You are not logged in.

#1 2013-03-23 23:38:33

ubunchu
Member
Registered: 2012-05-01
Posts: 175

How to install an Archiso? Tips - gui s?

Hello,
about a year ago I first installed ArchLinux, back when the blue screen installer was used. Does that still exists? Can it be used to simplify an archiso install?

NOTE: I can't have an internet connection on the computer I'm trying to install. (thats why I made an archiso)

I have my custom Archiso ready, but I'm not sure how to install it (as is)... Should I simply do as the wiki sais? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Installation_Guide

(though i'd prefer a gui or some command-line assistance) Is there other way of doing it?
Here I read that simply by mounting the partitions, and then rsync-ing the system over to the mounted partitions it can be done: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=148856

Thanks in advance.
Cheers!


Don't forget to mark as [SOLVED].

Offline

#2 2013-03-24 02:59:26

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: How to install an Archiso? Tips - gui s?

ubunchu wrote:

Hello,
about a year ago I first installed ArchLinux, back when the blue screen installer was used. Does that still exists?

Where have you been all this while? Try to keep up with the news. Google and you shall receive.

ubunchu wrote:

Can it be used to simplify an archiso install?

NOTE: I can't have an internet connection on the computer I'm trying to install. (thats why I made an archiso)

I have my custom Archiso ready, but I'm not sure how to install it (as is)...

That's quite a problem isn't it?

ubunchu wrote:

Should I simply do as the wiki sais? https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Installation_Guide

Pretty much. Follow the Beginners Guide. That's what its for

ubunchu wrote:

(though i'd prefer a gui or some command-line assistance)

GUI?? Fat chance !! In other words, ain't gonna happen

ubunchu wrote:

Is there other way of doing it?
Here I read that simply by mounting the partitions, and then rsync-ing the system over to the mounted partitions it can be done: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=148856

Thanks in advance.
Cheers!


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#3 2013-03-24 16:15:03

Kopkins
Member
Registered: 2012-07-01
Posts: 189

Re: How to install an Archiso? Tips - gui s?

If you follow the beginners guide installing arch is just as straightforward as installing ubuntu. It's just not as automatic. Why can't you have internet?

Offline

#4 2013-03-24 22:14:32

DSpider
Member
From: Romania
Registered: 2009-08-23
Posts: 2,273

Re: How to install an Archiso? Tips - gui s?

No internet? No problem.

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Of … positories

Note: This repository used to be included in the core installation media, so you could build a fully working base system without Internet access. This is no longer the case. Internet access is now required in order to install a new system. See here if you would like to create a local repository with packages from [core] or from any of the other repositories.

And regarding the GUI installer:

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/FA … _installer

Last edited by DSpider (2013-03-24 22:15:15)


"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB