You are not logged in.

#2201 2013-07-10 01:26:39

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Can someone please test to see if the new libunity update fixes the ordering of the indicators?


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2202 2013-07-10 02:44:35

serdotlinecho
Member
Registered: 2013-01-26
Posts: 100

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

Can someone please test to see if the new libunity update fixes the ordering of the indicators?

Nope, same bug as my previous screenshot after reboot.

[2013-07-10 10:24] [PACMAN] Running 'pacman -Syu'
[2013-07-10 10:24] [PACMAN] synchronizing package lists
[2013-07-10 10:25] [PACMAN] starting full system upgrade
[2013-07-10 10:29] [PACMAN] upgraded accountsservice (0.6.32-1 -> 0.6.34-1)
[2013-07-10 10:29] [PACMAN] upgraded alsa-lib (1.0.27.1-1 -> 1.0.27.2-1)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded aurora (24.0a2+20130709+df3a83239842-1 -> 24.0a2+20130710+5f6979e4afaa-1)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded indicator-power (12.10.6daily13.03.07-105 -> 12.10.6daily13.07.03.1-101)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded indicator-session (12.10.5daily13.05.06.1-100 -> 12.10.5daily13.07.03.1-101)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded kmod (13-2 -> 14-1)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded libunity (7.0.4daily13.06.19-100 -> 7.0.7daily13.07.03.2-100)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded reiserfsprogs (3.6.22-2 -> 3.6.23-1)
[2013-07-10 10:30] [PACMAN] upgraded unity-scope-home (6.8.0daily13.06.19-1 -> 6.8.1.13.10.20130702-1)
-- Logs begin at Mon 2013-06-03 21:32:07 MYT, end at Wed 2013-07-10 10:34:49 MYT. --
Jul 10 10:34:49 archelin goa[1282]: goa-daemon version 3.8.2 starting [main.c:113, main()]
Jul 10 10:34:41 archelin gnome-session[1066]: Entering running state
Jul 10 10:34:39 archelin gnome-session[1066]: WARNING: Could not parse desktop file gnome-fallback-mount-helper.desktop or it references a not found TryExec binary
Jul 10 10:34:39 archelin pulseaudio[1115]: [pulseaudio] pid.c: Stale PID file, overwriting.
Jul 10 10:33:28 archelin gnome-session[425]: Unrecoverable failure in required component compiz.desktop
Jul 10 10:33:28 archelin gnome-session[425]: WARNING: App 'compiz.desktop' respawning too quickly
Jul 10 10:33:28 archelin gnome-session[425]: WARNING: Application 'compiz.desktop' killed by signal 11
Jul 10 10:33:23 archelin gnome-session[425]: Unrecoverable failure in required component compiz.desktop
Jul 10 10:33:23 archelin gnome-session[425]: CRITICAL: We failed, but the fail whale is dead. Sorry....
Jul 10 10:33:23 archelin gnome-session[425]: WARNING: App 'compiz.desktop' respawning too quickly
Jul 10 10:33:23 archelin gnome-session[425]: WARNING: Application 'compiz.desktop' killed by signal 9
Jul 10 10:32:36 archelin goa[648]: goa-daemon version 3.8.2 starting [main.c:113, main()]
Jul 10 10:32:24 archelin gnome-session[425]: Entering running state
Jul 10 10:32:21 archelin gnome-session[425]: WARNING: Could not parse desktop file gnome-fallback-mount-helper.desktop or it references a not found TryExec binary

Last edited by serdotlinecho (2013-07-10 02:46:36)

Offline

#2203 2013-07-10 06:32:15

Drumitar
Member
Registered: 2011-04-13
Posts: 73

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

i had this working awhile ago, but is the easiest way to get up and running from a net install to do this ?


add to /etc/pacman.conf:

[unity]
Server = http://unity.xe-xe.org/$arch

[unity-extra]
Server = http://unity.xe-xe.org/extra/$arch

and do

# pacman -Suy
# pacman -S $(pacman -Slq unity)


i see there are alternate repos in the wiki, which do i use ?

Offline

#2204 2013-07-11 00:01:09

whzee
Member
Registered: 2011-12-23
Posts: 20

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Drumitar wrote:

i had this working awhile ago, but is the easiest way to get up and running from a net install to do this ?


add to /etc/pacman.conf:

[unity]
Server = http://unity.xe-xe.org/$arch

[unity-extra]
Server = http://unity.xe-xe.org/extra/$arch

and do

# pacman -Suy
# pacman -S $(pacman -Slq unity)


i see there are alternate repos in the wiki, which do i use ?

Use this repo insteadl:

[Unity-for-Arch]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/486665/Repos/Un … Arch/$arch

[Unity-for-Arch-Extra]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/486665/Repos/Un … xtra/$arch

This usually works as its updated often.

cheers.

Offline

#2205 2013-07-11 03:46:15

Drumitar
Member
Registered: 2011-04-13
Posts: 73

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

okay thanks

can i just do pacman -S unity ?

Offline

#2206 2013-07-11 04:11:32

Thaodan
Member
From: Dortmund, Nordrein-Westfalen
Registered: 2012-04-28
Posts: 440

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

A package for globalmenu in java: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/java … globalmenu sadly its unity only and don't works in other dbus menus.


Linux odin 3.13.1-pf #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Mar 5 21:47:28 CET 2014 x86_64 GNU/Linux

Offline

#2207 2013-07-11 04:18:51

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

The new Unity update fixes the ordering of the indicators and the missing calendar smile


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2208 2013-07-11 05:29:43

Drumitar
Member
Registered: 2011-04-13
Posts: 73

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

okay i used this repo

[Unity-for-Arch]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/486665/Repos/Un … Arch/$arch
[Unity-for-Arch-Extra]
SigLevel = Optional TrustAll
Server = http://dl.dropbox.com/u/486665/Repos/Un … xtra/$arch

# pacman -Suy
# pacman -S $(pacman -Slq Unity-for-Arch)

but im getting alot of errors

"error: failed to commit transaction (conflicting files)
/usr/include/libdbusmenu-gtk-0.4/libdbusmenu-gtk/client.h exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/include/libdbusmenu-gtk-0.4/libdbusmenu-gtk/dbusmenu-gtk.h exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/include/libdbusmenu-gtk-0.4/libdbusmenu-gtk/menu.h exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/include/libdbusmenu-gtk-0.4/libdbusmenu-gtk/menuitem.h exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/include/libdbusmenu-gtk-0.4/libdbusmenu-gtk/parser.h exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/lib/girepository-1.0/DbusmenuGtk-0.4.typelib exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/lib/libdbusmenu-gtk.so exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/lib/libdbusmenu-gtk.so.4 exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/lib/libdbusmenu-gtk.so.4.0.12 exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/lib/pkgconfig/dbusmenu-gtk-0.4.pc exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/share/gir-1.0/DbusmenuGtk-0.4.gir exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
/usr/share/vala/vapi/DbusmenuGtk-0.4.vapi exists in both 'libdbusmenu-gtk2' and 'libdbusmenu-gtk3'
Errors occurred, no packages were upgraded.
"

Last edited by Drumitar (2013-07-11 06:40:22)

Offline

#2209 2013-07-12 06:58:07

thedeli
Member
Registered: 2010-02-14
Posts: 58

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Using Unity on Arch is great smile thanks for all of your work smile there is one or two things smile they can be fixed smile first of all is I have installed Ecliz from AUR. cursor theme is working on firefox, but in desktop it is ugly black X cursor sad is there a fix for that?

Last edited by thedeli (2013-07-12 07:08:26)

Offline

#2210 2013-07-17 12:21:06

gianluca.pettinello
Member
Registered: 2013-04-16
Posts: 57

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Hello all,
I see that qt4 is now at 4.8.5 in arch. But Ubuntu is 4.8.4. Is there a hope to get to release 4.8.5?
Also compiz is now at 13.06.19 while here we are at 13.04.18. I checked that boost 1.54 is creating problems in compiling compiz 13.06.19. Any idea how to fix?

Ciao
Gianluca

Offline

#2211 2013-07-17 12:22:11

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Install 4.8.5 from source, i did it and it works fine.

Offline

#2212 2013-07-17 21:23:26

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

gianluca.pettinello wrote:

Hello all,
I see that qt4 is now at 4.8.5 in arch. But Ubuntu is 4.8.4. Is there a hope to get to release 4.8.5?
Also compiz is now at 13.06.19 while here we are at 13.04.18. I checked that boost 1.54 is creating problems in compiling compiz 13.06.19. Any idea how to fix?

Ciao
Gianluca

Thanks for the info! I'll try to get the latest compiz to compile correctly. Qt-ubuntu will be updated as soon as that 400MB download finishes smile

EDIT: Qt may take a little bit. I need to fix the patches so they apply correctly.

Last edited by chenxiaolong (2013-07-17 21:49:31)


Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2213 2013-07-19 06:15:17

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Does anyone else have an issue with the unity panel sometimes consuming 100% of a processor and freeze up every now and then?

I notice for example, my time is lagging/outdated/frozen and the panel hangs every now and then.

I then have to issue this command to fix it:
kill -9 `ps -ef |grep unity-panel|awk '{print $2}'|tr '\n' ' '` ; sleep 1 && unity --replace&

It's a real pain...

Could be as a result of me using hud=13.04.0daily13.04.03-103...

Offline

#2214 2013-07-19 23:12:25

chenxiaolong
Member
From: /home/chenxiaolong
Registered: 2010-11-03
Posts: 779

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

divansantana wrote:

Does anyone else have an issue with the unity panel sometimes consuming 100% of a processor and freeze up every now and then?

I notice for example, my time is lagging/outdated/frozen and the panel hangs every now and then.

I then have to issue this command to fix it:
kill -9 `ps -ef |grep unity-panel|awk '{print $2}'|tr '\n' ' '` ; sleep 1 && unity --replace&

It's a real pain...

Could be as a result of me using hud=13.04.0daily13.04.03-103...

I'd suggest resetting the Compiz settings if you haven't done so already. I haven't ran into that issue, so I'm not quite sure what would be causing it.

You could also try recompiling that version:

cd hud
git checkout cb29a01058f9ba25d5541888437b6a57e29b6cc8
makepkg -fsic
git checkout master

By the way, there's no need for that "ps -ef" stuff. They made this for a reason wink

pgrep unity-panel

Current system: Lenovo W520
Unity-for-Arch repos' build statuses and old packages: https://jenkins.noobdev.io/

Offline

#2215 2013-07-21 16:31:16

EgorMatirov
Member
Registered: 2013-07-21
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Install:

  • telepathy-gabble: XMPP/Jabber support

  • telepathy-idle: IRC support

  • telepathy-salut: Link-local XMPP support

  • telepathy-rakia: SIP support

Then the fields will be displayed.

Offline

#2216 2013-07-21 17:02:28

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@EgorMatirov Thanks, I did not have those packages installed, but nothing changed after installing them, even after gtk-update-icon-cache and x-session restart nothing changed :-/

Offline

#2217 2013-07-22 06:32:07

EgorMatirov
Member
Registered: 2013-07-21
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@gadelat Strange... It's works for me:
http://storage6.static.itmages.ru/i/13/ … d8447d.png
http://storage6.static.itmages.ru/i/13/ … 709307.png
Try to install account-plugins

Offline

#2218 2013-07-22 10:28:43

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@EgorMatirov Well unability to add new account I fixed somehow last week, but I have still no icons, even after installing account-plugins. Where does it load these icons from anyway?

Last edited by gadelat (2013-07-22 10:29:04)

Offline

#2219 2013-07-22 11:40:40

EgorMatirov
Member
Registered: 2013-07-21
Posts: 4

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

@gadelat I think, it loads icons from /usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/
For example:
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/irc.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/jabber.png
/usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/twitter.png

Offline

#2220 2013-07-22 12:27:58

gadelat
Member
Registered: 2013-03-11
Posts: 49

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Wow, this is so weird. I set 777 permissions for /usr/share/icons/hicolor/32x32/apps/icq.png , opened online accounts and suddenly icons were there... then i set permissions back to 644 and opened it again and they are still there. Well at least it's working now.

Offline

#2221 2013-07-27 18:12:02

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

chenxiaolong wrote:

I'd suggest resetting the Compiz settings if you haven't done so already. I haven't ran into that issue, so I'm not quite sure what would be causing it.

You could also try recompiling that version:

cd hud
git checkout cb29a01058f9ba25d5541888437b6a57e29b6cc8
makepkg -fsic
git checkout master

I installed with pre-compiled packages but will try the above and see.

chenxiaolong wrote:

By the way, there's no need for that "ps -ef" stuff. They made this for a reason wink

pgrep unity-panel

Yeah that is better. smile

Btw does themes work for anyone else?
At the moment "appearance" and unity tweak tool are only showing Ambiance and Radiance as options even though all the others are installed in /usr/share/themes .

Any idea?

Offline

#2222 2013-07-27 18:17:51

oi_wtf
Member
From: /home/wtf
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 190

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

use gnome-tweak-tool,
I don't see any reason why only ambiance &co. are shown in unitys appearance, though...
the theme's files are apparently no different from any other theme.


Laptop:   Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-3630QM @ 2.40GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GT 650M 2 GiB
Desktop: Arch Linux (x86_64) and Win8.1 (x86_64);  Intel Core i7-4771  @ 3.50GHz, 8 GiB RAM, NViDiA GeForce GTX 660 Ti 2GiB

Offline

#2223 2013-07-27 18:29:05

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

wow that was a quick reply...
gnome-tweak-tool does the same thing.
I don't remember installing anything for Raleigh theme etc to work in the past.
I see the directory is there but it only has one file in
/usr/share/themes/Raleigh/gtk-2.0/gtkrc

Perhaps not installed correctly.
i remember this theme being installed by default in the past? Is it in AUR or anywhere?
68K     AgingGorilla
1.3M    Ambiance
24K     Atlanta
44K     Bright
32K     bubble
372K    Crux
20K     Default
20K     Emacs
44K     Esco
28K     Metabox
1.4M    Radiance
12K     Raleigh
40K     Simple

Offline

#2224 2013-07-27 18:39:29

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Tried installing aur/gtk-theme-ubuntu-community and others and still only radiance and ambiance listed under 'gtk+ themes'...

Offline

#2225 2013-07-27 18:42:39

divansantana
Member
Registered: 2011-01-21
Posts: 117

Re: Progress on Unity under Arch Linux!

Ok, i see the old themes installed were gtk2 themes. Had to install a gtk3 based theme.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB