You are not logged in.

#2001 2013-05-04 23:29:17

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@Slovenijakp: Thank you very much for the logs!

This is what's causing the problem:

[2013-05-03 18:12] [PACMAN] upgraded libpng (1.5.15-1 -> 1.6.2-2)

EDIT: Actually, your Unity is broken because you are using [testing]. The newest libpng is not available in [extra] yet. You can try recompiling compiz-ubuntu to see if you can get Unity back up and running smile

To everyone:

Unity will be broken by the latest libpng update. Recompiling compiz should fix the issue. I'll will rebuild it for the repo as soon as libpng 1.6.2-2 hits the http://mirrors.kernel.org mirror.

Also, make sure to not downgrade libpng. All of the official arch packages are already built against the new version. Downgrading will break much more than just Unity.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-05-04 23:45:58)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2002 2013-05-05 18:39:27

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 57

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

@Slovenijakp: Thank you very much for the logs!

This is what's causing the problem:

[2013-05-03 18:12] [PACMAN] upgraded libpng (1.5.15-1 -> 1.6.2-2)

EDIT: Actually, your Unity is broken because you are using [testing]. The newest libpng is not available in [extra] yet. You can try recompiling compiz-ubuntu to see if you can get Unity back up and running smile

To everyone:

Unity will be broken by the latest libpng update. Recompiling compiz should fix the issue. I'll will rebuild it for the repo as soon as libpng 1.6.2-2 hits the http://mirrors.kernel.org mirror.

Also, make sure to not downgrade libpng. All of the official arch packages are already built against the new version. Downgrading will break much more than just Unity.

Gotcha! +1 for Chen!
I recompiled everything and now Unity works again. By the way qt4-ubuntu depends on libpng...
Unity-lens-files not working as before. Since zeitgeist is a dependence of Unity-lens-applications, which works, I suspect that there could be a problem with dbus. Also Gnome 3 team has its own version of dbus.

Offline

#2003 2013-05-06 14:08:45

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hi everyone, finally I'm serious trying Unity on Arch, but I ran into some issues:
- Ugly mouse cursor. No matter what I set with UTT or GTT, I always have an ugly black cursor that sometimes changes just for a second (like when I click on a link).
- No Options under "Personal" in System Settings. I've got everything I need under Hardware and System, but nothing under the "Personal" "tab".
- Some software in the dash have no icons nor name.

Also, quick questions:
- is there a way to remove software from the dash or I need to remove the .desktop files?
- why there's no "Google account" under Online Account (I can't access OA from system settings, but I see it in the dash)?

Thanks, great work BTW wink

Offline

#2004 2013-05-06 14:57:07

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

- https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Cursor_Themes
- the "personal group" is empty for me too.
- didn't see any of those yet... maybe some corrupted desktop files?

- afaik, you'd need to remove the desktop files, but I wouldn't recommend that
- I've got a google account to select in Online-Accounts...

Last edited by oi_wtf (2013-05-06 14:57:27)


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#2005 2013-05-06 16:29:05

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

- https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Cursor_Themes
- the "personal group" is empty for me too.
- didn't see any of those yet... maybe some corrupted desktop files?

- afaik, you'd need to remove the desktop files, but I wouldn't recommend that
- I've got a google account to select in Online-Accounts...

Thanks wink

Offline

#2006 2013-05-07 05:36:08

bubbathevtog
Member
Registered: 2013-04-12
Posts: 25

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Yeah so I guess libpng got moved to the "extra" repos. I don't have a useable unity desktop currently (I made double sure that I don't have the "testing" repo on). Here is my pacman.log and if you'd like a smaller version just for libpng here is my pacman(libpng).log

Almost forgot...you might like to see my xsession-erros.

And again Chen, Thanks so much for your support.

Last edited by bubbathevtog (2013-05-07 05:40:19)

Offline

#2007 2013-05-07 08:46:03

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

yeah, libpng16 got moved to extra,
but as stated somewhere already, you should be fine by rebuilding
qt4-ubuntu, compiz and unity


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#2008 2013-05-07 15:16:18

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hey Chen,

Any chance of you testing the patch at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/733915 which will hopefully add unread message count in unity launcher?

Offline

#2009 2013-05-07 16:29:13

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I did not have enabled testing repo, but doing pacman -Syu still broke my system. I tried to fix it (unfortunately i did not read this thread before) by doing pacman -Rc libpng and pacman -S $(pacman -Slq Unity-for-Arch), but unity does not work now. My default startup applications launches correctly (pidgin and thunderbird), but that's it, I don't see any unity components. Xfce4 and Gnome-shell works correctly. Can you help me? And if so, what informations do you need?

Last edited by gadelat (2013-05-07 16:30:06)

Offline

#2010 2013-05-07 16:49:12

bubbathevtog
Member
Registered: 2013-04-12
Posts: 25

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

oi_wtf wrote:

yeah, libpng16 got moved to extra,
but as stated somewhere already, you should be fine by rebuilding
qt4-ubuntu, compiz and unity

Yeah if i built it from source like a good boy but unfortunately for me right now I use the testing repo. I've just honestly never had unity-for-arch compile right when I try to build it from source, so it was always just easier for me to just use the repo.

Offline

#2011 2013-05-07 17:53:42

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

edmael wrote:

Hi everyone, finally I'm serious trying Unity on Arch, but I ran into some issues:
- Ugly mouse cursor. No matter what I set with UTT or GTT, I always have an ugly black cursor that sometimes changes just for a second (like when I click on a link).
- No Options under "Personal" in System Settings. I've got everything I need under Hardware and System, but nothing under the "Personal" "tab".
- Some software in the dash have no icons nor name.

Also, quick questions:
- is there a way to remove software from the dash or I need to remove the .desktop files?
- why there's no "Google account" under Online Account (I can't access OA from system settings, but I see it in the dash)?

Thanks, great work BTW wink

I'll take a look at the empty "Personal" section in gnome-control-center. For the desktop files, I could try and find out which ones are broken if you upload them (ie. tar everything in /usr/share/applications/ and ~/.local/share/applications/).

For the Online Account issue, do you have the account-plugins package installed?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2012 2013-05-07 17:58:53

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

bubbathevtog wrote:

Yeah so I guess libpng got moved to the "extra" repos. I don't have a useable unity desktop currently (I made double sure that I don't have the "testing" repo on). Here is my pacman.log and if you'd like a smaller version just for libpng here is my pacman(libpng).log

Almost forgot...you might like to see my xsession-erros.

And again Chen, Thanks so much for your support.

Thanks for the logs!

I've started rebuilds for qt4-ubuntu, compiz-ubuntu, and unity. They should be available on the repo (the dropbox one) in a couple hours smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2013 2013-05-07 18:01:13

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gadelat wrote:

I did not have enabled testing repo, but doing pacman -Syu still broke my system. I tried to fix it (unfortunately i did not read this thread before) by doing pacman -Rc libpng and pacman -S $(pacman -Slq Unity-for-Arch), but unity does not work now. My default startup applications launches correctly (pidgin and thunderbird), but that's it, I don't see any unity components. Xfce4 and Gnome-shell works correctly. Can you help me? And if so, what informations do you need?

The broken packages are currently being rebuilt. When it's done, "pacman -Syu" should get you back a usable desktop smile You can check the progress on the sidebar on the left here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2014 2013-05-07 18:21:23

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Hey Chen,

Any chance of you testing the patch at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/733915 which will hopefully add unread message count in unity launcher?

Unfortunately, that patch won't work with newer versions of pidgin-libnotify. The author of the patch would need to rewrite his/her code sad


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2015 2013-05-07 19:16:18

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 57

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

hi chen, did you progress on lens files?

Offline

#2016 2013-05-07 23:19:49

bubbathevtog
Member
Registered: 2013-04-12
Posts: 25

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

The broken packages are currently being rebuilt. When it's done, "pacman -Syu" should get you back a usable desktop smile You can check the progress on the sidebar on the left here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/

Yep, still no unity.....I just waited for Jenkins to finish all his busy work, updated, and installed it all. Here are some beautiful xsession-errors for you to glance at your leisure. Any advice would be greatly appreciated THANKS AS ALWAYS.

Offline

#2017 2013-05-08 13:25:43

Slovenijakp
Member
Registered: 2013-05-03
Posts: 13

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I have working Unity now. I shouldn't had testing repo enabled smile Though I hadn't pacman -syu for several days (like 3 or 4 days)... Is it fine to upgrade all packages, except to write libpng in IgnorePkg ( /etc/pacman.conf)? (till this issue gets fixed) I don't want to break Unity again smile
Thanks for this great project wink

Last edited by Slovenijakp (2013-05-08 13:27:57)

Offline

#2018 2013-05-08 14:31:46

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

bubbathevtog wrote:
chenxiaolong wrote:

The broken packages are currently being rebuilt. When it's done, "pacman -Syu" should get you back a usable desktop smile You can check the progress on the sidebar on the left here: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/

Yep, still no unity.....I just waited for Jenkins to finish all his busy work, updated, and installed it all. Here are some beautiful xsession-errors for you to glance at your leisure. Any advice would be greatly appreciated THANKS AS ALWAYS.

Thanks for the .xsession-errors file! What's breaking your unity (well, actually compiz) is this:

[libprotobuf ERROR google/protobuf/message_lite.cc:123] Can't parse message of type "metadata.PluginBrief" because it is missing required fields: info

People have been running into this problem, while rare, since 2008 (!). Anyway, running "compiz.reset" should get your Unity back again smile

EDIT: If you don't want to lose your compiz and Unity settings, copy /usr/bin/compiz.reset to /tmp/, edit /tmp/compiz.reset and comment out the "dconf reset" line, and run "bash /tmp/compiz.reset".

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-05-08 14:32:56)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2019 2013-05-08 14:38:29

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Slovenijakp wrote:

I have working Unity now. I shouldn't had testing repo enabled smile Though I hadn't pacman -syu for several days (like 3 or 4 days)... Is it fine to upgrade all packages, except to write libpng in IgnorePkg ( /etc/pacman.conf)? (till this issue gets fixed) I don't want to break Unity again smile
Thanks for this great project wink

It's funny, every time I update the Unity packages, I always think to myself "please don't load, please don't load, please don't load" because I never experience the problems other people do. Yet, no matter what I do, Unity always loads fine for me big_smile

Anyway, if you are using the dropbox repo in /etc/pacman.conf, then the latest updates should be fine. Also, please don't add libpng to IgnorePkg (unless you add everything that depends on libpng there too). You'll mess up your system very badly tongue


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2020 2013-05-08 15:44:46

Slovenijakp
Member
Registered: 2013-05-03
Posts: 13

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
Slovenijakp wrote:

I have working Unity now. I shouldn't had testing repo enabled smile Though I hadn't pacman -syu for several days (like 3 or 4 days)... Is it fine to upgrade all packages, except to write libpng in IgnorePkg ( /etc/pacman.conf)? (till this issue gets fixed) I don't want to break Unity again smile
Thanks for this great project wink

It's funny, every time I update the Unity packages, I always think to myself "please don't load, please don't load, please don't load" because I never experience the problems other people do. Yet, no matter what I do, Unity always loads fine for me big_smile

Anyway, if you are using the dropbox repo in /etc/pacman.conf, then the latest updates should be fine. Also, please don't add libpng to IgnorePkg (unless you add everything that depends on libpng there too). You'll mess up your system very badly tongue

Okay smile

Offline

#2021 2013-05-08 20:27:57

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:
divansantana wrote:

Hey Chen,

Any chance of you testing the patch at https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/733915 which will hopefully add unread message count in unity launcher?

Unfortunately, that patch won't work with newer versions of pidgin-libnotify. The author of the patch would need to rewrite his/her code sad

No prob thanks for checking it out smile

Offline

#2022 2013-05-09 06:04:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

I found the cause of the empty "Personal" section in GNOME Control Center. When logged in to gnome-shell, you see this:

wyM6JTH.png

Background

In gnome-shell, it looks like this: [1] http://i.imgur.com/0zvGsLl.png

Ubuntu's devs don't like that, so they made this: [2] http://i.imgur.com/TcWMXuI.png

We can't use [2] since gnome-control-center-unity is broken, so that icon is missing.

Notifications

This (http://i.imgur.com/JPjRCGm.png) is not supported by gnome-screensaver, only gnome-shell. So this icon is gone too.

Online Accounts

In gnome-shell, it looks like this: [1] http://i.imgur.com/blQKHjU.png

Of course, Ubuntu hates GNOME code, so they fork Meego's code, calls it theirs, and make this: [2] http://i.imgur.com/S8mJpFW.png

We can't use [2] since credentials-preferences-ubuntu is broken, so that icon is missing.

Privacy

Ubuntu cares about privacy?? Just kidding tongue In all seriousness, it looks like this in gnome-shell: http://i.imgur.com/tCqUMLQ.png

The version of activity-log-manager (same thing, except for Unity) in [community] doesn't support the gnome-control-center icon, so that icon is gone too.

Region & Language

Looks like this: http://i.imgur.com/vG6Sley.png

Missing because of a bug in my package. Please remind me to fix it smile

Search

It looks like this in gnome-shell: http://i.imgur.com/XN69UM1.png

In Unity, it's handled by activity-log-manager, so this icon disappears as well.

tl;dr

All the icons are missing because they are all specific to gnome-shell in GNOME 3.8. Ubuntu-specific settings panels don't work yet, so you end up with an empty section.

Update: gnome-control-center-unity now works, except that it shows up as "Unnamed" instead of "Appearance"

Update 2: Region and Language settings will now show up in Unity.

Update 3: Ubuntu Online Accounts should now should up in Unity.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-05-11 01:51:24)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2023 2013-05-09 17:14:43

edmael
Member
From: Corte de' Frati, Italy
Registered: 2012-07-19
Posts: 54
Website

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Great work Chen, thank you wink

Offline

#2024 2013-05-11 01:52:43

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

edmael wrote:

Great work Chen, thank you wink

You're welcome big_smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2025 2013-05-11 17:24:02

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

This is what happens when you have a crappy ISP: http://cxl.epac.to:8091/job/UFALCD-3.0- … /8/console

This week's LiveCD is currently reuploading...hopefully it won't fail this time smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB