You are not logged in.

#1326 2013-04-02 02:21:26

dougphy
Member
From: Durham, NC
Registered: 2013-01-27
Posts: 7

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Acer Aspire S7
So far everything working out of the box. Very happy with the way Arch is running on it.

Offline

#1327 2013-04-09 01:36:03

Badrocklo
Member
Registered: 2013-02-20
Posts: 13

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus N56VZ,

Hard with UEFI boot for windows 8, i never try the blu-ray.
The Sonic master bass won't work.

Except that all work fine.

Offline

#1328 2013-04-10 14:01:22

Cthulhu82
Member
From: Angers, France
Registered: 2013-04-01
Posts: 149

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Alienware M17xR4.
Works great, bumblebee takes care of the two graphic cards.
Only problem : the sound card can decide to disapear sometimes (havethe same problem with windows). Seems more like a bios problem, specific of this last alienware laptop generation.

Last edited by Cthulhu82 (2013-04-10 14:01:38)


« En essayant continuellement, on finit par réussir.
Donc plus ça rate, plus ça a de chance de marcher. »
Devise Shadock

Offline

#1329 2013-04-11 13:48:31

tancrackers
Member
From: Staten Island, NY
Registered: 2012-04-11
Posts: 44

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I would like to say, ever since Linux 3.8 "Beats" audio on HP Envy laptops is fully supported. We no longer have to blacklist snd-usb-audio.
However, the backlight remains dimmed upon boot, the clickpad is recognized as one "button," and the hybrid graphics (Intel / ATI) does not work.


Block ads forever! http://adblockplus.org/en/

Offline

#1330 2013-04-11 21:37:50

collinm
Member
Registered: 2007-01-26
Posts: 31

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Taijitu wrote:

Hello everyone.

The Lenovo ThinkPad Edge S430 runs really well with Arch.

Only two minor issues I haven't been able to figure out yet, but I hope they are solvable:

1. Palm Detect on the ClickPad is not working at all

2. Battery drain in suspend. Not fully tested yet, but last night I put it into suspend at around 50% battery, and this morning 8 hours later, the battery was empty.

Otherwise, great machine, great distro (first time arch user)

have you found a solution about theses problems?

Offline

#1331 2013-04-19 14:14:46

youngunix
Member
Registered: 2013-01-16
Posts: 41
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Overall: I'm happy with what I've got working so far, Arch Linux x86_64 seems to be very fast and stable (thank the hardware below ;), even though it is mated with the gorgeous KDE4.

Gateway NV59C(66u) + x86_64 (64bit)

CPU: i3-370M @ 2.4GHz - 3MB -----> EXCELLENT<-----
GPU: intel HD Graphics -----> EXCELLENT<-----
RAM: 4GB (2x2GB) @ 1066MHz (however, when looked up the serial number of these modules they were Kingston clocked @ 1333MHz - Gateway WTF!!)
HDD: 500GB WD-Black @ 7200RPM - 16MB (upgrade from 500GB WD-Blue @ 5400RPM - 8MB) ----->OMG!<-----
Optical Drive: BluRay reader (working)
Network: WLAN: 802.11b/g/n Wi-Fi CERTIFIED (working flawlessly)
              WiMAX: 802.16e/2.5G WiMAX Forum Certified, featuring Mobile WiMAX (working)
              WPAN: Bluetooth® 3.0+HS or Bluetooth® 2.1+EDR (haven't enabled and used it yet)
              LAN: Gigabit Ethernet, Wake-on-LAN ready  ----> GREAT <-----

Last edited by youngunix (2013-06-12 18:57:46)


"UNIX is basically a simple operating system, but you have to be a genius to understand the simplicity." --Dennis Ritchie-- RIP

Offline

#1332 2013-04-22 16:59:40

0X1A
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 43

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Asus x401A
Runs Arch fine, pretty basic hardware. Only problem is that there has recently been a problem with controlling backlight brightness. All known work arounds do not work. All other hardware works as intended without the need of other packages other than xf86-input-synaptics.

Offline

#1333 2013-04-22 17:05:16

kellerman
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2011-07-20
Posts: 101

Re: Laptops which run Arch

0X1A wrote:

Asus x401A
Runs Arch fine, pretty basic hardware. Only problem is that there has recently been a problem with controlling backlight brightness. All known work arounds do not work. All other hardware works as intended without the need of other packages other than xf86-input-synaptics.

this one?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=157263

Offline

#1334 2013-04-24 05:34:57

0X1A
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 43

Re: Laptops which run Arch

kellerman wrote:
0X1A wrote:

Asus x401A
Runs Arch fine, pretty basic hardware. Only problem is that there has recently been a problem with controlling backlight brightness. All known work arounds do not work. All other hardware works as intended without the need of other packages other than xf86-input-synaptics.

this one?
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=157263

Yup, that exact one. This issue only appeared post 3.7, before that brightness worked perfectly fine. I also don't think this has been fixed on any of the newer kernels as of 3.9-rc7 so in the meantime I'm just going to deal with it.

Last edited by 0X1A (2013-04-24 05:35:56)

Offline

#1335 2013-04-24 21:08:09

oso96_2000
Member
From: México
Registered: 2008-09-22
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I recently got a System76 Lemur Ultra and the first thing i did was install Arch. So far, everything has worked as expected without any special configuration.

Offline

#1336 2013-04-25 13:50:10

salafrance
Member
From: Aelfang's Barrow
Registered: 2013-04-17
Posts: 35

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dual-boot Acer 5536 - everything works nicely.

Offline

#1337 2013-04-27 23:26:34

madr
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 87

Re: Laptops which run Arch

I run Arch on my Asus Eee 1001PXD. Not exactly top of the line, but it runs smoothly. Original hardware, except an SSD and extended RAM.

EDIT: But I'm thinking about replacing this piece of s**t with a ThinkPad of some sort, which according to this thread will run Arch just as smoothly.

Last edited by madr (2013-04-27 23:31:35)

Offline

#1338 2013-04-28 20:57:34

HaMF
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-07-21
Posts: 8

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Badrocklo wrote:

Asus N56VZ,

Hard with UEFI boot for windows 8, i never try the blu-ray.
The Sonic master bass won't work.

Except that all work fine.

Same model here. Different experience though:

The bass worked out of the box for me. Not, however, the ethernet card for which I had to compile the compat-drivers' alx module manually. Suspend has some issues with this module (https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=1264470 ) but works flawlessly otherwise. Some function keys needed an additional line in the kernel parameters to work, nothing big though. Usual struggle with the Nvidia GT650M (optimus), got that working and am now running CUDA programs w/o problems through it.

Biggest downside: The HDMI output does not work, probably for the reasons listed on the bumblebee wiki site. Very annoying...

I never tested the optical drive because I replaced it with a caddy for the hdd and built in a sdd. Everything else works well, its a very nice peace of software.

EDIT: PS: Using a dual-boot with EFI, works well, except that it took me half an hour to set Windows 8 up so I could google how to shut it down completely.... really microsoft?

Last edited by HaMF (2013-04-28 20:59:18)

Offline

#1339 2013-04-29 00:57:44

freestyler7
Member
Registered: 2010-11-02
Posts: 33

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Laptops which run Arch are l33t?
k8l2ZiA.png
(sorry couldn't help it)

Offline

#1340 2013-05-01 10:53:30

younishd
Member
From: somewhere in Germany
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

ASUS N56VZ
Half the hardware is not supported correctly. neutral

~YouniS

Last edited by younishd (2013-05-01 10:53:40)


Another awesome developer, librist, cypherpunk, and GNU/Linux enthusiast, who believes in freedom, privacy, mathematics, and open source.
GitHub  |  Blog

Offline

#1341 2013-05-01 11:26:03

Onyros
Member
From: Lisbon, Portugal
Registered: 2007-10-11
Posts: 293

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Thinkpad X220, only thing I didn't bother configuring was the fingerprint reader. Oh, and the touchpad, which fortunately is not even working out of the box - I prefer the trackpoint so much it's not even funny. Other than that, it works flawlessly with Arch.

Offline

#1342 2013-05-08 23:03:06

suridaj
Member
Registered: 2013-04-30
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Clevo W110ER (Schenker A102), version with Intel Centrino Advanced-N 6235 wifi+BT combo.

I am very happy with hardware compatibility on this one. I use BIOS mode and have not tried UEFI. All devices, special keys and outputs work (did not test USB3). There are only a couple of quirks to mention and I hope the following will be of help to others.

As seems to be the case with many other laptop models, the 802.11n support on iwlwifi is extremely flaky. A workaround is to disable 802.11n with module parameter "11n_disable=1".
Bluetooth works after the initial "hciconfig hci0 up" as rooot, which persists after reboot.

On kernels from 3.8.7 to 3.8.11 I have sporadically had trouble with suspend, both to ram and disk. Suspend would fail with message "Freezing of tasks failed after 20.01 seconds (0 tasks refusing to freeze, wq_busy=1)". It turned out the SD card reader module memstick was spawning a misbehaving kworker. A workaround is to unload the module rtsx_pci_ms before suspend and reload it immediately after. In my case I made a custom systemd suspend hook. Put the following code into /usr/lib/systemd/system-sleep/00-sdcard.sh and make it executable:

#!/bin/sh
case $1/$2 in
  pre/*)
    echo "Going to $2... Unloading modules"
    modprobe -r rtsx_pci_ms
    ;;
  post/*)
    echo "Waking up from $2... Reloading modules"
    modprobe rtsx_pci_ms
    ;;
esac

After two weeks of using this trick, suspend just works and the error did not come back.

If no sound is played to headphone out, or sound keeps being played to builtin speakers, check in alsamixer that the "Independent HP" switch is set to OFF.

NVIDIA GeForce GT 650M with Optimus is nicely handled by bumblebee with nvidia module 313.30, primusrun and bbswitch. There are some apparently harmless error messages in dmesg though. Every time bumblebee loads the nvidia module, the kernel reports "ACPI Error: Field [TMPB] at 274432 exceeds Buffer [ROM1] size 262144 (bits) (20121018/dsopcode-236)" and "ACPI Error: Method parse/execution failed [\_SB_.PCI0.PEG0.PEGP._ROM] (Node ffff88022606c2d0), AE_AML_BUFFER_LIMIT (20121018/psparse-537)". Also, when bbswitch tries to switch off the discrete graphics card it at first fails, but soon after that ACPI switches it from power level D0 to D3cold, which is as close to off as possible. I would like to get rid of these Optimus errors, but they do not see them influence functionality in any noticeable way.

EDIT: spelling.

Last edited by suridaj (2013-05-08 23:26:35)

Offline

#1343 2013-05-09 06:27:47

pivotraze
Member
From: Missoula, MT
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 111

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite L775-S7105. Have to use a few fixes to get it to work properly.

#1:

/etc/default/grub:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="rtl8192ce.fwlps=0 i915.semaphores=1"

#2:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-intel.conf:Section "Device"
        Identifier "Intel Graphics"
        Driver     "intel"
        Option     "AccelMethod" "sna"
        Option     "TearFree"    "true"
EndSection

#3:

/etc/mkinitcpio.conf:
MODULES="i915"

I think that's it...

Offline

#1344 2013-05-09 20:45:27

andrekp
Member
Registered: 2012-06-07
Posts: 112

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell Inspiron 1525

Runs fine on it.  Came with a Broadcom wifi card that was iffy (connections kept dropping) but upgrade to Intel card solved that 100%.

Dell Inspiron E1505

Runs fine on it.  Even with the stock Broadcom card.

Both probably have small tweaking issues as I haven't bothered trying to make them 100% complete and do everything.  Both are still fairly minimal, running openbox as both WM and DE.

Offline

#1345 2013-05-10 14:22:57

pilf
Member
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 4

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Toshiba Satellite P850-321

Everything up and running as far as I can tell for a good few months now. Only issue was getting my head around the UEFI boot installation (USB booting and the Beginner's Guide were really useful) and dual booting with WIndows 8. I was going to get rid of Windows 8 altogether but I do computer support for people and I thought a working Windows 8 installation might be useful, even if I never use it for anything else other than investigating problems smile As I managed to get it sorted I'd be happy to offer advice if anyone else has similar installation problems.

Definitely an Arch convert now.

Offline

#1346 2013-05-10 17:06:47

the.ridikulus.rat
Member
From: Indiana, USA
Registered: 2011-10-04
Posts: 765

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Lenovo Thinkpad Edge E430 3254-DAQ (India)

Arch x86_64 and Windows 8 Pro x64 dual boot in UEFI-GPT only mode (using Gummiboot), Secure Boot and BIOS CSM both disabled. More info about my laptop is at https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/HC … 0_3254-DAQ.

Last edited by the.ridikulus.rat (2013-05-10 18:54:28)

Offline

#1347 2013-05-10 18:35:08

UberCanuck
Member
From: Vancouver, BC, Canada
Registered: 2013-05-10
Posts: 1

Re: Laptops which run Arch

System76 Gazelle Professional

Everything is working great!

Offline

#1348 2013-05-11 08:43:03

nocoast
Member
Registered: 2013-03-27
Posts: 3

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Samsung Series 9 15" everything works big_smile

Offline

#1349 2013-05-12 01:56:23

RozenTensai
Member
From: Panama, Panama
Registered: 2010-07-01
Posts: 20
Website

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Updating my 3-years old netbook, which is a Compaq Mini CQ10:

Upgraded from HDD to USB boot setup (after trying a SD boot setup, using the rather slow integrated card reader/writer), upgraded to 2GB RAM maxing its hardware limit, giving me ~25s boot time from switch-on to usable desktop, increased general performance, good battery life (still ~3hours with stock battery!), and of course, little to no noise and vibration. Heat's still there but because of limited cooling power and a first-generation intel atom chipset. Running XFCE.
Loving it and not upgrading in the foreseeable future.

Only drawback it's its crappy Broadcom wifi card that works when it wants and as it wants. Keeps disconnecting in my college's campus network, but works fine in my house's and work's. Creepy.

Offline

#1350 2013-05-12 10:55:38

4p1C
Member
From: France
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 38

Re: Laptops which run Arch

Dell latitude 6430u (originally with a ubuntu)
The system works out of the box but few things doesn't work :
- The touchpad with dynaptics doesn't scroll, no multitouch support also
- The sensitive keys for sound also doesn't work (I use XFCE, the keys seem to be recognised but ...)

Didn't try the fingerprint, wimax and other usages (SC card, sd card)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB