You are not logged in.

#1 2013-05-14 19:42:01

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

[Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

I am not able to login to arch linux  .It says  "Incorrect login" and do not even asking for password.

I am trying to login using virtual console. GDM also do not allow me to login.

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-17 09:27:41)

Offline

#2 2013-05-14 19:48:38

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,406

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Is this new? Or has it ever worked?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2013-05-14 21:44:11

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

It is not new.I have been using it since 2-3 years.

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-14 21:44:38)

Offline

#4 2013-05-14 21:54:19

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,417
Website

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Root password work?  Change the user password from there.  Examine security logs...


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Online

#5 2013-05-14 22:37:27

gonX
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2009-08-16
Posts: 109

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Try running a fsck on whatever is holding /etc (generally /) with the filesystem unmounted.


since 2009

Offline

#6 2013-05-15 06:23:19

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Root login also does not work.As soon as i press enter after entering login name.I get incorrect login message.

Offline

#7 2013-05-15 07:15:10

scar
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2009-10-01
Posts: 411

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Try to boot with live media (arch install cd, etc), chroot into your system and see what happens.
Try to change passwords from there.


“The future has already arrived. It's just not evenly distributed yet.”
― William Gibson

Offline

#8 2013-05-15 18:08:50

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

I booted to shell using arch linux live usb .

mount /dev/sda3 /motr
cd /motr
mount -t proc proc proc/
mount -t sysfs sys sys/
mount -o bind /dev dev/
mount -t devpts pts dev/pts/

But when i did chroot /motr /bin/bash  .

It says
FATAL:kernel too old.

I have linux kernel version 3.8.10 installed and live usb have 3.8.4.

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-15 18:10:59)

Offline

#9 2013-05-15 18:12:48

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,406

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Any chance the live USB is 32 bits and Arch is 64 bits? Or vice versa?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#10 2013-05-15 18:23:25

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

No both are 64 bit.I am sure.

Offline

#11 2013-05-15 18:34:17

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

http://www.linuxquestions.org/questions … ld-737919/
Says it can be due to different version of glibc also.How to check which version of glibc is installed in live cd. I have glibc    2.17-3 installed on my system .Do not know about live image

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-15 18:36:49)

Offline

#12 2013-05-15 18:43:33

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

i have live cd 2013.03-4 archboot x86_64.
Should i use archlinux-2013.05.01-dual.iso   . This version do not have x86_64 version. I suppose dual will work for both architecture.
I was able to chroot into my system by using may's live image.
When i try to add user by using command user -r piyhatt
It says useradd:PAM Module is unknown
when i try to change password. using command passwd piyush
passwd: Module is unknown
passwd: password unchanged
piyush was my login which is not working now.

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-17 09:28:34)

Offline

#13 2013-05-15 18:47:59

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

test

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-17 09:32:19)

Offline

#14 2013-05-15 20:35:00

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Test

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-17 09:32:26)

Offline

#15 2013-05-15 20:36:33

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Piyush, please do not post consecutively. There is an Edit functionality available on your posts. Make use of it !


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#16 2013-05-16 00:13:41

cookies
Member
Registered: 2013-01-17
Posts: 253

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

Offline

#17 2013-05-16 17:25:18

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

pam_tally --reset --user <username>  and sudo pam-auth-update --force .Did not help me.

I had to reinstall pam.
I do not know for some reason both pacman.conf and mirrorlist was absent in my filesystem .
However pacsave was present.
I edited pacsave files and updated my system fully.
I am able to use my system now.

Last edited by piyushbhatt (2013-05-17 09:26:56)

Offline

#18 2013-05-16 17:36:05

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,059

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

what did you use to install Arch ?


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

#19 2013-05-17 09:25:39

piyushbhatt
Member
From: Bangalore
Registered: 2009-04-18
Posts: 65

Re: [Solved] Not able to login to arch linux

I had installed Arch linux back in 2009. I used cd image from arch linux website.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB