You are not logged in.

#1 2016-01-24 16:06:30

reflets de vert
Member
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 54
Website

[network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

Hello,

I used systemd to enable wicd, and when I type

wicd-curses

, and try to refresh, connect, etc... I have this output:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 1146, in call_update_ui
self.update_ui(True)
File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 97, in wrapper
return func(*args, **kargs)
File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 1159, in update_ui
self.handle_keys(input_data)
File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/wicd-curses.py", line 1037, in handle_keys
self.diag = WirelessSettingsDialog(pos, self.frame)
File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/netentry_curses.py", line 503, in __init__
self.set_values()
File "/usr/share/wicd/curses/netentry_curses.py", line 543, in set_values
wireless.GetWirelessProperty(networkID, 'bitrate')
ValueError: None is not in list 

The computer is 64 bits.


I'm against internet totalitarians of any kind.
And like cheese's humor.

Offline

#2 2016-01-24 17:27:01

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,800

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

Let's back up a few steps. 
Has the network ever worked?
Have you ever used anything except wicd to control your network?
What is the output of ip link   ?
What is the output of iw list  ?
What kernel are you running? (output of uname -a )
What make and model wireless are you using?  (Post the output of lspci -nn )
Also, wicd (IIRC) will handle wired as well.  Verify we are dealing with a wireless system here.  Is your wired port connected as well?


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#3 2016-01-25 14:24:04

reflets de vert
Member
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

Hello,
Yes it worked, and could detect different wifi networks.
I had enabled dhcpcd.service.

ip link

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 65536 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN mode DEFAULT group default 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
2: enp4s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 1500 qdisc fq_codel state UP mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether 48:0f:cf:6b:ec:3d brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
3: wlp2s0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc noop state DOWN mode DEFAULT group default qlen 1000
    link/ether ac:e0:10:52:ae:04 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff 
iw list

Wiphy phy0
	max # scan SSIDs: 4
	max scan IEs length: 2257 bytes
	max # sched scan SSIDs: 0
	max # match sets: 0
	Retry short limit: 7
	Retry long limit: 4
	Coverage class: 0 (up to 0m)
	Device supports RSN-IBSS.
	Device supports AP-side u-APSD.
	Device supports T-DLS.
	Supported Ciphers:
		* WEP40 (00-0f-ac:1)
		* WEP104 (00-0f-ac:5)
		* TKIP (00-0f-ac:2)
		* CCMP (00-0f-ac:4)
		* 00-0f-ac:10
		* GCMP (00-0f-ac:8)
		* 00-0f-ac:9
		* CMAC (00-0f-ac:6)
		* 00-0f-ac:13
		* 00-0f-ac:11
		* 00-0f-ac:12
	Available Antennas: TX 0x1 RX 0x3
	Configured Antennas: TX 0x1 RX 0x3
	Supported interface modes:
		 * IBSS
		 * managed
		 * AP
		 * AP/VLAN
		 * WDS
		 * monitor
		 * mesh point
		 * P2P-client
		 * P2P-GO
	Band 1:
		Capabilities: 0x116e
			HT20/HT40
			SM Power Save disabled
			RX HT20 SGI
			RX HT40 SGI
			RX STBC 1-stream
			Max AMSDU length: 3839 bytes
			DSSS/CCK HT40
		Maximum RX AMPDU length 65535 bytes (exponent: 0x003)
		Minimum RX AMPDU time spacing: 8 usec (0x06)
		HT TX/RX MCS rate indexes supported: 0-7
		Bitrates (non-HT):
			* 1.0 Mbps
			* 2.0 Mbps (short preamble supported)
			* 5.5 Mbps (short preamble supported)
			* 11.0 Mbps (short preamble supported)
			* 6.0 Mbps
			* 9.0 Mbps
			* 12.0 Mbps
			* 18.0 Mbps
			* 24.0 Mbps
			* 36.0 Mbps
			* 48.0 Mbps
			* 54.0 Mbps
		Frequencies:
			* 2412 MHz [1] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2417 MHz [2] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2422 MHz [3] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2427 MHz [4] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2432 MHz [5] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2437 MHz [6] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2442 MHz [7] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2447 MHz [8] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2452 MHz [9] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2457 MHz [10] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2462 MHz [11] (16.0 dBm)
			* 2467 MHz [12] (16.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 2472 MHz [13] (16.0 dBm) (no IR)
			* 2484 MHz [14] (disabled)
	Supported commands:
		 * new_interface
		 * set_interface
		 * new_key
		 * start_ap
		 * new_station
		 * new_mpath
		 * set_mesh_config
		 * set_bss
		 * authenticate
		 * associate
		 * deauthenticate
		 * disassociate
		 * join_ibss
		 * join_mesh
		 * remain_on_channel
		 * set_tx_bitrate_mask
		 * frame
		 * frame_wait_cancel
		 * set_wiphy_netns
		 * set_channel
		 * set_wds_peer
		 * tdls_mgmt
		 * tdls_oper
		 * probe_client
		 * set_noack_map
		 * register_beacons
		 * start_p2p_device
		 * set_mcast_rate
		 * channel_switch
		 * set_qos_map
		 * connect
		 * disconnect
	Supported TX frame types:
		 * IBSS: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * managed: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * AP: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * AP/VLAN: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * mesh point: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * P2P-client: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * P2P-GO: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
		 * P2P-device: 0x00 0x10 0x20 0x30 0x40 0x50 0x60 0x70 0x80 0x90 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0 0xe0 0xf0
	Supported RX frame types:
		 * IBSS: 0x40 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * managed: 0x40 0xd0
		 * AP: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * AP/VLAN: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * mesh point: 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * P2P-client: 0x40 0xd0
		 * P2P-GO: 0x00 0x20 0x40 0xa0 0xb0 0xc0 0xd0
		 * P2P-device: 0x40 0xd0
	software interface modes (can always be added):
		 * AP/VLAN
		 * monitor
	valid interface combinations:
		 * #{ managed } <= 2048, #{ AP, mesh point } <= 8, #{ P2P-client, P2P-GO } <= 1,
		   total <= 2048, #channels <= 1, STA/AP BI must match
		 * #{ WDS } <= 2048,
		   total <= 2048, #channels <= 1, STA/AP BI must match
	HT Capability overrides:
		 * MCS: ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff ff
		 * maximum A-MSDU length
		 * supported channel width
		 * short GI for 40 MHz
		 * max A-MPDU length exponent
		 * min MPDU start spacing
	Device supports TX status socket option.
	Device supports HT-IBSS.
	Device supports SAE with AUTHENTICATE command
	Device supports low priority scan.
	Device supports scan flush.
	Device supports AP scan.
	Device supports per-vif TX power setting
	P2P GO supports CT window setting
	Driver supports a userspace MPM
	Device supports active monitor (which will ACK incoming frames)
	Driver/device bandwidth changes during BSS lifetime (AP/GO mode)
	Device supports configuring vdev MAC-addr on create.
uname -a

Linux noname 4.3.3-3-ARCH #1 SMP PREEMPT Wed Jan 20 08:12:23 CET 2016 x86_64 GNU/Linux
lspci -nn

00:00.0 Host bridge [0600]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series SoC Transaction Register [8086:0f00] (rev 0e)
00:02.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Graphics & Display [8086:0f31] (rev 0e)
00:13.0 SATA controller [0106]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series SATA AHCI Controller [8086:0f23] (rev 0e)
00:14.0 USB controller [0c03]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series USB xHCI [8086:0f35] (rev 0e)
00:1a.0 Encryption controller [1080]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Trusted Execution Engine [8086:0f18] (rev 0e)
00:1b.0 Audio device [0403]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series High Definition Audio Controller [8086:0f04] (rev 0e)
00:1c.0 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series PCI Express Root Port 1 [8086:0f48] (rev 0e)
00:1c.1 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series PCI Express Root Port 2 [8086:0f4a] (rev 0e)
00:1c.2 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series PCI Express Root Port 3 [8086:0f4c] (rev 0e)
00:1c.3 PCI bridge [0604]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series PCI Express Root Port 4 [8086:0f4e] (rev 0e)
00:1f.0 ISA bridge [0601]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor Z36xxx/Z37xxx Series Power Control Unit [8086:0f1c] (rev 0e)
00:1f.3 SMBus [0c05]: Intel Corporation Atom Processor E3800 Series SMBus Controller [8086:0f12] (rev 0e)
02:00.0 Network controller [0280]: Qualcomm Atheros QCA9565 / AR9565 Wireless Network Adapter [168c:0036] (rev 01)
03:00.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTS5227 PCI Express Card Reader [10ec:5227] (rev 01)
04:00.0 Ethernet controller [0200]: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8101E/RTL8102E PCI Express Fast Ethernet controller [10ec:8136] (rev 07)

The wired port is connected.

Thank you a lot!


I'm against internet totalitarians of any kind.
And like cheese's humor.

Offline

#4 2016-01-25 15:44:02

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,800

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

Unfortunately, today is going to be insanely busy for me -- I may not get a chance to look at this until I get home tonight.
In the mean time, it looks like your hostname is not set.  That causes a lot of problems.  Fix that and it may help this too.
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … e_hostname


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#5 2016-01-25 17:22:18

reflets de vert
Member
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

I set the hostname.

nano /etc/hosts
#
# /etc/hosts: static lookup table for host names
#

#<ip-address>   <hostname.domain.org>   <hostname>
127.0.0.1       noname.localdomain      noname
::1             noname.localdomain      noname

# End of file
hostname
noname

I'm against internet totalitarians of any kind.
And like cheese's humor.

Offline

#6 2016-01-25 18:06:45

reflets de vert
Member
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

I changed something.

rfkill unblock all
rfkill list all
0: phy0: Wireless LAN
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no
1: hci0: Bluetooth
	Soft blocked: no
	Hard blocked: no 

Before phy0 was soft blocked


I'm against internet totalitarians of any kind.
And like cheese's humor.

Offline

#7 2016-01-25 18:11:17

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 13,800

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

And it works now?

If so, I would say that it is a bug in wicd for not gracefully handling a missing wireless property.  If so, you might consider filing a bug report; probably upstream.


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
You assume people are rational and influenced by evidence.  You must not work with the public much. -- Trilby
----
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

#8 2016-01-25 19:32:54

reflets de vert
Member
Registered: 2010-03-20
Posts: 54
Website

Re: [network]when wicd enabled, fail to find networks

No, it doesn't works for now.


I'm against internet totalitarians of any kind.
And like cheese's humor.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB