You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-19 03:17:25

lokoum
Member
Registered: 2014-07-22
Posts: 18

[SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

Hello,

i have windows 10 installed on a SSD, and I would like to install archLinux on my 2nd disk.
I tried it 2 or 3 times but it fails, I think the problem is grub, each time I created :
-a swap: 10G
-a root partition 100G (with /home in it, all in one partition)
and the problem is the /boot partition I don't know if I have to use bios or UEFI format, sometimes grub tell me it cannot install grub.

The last time I tried to do the installation (with bios format for the /boot partition) I tought everything was good but when I selected the disk in my bios, the word "GRUB" appear with a blinking cursor and nothing else.

So in conclusion I just would like to have a dual boot with arch and windows 10 with a grub or UEFI.

If someone can help thank you.

Last edited by lokoum (2016-01-20 03:27:25)

Offline

#2 2016-01-19 05:07:00

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 12,929

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

What have you been using as a reference to do the installation?

I tried it 2 or 3 times

What is "it"?    Specifically, what did you do?  And, specifically, what were the errors?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Like you, I have no idea what you are doing, but I am pretty sure it is wrong...Jasonwryan
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2016-01-19 11:55:21

TheSaint
Member
From: my computer
Registered: 2007-08-19
Posts: 1,378

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10


do it good first, it will be faster than do it twice the saint wink

Offline

#4 2016-01-19 12:07:41

Head_on_a_Stick
Member
From: Asteroid B-612
Registered: 2014-02-20
Posts: 3,741
Website

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

lokoum wrote:

I don't know if I have to use bios or UEFI format

Please post the output of:

# parted -l

The command can be run from any live environment, even Ubuntu if you have to... yikes

As already noted, it is very difficult to assist you unless any commands used and error messages received are posted verbatim.

See https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=57855


_0_
__0
000

Offline

#5 2016-01-19 21:52:34

lokoum
Member
Registered: 2014-07-22
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

I followed the beginner's guide like I do each time I install arch, I will take a look at all the links you gave me.

Offline

#6 2016-01-19 22:28:21

mcloaked
Member
From: Yorkshire, UK
Registered: 2012-02-02
Posts: 693

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

You might also try rEFInd to boot instead of Grub.  I have two laptops that dual boot Windows 10 and Arch using rEFInd and have had no problems with booting both systems. https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/REFInd


Mike C

Offline

#7 2016-01-20 02:48:04

lokoum
Member
Registered: 2014-07-22
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

I'll will try this now, hope it will work

Offline

#8 2016-01-20 03:27:01

lokoum
Member
Registered: 2014-07-22
Posts: 18

Re: [SOLVED][GRUB] cannot dual boot with windows 10

@mcloaked
Thank you very much dude !! it rocks, and this soft get a nice boot menu

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB