicator-session and relogin? You can logout with "gnome-session-quit --logout"

After rolling back to compiz-ubuntu 0.9.9.daily13.03.08-100.0ubuntu1,. everything works.

OK, I will do more testing.

Maybe unity needs to be recompiled against the new compiz?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1789 2013-03-24 17:50:16

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

This is absolutely ridiculous. I need to bundle ConsoleKit with indicator-session so I can get the pam_ck_connector PAM module, which is required for user switching to work: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … 47f0a31ce5

EDIT: LightDM PAM files updated: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … 3314deecb9 This should solve the user switching issues once and for all, albeit in a very ugly way.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-03-24 17:57:15)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1790 2013-03-24 18:19:09

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I'm having trouble getting my computer to suspend automatically. Unless I shut the lid or click suspend myself it won't suspend when it should. I have it set to suspend after 10 minutes.
Has anyone else had this issue? Fully updated and installed from source.

Offline

#1791 2013-03-24 18:35:34

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Maybe unity needs to be recompiled against the new compiz?

Tried to recompile unity, but it doesn't help.

BTW, I don't have gnome-screensaver.desktop  under /etc/xdg/autostart.
But gnome-screensaver-unity.desktop is already there.

EDIT:
@chenxiaolong, the bug is filed here https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1158161
Fix is already committed:)

Last edited by qiuwei (2013-03-24 19:23:11)

Offline

#1792 2013-03-24 21:19:08

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

Maybe unity needs to be recompiled against the new compiz?

Tried to recompile unity, but it doesn't help.

BTW, I don't have gnome-screensaver.desktop  under /etc/xdg/autostart.
But gnome-screensaver-unity.desktop is already there.

EDIT:
@chenxiaolong, the bug is filed here https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1158161
Fix is already committed:)

How are you so good at finding the upstream links to bug reports? You've found almost all of the patches/branches/bug reports for all the issues we've had so far big_smile

Anyway, the patch is now included in compiz-ubuntu: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … 375363bc70

For the screensaver, gnome-screensaver-unity.desktop shouldn't be there. I forgot to remove that from the unity package. /etc/xdg/autostart/gnome-screensaver.desktop is in the gnome-screensaver-ubuntu package (which works in both GNOME and Unity).

EDIT: gnome-screensaver-unity.desktop removed: https://github.com/chenxiaolong/Unity-f … a4a8b0e0c4

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-03-24 21:22:04)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#1793 2013-03-25 10:30:51

dongongo
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 6

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Kopkins wrote:

You're english is pretty good, don't worry. You could certainly try the compiz package from Unity-for-Arch. Chenxiaolong might know better how it would work.

You could install it from the repo and it should install all the dependencies for you, but if you install from source, you'll have to look at the PKGBUILDS to figure out which other packages you will need to build.

Thank you! I installed compiz-ubuntu. The system start, but ccsm missing in this package, and without it, compiz is unusable. Which package should I install to get also ccsm?

Offline

#1794 2013-03-25 12:23:54

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

ccsm should be included in compiz-ubuntu:

$ pacman -Ql | grep /usr/bin/ccsm
compiz-ubuntu /usr/bin/ccsm

Last edited by oi_wtf (2013-03-25 12:24:10)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#1795 2013-03-25 13:11:17

dongongo
Member
Registered: 2013-03-24
Posts: 6

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I beg your pardon! You are right! However, if you launch ccsm from the terminal, I get this:

 File "/usr/bin/ccsm", line 93, in <module>
    import compizconfig
ImportError: libprotobuf.so.7: impossibile aprire il file oggetto condiviso: File o directory non esistente

And it doesn't start!

I searched for the library and found this:

    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       32 03.03.2013 19:47 libakonadiprotocolinternals.so -> libakonadiprotocolinternals.so.1*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       36 03.03.2013 19:47 libakonadiprotocolinternals.so.1 -> libakonadiprotocolinternals.so.1.9.1*
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   121020 03.03.2013 19:47 libakonadiprotocolinternals.so.1.9.1*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       33 12.03.2012 15:23 libgstdataprotocol-0.10.so -> libgstdataprotocol-0.10.so.0.30.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       33 12.03.2012 15:23 libgstdataprotocol-0.10.so.0 -> libgstdataprotocol-0.10.so.0.30.0*
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root    17856 12.03.2012 15:23 libgstdataprotocol-0.10.so.0.30.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       22 25.03.2013 15:32 libprotobuf-c.so -> libprotobuf-c.so.0.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       22 25.03.2013 15:32 libprotobuf-c.so.0 -> libprotobuf-c.so.0.0.0*
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root    63092 25.03.2013 15:32 libprotobuf-c.so.0.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       25 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotobuf-lite.so -> libprotobuf-lite.so.8.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       25 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotobuf-lite.so.8 -> libprotobuf-lite.so.8.0.0*
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   190612 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotobuf-lite.so.8.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       20 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotobuf.so -> libprotobuf.so.8.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       20 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotobuf.so.8 -> libprotobuf.so.8.0.0*
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root  1070844 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotobuf.so.8.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       18 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotoc.so -> libprotoc.so.8.0.0*
    lrwxrwxrwx  1 root root       18 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotoc.so.8 -> libprotoc.so.8.0.0*
    -rwxr-xr-x  1 root root   802832 01.03.2013 16:29 libprotoc.so.8.0.0*

The library has been updated to version 8.

EDIT: I solved using the version in the testing-repo. But, what should I enable to display minimized windows?
Thanks all!

Last edited by dongongo (2013-03-25 15:22:49)

Offline

#1796 2013-03-25 20:09:14

sespiros
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 22

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi, I'm trying to install Unity-for-Arch in a fresh arch installation this time.
I run the script build-and-install.sh but i'm getting many missing dependecies messages during the process and at the end unity fails to install due to missing dependency bamf.
As a result I go manually from folder to folder doing makepkg -sci, using only packages provided in the git repo.
Is there a more standardized way to install it or am i doing something wrong? (Maybe that's the reason a lot of things didn't work in my previous installation on an existing arch setup)
Thanks!

Last edited by sespiros (2013-03-25 20:09:35)

Offline

#1797 2013-03-25 20:18:40

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sespiros wrote:

Hi, I'm trying to install Unity-for-Arch in a fresh arch installation this time.
I run the script build-and-install.sh but i'm getting many missing dependecies messages during the process and at the end unity fails to install due to missing dependency bamf.
As a result I go manually from folder to folder doing makepkg -sci, using only packages provided in the git repo.
Is there a more standardized way to install it or am i doing something wrong? (Maybe that's the reason a lot of things didn't work in my previous installation on an existing arch setup)
Thanks!

Have you considered installing from the repo? It's much faster and far more automatic.

That also happened to me. I ended up going back and building everything manually (makepkg -sci). When I used build-and-install.sh I got 3-5 packages that failed to build. I wasn't sure which failed so I started over and built them all manually. I did it in a day building a package here and there, and everything worked great.

I have the README open in one tty and built in another tty. Then had a basic X-session running on tty1 using xorg-twn. The WM you use to test x in the beginners guide to installing arch. I could still use the internet with it, just had to launch programs from the terminal.

Last edited by Kopkins (2013-03-25 20:19:21)

Offline

#1798 2013-03-25 20:54:59

sespiros
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 22

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I did exactly that, with the 2 terminals but i thought maybe it could be done faster.
Also i turned down the repos because one package qt-ubuntu is outdated because qt has become qt4 and i feared of more problems.

Offline

#1799 2013-03-25 21:17:59

qiuwei
Member
Registered: 2009-12-18
Posts: 245

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sespiros wrote:

I did exactly that, with the 2 terminals but i thought maybe it could be done faster.
Also i turned down the repos because one package qt-ubuntu is outdated because qt has become qt4 and i feared of more problems.

FYI, qt4-ubuntu is already in chenxiaolong's testing repo.
It's quite stable though it's called testing:) All the packages all compiled in clean chroot environment.
If you don't need to custom any packages, just use that repo. It's also more eco-friendly, isn't it?

Offline

#1800 2013-03-25 22:13:22

sespiros
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 22

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

qiuwei wrote:

FYI, qt4-ubuntu is already in chenxiaolong's testing repo.
It's quite stable though it's called testing:) All the packages all compiled in clean chroot environment.
If you don't need to custom any packages, just use that repo. It's also more eco-friendly, isn't it?

I have problems with the github versions, when i build it myself. And from the repos, i found in the wiki about unity, i got the qt4 conflicts. Which is this testing repo you mention? I missed it maybe

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB