You are not logged in.

#1 2006-04-20 19:14:58

anadyr
Member
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 218

Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

hey people,

I know this program is very hard to install, but I have to use for my university
(please dont say: install vpnc, because I tried that many times already)

This is my problem: The VPN client seems to be installed properly, it compiles fine, and the module loads perfectly, but as soon as I try to connect, nothing happens, I just wait and wait and wait, and finally, after about 10 minutes it says:

initialization failed
The application was unable to communicate with the VPN sub-system

Did anybody experience this behaviour before? and how did you fix it? I get the same results in version 4.6, 4.7 and the latest 4.8... I tried with several versions of GCC 4, 3.4, 3.3, and kernels, but it doesnt work...

running archlinux, custom kernel 2.6.16.5, gcc 3.4

Offline

#2 2006-04-20 21:38:45

LB06
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 435

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

It's probably just not compatible with gcc/libc/kernel

Offline

#3 2006-04-20 22:51:21

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

I'll say it anyway: Do not use Cisco VPN Client, it's a big piece of crappy untrustworthy software (hm, doesn't surprise me, it's made by Cisco). Use vpnc - it works and it is free. And I might be able to help you with it.

Offline

#4 2006-04-20 23:11:52

tyme
Member
From: PA
Registered: 2003-06-12
Posts: 139
Website

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

brain0 wrote:

I'll say it anyway: Do not use Cisco VPN Client, it's a big piece of crappy untrustworthy software (hm, doesn't surprise me, it's made by Cisco). Use vpnc - it works and it is free. And I might be able to help you with it.

did you read the original post?

(please dont say: install vpnc, because I tried that many times already)

seriously.

Offline

#5 2006-04-21 00:01:48

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

Are you running it as root?
It probably needs root privs in order to alter network configuration and add routes, etc.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#6 2006-04-21 12:38:10

anadyr
Member
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 218

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

yes I am running it as root...

Offline

#7 2006-04-21 13:41:20

brain0
Developer
From: Aachen - Germany
Registered: 2005-01-03
Posts: 1,382

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

tyme wrote:
brain0 wrote:

I'll say it anyway: Do not use Cisco VPN Client, it's a big piece of crappy untrustworthy software (hm, doesn't surprise me, it's made by Cisco). Use vpnc - it works and it is free. And I might be able to help you with it.

did you read the original post?

Yes, I read it and I said it anyway. Obviously you did not read my post.

Offline

#8 2006-04-21 14:19:43

anadyr
Member
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 218

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

dude, I dont want to use vpnc. it doesnt work, and it never worked. (and now it doesnt even compile). whereas Cisco VPN did work in the past...

So does anybody know of other compilation hints/ideas? maybe old versions of libc work? I might try that when I have more time...

Offline

#9 2006-04-21 18:56:43

dojo
Member
Registered: 2005-11-02
Posts: 96

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

How do you receive an IP within the university network? Which network device (eth0/eth1/wlan0)? Maybe it's just a resolving or routing problem?
What's the output of

route -n
cat /etc/resolv.conf

Hint: You should prefer vpnc, or you have to rebuild the vpnclient modules from cisco for every new kernel or ignore the kernel package updates (very bad).

Greets

dojo

Offline

#10 2006-04-21 20:44:30

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

does the cisco client even work with a 2.6 kernel?
I thought it was 2.4.x only.. I have never used it though.. i might well be incorrect.


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#11 2006-04-21 20:46:22

anadyr
Member
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 218

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

yes it might be a routing problem or something... I dont know, because I dont know a great deal about networking stuff...
But I cannot connect to my university, so I dont know how I receive an IP from it. I use a wireless network, and use dhcp to connect to it, and I use the archlinux wireless script to connect to the internet.

this is route -n

Destination     Gateway         Genmask         Flags Metric Ref    Use Iface
192.168.2.0     0.0.0.0         255.255.255.0   U     0      0        0 ra0
0.0.0.0         192.168.2.1     0.0.0.0         UG    0      0        0 ra0

resolv.conf only contains two nameserver entries (my DNS servers)

Offline

#12 2006-04-21 22:06:09

anadyr
Member
Registered: 2005-02-10
Posts: 218

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

OK, forget this topic. I'll close it, and try to get vpnc to work. see other topic...

Offline

#13 2006-04-21 23:23:59

cactus
Taco Eater
From: t͈̫̹ͨa͖͕͎̱͈ͨ͆ć̥̖̝o̫̫̼s͈̭̱̞͍̃!̰
Registered: 2004-05-25
Posts: 4,615
Website

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)


"Be conservative in what you send; be liberal in what you accept." -- Postel's Law
"tacos" -- Cactus' Law
"t̥͍͎̪̪͗a̴̻̩͈͚ͨc̠o̩̙͈ͫͅs͙͎̙͊ ͔͇̫̜t͎̳̀a̜̞̗ͩc̗͍͚o̲̯̿s̖̣̤̙͌ ̖̜̈ț̰̫͓ạ̪͖̳c̲͎͕̰̯̃̈o͉ͅs̪ͪ ̜̻̖̜͕" -- -̖͚̫̙̓-̺̠͇ͤ̃ ̜̪̜ͯZ͔̗̭̞ͪA̝͈̙͖̩L͉̠̺͓G̙̞̦͖O̳̗͍

Offline

#14 2006-04-24 13:29:49

Michel
Member
From: Belgium
Registered: 2004-07-31
Posts: 286

Re: Cisco VPN no subsystem (CLOSED)

Heya,

there have been made multiple packages for vpnc: http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … light=vpnc

I use it at work. Sometimes it works, other times not, but this is also true for the Cisco-Windows-client I use. Maybe I'm using the wrong version ...

There is also kvpnc (http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php? … light=vpnc). I'm not sure if the latest version already does it, but it can decrypt encrypted group-passwords and maybe other things.
It can be that the packages are not up-to-date. I should update my PKGBUILDS again maybe ...

greetings,

Michel

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB