You are not logged in.

#1 2013-04-29 20:58:01

Carlwill
Member
From: Orlando, FL
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 560
Website

Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I was curious if anyone here uses / recommends Arch Linux for dedicated server use? It seems 'most' people here are Linux enthusiast and run this as their distribution of choice. Has anyone seen or have any comments about loading this on a server or VM and using it reliably as a server like one would say Debian Linux or Slackware Linux? I understand Arch is a rolling release distribution and it's very bleeding edge which kind of impacts how reliable something can be however I've never had Arch Linux crash or do anything dumb however I've not used it massively. Would like to see how others view this topic and such.

Also for my own interests, if you don't use Arch Linux for a server based role, what do you prefer instead?

Last edited by Carlwill (2013-04-29 21:02:00)


./

Offline

#2 2013-04-29 21:00:20

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,065
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

You frequently see comments here about people using Arch for servers (virtual and real).

I'm not interested in tinkering with mine, so I run debian on it tongue


# edit: http://www.archserver.org/


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#3 2013-04-29 21:04:47

Carlwill
Member
From: Orlando, FL
Registered: 2008-10-06
Posts: 560
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

jasonwryan wrote:

ArchServer is an unofficial community project. It is still in development. There is currently no stable release suitable for production usage yet.

This turned me away back in 2008. Made it sound kind of whatever to me and it doesn't see to have made a lot of progress since 2008 when I first read that.


./

Offline

#4 2013-04-29 21:07:10

lucke
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2004-11-30
Posts: 4,018

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I've been using Arch as my home server/router for ages (routing/firewall, nfsd, sshd, cupsd, irc sessions, etc.).

Offline

#5 2013-04-29 22:53:48

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,326
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

Carlwill wrote:
jasonwryan wrote:

ArchServer is an unofficial community project. It is still in development. There is currently no stable release suitable for production usage yet.

This turned me away back in 2008. Made it sound kind of whatever to me and it doesn't see to have made a lot of progress since 2008 when I first read that.

I handed the project over to someone around 12 months after I started it. Unfortunately you're correct, it hasn't gone any further since then sad

Offline

#6 2013-04-30 00:18:43

hawaiicharles
Member
Registered: 2012-12-21
Posts: 71

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

We have one Linux server at my work place running Arch.  We outsource our payroll to another company, and every night that company sends us a set up text files via SFTP.  There's a CIFS share mounted onto the user's home directory, so when we receive the files, they end up in that CIFS share.  So in reality, the "server" is nothing but a base installation of Arch with 2 users (one for me and one for the outside company) and smbclient installed.  But it works great for what it does.  I actually had to sort of twist my supervisor's arm to let me use Linux for this project.  He wanted a Windows solution, but I convinced him that Linux would be better.

Offline

#7 2013-04-30 00:49:15

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 20,065
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#8 2013-04-30 08:49:18

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I run Arch on an office server but i don't really recommend it, dealing with constant updates can be quite tiring in an environment where you really just want stability and a low maintenance burden. In a technical sense it runs well though, this box serves as an issue tracker (Ruby/Redmine) and automated backup server for 3 other servers (rsnapshot), it hasn't had any real breakage in the ~3 years it's been in use.

Last edited by litemotiv (2013-04-30 08:52:30)


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#9 2013-04-30 14:28:15

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,636

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I know a number of people who chose Arch for personal servers. Arch Women use Arch Linux on their server. It's fine as long as one can put in the time to maintain it.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#10 2013-04-30 14:34:04

SidK
Member
Registered: 2011-03-03
Posts: 116

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I run a couple of web servers, an email server and some other misc stuff on Archlinux. Sure there's more maintenance than with other distros, but for these it projects it is worth it, at least in my opinion. At work we (rightly) don't use it, sticking to more mainstream server distros.

Offline

#11 2013-04-30 14:57:44

WorMzy
Forum Moderator
From: Scotland
Registered: 2010-06-16
Posts: 5,888
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

My home machine doubles as a server web/mpd server, I'd never use Arch on a mission-critical server though.


Sakura:-
Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-V PRO // Processor: Intel Core i7-3770K 3.4GHz // GFX: nVidia GeForce GTX 970 Ti // RAM: 32GB (4x 8GB) Corsair DDR3 (@ 2133MHz) // Storage: 1x 3TB Seagate SATAII 5x 1TB Samsung SATAII, 2x 120GB Corsair SSD

Making lemonade from lemons since 2015.

Offline

#12 2013-04-30 20:19:33

Morrad
Member
From: Washington State, USA
Registered: 2012-01-18
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

Again, not a "production" server, but I run an Arch server hosting my websites, primary mail server, and code repositories.

I've run Debian to do the same in the past, and in comparison Arch does require a bit more attention to what is being updated (twice in the past year I've had track down the cause of some service breaking during an update).  As a hobbyist user, I can tolerate poking around for a few days to find the root of a problem, and the more ad hoc tinkering element is, at least for me, a "feature" of Arch.

If you want to use Arch to host something you care more about, it may be useful to have some kind of test setup so you can break and fix things in a more private fashion.


To the optimist, the glass is half full.
To the pessimist, the glass if half empty.
To the engineer, the glass is twice as big as it needs to be.

Offline

#13 2013-04-30 23:13:50

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,326
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

fsckd wrote:

It's fine as long as one can put in the time to maintain it.

This.

Offline

#14 2013-05-01 15:41:20

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,029

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

WorMzy wrote:

My home machine doubles as a server web/mpd server, I'd never use Arch on a mission-critical server though.

I'm not sure that most people would use most of what's out there for mission critical stuff.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#15 2013-05-02 08:23:05

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 418

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I have a home server and I'm running an XBMC (with web access)/ WebServer/ Samba / Monitorix combo on it.
My router runs arch too. (Shorewall, Fail2Ban, bridged OpenVPN, SSH, Iperf server, Bind, Dhcp daemon, Dyndns, and Monitorix)

Both stable.
I've only had two major problems with the router, because of some kernel bugs always fixed in a month or so by the kernel devs,
but downgrading the kernel always solved my problems and caused me a couple of hours of time loss.

It is always fun to have someithing like this AT HOME. You learn a lot, believe me.

BTW I could hardly imagine them as prod servers/routers. Arch is rolling release, so if anything changes, it can easily break things.
I would use Debian for such things.

Last edited by scar (2013-05-03 12:32:18)


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

#16 2013-05-02 10:37:45

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,532
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

With my relatively minimal arch installation for the desktop, I usually get about 300 MB of updates per week.

In comparison my debian server doesn't get so many updates even in a month, and as a result almost no maintenance.. Agreed it has a lot less packages installed than arch, but I am sure if I used arch in its place, it would drive me nuts.

In my opinion arch is perfect for a desktop, but not so much for a server (at least a remote server).

Offline

#17 2013-05-03 08:46:45

gm112
Member
Registered: 2011-09-25
Posts: 21

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

https://wiiking2.com/forums <-- I run this on an Arch-based Linode with Lighttpd for static content, PHP-FPM/FastCGI for dynamic and its honestly not that bad to maintain.

The main trick is to stay current with the packages and always be careful with updating. I normally keep my config stored on a local backup just so if something does go wrong, I can always get things running again. It took just as long as it would normally take me to do a Debian/Ubuntu setup in all honesty, if not faster.

My advice to you is to install only what you need if you're going to install Arch on a production server. The less packages you have to worry about, the less maintaining you may or may not have to do, if any at all. We're lucky enough to have the announcements page bring up the big changes so that's something to consider.

Honestly I would only recommend using Arch as a server if you know that the web-based software that you're using really doesn't mix well with frozen versions or if you're a developer and working on your own stuff. (Which I currently am) But when they say that it is as stable as you make it, the truth cannot be any more clearer than that.

Offline

#18 2013-05-03 14:18:17

madr
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2013-04-25
Posts: 87

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

According to the Wiki archlinux.org runs on Arch (not a big surprise perhaps).

Offline

#19 2013-05-03 14:28:38

daf666
Member
Registered: 2007-04-08
Posts: 470
Website

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I ran Arch as servers or testing hosts several times, they usualy break apart after several months. No one has the extra time to maintain stuff, and Arch is constantly changing and updating... not good when needing reliability and stability... I'm sticking with Debian/Ubuntu Server at the work place the same way I am sticking with Arch at the Home place wink

Offline

#20 2013-05-04 01:08:59

fsckd
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-06-15
Posts: 3,636

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

These people use Arch on their server.


aur S & M :: forum rules :: Community Ethos
Resources for Women, POC, LGBT*, and allies

Offline

#21 2013-05-08 09:51:33

GI Jack
Member
Registered: 2010-12-29
Posts: 85

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

depends on what the server is used for.

Not in production in an institution, like a government or a corporation.

but for a home server its fine. Or any use where you can upgrade to the latest version and not break stuff.

Arch is rolling release, but it uses stable software in the main repos, so its very stable.

Offline

#22 2013-05-10 13:26:54

Multimoon
Member
From: /usr/share/zoneinfo/US/Eastern
Registered: 2012-09-30
Posts: 169

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I run 3 game servers and a website on a Arch box. I spend ~30 minutes every sunday preforming updates, and I wrote timed bash scripts for everything else. I have run it for about a year now, the biggest problem I ever had was fault of my own when I messed up a custom .service file for starting stuff.


It always makes me laugh when people complain and rage over any distro's management ideal, when this is a linux community, and you could always make your own distro and experience the pains yourself.

Offline

#23 2013-05-12 18:10:45

sjg
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-10
Posts: 61

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I run 2 Arch servers - one is at home, the other is a remote VPS that hosts a moderately successful website. Both have been up for over 18 months with only about half an hour spent maintaining them every fortnight or so.

I was a bit apprehensive (and still wouldn't recommend it for anything truly "mission critical"), but I have been impressed with how well it works for my purposes. Arch is the distro I know best and am most comfortable with, and for this reason I trust my current setup better than the Centos box I had before.

Offline

#24 2013-05-12 22:19:56

thisllub
Member
From: Northern NSW Australia
Registered: 2007-12-28
Posts: 231

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

Why would you choose Arch over RedHat, SUSE or Ubuntu?
Those distros all require a long period of turning off services after install.
For something like a VM host using KVM, Arch is easier to setup, easier to lock down and easier to test.

There are no right or wrong answers only degrees of fitness for purpose.
The less you do with a server the more suited it will be to Arch.
If you run a lot of services you are more likely to be better off with a distro configured to operate that way.

Offline

#25 2013-05-13 03:37:57

nixpunk
Member
Registered: 2009-11-23
Posts: 268

Re: Does Anyone Run Arch For Server Use?

I've been using Arch on my home servers for many years, running SSHD, MPD, VSFTPD, and NFS daemons.  I can't complain.  wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB