You are not logged in.

#51 2011-09-06 01:56:28

American_Jesus
Member
From: Lisbon/Portugal
Registered: 2011-07-20
Posts: 36

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

aarchup don't stop synchronizing servers

when i try "aarchup --debug --loop-time 60", aarchup keep synchronizing servers without stopping

:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date

Archlinux X86_64

Offline

#52 2011-09-06 02:10:45

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

American_Jesus wrote:

aarchup don't stop synchronizing servers

when i try "aarchup --debug --loop-time 60", aarchup keep synchronizing servers without stopping

:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date
:: Synchronizing package databases...
 core is up to date
 extra is up to date
 community is up to date

could you post the full output of running it with --debug?

Offline

#53 2011-09-06 02:12:28

American_Jesus
Member
From: Lisbon/Portugal
Registered: 2011-07-20
Posts: 36

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

problem solved, my fault, I can not just use aarchup needs to be /usr/bin/aarchup


Archlinux X86_64

Offline

#54 2011-09-06 02:14:00

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

American_Jesus wrote:

problem solved, my fault, I can not just use aarchup needs to be /usr/bin/aarchup

just out of curiosity what output of "$ which aarchup"

Offline

#55 2011-09-06 02:18:09

American_Jesus
Member
From: Lisbon/Portugal
Registered: 2011-07-20
Posts: 36

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

aericson wrote:
American_Jesus wrote:

problem solved, my fault, I can not just use aarchup needs to be /usr/bin/aarchup

just out of curiosity what output of "$ which aarchup"

$ which aarchup
/usr/bin/aarchup

Archlinux X86_64

Offline

#56 2011-09-06 02:21:38

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

American_Jesus wrote:
aericson wrote:
American_Jesus wrote:

problem solved, my fault, I can not just use aarchup needs to be /usr/bin/aarchup

just out of curiosity what output of "$ which aarchup"

$ which aarchup
/usr/bin/aarchup

thats wierd there should be no difference between $ aarchup and $ /usr/bin/aarchup

Offline

#57 2013-04-01 04:46:57

HarD
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2011-08-11
Posts: 30

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

Hi

Can you help me, all is works - but i cann't see icons in tray... only notify-osd...

Offline

#58 2013-04-15 16:00:57

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

HarD wrote:

Hi

Can you help me, all is works - but i cann't see icons in tray... only notify-osd...


It's not supposed to. Aarchup is only supposed to notify. At the screenshot at the first post it shows an icon because that's how gnome-shell handles it.

Offline

#59 2013-06-29 22:03:35

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

innn wrote:

Hi, I try to run aarchup like this

 /usr/bin/aarchup --loop-time 2 --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg &

and get:

(process:1670): libnotify-CRITICAL **: notify_notification_show: assertion `error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

What am I doing wrong?

I get the same error. Basically if I try and run aarchup as a cron.hourly script, i.e. running as

su - $arch_user -c "XAUTHORITY= ....

I get:

DEBUG(error): It could have been caused by an enviroment restart.
DEBUG(error): Trying to work around it by reinitin libnotify.

(process:30782): libnotify-CRITICAL **: notify_notification_show: assertion `error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

and no notification.

If I just run "XAUTHORITY= ...." in a terminal that works fine and the notification pops up ok. So it's the

su -$arch_user -c

bit which is causing the error. Any suggestions as I'd really like to run aarchup as a cron job. Many thanks!

p.s. I'm running Gnome 3.

Last edited by dangermouse (2013-06-29 22:04:23)

Offline

#60 2013-06-30 00:35:17

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

dangermouse wrote:
innn wrote:

Hi, I try to run aarchup like this

 /usr/bin/aarchup --loop-time 2 --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg &

and get:

(process:1670): libnotify-CRITICAL **: notify_notification_show: assertion `error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

What am I doing wrong?

I get the same error. Basically if I try and run aarchup as a cron.hourly script, i.e. running as

su - $arch_user -c "XAUTHORITY= ....

I get:

DEBUG(error): It could have been caused by an enviroment restart.
DEBUG(error): Trying to work around it by reinitin libnotify.

(process:30782): libnotify-CRITICAL **: notify_notification_show: assertion `error == NULL || *error == NULL' failed

and no notification.

If I just run "XAUTHORITY= ...." in a terminal that works fine and the notification pops up ok. So it's the

su -$arch_user -c

bit which is causing the error. Any suggestions as I'd really like to run aarchup as a cron job. Many thanks!

p.s. I'm running Gnome 3.


amielke suggested that the following works at Gnome 3 at https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/aarchup/

DISPLAY=:0 /usr/bin/aarchup --uid $(id -u $arch_user) --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg

I don't have the means to test it now, sorry.
Can't get it to work in my box (not gnorme) via crontab either.

Hope someone else can help you with that.

Last edited by aericson (2013-06-30 00:36:01)

Offline

#61 2013-06-30 08:00:20

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

aericson wrote:

amielke suggested that the following works at Gnome 3 at https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/aarchup/

DISPLAY=:0 /usr/bin/aarchup --uid $(id -u $arch_user) --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg

I don't have the means to test it now, sorry.
Can't get it to work in my box (not gnorme) via crontab either.

Hope someone else can help you with that.

Many thanks for the reply! Sadly that just gives the same error. It works when executed from a command line, but not when run as part of a cron.hourly script.

It's good to know you can't get it to work via crontab either. I might give up on that then. Has anyone been able to get it to work via crontab? Might be worth amending the documentation to say it is a known bug and/or doesn't work at all using crontab?
Many thanks.

Offline

#62 2013-06-30 08:13:59

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,146

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

@dangermouse: Maybe try to set XAUTHORITY in the cron script?

Offline

#63 2013-06-30 08:29:16

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

progandy wrote:

@dangermouse: Maybe try to set XAUTHORITY in the cron script?

Hi Progandy many thanks for the suggestion! Any advice on how to do that?

Offline

#64 2013-06-30 16:12:02

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

I'll wait a bit to see if someone can come up with a solution, will change documentation if necessary after.

Sorry about that, it used to work before, eventually some update must have broken it. hmm

Offline

#65 2013-06-30 16:36:11

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

No worries aericson. I realized after I posted that aarchup is a fork so would have inherited the previous documentation. It's no big deal if it doesn't work using cron as long as there is another way to get it to run. Problem is at the moment I can't even get it to run using the loop option.

I currently have the following in my ./config/autostart folder:

/usr/bin/aarchup --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg &

and that works when I log into gnome to give me a 1-time notification of any updates (which is great btw!). However when I try and add the loop-time option to give me updates every X minutes:

/usr/bin/aarchup --loop-time 10 --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg &

it stops working even once. I can run the above command in a terminal and it works, but it needs me to enter my sudo password. I'm guessing the sudo password is what is stopping it from running in my autostart. Any ideas how I can fix it? Many thanks!

Offline

#66 2013-06-30 17:01:31

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

dangermouse wrote:

No worries aericson. I realized after I posted that aarchup is a fork so would have inherited the previous documentation. It's no big deal if it doesn't work using cron as long as there is another way to get it to run. Problem is at the moment I can't even get it to run using the loop option.

I currently have the following in my ./config/autostart folder:

/usr/bin/aarchup --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg &

and that works when I log into gnome to give me a 1-time notification of any updates (which is great btw!). However when I try and add the loop-time option to give me updates every X minutes:

/usr/bin/aarchup --loop-time 10 --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg &

it stops working even once. I can run the above command in a terminal and it works, but it needs me to enter my sudo password. I'm guessing the sudo password is what is stopping it from running in my autostart. Any ideas how I can fix it? Many thanks!

       You will also need to allow pacman -Sy to be executed without asking  for
       sudo's password.  Edit visudo:

                $ sudo visudo

       Add the following line to the end of the file.

                user ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/pacman -Sy

done that?

Offline

#67 2013-06-30 19:15:05

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

aericson wrote:
       You will also need to allow pacman -Sy to be executed without asking  for
       sudo's password.  Edit visudo:

                $ sudo visudo

       Add the following line to the end of the file.

                user ALL=(ALL) NOPASSWD: /usr/bin/pacman -Sy

done that?

Doh! I hadn't done that. Sorry for the newbie mistake. Many thanks for the help!

Offline

#68 2013-06-30 19:33:32

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

Have added the line using:

sudo visudo

but it's still not working.It doesn't autostart and when I try and run it from a terminal it still asks for a password.

Offline

#69 2013-06-30 19:34:52

progandy
Member
Registered: 2012-05-17
Posts: 2,146

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

dangermouse wrote:
progandy wrote:

@dangermouse: Maybe try to set XAUTHORITY in the cron script?

Hi Progandy many thanks for the suggestion! Any advice on how to do that?

https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ar … _intervals

Offline

#70 2013-06-30 19:44:13

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

dangermouse wrote:

Have added the line using:

sudo visudo

but it's still not working.It doesn't autostart and when I try and run it from a terminal it still asks for a password.

you changed 'user' to your user name right?

does 'sudo pacman -Sy' asks for password?

Offline

#71 2013-06-30 20:39:13

dangermouse
Member
Registered: 2013-06-02
Posts: 11

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

aericson wrote:

you changed 'user' to your user name right?

does 'sudo pacman -Sy' asks for password?

Apologies! Sorry I should have done that. Everything is working great now. Many thanks for maintaining a great package!

Last edited by dangermouse (2013-06-30 20:39:34)

Offline

#72 2013-06-30 20:42:20

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

dangermouse wrote:
aericson wrote:

you changed 'user' to your user name right?

does 'sudo pacman -Sy' asks for password?

Apologies! Sorry I should have done that. Everything is working great now. Many thanks for maintaining a great package!

No problems, I forgot the line to change the user when I copied here smile

Offline

#73 2013-09-26 20:30:25

RaphaelR
Member
Registered: 2013-01-18
Posts: 2

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

Hi

This works great for me in crontab. It looks for gnome-shell process, and looks for DBUS id in its env. If someone find a way to make it run with 'su' it may be better.

GSPID=$(pidof gnome-shell)
if [ -e "/proc/$GSPID/environ" ]; then
 export $(</proc/$GSPID/environ tr \\0 \\n | grep -E '^DBUS_SESSION_BUS_ADDRESS=')
 export XAUTHORITY=$(/usr/bin/find /var/run/gdm -path "*${arch_user}*/database")
 export DISPLAY=:0
 /usr/bin/aarchup  --uid $(id -u $arch_user) --icon /usr/share/aarchup/archlogo.svg
fi

Hope that will help.

Offline

#74 2015-03-13 14:54:19

krabat
Member
Registered: 2014-07-03
Posts: 24

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

I'm just trying to track some findings regarding LXQt's notification daemon and would like to ask two questions in this context:

Desktop Notifications Specification states, among other, three message components "Application Name", "Summary" and "Body".
Could you tell me which ones are sent to notification daemon by aarchup?

The second one is about the message body's nature. In general I'd like to know whether it's just ordinary text or markup. In particular I'd like to know how line breaks are marked - control characters like \n or \r, empty lines or what ever.

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#75 2015-03-14 00:47:47

aericson
Member
Registered: 2011-03-22
Posts: 49

Re: Aarchup a fork from archup

krabat wrote:

I'm just trying to track some findings regarding LXQt's notification daemon and would like to ask two questions in this context:

Desktop Notifications Specification states, among other, three message components "Application Name", "Summary" and "Body".
Could you tell me which ones are sent to notification daemon by aarchup?

The second one is about the message body's nature. In general I'd like to know whether it's just ordinary text or markup. In particular I'd like to know how line breaks are marked - control characters like \n or \r, empty lines or what ever.

Thanks in advance.

Application name: "New Updates"
Summary: "New updates for Arch Linux available!"
Category: "update"

Body is the text (after the summary line) itself as seen on the screenshot:
0XtWXs7.png
It starts with the string "There are updates for:\n" followed by the packages.
They are separated by a single "\n" character. And the limit of packages is defined by the command line flag -m|--maxentries (30 packages by default).

The following depends on your configuration:
Urgency (default: normal), timeout (default: 60min) and icon (default: nothing).

Hope that helps. Setting the --debug flag might help you.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB