You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-20 00:15:12

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,549
Website

multilib.db error [SOLVED]

I made a new install of Arch in one of my systems but when I  add the [multilib] db to pacman.conf, upon running pacman Syu I get:

error: failed retrieving file 'multilib.db' from archlinux.mirror.rafal.ca : The requested URL returned error: 404

I cannot figure why for the life of me. My other systems have it enabled and I get no complaints. sad

Can anyone shed light on the mystery?

Last edited by ralvez (2016-01-21 01:46:13)

Offline

#2 2016-01-20 06:21:17

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,392
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

Have you tried changing your mirror?

Offline

#3 2016-01-20 06:23:35

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,296
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

I'm going to assume you're running 686, since it looks like your mirror does not mirror 686 multilib packages: http://archlinux.mirror.rafal.ca/multilib/os/i686/

Change your mirror.

Not a Pacman issue; Moving to NC.

Offline

#4 2016-01-20 07:05:27

Allan
Developer
From: Brisbane, AU
Registered: 2007-06-09
Posts: 10,416
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

There is no i686 multilib packages anywhere...

Offline

#5 2016-01-20 14:08:37

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,549
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

@Allan,
You mean that support for 32bit libraries in a 64bit system is no longer available? I sort of suspected that could be the issue ... but I have not seen any "formal" announcement .

@fukai2,
Yes, it is i686 you are correct. I did took the mirrors from another i686 arch box but that did not solve the problem. Perhaps it is related to what Allan is saying.

@x33a,
Yes I did

R.

Offline

#6 2016-01-20 14:26:13

ayekat
Member
From: B.b.B. BE CH
Registered: 2011-01-17
Posts: 627
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

ralvez wrote:

Yes, it is i686 you are correct.

You mean that support for 32bit libraries in a 64bit system is no longer available? I sort of suspected that could be the issue ... but I have not seen any "formal" announcement .

I think you have not seen a "formal" announcement because there has never been a [multilib] for i686¹. smile

____
¹ If there had been, I would have expected it to be some magical thing that allows you to use 64-bit libraries on a 32-bit machine. At most.

Last edited by ayekat (2016-01-20 14:27:12)

Offline

#7 2016-01-20 15:16:16

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 5,071

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

ralvez wrote:

You mean that support for 32bit libraries in a 64bit system is no longer available? I sort of suspected that could be the issue ... but I have not seen any "formal" announcement .

32bit libraries in a 64bit system is still available. But you didn't install a 64bit system.

Offline

#8 2016-01-20 21:38:29

fukawi2
Forum Moderator
From: .vic.au
Registered: 2007-09-28
Posts: 5,296
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

Allan wrote:

There is no i686 multilib packages anywhere...

I probably should have been quicker on that pick up....

@ralvez - [multilib] on a 32-bit system makes no sense, why are you even trying to add that to your system? Are you blindly copying and pasting instructions for something.................?

Offline

#9 2016-01-21 01:45:45

ralvez
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2005-12-06
Posts: 1,549
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

@fukawi2,
Nope ... I'm not blindly copying anything smile
But in order to run 32 bit apps in a 62 bit system we need the 32 bit libs. Even Arch has a wiki page for that here
So ... that's why I was interested in the multilib repo.
I, howerver, just became aware of the reason for my "problem" ... keep reading below.

@Scimmia,
I'll be dammed!! I just realized after you said it that perhaps I had goofed and did not install a 62bit system. It never occurred to me that I may have clicked the wrong option in the install CD  and so I did a 

uname -m 

and of course it was : i686

So of course!! What I was trying to do will never work.
I'll re-install the system again.

Thank you all.
I guess Albert Einstein was right :"The only difference between genius and stupidity is that genius has limits" wink

Sorry for wasting your time.

R.


/** hides in the shadows quickly **/

Edit: Looking back at what I posted I even wrote it was i686 !! I cannot believe I did not snap out of it then tongue

Last edited by ralvez (2016-01-21 02:10:30)

Offline

#10 2016-01-21 04:57:23

x33a
Forum Moderator
Registered: 2009-08-15
Posts: 3,392
Website

Re: multilib.db error [SOLVED]

Also, please do not install a 62 bit iso from somewhere wink

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB