You are not logged in.

#1 2013-07-16 14:25:50

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 307

[SOLVED] zsh start up issue

When I open a new zsh session it is listing all aliases known to it.

the only change is placing my aliases in a separate file & sourcing it in my ~/.zsrch
even if I put the aliases back in the .zsrc file the same behaviour occurs.

Is this trying to tell me I have syntax issue's or too many ???
I only ask because it is just dumping them all to stdout upon startup (including ones I never knew I had!) without error & the aliases still work.

here is what it looks like:

...='cd ../../'
aur='pacaur -y'
auri='pacaur -ii'
aurs='pacaur -s'
aurup='pacaur -u'
aurupc='pacaur -k'
config='git --git-dir=/home/t0m5k1/.arch-config.git/ --work-tree=/home/t0m5k1'
cpuinfo=lscpu
da='du -sch'
dir='ls --color=auto --format=vertical'
dnstop='sudo dnstop -l 5  eth1'
egrep='egrep --color=auto'
ethtool='sudo ethtool eth1'
fgrep='fgrep --color=auto'
grep='grep --color=auto'
help-zshglob=H-Glob
iftop='sudo iftop -i eth1'
insecscp='scp -o "StrictHostKeyChecking=no" -o "UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null"'
insecssh='ssh -o "StrictHostKeyChecking=no" -o "UserKnownHostsFile=/dev/null"'
j='jobs -l'
keep='noglob keep'
l='ls -CF'
la='ls -Al'
lad='ls -d .*(/)'
lc='ls -lcr'
lh='ls -hAl --color=auto'
lk='ls -lSr'
ll='ls -l'
lm='ls -al |more'
lr='ls -lR'
ls='ls -hF --color'
lsa='ls -a .*(.)'
lsbig='ls -flh *(.OL[1,10])'
lsd='ls -d *(/)'
lse='ls -d *(/^F)'
lsl='ls -l *(@)'
lsnew='ls -rtlh *(D.om[1,10])'
lsnewdir='ls -rthdl *(/om[1,10]) .*(D/om[1,10])'
lsold='ls -rtlh *(D.Om[1,10])'
lsolddir='ls -rthdl *(/Om[1,10]) .*(D/Om[1,10])'
lss='ls -l *(s,S,t)'
lssmall='ls -Srl *(.oL[1,10])'
lsw='ls -ld *(R,W,X.^ND/)'
lsx='ls -l *(*)'
lt='ls -ltr'
lu='ls -lur'
lx='ls -lXB'
mdstat='cat /proc/mdstat'
meminfo='free -m -l -t'
new=modified
nn=nano
nocomment='sudo grep -Ev '\''\'\'\''^(#|$)'\''\'\'\'
ns='sudo netstat -alnp --protocol=inet | less'
pac='sudo pacman -S'
pacc='sudo pacman -Sc'
pacf='sudo pacman -Ql'
paci='sudo pacman -Sii'
pacl='sudo pacman -Sl'
pacld='sudo pacman -Qi'
pacll='sudo pacman -Qqm'
paclo='sudo pacman -Qdt'
pacm='sudo makepkg -fci'
paco='sudo pacman -Qo'
pacp='sudo pacman -Rns'
pacr='sudo pacman -Rs'
pacs='sudo pacman -Ss'
pacu='sudo pacman -Syu'
ports='sudo netstat -nape --inet | less'
poweroff='sudo power off'
pscpu='ps auxf | sort -nr -k 3'
pscpu10='ps auxf | sort -nr -k 3 | head -10'
psmem='ps auxf | sort -nr -k 4'
psmem10='ps auxf | sort -nr -k 4 | head -10'
reboot='sudo reboot'
rmcdir='cd ..; rmdir $OLDPWD || cd $OLDPWD'
root='sudo sudo -s'
scat='sudo cat'
screen='/usr/bin/screen -c /home/t0m5k1/.screenrc'
se=simple-extract
sless='sudo less'
snan='sudo nano'
svim='sudo vim'
tcpdump='sudo tcpdump -i eth1'
term2iso='echo '\''Setting terminal to iso mode'\'' ; print -n '\''\e%@'\'
term2utf='echo '\''Setting terminal to utf-8 mode'\''; print -n '\''\e%G'\'
tree='tree -Csu'
url-quote='autoload -U url-quote-magic ; zle -N self-insert url-quote-magic'
vdir='ls --color=auto --format=long'
vi=vim
vnstat='sudo vnstat -i eth1'
which-command=whence
┌─(t0m5k1@b0x)-(2065/pts/0)-(04:13pm:16/07/13)-
└─>(%:~)
└─>> 

I see this in a new window or even if I start zsh from a bash session.

any clues here

ADDITIONAL INFO:

packages used relating to ZSH:

extra/grml-zsh-config 0.8.2-1 [installed]
    grml's zsh setup
extra/zsh 5.0.2-2 [installed]
    A very advanced and programmable command interpreter (shell) for UNIX
community/zsh-lovers 0.8.3-2 [installed]
    A collection of tips, tricks and examples for the Z shell.

Config files:
my .zsrc & alias file
http://sprunge.us/YAQR
unedited /etc/zsh/zshrc
http://sprunge.us/IOJY

Last edited by t0m5k1 (2013-07-16 15:50:58)


Optiplex 790, Intel Core i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz 16Mb Corsair Vengeance 1333Mhz - GeForce 970 - AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

#2 2013-07-16 14:28:05

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] zsh start up issue

Uuuhhh... what does the alias file look like... and your zshrc?

Offline

#3 2013-07-16 14:32:29

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 307

Re: [SOLVED] zsh start up issue

doh!
sorry forgot them:

my .zsrc & alias file
http://sprunge.us/YAQR
unedited /etc/zsh/zshrc
http://sprunge.us/IOJY


Optiplex 790, Intel Core i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz 16Mb Corsair Vengeance 1333Mhz - GeForce 970 - AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

#4 2013-07-16 14:48:30

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: [SOLVED] zsh start up issue

So additionally, you also use grml... that would have been some nice info to have shared up front.

Offline

#5 2013-07-16 15:08:54

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 307

Re: [SOLVED] zsh start up issue

well like I said all was fine until I moved my aliases to a separate file & since then I faced problems which made me think I caused the issue not something I had been using since I installed zsh!

Will edit main post to show

In the meantime if this happened to you what do you think the cause could be?


Optiplex 790, Intel Core i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz 16Mb Corsair Vengeance 1333Mhz - GeForce 970 - AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

#6 2013-07-16 15:19:16

Trilby
Forum Moderator
From: Massachusetts, USA
Registered: 2011-11-29
Posts: 13,843
Website

Re: [SOLVED] zsh start up issue

Yes, grml itself isn't likely the problem.  And moving a couple aliases (by itself) should not be a problem.  But combined, it adds a layer of complexity that could be part of the explanation, so it is important.

I would suspect the problem is in the configuration file(s).  Given that there seems to be *several* hundred lines there (do you use all that?) I would not pour through it looking for potential issues.  Instead, rename/move the configs, and restart zsh - is the problem gone?  If so, start adding things back little by little: add back the first half of the config, is the problem still there?  etc, etc.


InterrobangSlider
• How's my coding? See this page.
• How's my moderating? Feel free to email any concerns, complaints, or objections.

Online

#7 2013-07-16 15:50:38

t0m5k1
Member
From: overthere
Registered: 2012-02-10
Posts: 307

Re: [SOLVED] zsh start up issue

Trilby wrote:

Given that there seems to be *several* hundred lines there (do you use all that?)

lol yea got fed up with searching my history!

Trilby wrote:

rename/move the configs, and restart zsh - is the problem gone?  If so, start adding things back little by little: add back the first half of the config, is the problem still there?  etc, etc.

yup just decided to do that & have found 2 possible issue's
1) changed all " for ' to follow the same syntax as /etc/zsh/zshrc
2) found a blank alias so removed it

all working thanks trilby for pointers/logic smile & wonderwoofy for pointing out the lack of info sad


Optiplex 790, Intel Core i3-2100 CPU @ 3.10GHz 16Mb Corsair Vengeance 1333Mhz - GeForce 970 - AwesomeWM (occasionally XFCE, i3)

If everything in life was easy, we would learn nothing!
Linux User: 401820   Last FM

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB