You are not logged in.

#1 2015-06-04 12:40:16

robrunner
Member
Registered: 2015-06-04
Posts: 4

GRUB not working anymore

I already have had arch installed and working for some time now.
I wanted to delete Windows (had it in dual boot) and simply deleted its partition (using gparted). After that I couldn't boot anymore.
I can enter my system using the super grub disk.
I already tried the following:

grub-install /dev/sda
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

but that's not changing anything.

On booting it simply says:
Samsung SSD 840 series boot failed. Or something like that.

I really don't know what else to do.

Here is my grub.cfg. Arch is installed on /dev/sda6.

#
# DO NOT EDIT THIS FILE
#
# It is automatically generated by grub-mkconfig using templates
# from /etc/grub.d and settings from /etc/default/grub
#

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/00_header ###
insmod part_gpt
insmod part_msdos
if [ -s $prefix/grubenv ]; then
  load_env
fi
if [ "${next_entry}" ] ; then
   set default="${next_entry}"
   set next_entry=
   save_env next_entry
   set boot_once=true
else
   set default="0"
fi

if [ x"${feature_menuentry_id}" = xy ]; then
  menuentry_id_option="--id"
else
  menuentry_id_option=""
fi

export menuentry_id_option

if [ "${prev_saved_entry}" ]; then
  set saved_entry="${prev_saved_entry}"
  save_env saved_entry
  set prev_saved_entry=
  save_env prev_saved_entry
  set boot_once=true
fi

function savedefault {
  if [ -z "${boot_once}" ]; then
    saved_entry="${chosen}"
    save_env saved_entry
  fi
}

function load_video {
  if [ x$feature_all_video_module = xy ]; then
    insmod all_video
  else
    insmod efi_gop
    insmod efi_uga
    insmod ieee1275_fb
    insmod vbe
    insmod vga
    insmod video_bochs
    insmod video_cirrus
  fi
}

if [ x$feature_default_font_path = xy ] ; then
   font=unicode
else
insmod part_msdos 
insmod ext2
set root='hd0,msdos6'
if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
else
  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
fi
    font="/usr/share/grub/unicode.pf2"
fi

if loadfont $font ; then
  set gfxmode=auto
  load_video
  insmod gfxterm
  set locale_dir=$prefix/locale
  set lang=en_US
  insmod gettext
fi
terminal_input console
terminal_output gfxterm
if [ x$feature_timeout_style = xy ] ; then
  set timeout_style=menu
  set timeout=5
# Fallback normal timeout code in case the timeout_style feature is
# unavailable.
else
  set timeout=5
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/00_header ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###
menuentry 'Arch Linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-simple-01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff' {
	load_video
	set gfxpayload=keep
	insmod gzio
	insmod part_msdos 
	insmod ext2
	set root='hd0,msdos6'
	if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
	else
	  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
	fi
	echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
	linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff rw  quiet
	echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
	initrd	 /boot/initramfs-linux.img
}
submenu 'Advanced options for Arch Linux' $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-advanced-01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff' {
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-advanced-01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos6'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff rw  quiet
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	 /boot/initramfs-linux.img
	}
	menuentry 'Arch Linux, with Linux linux (fallback initramfs)' --class arch --class gnu-linux --class gnu --class os $menuentry_id_option 'gnulinux-linux-fallback-01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff' {
		load_video
		set gfxpayload=keep
		insmod gzio
		insmod part_msdos 
		insmod ext2
		set root='hd0,msdos6'
		if [ x$feature_platform_search_hint = xy ]; then
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root --hint-bios=hd0,msdos6 --hint-efi=hd0,msdos6 --hint-baremetal=ahci0,msdos6  01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
		else
		  search --no-floppy --fs-uuid --set=root 01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff
		fi
		echo	'Loading Linux linux ...'
		linux	/boot/vmlinuz-linux root=UUID=01d86e6a-5bd5-48a7-831f-51e49dea00ff rw  quiet
		echo	'Loading initial ramdisk ...'
		initrd	 /boot/initramfs-linux-fallback.img
	}
}

### END /etc/grub.d/10_linux ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###
### END /etc/grub.d/20_linux_xen ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###
### END /etc/grub.d/30_os-prober ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###
# This file provides an easy way to add custom menu entries.  Simply type the
# menu entries you want to add after this comment.  Be careful not to change
# the 'exec tail' line above.
### END /etc/grub.d/40_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###
if [ -f  ${config_directory}/custom.cfg ]; then
  source ${config_directory}/custom.cfg
elif [ -z "${config_directory}" -a -f  $prefix/custom.cfg ]; then
  source $prefix/custom.cfg;
fi
### END /etc/grub.d/41_custom ###

### BEGIN /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###
### END /etc/grub.d/60_memtest86+ ###

Last edited by robrunner (2015-06-04 13:09:38)

Offline

#2 2015-06-04 12:54:42

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,815
Website

Re: GRUB not working anymore

Did you chroot into your installation before issuing those grub commands?

Please use code tags for config files.


https://ugjka.net
paru > yay | webcord > discord
pacman -S spotify-launcher
mount /dev/disk/by-...

Offline

#3 2015-06-04 13:08:57

robrunner
Member
Registered: 2015-06-04
Posts: 4

Re: GRUB not working anymore

I booted into my system using the super grub disk and typed the commands simply into the terminal.

Offline

#4 2015-06-04 20:11:31

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: London
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 7,763
Website

Re: GRUB not working anymore

robrunner wrote:

Or something like that

Read this:
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855

Post the output of:

lsblk -f

Offline

#5 2015-06-04 20:33:13

jasonwryan
Anarchist
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 30,424
Website

Re: GRUB not working anymore

Not a Sysadmin issue, moving to NC...


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Surfraw

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#6 2015-06-05 08:57:08

ugjka
Member
From: Latvia
Registered: 2014-04-01
Posts: 1,815
Website

Re: GRUB not working anymore

robrunner wrote:

I booted into my system using the super grub disk and typed the commands simply into the terminal.

You need to chroot into your installed system and then issue all those commands

Use Arch install iso.

Mount your filesystem unter /mnt

arch-chroot /mnt /bin/bash
grub-install --target=i386-pc --recheck /dev/sda
grub-mkconfig -o /boot/grub/grub.cfg

exit

unmount your filesystems

If that doesn't work then it's not a grub problem, but something is wrong with your harddrive or partition layout


https://ugjka.net
paru > yay | webcord > discord
pacman -S spotify-launcher
mount /dev/disk/by-...

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB