You are not logged in.

#1826 2013-03-30 02:08:15

hachre
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 16
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

So I'm trying to learn something here... I downloaded this very cool looking indicator from launchpad found here:
https://launchpad.net/indicator-multilo … 0.3.tar.gz

I managed to ./configure and make it - it built fine... I then ran the binary in the src dir simply to try it out but got greeted by this:

[1]    23232 segmentation fault (core dumped)  ./indicator-multiload

dmesg has this to say:

indicator-multi[23232]: segfault at 8 ip 00007f9da1e90171 sp 00007fff677f30d8 error 4 in libc-2.17.so[7f9da1e0c000+1a4000]

So where do I even start? You must be running into issues like that non stop... I do have experience in development, but not with C / C++ so I don't even know where to start. I also don't really know much about the entire tool chain...

Would be cool to get some pointers smile

Offline

#1827 2013-03-30 03:05:16

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 191

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

use gdb, the gnu debugger...


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win10 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M w/ 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win10 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 32 GiB RAM, AMD Radeon RX 480 w/ 8 GiB

Offline

#1828 2013-03-31 10:59:23

sespiros
Member
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 22

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I'm trying to change the keyboard layout but it's not possible, steps i do: keyboard settings -> layout settings -> add a language -> switch to next source with alt-shift and nothing happens and I can't change language. There is no keyboard indicator either. Is this known behaviour?
Also Is it possible to install new languages for unity?

Offline

#1829 2013-04-01 15:20:21

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sespiros wrote:

I'm trying to change the keyboard layout but it's not possible, steps i do: keyboard settings -> layout settings -> add a language -> switch to next source with alt-shift and nothing happens and I can't change language. There is no keyboard indicator either. Is this known behaviour?

I don't know. I like using qxkb. It's shows an indicator plus manages your layouts.

sespiros wrote:

Also Is it possible to install new languages for unity?

Yes. Just edit your /etc/locale.gen, uncomment the language you want and run

# locale-gen

Then you should be able to select the language in gnome-control-center.


Non serviam

Offline

#1830 2013-04-01 18:27:35

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Ubuntu has moved to system's timedated service now smile This means that timezone and time changing should now work in Unity.

Could someone please build indicator-datetime without 0001_Port_to_systemd_timedated.patch and 0002_Remove_timezone_functionality.patch and try changing the timezone, time, etc? Thanks!

Offline

#1831 2013-04-01 18:38:11

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Ubuntu has moved to system's timedated service now smile This means that timezone and time changing should now work in Unity.

Could someone please build indicator-datetime without 0001_Port_to_systemd_timedated.patch and 0002_Remove_timezone_functionality.patch and try changing the timezone, time, etc? Thanks!

Not for me. I rebuild indicator-datetime, added new layouts in gnome-control-center setting a shortcut to switch and restarted the session. There's no indicator and the shortcut doesn't work.


Non serviam

Offline

#1832 2013-04-02 18:57:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Screw Lenovo and Phoenix with their crappy UEFI. I now have a $2000 paperweight and a Dell laptop with a broken fan that idles at 90 C.

I'll see if my school allows booting from USB on their computers. If not, there's no way I can work on Unity for a while.

I'll happily accept any pull requests for updates, bug fixes, new packages, etc on Github though smile

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-04-02 19:14:36)

Offline

#1833 2013-04-02 19:12:04

hachre
Member
From: Munich, Germany
Registered: 2013-03-14
Posts: 16
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

My condolences, and welcome to the club of 90°C idlers.... ;D

Offline

#1834 2013-04-02 19:15:46

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

hachre wrote:

My condolences, and welcome to the club of 90°C idlers.... ;D

Haha, I wouldn't mind building packages with > 90°C if melting plastic didn't smell so bad big_smile

Offline

#1835 2013-04-02 19:35:10

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Haha, I wouldn't mind building packages with > 90°C if melting plastic didn't smell so bad big_smile

That's not so bad. If I don't disable the radeon module in my dell laptop it also goes over 90 °C with the fan at max speed. Maybe that's why I lost my entire HD smile
It would be fun to see my laptop with the broken fan.


Non serviam

Offline

#1836 2013-04-03 13:46:00

mieLouk
Member
Registered: 2012-12-16
Posts: 44

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

There are two issues at the moment I can't resolve.

When compiling unity package I get http://paste.ubuntu.com/5673603/.


When I execute pacman -Suy, he asks whether to replace protobuf-python with community/python2-protobuf which I accept, which is fine. But then he finds a conflict between xf86-input-evdev and xorg-server-ubuntu which I don't accept, and the update stops as a consequence. Is there a group that pacman should skip, like xf86* or xorg*?

I hope someone can give me a hint.

Unity for Arch is GREAT!!

Offline

#1837 2013-04-03 18:03:34

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

mieLouk wrote:

There are two issues at the moment I can't resolve.

When compiling unity package I get http://paste.ubuntu.com/5673603/.


When I execute pacman -Suy, he asks whether to replace protobuf-python with community/python2-protobuf which I accept, which is fine. But then he finds a conflict between xf86-input-evdev and xorg-server-ubuntu which I don't accept, and the update stops as a consequence. Is there a group that pacman should skip, like xf86* or xorg*?

I hope someone can give me a hint.

Unity for Arch is GREAT!!

I replied to the bug report at GitHub. Please take a look there smile

Offline

#1838 2013-04-04 12:13:36

shiznix
Member
Registered: 2012-10-04
Posts: 24

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Screw Lenovo and Phoenix with their crappy UEFI. I now have a $2000 paperweight and a Dell laptop with a broken fan that idles at 90 C.

I'll see if my school allows booting from USB on their computers. If not, there's no way I can work on Unity for a while.

I'll happily accept any pull requests for updates, bug fixes, new packages, etc on Github though smile

Eek, and just when I was hoping to pick your brain on potential problems with the Raring FinalBetaRelease happening today.
Time to fire up on that 'Donate' button wink

Fan failure speaks of possible kernel failure, but it'd take a dual-boot into Windows (or possibly old working kernel) to know for sure.
One of the two reasons I keep dual booting (games is the other).
Of course it really could be just plain old fan failure sad

I'm surprised at the Dell failure.
I gave them a wide berth for many years until i realised that their laptops are pretty much bullet-proof compared to other brands in the market.

Hoping you get back soon, we need you neutral

Offline

#1839 2013-04-04 16:49:24

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

shiznix wrote:

Eek, and just when I was hoping to pick your brain on potential problems with the Raring FinalBetaRelease happening today.
Time to fire up on that 'Donate' button wink

Fan failure speaks of possible kernel failure, but it'd take a dual-boot into Windows (or possibly old working kernel) to know for sure.
One of the two reasons I keep dual booting (games is the other).
Of course it really could be just plain old fan failure sad

I really wish it was a kernel failure. At least there's a way to fix it then. But this time, the fan is really broken. I can't even spin the fan with my finger sad (My brother must have dropped that darn thing...)

shiznix wrote:

I'm surprised at the Dell failure.
I gave them a wide berth for many years until i realised that their laptops are pretty much bullet-proof compared to other brands in the market.

I totally agree. That Dell Studio 1555 was around 500-some USD. It's been dropped down the stairs, had water spilled over it, and I even soldered a USB bluetooth adapter to the inside of it. I'm honestly surprised that it lasted over 4 years.

Right now, I'm going to try to replace the BIOS chip in my Thinkpad. Hopefully that'll work, but if not, I'll need to get a new laptop. I've been eyeballing some Dells, but their XPS line has throttling problems and the Precision m4700 is huge.

shiznix wrote:

Hoping you get back soon, we need you neutral

Aww... big_smile

Hopefully, I'll be back before the GNOME 3.8 mess completely breaks Unity smile

Offline

#1840 2013-04-08 02:02:02

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Can we integrate the qt5 globalmenu? It's showing only in the application window for me.


Non serviam

Offline

#1841 2013-04-08 06:03:28

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:

Can we integrate the qt5 globalmenu? It's showing only in the application window for me.

There's currently no stable version of appmenu-qt that supports Qt5, so the package in [extra] has no Qt5 support.

I created an appmenu-qt5 PKGBUILD based on the appmenu-qt package: http://paste.kde.org/718340/ Could you see if that works?

EDIT: By the way, do you know if Qt5 globalmenus are supported in Ubuntu 13.04?

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-04-08 06:04:14)

Offline

#1842 2013-04-08 13:39:15

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I created an appmenu-qt5 PKGBUILD based on the appmenu-qt package: http://paste.kde.org/718340/ Could you see if that works?

Didn't compile. Got this error:

==> Starting build()...
CMake Error: The source directory "/home/jesse/archbuilds/appmenu-qt5/src/appmenu-qt-0.2.7daily13.03.28/build" does not appear to contain CMakeLists.txt.
Specify --help for usage, or press the help button on the CMake GUI.
==> ERROR: A failure occurred in build().
chenxiaolong wrote:

EDIT: By the way, do you know if Qt5 globalmenus are supported in Ubuntu 13.04?

Looks like it is. I think we need a qt5-ubuntu package. See https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1126205

I was trying to package the qt5-ubuntu yesterday but I didn't have enough time. Work and unversity are killing my free time.


Non serviam

Offline

#1843 2013-04-11 01:56:49

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

60 commits incoming!

The packages should all build fine now against the new GCC 4.8. Even Unity can compile now, which means we now have the new shutdown dialogs smile The list of changes can be found with:

git log 4152f05..8056757

The last commit I made (8056757) will rebuild my testing repo. Those using my testing repo should wait until all the packages are finished building before updating. The progress of the builds can be found here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091

For those building from source, it's probably a good idea to rebuild all the packages.

Enjoy!

EDIT: CRAP! All of the builds are failing. Arch must have changed the syntax for mkarchroot. I'll try to fix this as soon as I can. -- Fixed the issue. Now I just need to wait for all of the builds to fail, so I can rebuild them again. -- Fixed, builds are kicking off now smile

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-04-11 06:47:42)

Offline

#1844 2013-04-11 13:06:34

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

The packages should all build fine now against the new GCC 4.8. Even Unity can compile now, which means we now have the new shutdown dialogs smile The list of changes can be found with:

git log 4152f05..8056757

The last commit I made (8056757) will rebuild my testing repo. Those using my testing repo should wait until all the packages are finished building before updating. The progress of the builds can be found here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091

For those building from source, it's probably a good idea to rebuild all the packages.

Enjoy!

EDIT: CRAP! All of the builds are failing. Arch must have changed the syntax for mkarchroot. I'll try to fix this as soon as I can. -- Fixed the issue. Now I just need to wait for all of the builds to fail, so I can rebuild them again. -- Fixed, builds are kicking off now smile

Thank you. I really appreciate your effort to bring unity to arch. I'll try to build the new packages at my lunch time smile


Non serviam

Offline

#1845 2013-04-11 16:06:35

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

60 commits incoming!

The packages should all build fine now against the new GCC 4.8. Even Unity can compile now, which means we now have the new shutdown dialogs smile The list of changes can be found with:

git log 4152f05..8056757

The last commit I made (8056757) will rebuild my testing repo. Those using my testing repo should wait until all the packages are finished building before updating. The progress of the builds can be found here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091

For those building from source, it's probably a good idea to rebuild all the packages.

Enjoy!

EDIT: CRAP! All of the builds are failing. Arch must have changed the syntax for mkarchroot. I'll try to fix this as soon as I can. -- Fixed the issue. Now I just need to wait for all of the builds to fail, so I can rebuild them again. -- Fixed, builds are kicking off now smile

Awesome stuff! smile
Looking forward to it reflecting in the repos.
Loving Unity on Arch smile

Offline

#1846 2013-04-11 16:10:02

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Btw, anyone else have this problem with yakuake? [1][2] I know most of you don't use it but could you test it for me quick? smile
This wied gap issue only happened with an update about 6 weeks ago (I should have noted exactly which update).

I also need to test these things on ubuntu 13.04 before reporting it here.

[1]: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/704 … %20gap.png
[2]: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/704 … %20gap.png

Offline

#1847 2013-04-11 16:18:10

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 638

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Btw, anyone else have this problem with yakuake? [1][2] I know most of you don't use it but could you test it for me quick? smile
This wied gap issue only happened with an update about 6 weeks ago (I should have noted exactly which update).

I also need to test these things on ubuntu 13.04 before reporting it here.

[1]: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/704 … %20gap.png
[2]: https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/704 … %20gap.png

apparently its caused by the commit that fixed this bug: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1158161. Someone mentioned the yakuake issue in the comments.

Last edited by bwat47 (2013-04-11 16:19:29)

Offline

#1848 2013-04-11 16:47:27

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Got this error in gtk3-ubuntu

checking for X11/extensions/XInput2.h... no
checking for XIAllowTouchEvents... yes
checking for XIScrollClassInfo.number... no
configure: error: *** XInput2 extension not found. Check 'config.log' for more details.

Looks like the configure script is checking for the files in the wrong place.


Non serviam

Offline

#1849 2013-04-11 16:55:53

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 784

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

sollidsnake wrote:

Got this error in gtk3-ubuntu

checking for X11/extensions/XInput2.h... no
checking for XIAllowTouchEvents... yes
checking for XIScrollClassInfo.number... no
configure: error: *** XInput2 extension not found. Check 'config.log' for more details.

Looks like the configure script is checking for the files in the wrong place.

That's strange. My build server just built it successfully 10 hours ago. Could you post the config.log?

Binary packages are here if you want to use that instead: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/job/UFA-2.0-Bui … ubuntu/32/

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-04-11 16:56:07)

Offline

#1850 2013-04-11 17:05:13

sollidsnake
Member
Registered: 2012-01-30
Posts: 107

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

That's strange. My build server just built it successfully 10 hours ago. Could you post the config.log?

Binary packages are here if you want to use that instead: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/job/UFA-2.0-Bui … ubuntu/32/

Sure. Here's my config log
https://gist.github.com/anonymous/5365167

Thanks. I'll use the binaries for now.


Non serviam

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB