You are not logged in.

#1 2013-06-17 07:10:34

maba
Member
Registered: 2013-06-17
Posts: 5

Arch systemd and bus error

Bus error.

I have a problem which only occurs in Arch Linux.
It's about an open source process control system.
There are no problem with Debian, Ubuntu and Gentoo (x86 and ARM)
In Arch Linux I get a bus error.
I know it has to do with accessing memory.
The problems occurs in both x86 and the ARM versions.

My question is what is the difference between the way systemd handles the bus in ArchLinux and the other distros?

I know it is impossible to answer but maybe is there somebody who can point me to a direction .....

Best regards,

Marc

Offline

#2 2013-06-17 09:29:42

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Please post the exact error and some more details: when does it occur etc.

Offline

#3 2013-06-17 10:29:45

maba
Member
Registered: 2013-06-17
Posts: 5

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Hi Karol,

Thanks for your quick respons.

/home/pwrp/pwr/rls/os_linux/hw_x86/exp/exe/wb_open_db.sh: line 61:   673 Bus error  (core dumped) wb -q "$username" "$password" $database

systemd-coredumpctl dump -o dump1

BFD: Warning: /home/pwrp/dump1 is truncated: expected core file size >= 161722368, found: 25165824.
[New LWP 464]
Cannot access memory at address 0xb6f328f4
Cannot access memory at address 0xb6f328f0
(gdb) bt
#0 0x005c941c in dbs_Map (
sts=<error reading variable: Cannot access memory at address 0xbe90ada4>,
filename=<error reading variable: Cannot access memory at address 0xbe90ada0>) at ../../co_dbs.c:516
Cannot access memory at address 0xbe90b054
(gdb)


In file co_dbs.c:516

vep->vp = (dbs_sVolume*)(vep->base + vep->sect[dbs_eSect_volume].offset);


Proview, the process control system, this issue is about, uses while loading classes.
When I leave some classes out and use a more basic system I can get it running.
But, again, there is no problem with Ubuntu (x86), Debian (x86 and ARM) and Gentoo (x86 and ARM)......

The reason I am intersted in solving this problem is the blazing speed from Arch Linux on the Raspberry.
ArchLinux is blowing Debian and even Gentoo (hard-float versions) completely away on the Pi.

Regards,

Marc

Last edited by maba (2013-06-17 10:30:07)

Offline

#4 2013-06-17 10:57:52

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,432

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Arch Linux doesn't provide support for ARM architecture - Arch Linux ARM (different website) does https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=153431

In your first post you mentioned that

maba wrote:

The problems occurs in both x86 and the ARM versions.

Is the problem, error message etc. you posted above coming from an x86 (nn-ARM) system?

Offline

#5 2013-06-17 11:09:09

maba
Member
Registered: 2013-06-17
Posts: 5

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Hey Karol,

Sorry to be not clear enough in my last post.
The error is coming from a x86 but it's the same on the ARM version.
For me it's ok to keep focus on the x86. I think it will solve the problem on the ARM as well.

On Ubuntu, Debian and Gentoo I have no problems (x86).
As far as I know there are no problems on SuSe and Fedora as well.
It's seem to be an Arch Linux problem.

Regards,

Marc

Offline

#6 2013-06-17 11:26:12

falconindy
Developer
From: New York, USA
Registered: 2009-10-22
Posts: 4,097
Website

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

maba wrote:

My question is what is the difference between the way systemd handles the bus in ArchLinux and the other distros

Systemd has nothing to do with the "bus" in bus error. Why do you think it's involved?

Offline

#7 2013-06-17 11:51:21

maba
Member
Registered: 2013-06-17
Posts: 5

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Hi Falconindy,

Sorry, for the systemd part. I mixed systemd, bus, and D-bus.
I am no expert at all in this area.
The only thing I know is that a bus error can occur when an application tries to access memory, hardware can't address.
Why other distros have no problem is for me not clear.
I have tried different kernels in Arch as well.....

Regards,

Marc

Offline

#8 2013-06-17 20:19:42

Lone_Wolf
Member
From: Netherlands, Europe
Registered: 2005-10-04
Posts: 4,399

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Maba, did you build proview from source or do you use a binary package ?


Booting with apg Openrc, NOT systemd.
Automounting : not needed, i prefer pmount
Aur helpers : makepkg + my own local repo === rarely need them

Offline

#9 2013-06-18 05:22:41

maba
Member
Registered: 2013-06-17
Posts: 5

Re: Arch systemd and bus error

Hi Lene_Wolf,

From source.
Both 4.8.5 and 4.8.6 have the same problem.
I have both versions on Genoo and Debian running without problems.

Regards,

Marc

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB