You are not logged in.

#1 2010-07-01 20:49:22

rsantiba
Member
From: Temuco, Chile
Registered: 2010-06-22
Posts: 8
Website

Clustering in Arch

Hi Archers:

I've used this distro since 3 years in workstations and my netbook Toshiba NB200 and everything works fine. Now the challenge is to build a cluster with 3 server machines. Everyone is a DELL PowerEdge

The Master: PowerEdge R710
The Node: PowerEdge 2950
The Node: PowerEdge R710

A litle photo reference

P1030117.JPG

Any Suggestion before apply axe?

Last edited by rsantiba (2010-07-05 13:46:54)

Offline

#2 2010-07-05 02:34:33

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: Clustering in Arch

Well there is no wiki page on building a cluster so my suggestion is to document everything and contribute it to the community.
As far as actually building the cluster, I got no friggen idea smile
I wish I had some hardware like that to play with.


neutral

Offline

#3 2010-07-05 13:49:47

rsantiba
Member
From: Temuco, Chile
Registered: 2010-06-22
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Clustering in Arch

Thanks sand_man for the reply. Yeap, i'll document the building of this cluster (it's a part of my job ;-) so stay intouch
Regards

Offline

#4 2010-07-27 04:04:22

amethyr
Member
From: By a computer
Registered: 2010-07-27
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Clustering in Arch

Ive been looking at MOSIX vs. Beowulf and I've take a liking to MOSIX for various reasons.
I'm trying to use two Supermicro servers and a custom built tower as a cluster using arch.
From everything I've read, Beowulf clustering is done at a software process level while MOSIX is done at the kernel level.
MOSIX.org contains what appears to be a kernel addon that works with various Linux distributions.
While they recommend using openSUSE they have a general one that should work for Arch.
I'm hoping to get ArchServer to work with this project. (There is practically no help on their site though and  I like the people here)
Anywho let me know what you come up with. Ill keep a record too so later i can retry this and see if I can improve upon it.


Without computers the world would be much less connected.
Without Linux the world would be much less stable.
Without Arch too many resources would be wasted.

Offline

#5 2010-07-27 06:58:51

sand_man
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-06-10
Posts: 2,164

Re: Clustering in Arch

I'll admit that I don't know much about clusters but having a different spec node to the other node, will that cause a bottleneck and degradation in performance? Will it only be as fast as the slowest node?


neutral

Offline

#6 2010-07-27 08:16:28

scarletxfi
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 105

Re: Clustering in Arch

Sounds awesome! i'd like to read it ...

I did some searching and I found this: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Distcc , it may help you..

Also, gentoo has a great wiki on high performance clustering : http://www.gentoo.org/doc/en/hpc-howto.xml

good luck!

Offline

#7 2010-07-27 08:31:06

Ashren
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2007-06-13
Posts: 1,226
Website

Re: Clustering in Arch

rsantiba: You could also consider using ocfs, which is available from Extra. It should be pretty straightforward to set up or so I hear.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/OCFS

Offline

#8 2010-07-28 08:57:38

Darksoul71
Member
Registered: 2010-04-12
Posts: 319

Re: Clustering in Arch

@rsantiba:
It´s actually hard to give suggestions unless you tell us for what purpose you want to use the cluster.
There are a lot of ways to "cluster". smile

- Use multiple Java application servers as cluster (e.g. JBoss).
- Build a redundant SAN (two nodes with a cluster file system) plus a load balancer
- Use multiple nodes as virtualisation servers as a logical unit (= cluster) similar to VMWare (e.g. proxmox ve)
- Running multiple DB servers as cluster (Oracle RAC / two DB servers with heartbeat and cluster filesystem)
etc.

Last edited by Darksoul71 (2010-07-28 22:02:04)


My archlinux x86_64 host:
AMD E350 (2x1.6GHz) / 8GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce 9500GT (passive) / Arch running from 16GB USB Stick

Offline

#9 2010-07-29 14:17:46

amethyr
Member
From: By a computer
Registered: 2010-07-27
Posts: 7
Website

Re: Clustering in Arch

For myself I would like to run visualization servers.


Without computers the world would be much less connected.
Without Linux the world would be much less stable.
Without Arch too many resources would be wasted.

Offline

#10 2010-07-29 14:23:57

Darksoul71
Member
Registered: 2010-04-12
Posts: 319

Re: Clustering in Arch

Both KVM and Xen are very powerful solutions if your CPU supports Pacifica / VT.
'
My rule of thumb: Every demanding VM should have a dedicated core.

For administration of a big cluster karensansui looks promising:
http://karesansui-project.info/

At work we are using a Debian based solution called Proxmox with good experiences:
http://pve.proxmox.com/wiki/Main_Page

Of course both KVM and Xen will work nicely with a few scripts build taylored for your needs.

The "big" VMWare is in essence nothing more than a taylored Linux.


My archlinux x86_64 host:
AMD E350 (2x1.6GHz) / 8GB DDR3 RAM / GeForce 9500GT (passive) / Arch running from 16GB USB Stick

Offline

#11 2010-07-29 15:18:50

kjon
Member
From: Temuco, Chile
Registered: 2008-04-16
Posts: 398

Re: Clustering in Arch

@rstantiba: Te caché wn! -- tu inglés vale hongo ¬¬'

Have a look to Darksoul71 told you. He's right. xD


They say that if you play a Win cd backward you hear satanic messages. That's nothing! 'cause if you play it forwards, it installs windows.

Offline

#12 2010-08-02 01:36:02

rsantiba
Member
From: Temuco, Chile
Registered: 2010-06-22
Posts: 8
Website

Re: Clustering in Arch

kjon wrote:

@rstantiba: Te caché wn! -- tu inglés vale hongo ¬¬'

Dime algo que no hayas dicho antes, siempre sales con lo mismo ¬¬ aparte que me escribiste mal (@rstantiba) muajajaja.

kjon wrote:

Have a look to Darksoul71 told you. He's right. xD

Ok I Will ;-) Thanks Darksoul71 and all of you for your suggestions.

Last edited by rsantiba (2010-09-03 20:49:32)

Offline

#13 2014-04-22 16:49:17

cyberbandya
Member
From: India भारत देश
Registered: 2012-09-02
Posts: 7

Re: Clustering in Arch

Hey finally you did not tell what you went with


The true sign of intelligence is not knowledge but imagination AND SO We cannot solve our problems with the same thinking we used when we created them.

Offline

#14 2014-04-22 16:58:09

ANOKNUSA
Member
Registered: 2010-10-22
Posts: 2,141

Re: Clustering in Arch

cyberbandya, the OP has posted to the forums 8 times in the last 4 years. It's very unlikely anyone's going to respond to this thread (even more unlikely when it's not at all clear who you are addressing). Please read the Forum Etiquette section on necrobumping.

Offline

#15 2014-04-22 17:10:15

Inxsible
Forum Fellow
From: Chicago
Registered: 2008-06-09
Posts: 9,152

Re: Clustering in Arch


Forum Rules

There's no such thing as a stupid question, but there sure are a lot of inquisitive idiots !

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB