You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-03 18:33:44

mityukov
Member
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 66

[WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

Hi, I'm having one weird problem that makes my laptop not as mobile as I'd like it to be..
Literally, I have to boot it up again after each move.

Here's the issue: if I suspend to ram, and then resume in a place with different WiFi network, it can't connect to Internet again.

I'm using NetworkManager via corresponding plasmoid in KDE (although, nmcli does not work either).

When I click a network name, I get the following:

"Configuring interface" .... -> Cannot connect to {NetworkName}

(the labels might be a bit different, as I get all notifications in my local language)


Have anyone experienced this before?

Or, AT LEAST, how can I get a bit more verbose output from NetworkManager? Is there a log file?


Here's the hardware:

05:00.0 Network controller: Atheros Communications Inc. AR9285 Wireless Network Adapter (PCI-Express) (rev 01)

Here's what I've tried already (and it didn't help):

# systemctl restart NetworkManager
# modprobe -r ath9k
# ncmcli nm sleep false


WORKAROUND FOUND: When I get "Configuring interface" .... -> Cannot connect to {NetworkName} (it happens not only after resumes, btw), I type the following in the console:

sudo dhcpcd -k

So much time passed, so many updates -- still have to do this manually... %)

Last edited by mityukov (2013-12-03 10:19:12)

Offline

#2 2013-04-03 18:47:31

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

What does dmesg say when you are not able to connect?


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#3 2013-04-04 08:06:40

mityukov
Member
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 66

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

hadrons123 wrote:

What does dmesg say when you are not able to connect?

Here's some dmesg output (for what I believe related to sleep/resume): http://pastebin.com/feyiDgRc


By the way, just noticed yesterday: the problem may start appearing without moving to another location. The Internet has "broken" (ISP-side) yesterday, so I've set up an Wi-Fi Hotspot on the mobile. The Network manager could not connect to this another network as well (also, failing after "configuring interface"), so I had to reboot to be able to connect... hmm

Offline

#4 2013-04-04 08:37:49

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#5 2013-04-05 14:46:28

mityukov
Member
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 66

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

hadrons123 wrote:

Here's what I've tried:

# stop NetworkManager first, just in case if it would not start anything before time
sudo systemctl stop NetworkManager

# kill wpa_supplicant (one of suggestions in the topic)
sudo killall wpa_supplicant

# re-load kernel module with nohwcrypt=1 (another suggestion in the topic):
sudo modprobe -r ath9k
sudo modprobe ath9k nohwcrypt=1

# start NetworkManager again
sudo systemctl start NetworkManager

Then tried to connect the network again: the issue is till the same. Here's the latest dmesg:

$ sudo dmesg -c
[ 3079.006749] ath9k: ath9k: Driver unloaded
[ 3111.623220] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 3111.694588] ath: phy0: ASPM enabled: 0x43
[ 3111.694594] ath: EEPROM regdomain: 0x65
[ 3111.694596] ath: EEPROM indicates we should expect a direct regpair map
[ 3111.694599] ath: Country alpha2 being used: 00
[ 3111.694600] ath: Regpair used: 0x65
[ 3111.697195] ieee80211 phy0: Selected rate control algorithm 'ath9k_rate_control'
[ 3111.697465] ieee80211 phy0: Atheros AR9285 Rev:2 mem=0xffffc900140a0000, irq=16
[ 3111.717234] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): wlan0: link is not ready
[ 3136.958046] r8169 0000:03:00.0 eth0: link down
[ 3136.958159] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_UP): eth0: link is not ready
[ 3138.903691] wlan0: authenticate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5
[ 3138.911517] wlan0: capabilities/regulatory prevented using AP HT/VHT configuration, downgraded
[ 3138.911567] wlan0: send auth to 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3138.917180] wlan0: authenticated
[ 3138.917697] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT/VHT due to WEP/TKIP use
[ 3138.917711] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3138.917718] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3138.918897] wlan0: associate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3138.932402] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=3)
[ 3138.932553] IPv6: ADDRCONF(NETDEV_CHANGE): wlan0: link becomes ready
[ 3138.932790] wlan0: associated
[ 3139.406632] wlan0: deauthenticating from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 by local choice (reason=3)
[ 3139.415815] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 3143.712977] wlan0: authenticate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5
[ 3143.720532] wlan0: capabilities/regulatory prevented using AP HT/VHT configuration, downgraded
[ 3143.720582] wlan0: send auth to 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3143.731367] wlan0: authenticated
[ 3143.731865] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT/VHT due to WEP/TKIP use
[ 3143.731882] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3143.731888] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3143.735093] wlan0: associate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3143.748277] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=3)
[ 3143.748533] wlan0: associated
[ 3144.140732] wlan0: deauthenticating from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 by local choice (reason=3)
[ 3144.148708] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 3148.642615] wlan0: authenticate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5
[ 3148.650085] wlan0: capabilities/regulatory prevented using AP HT/VHT configuration, downgraded
[ 3148.650132] wlan0: send auth to 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3148.665772] wlan0: authenticated
[ 3148.666264] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT/VHT due to WEP/TKIP use
[ 3148.666278] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3148.666284] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3148.667980] wlan0: associate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3148.681955] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=3)
[ 3148.682212] wlan0: associated
[ 3149.016733] wlan0: deauthenticating from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 by local choice (reason=3)
[ 3149.031462] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain
[ 3153.648602] wlan0: authenticate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5
[ 3153.656323] wlan0: capabilities/regulatory prevented using AP HT/VHT configuration, downgraded
[ 3153.656374] wlan0: send auth to 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3153.659859] wlan0: authenticated
[ 3153.660389] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT/VHT due to WEP/TKIP use
[ 3153.660403] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling HT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3153.660410] ath9k 0000:05:00.0 wlan0: disabling VHT as WMM/QoS is not supported by the AP
[ 3153.663889] wlan0: associate with 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (try 1/3)
[ 3153.672276] wlan0: RX AssocResp from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 (capab=0x411 status=0 aid=3)
[ 3153.672536] wlan0: associated
[ 3153.967817] wlan0: deauthenticating from 00:24:8c:65:bb:d5 by local choice (reason=3)
[ 3153.980619] cfg80211: Calling CRDA to update world regulatory domain

Offline

#6 2013-04-09 08:48:06

mityukov
Member
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 66

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

Can I at least get more verbose output from NetworkManager? What is broken exactly?
- hardware could not awake completely
- some low-level driver cold not awake completely
- NetworkManager fails to config interfaces?

btw, I've also noticed some weird "Authenntication" behavior; it may ask KWallet password, and then WiFi password (despite the latter should be in the KWallet already) and then fails to "configure interfaces" anyway (well, "Configuring interface" is what _I_ can see before it fails to connect; it may not be exactly what fails, but how can I check?..)

Thank you in advance.

Offline

#7 2013-04-16 18:43:17

boina
Member
From: Córdoba - Argentina
Registered: 2011-06-05
Posts: 38

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

I have the very same issue. It started a couple of months ago after a full upgrade. Have no idea what it could be. Running gnome shell.

Offline

#8 2013-04-16 18:45:29

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,071

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

boina wrote:

I have the very same issue. It started a couple of months ago after a full upgrade. Have no idea what it could be. Running gnome shell.

Well you could start by looking at the logs and describing what you have done in order to solve the problem.


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#9 2013-04-17 09:27:38

mityukov
Member
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 66

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

Update: sometimes it can connect after resume. I'm not sure what is the key factor, though. I can only think of the following possibilities:

1. It does matter what certain network was it connected to, when gone to sleep; and what network is it now, when resuming;

2. Probably, it's about the time. The last time, that I can remember when connection could be established -- with with smaller (than usual) time being asleep. Could it have to do anything with session authentication in KDE (DBus, PolKit, pam_auth; .. really, don't know much about this stuff sad )? How could I check this probability?

Offline

#10 2013-04-17 09:33:26

mityukov
Member
Registered: 2010-10-10
Posts: 66

Re: [WORKAROUND] Cannot connect to any WiFi network after resume

I've got another idea: can I do some low-level stuff, which the NetworkManager does itself, when connecting to a network? It will at least allow to understand which certain command fails. Also, there's a chance that that command would have some switch for verbose mode.

But I need to know if it's possible to "extract" the commands, which the NetworkManager executes when connects to WiFi network. Is there a shell script or anything like this?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB