You are not logged in.

#26 2015-03-26 14:52:19

burntcookie90
Member
Registered: 2015-03-26
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

Seeing an issue when restarting my display manager (lxdm). The screen begins to flicker and doesn't draw correctly (parts of the screen moving horizontally on the display).

Offline

#27 2015-03-26 17:59:24

tobias_
Member
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 25

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

That happens for me when I resume from suspend.

Offline

#28 2015-03-26 18:09:44

burntcookie90
Member
Registered: 2015-03-26
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

When i resume from suspend, nothing updates (like it mentions on the wiki page). I've never had this occur on a resume from suspend.

Edit: found a workaround for the x server not responding: I launch chromium from dmenu and it seems to reset the X server and allow me to continue using as it was.

Last edited by burntcookie90 (2015-03-26 23:43:37)

Offline

#29 2015-03-28 17:47:38

Renfast
Member
Registered: 2013-03-04
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

burntcookie90 wrote:

Seeing an issue when restarting my display manager (lxdm). The screen begins to flicker and doesn't draw correctly (parts of the screen moving horizontally on the display).

This bug has been confirmed and there is also a video: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1436590

It also happens on my T450s.

@tobias_: What's a good config for tpacpi-bat? It's my first time with a Thinkpad, and I also don't know what's the best way to increase battery lifespan having two of them.

Last edited by Renfast (2015-03-28 17:58:11)

Offline

#30 2015-03-28 20:10:29

tobias_
Member
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 25

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

my tpacpi-bat.service:


[Unit]
Description=sets battery thresholds

[Service]
Type=oneshot
ExecStart=/usr/bin/tpacpi-bat -s ST 2 80
ExecStart=/usr/bin/tpacpi-bat -s SP 2 90
ExecStart=/usr/bin/tpacpi-bat -s ST 1 80
ExecStart=/usr/bin/tpacpi-bat -s SP 1 90

[Install]
WantedBy=multi-user.target

This sets both batteries to charge to a maximum of 95%, and starts charging when dropping below 80%. For my T60, which is now 10 year old with its battery, I found a maximum charge of ~90% to be good.
After all those years and hundreds (thousands? would have to look it up) of cycles the battery capacity is still at ~75% of its original value. Unfortunately I can't tell how this ~75% would be if I didn't set a charge threshold of ~90% smile I think the most important aspect to increase li-ion batteries lifetime is to charge them not to 100%.
One could question now if it's really worth the decreased maximum run time on battery. After all a new battery is a fraction of the total T4XX cost, and getting a new one every few years shouldn't be a problem. Still, if you know that you don't need a complete load of 100%, why not prolong battery life by just charging it to 90%. Once in a while when you really want to stay a long time mobile, or you need some re calibration, you can disable the 90% charging threshold.

Offline

#31 2015-03-28 20:41:22

burntcookie90
Member
Registered: 2015-03-26
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

Renfast wrote:
burntcookie90 wrote:

Seeing an issue when restarting my display manager (lxdm). The screen begins to flicker and doesn't draw correctly (parts of the screen moving horizontally on the display).

This bug has been confirmed and there is also a video: https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … ug/1436590

It also happens on my T450s.


Awesome, thanks for this, didn't really know what to search for when trying to see if this was documented. I've found that I can actually log into another tty and `sudo reboot` from there instead of forcing a shutdown.

Offline

#32 2015-03-28 21:33:20

Renfast
Member
Registered: 2013-03-04
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

tobias_ wrote:

This sets both batteries to charge to a maximum of 95%, and starts charging when dropping below 80%. For my T60, which is now 10 year old with its battery, I found a maximum charge of ~90% to be good.
After all those years and hundreds (thousands? would have to look it up) of cycles the battery capacity is still at ~75% of its original value. Unfortunately I can't tell how this ~75% would be if I didn't set a charge threshold of ~90% smile I think the most important aspect to increase li-ion batteries lifetime is to charge them not to 100%.
One could question now if it's really worth the decreased maximum run time on battery. After all a new battery is a fraction of the total T4XX cost, and getting a new one every few years shouldn't be a problem. Still, if you know that you don't need a complete load of 100%, why not prolong battery life by just charging it to 90%. Once in a while when you really want to stay a long time mobile, or you need some re calibration, you can disable the 90% charging threshold.

Thanks!

I've changed the battery number to 0, as it sets the value for both batteries and saves two lines, and added "RemainAfterExit=yes".

I'm wondering if it's a bad idea to add ExecStop for disabling the threshold as it was removed from the service: https://github.com/teleshoes/tpacpi-bat … db4331d5af

Offline

#33 2015-03-29 12:50:58

tobias_
Member
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 25

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

It just doesn't matter I think, since the settings are non permanent and reset after a power cycle.

Offline

#34 2015-04-03 13:20:25

burntcookie90
Member
Registered: 2015-03-26
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

By the way, switching to linux-mainline has fixed trackpoint and Xorg issues for me

Offline

#35 2015-04-04 01:12:25

Renfast
Member
Registered: 2013-03-04
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

burntcookie90 wrote:

By the way, switching to linux-mainline has fixed trackpoint and Xorg issues for me

linux-mainline from AUR didn't solve the problem with the screen going crazy when switching tty or restarting X on my T450s, but booting with i915.enable_ips=0 does, and it also works with the stock kernel from the official repositories.

Offline

#36 2015-04-08 15:17:03

maces
Member
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 8

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

burntcookie90 wrote:

By the way, switching to linux-mainline has fixed trackpoint and Xorg issues for me

Just adding some info:

The patch for xf86-input-synaptics is not needed any more.
The patches for the kernel are already in the rc for 4.0.
I have build and booted the linux-mainline from AUR some minutes ago and touchpad and trackpoint are now working for me, too. Touchpad with multitouch and two-finger tap for right-click and trackpoint with three buttons, including scrolling ect.
I'm using a Thinkpad T440P with the touchpad from the T450*, which should be the same as in the X1 Carbon 3rd Gen Touchpad.
I am using the following configs for X11:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-thinkpad.conf

Section "InputClass"
    Identifier	"Trackpoint Wheel Emulation"
    MatchProduct	"TPPS/2 IBM TrackPoint|DualPoint Stick|Synaptics Inc. Composite TouchPad / TrackPoint|ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint|USB Trackpoint pointing device"
    MatchDevicePath	"/dev/input/event*"
    Option		"EmulateWheel"		"true"
    Option		"EmulateWheelButton"	"2"
    Option		"Emulate3Buttons"	"false"
    Option		"XAxisMapping"		"6 7"
    Option		"YAxisMapping"		"4 5"
EndSection

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/40-synaptics.conf

Section "InputClass"
	Identifier "Ignore mouse devs"
	MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/mouse*"
	Option "Ignore" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "Clickpad"
        MatchProduct "SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
        MatchDriver "synaptics"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
	Option "SoftButtonAreas" "0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0"
        Option "ClickPad" "1"
        Option "FingerLow" "46"
        Option "FingerHigh" "46"
        Option "TapButton1" "1"
        Option "TapButton2" "3" # two-finger tap as right click
        Option "TapButton3" "2"
        Option "ClickFinger1" "1"
        Option "ClickFinger2" "2"
        Option "ClickFinger3" "3"
        Option "VertEdgeScroll" "on"
        Option "VertTwoFingerScroll" "on"
        Option "HorizEdgeScroll" "on"
        Option "HorizTwoFingerScroll" "on"
        Option "VertScrollDelta" "-99" # natural scrolling
        Option "HorizScrollDelta" "-99" # natural scrolling
EndSection

Last edited by maces (2015-04-08 17:01:13)

Offline

#37 2015-04-10 09:39:27

RayTracer
Member
Registered: 2015-04-10
Posts: 1

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

maces wrote:
burntcookie90 wrote:

By the way, switching to linux-mainline has fixed trackpoint and Xorg issues for me

I can confirm (X1 Carbon 3rd gen).
Just switched to linux-mainline and everything works out of the box now.
Thanks for the tip!

Offline

#38 2015-04-25 22:17:35

seblu
Developer
From: Paris
Registered: 2011-01-20
Posts: 9

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

xrandr doesn't show 1920x1080 mode. Is there another people using non native resolution?

Offline

#39 2015-04-27 12:25:14

matusso
Member
Registered: 2011-08-23
Posts: 4

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

did you solve problem with HDMI sound?
someone wrote about this problem very shortly on this page: http://natalian.org/archives/2015/02/18 … novo_X1C3/

Offline

#40 2015-04-28 21:37:51

kitarek
Member
From: Poznan/Poland
Registered: 2014-07-11
Posts: 7
Website

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

@matusso: I have no problems with HDMI on X1C3 at all. I'm using GNOME 3.16 and when I connect HDMI the sound settings section from GNOME Control Center and different GNOME output extensions don't seem to see new output but I when I fire pavucontrol it appears in the whole GNOME. Moreover in pavucontrol app sometimes I need to switch sound output device per application (It treats HDMI as a separate sound card I believe).  I can switch sound output back and forth and there is no problem (tested with Kodi/XBMC). Obviously it's not one click but definitely it works.


Lenovo ThinkPad X1 Carbon 3 20BS006DPB - Core i7 5500U / 14,1 WQHD / 8192 RAM / 512 SSD SATA PCIe / Intel HD 5500
Lenovo ThinkPad T400, model 647314G / Core2 Duo CPU  P8700@ 2.53GHz / 8 GB DDR RAM / 223,6 GiB HDD SSD OCZ-AGILITY3 / Intel GM45 Chipset

Offline

#41 2015-04-30 21:49:38

j616s
Member
Registered: 2015-03-18
Posts: 2

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

4.0 is now available as default. Works a treat smile

Offline

#42 2015-05-04 03:16:59

tazmanian
Member
Registered: 2009-10-25
Posts: 37

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

Trying (unsuccessfully) to map the PrtSc key to Compose, I noticed that the PrtSc key generates some odd events in xev, copied below. Note the lack of a KeyPress event, which renders the PrtSc key quite useless.

FocusOut event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x1000001,
    mode NotifyGrab, detail NotifyAncestor

FocusIn event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x1000001,
    mode NotifyUngrab, detail NotifyAncestor

KeymapNotify event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x0,
    keys:  4294967290 0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   8   0   0   
           0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   

KeyRelease event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x1000001,
    root 0xce, subw 0x0, time 1105534, (735,569), root:(735,598),
    state 0x0, keycode 107 (keysym 0xff20, Multi_key), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes: 
    XFilterEvent returns: False

Subsequent keypresses of PrtSc generates a slightly different set of events:

FocusOut event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x1000001,
    mode NotifyGrab, detail NotifyAncestor

FocusIn event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x1000001,
    mode NotifyUngrab, detail NotifyAncestor

KeymapNotify event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x0,
    keys:  2   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   8   0   0   
           0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   0   

KeyRelease event, serial 39, synthetic NO, window 0x1000001,
    root 0xce, subw 0x0, time 1554664, (765,675), root:(765,704),
    state 0x0, keycode 107 (keysym 0xff20, Multi_key), same_screen YES,
    XLookupString gives 0 bytes: 
    XFilterEvent returns: False

Holding down PrtSc results in the first three events firing in a loop until the key is released.

EDIT: Found the culprit, which is not hardware-related. It turns out that KDE Plasma 5's khotkeys component was stealing the PrtSc keypress event for taking screenshots. Once I removed this binding, PrtSc started behaving like Compose.

Last edited by tazmanian (2015-05-13 23:17:52)

Offline

#43 2015-05-06 16:09:32

LaserEyess
Member
Registered: 2015-05-06
Posts: 10

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

I'm still having moderate issues with my X1, I've only had it for roughly a week and it works 90% of the time but there is a number of things I can't find help on either googling or in the wiki. And on the topic of the wiki, I think it is pretty inaccurate to my issues, I assume that means it is out of date.

Here's a list of some of the things I've experienced:

-Leaving my WM (Openbox) causes the screen to flicker and move rapidly to the right. Going back into X does not fix it, but if I suspend and then start up again it is fixed

- I'm having a strange issue where unmounting my external drive causes kernal panic. I think part of the reason is because I may be doing it improperly, but the exact same procedure on an older thinkpad edge with almost the same configuration and packages does not reproduce this error, therefore I believe it's unique to the X1 unless there's something I'm missing.  I'm considering filing a bug report because this seems to be a serious issue, I have some journal logs.

-Using tpacpi-bat does not allow my laptop to suspend. Once I plug in my charger, just for 5 seconds and then unplugging it, even calling suspend as root does not work. It immediately starts back up. I have logs on this one as well. If I reboot and do not plug in the AC, it works perfectly. But as soon as the AC is plugged in suspend will not work, only reboot and poweroff. Hopefully this is due to me not properly setting up tpacpi-bat, but I can't find any documentation about this problem. Another message I get in the journal that confuses me is "i915 0000:00:02.0: BAR 6: [??? 0x00000000 flags 0x2] has bogus alignment" which I can't find much information on. I believe it's related to the suspend based on googling, but I don't know what it has to do with the reproducible tpacpi-bat problem.

-I get weird errors at boot "Your bios is broken and requested that x2apic be disabled", I found how to 'fix' it, I think? Some random bug report I found on google said to turn off virtualization, but I don't understand why I get the error in the first place, that's more of what I want to know and can't find. Some other stuff as well, like the brightness interface not being supported. I found a fix for that one though, allegedly, I've just been lazy about it.

There are some other minor things but those are definitely the biggest.

Offline

#44 2015-05-09 10:49:08

flockyrocky
Member
From: China
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 76

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

i'm using gnome lastest version 3.16.1. My touchpad works out of the box. However, I turned it off one time  in the
Settings -> Mouse & Touchpad
Then it just disappeared forever. Anyone know how to find it back?

Offline

#45 2015-05-09 20:36:16

Scheich Manfred
Member
Registered: 2012-11-28
Posts: 6

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

flockyrocky wrote:

i'm using gnome lastest version 3.16.1. My touchpad works out of the box. However, I turned it off one time  in the
Settings -> Mouse & Touchpad
Then it just disappeared forever. Anyone know how to find it back?

This thread may help you: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=195911

To shorten this up, copy this line into your Terminal to fix it:

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.peripherals.touchpad send-events 'enabled'

I hope this answers your question!

Last edited by Scheich Manfred (2015-05-09 20:36:43)

Offline

#46 2015-05-10 09:02:47

tattsan
Member
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 37
Website

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

I want to distinguish  "trackpad" from "left button", and assign another button number (button8 or so) to trackpad.
Is this possible?

To tell the truth, I want to use trackpad not as a mouse button, but as a modifier key.

Last edited by tattsan (2015-05-10 14:42:56)

Offline

#47 2015-05-11 10:08:22

flockyrocky
Member
From: China
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 76

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

Scheich Manfred wrote:
flockyrocky wrote:

i'm using gnome lastest version 3.16.1. My touchpad works out of the box. However, I turned it off one time  in the
Settings -> Mouse & Touchpad
Then it just disappeared forever. Anyone know how to find it back?

This thread may help you: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=195911

To shorten this up, copy this line into your Terminal to fix it:

gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.peripherals.touchpad send-events 'enabled'

I hope this answers your question!

Works like a charm. And I defined a shortcut for turning on/off touchpad as X1 carbon 3rd doesn't have one.

#!/bin/bash
t_state=`/usr/bin/gsettings get org.gnome.desktop.peripherals.touchpad send-events`;
if [ $t_state == "'enabled'" ]; then
	/usr/bin/gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.peripherals.touchpad send-events 'disabled'
else
	/usr/bin/gsettings set org.gnome.desktop.peripherals.touchpad send-events 'enabled'
fi

Save this script anywhere and go to

Keyboard -> Shortcuts -> Custom Shortcuts

to specify a shortcut for it.

Offline

#48 2015-05-12 09:56:21

flockyrocky
Member
From: China
Registered: 2012-09-15
Posts: 76

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

Has anyone successfully enabled fingerprint reader yet?
I didn't find anything in the X1 Carbon Gen3 wiki page. However, there's a little bit instruction in X1 Carbon Gen2 which says the 2nd generation is using Validity Sensors model (138a:0017) which is the same as Gen3. So I'm expecting the libfprint from git would work for Gen3, too. It doesn't though.
any suggestion?

Offline

#49 2015-05-14 13:33:30

tattsan
Member
Registered: 2013-08-26
Posts: 37
Website

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

I wrote:

I want to distinguish  "trackpad" from "left button", and assign another button number (button8 or so) to trackpad.
Is this possible?

Using xinput,  I could assign button8 to trackpad. (I don't use xorg's synaptics driver.)

xinput set-button-map 'SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad' 8 0 0 0 0

Last edited by tattsan (2015-05-14 13:35:37)

Offline

#50 2015-06-02 05:23:22

sjakub
Member
From: Canada/Poland
Registered: 2008-06-16
Posts: 84

Re: X1 Carbon 3rd Gen (Issues)

maces wrote:

I am using the following configs for X11:

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/20-thinkpad.conf

Section "InputClass"
    Identifier	"Trackpoint Wheel Emulation"
    MatchProduct	"TPPS/2 IBM TrackPoint|DualPoint Stick|Synaptics Inc. Composite TouchPad / TrackPoint|ThinkPad USB Keyboard with TrackPoint|USB Trackpoint pointing device"
    MatchDevicePath	"/dev/input/event*"
    Option		"EmulateWheel"		"true"
    Option		"EmulateWheelButton"	"2"
    Option		"Emulate3Buttons"	"false"
    Option		"XAxisMapping"		"6 7"
    Option		"YAxisMapping"		"4 5"
EndSection

/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d/40-synaptics.conf

Section "InputClass"
	Identifier "Ignore mouse devs"
	MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/mouse*"
	Option "Ignore" "true"
EndSection

Section "InputClass"
        Identifier "Clickpad"
        MatchProduct "SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad"
        MatchDriver "synaptics"
        MatchIsTouchpad "on"
        MatchDevicePath "/dev/input/event*"
	Option "SoftButtonAreas" "0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0"
        Option "ClickPad" "1"
        Option "FingerLow" "46"
        Option "FingerHigh" "46"
        Option "TapButton1" "1"
        Option "TapButton2" "3" # two-finger tap as right click
        Option "TapButton3" "2"
        Option "ClickFinger1" "1"
        Option "ClickFinger2" "2"
        Option "ClickFinger3" "3"
        Option "VertEdgeScroll" "on"
        Option "VertTwoFingerScroll" "on"
        Option "HorizEdgeScroll" "on"
        Option "HorizTwoFingerScroll" "on"
        Option "VertScrollDelta" "-99" # natural scrolling
        Option "HorizScrollDelta" "-99" # natural scrolling
EndSection

I just used the same config on my T440p with the TouchPad replaced with one from eBay.
However, mine is an ALPS version (on Windows its ID is LEN0036).
So I had to modify the MatchProduct in 40-synaptics.conf to "SynPS/2 Synaptics TouchPad|AlpsPS/2 ALPS DualPoint TouchPad".

It works great!

Also, I didn't need mainline kernel, just the regular 4.0.4-2.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB